DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims and Other Notes
Claims 1–12 are pending.
The paragraph numbers cited in this Office Action in reference to the instant application are referring to the paragraph numbering of the PG-Pub of the instant application. See US 2024/0421440 A1.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 23 April 2024, 20 June 2025, and 24 July 2025 were filed before the mailing of a first Office Action on the merits. The submissions comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 23 April 2024. These drawings are acceptable.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: BATTERY PACK INCLUDING BUSBAR WITH PROJECTION ATTACHED TO INSULATED HOLDING MEMBER.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Reference character 709 is referred to as a connection terminal in paragraph [0134]. Reference character 708 is used to designate a positive-electrode-side connection terminal; and reference character 709 is used to designate a negative-electrode-side connection terminal. Reference character 709 should be referred to as a negative-electrode-side connection terminal in paragraph [0134].
Appropriate correction is required.
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1–12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "a bus bar that electrically connects the batteries and a terminal of an external device." It is unclear if "a terminal of an external device" is electrically connected to "a bus bar" or is a separate component and not required to be electrically connected. The term "the batteries" following "a bus bar that electrically connects" is sufficient to satisfy the electrical connection of the bus bar.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "an elongated shape." The term "elongated" is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite (see elongated, New Oxford American Dictionary). The term "elongated" is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Therefore, the limitation "an elongated shape" is indefinite.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the elongated shape." The term "elongated" is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite (see elongated, New Oxford American Dictionary). The term "elongated" is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Therefore, the limitation "the elongated shape" is indefinite.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the protrusion is formed on a side edge of the distal end most distant from the battery in the bus bar." It is unclear what preceding element "in the bus bar" is further limiting.
Claims 4 and 5 are directly dependent from claim 3, indirectly dependent from claim 1, and include all the limitations of claims 1 and 3. Therefore, claims 4 and 5 are also indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 6–12 are directly or indirectly dependent from claim 1 and include all the limitations of claim 1. Therefore, claims 6–12 are also indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1–12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shoji et al. (US 2018/0090920 A1, hereinafter Shoji).
Regarding claim 1, Shoji discloses a battery pack (100, [0021]) comprising:
a plurality of batteries (101) that are stacked (FIG. 1, [0021]);
a bus bar (2) that electrically connects the batteries (101) and a terminal (5) of an external device (FIG. 1, [0022]); and
a holding member (3) which has an insulating property (FIG. 1, [0024]) and
the holding member (3) holds the bus bar (2, [0024]) and
to which the terminal (5) is attached with the bus bar (2) interposed between the holding member (3) and the terminal (5, [0023]),
wherein the bus bar (2) extends in an elongated shape from the batteries (101) toward a side of the holding member (3, [0020]), and
the bus bar (2) includes a protrusion (22) on a side of a distal end in a longitudinal direction of the bus bar (2, [0023]),
the protrusion (22) extending in a lateral direction of the bus bar (2) and projecting toward the side of the holding member (3, [0023]), and
the holding member (3) includes an attachment portion (31f) to which the protrusion (22) is attached with a gap (31d) at least partially provided (FIG. 3, [0025]).
Regarding claim 2, Shoji discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery pack:
wherein the holding member (3) is provided along a stacking direction of the plurality of batteries (101, [0023]), and
the bus bar (2) extends in the elongated shape toward an intersecting direction intersecting the stacking direction (FIG. 3, [0023]).
Regarding claim 3, Shoji discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery pack:
wherein the protrusion (22) is formed on a side edge of the distal end most distant from the battery (101) in the bus bar (2, [0023]).
Regarding claim 4, Shoji discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery pack:
wherein the protrusion (22) partially projects from the side edge toward the side of the holding member (3, [0025]).
Regarding claim 5, Shoji discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery pack:
wherein the protrusion (22) is formed at a center of the side edge (FIG. 2, [0023]).
Regarding claim 6, Shoji discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery pack:
wherein the attachment portion (31f) is configured by a hole (31d) formed in the holding member (3, [0025]).
Regarding claim 7, Shoji discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery pack:
wherein the gap (31d) is provided between the attachment portion (31f) and the protrusion (22, [0032]).
Regarding claim 8, Shoji discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery pack:
wherein the holding member (3) includes an accommodating portion (3a) for accommodating the bus bar (2, [0023]).
Regarding claim 9, Shoji discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery pack:
wherein the attachment portion (31f) is formed in the accommodating portion (3a, [0032]).
Regarding claim 10, Shoji discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery pack:
wherein an inner side surface facing the bus bar (2) is formed in the accommodating portion (3a, [0023]).
Regarding claim 11, Shoji discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery pack, further comprising:
another holding member (31) that holds the bus bar (2, [0024]),
wherein the bus bar (2) includes a first insertion hole (21) into which a first fixing member (102) is inserted (FIG. 5, [0023]), and
an engagement portion (see nut, [0023]) with which the first fixing member (102) is engaged with the bus bar (2) interposed between the engagement portion and the another holding member (31) is formed in the another holding member (31, [0024]), or
an engagement member (see nut, [0023]) with which the first fixing member (102) is engaged with the bus bar (2) interposed between the engagement member and the another holding member (31) is attached to the another holding member (31, [0024]).
Regarding claim 12, Shoji discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery pack:
wherein the bus bar (2) includes a second insertion hole (21) into which a second fixing member (102) is inserted (FIG. 5, [0023]), and
another engagement portion (see nut, [0023]) with which the second fixing member (102) is engaged with the bus bar (2) interposed between the another engagement portion and the holding member (3) is formed in the holding member (3, [0024]), or
an engagement member (see nut, [0023]) with which the second fixing member (102) is engaged with the bus bar (2) interposed between the engagement member and the holding member (3) is attached to the holding member (3, [0024]).
Claims 1–12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Matsumura et al. (US 2019/0221818 A1, hereinafter Matsumura).
Regarding claim 1, Matsumura discloses a battery pack (M1, [0036]) comprising:
a plurality of batteries (11) that are stacked (FIG. 1, [0036]);
a bus bar (21) that electrically connects the batteries (11) and a terminal (21A) of an external device (FIG. 2, [0043]); and
a holding member (25, 40) which has an insulating property (FIG. 12; [0052], [0066]) and
the holding member (25, 40) holds the bus bar (21, [0066]) and
to which the terminal (21A) is attached with the bus bar (21) interposed between the holding member (25, 40) and the terminal (21A, [0066]),
wherein the bus bar (21) extends in an elongated shape from the batteries (11) toward a side of the holding member (25, 40; [0066]), and
the bus bar (21) includes a protrusion (29, 31) on a side of a distal end in a longitudinal direction of the bus bar (21; [0053], [0070]),
the protrusion (29, 31) extending in a lateral direction of the bus bar (21) and projecting toward the side of the holding member (25, 40; [0066]), and
the holding member (25, 40) includes an attachment portion (26, 41B) to which the protrusion (29) is attached with a gap (27, 41A) at least partially provided (FIG. 12, [0066]).
Regarding claim 2, Matsumura discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery pack:
wherein the holding member (25, 40) is provided along a stacking direction of the plurality of batteries (11, [0066]), and
the bus bar (21) extends in the elongated shape toward an intersecting direction intersecting the stacking direction (FIG. 2, [0066]).
Regarding claim 3, Matsumura discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery pack:
wherein the protrusion (29, 31) is formed on a side edge of the distal end most distant from the battery (11) in the bus bar (21; [0053], [0070]).
Regarding claim 4, Matsumura discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery pack:
wherein the protrusion (29, 31) partially projects from the side edge toward the side of the holding member (25, 40; [0053], [0070]).
Regarding claim 5, Matsumura discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery pack:
wherein the protrusion (29, 31) is formed at a center of the side edge (FIG. 12; [0053], [0070]).
Regarding claim 6, Matsumura discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery pack:
wherein the attachment portion (26, 41B) is configured by a hole (27, 41A) formed in the holding member (25, 40; [0066]).
Regarding claim 7, Matsumura discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery pack:
wherein the gap (27, 41A) is provided between the attachment portion (26, 41B) and the protrusion (29, 31; [0053], [0070]).
Regarding claim 8, Matsumura discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery pack:
wherein the holding member (25, 40) includes an accommodating portion (25A) for accommodating the bus bar (21, [0066]).
Regarding claim 9, Matsumura discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery pack:
wherein the attachment portion (26, 41B) is formed in the accommodating portion (25A, [0066]).
Regarding claim 10, Matsumura discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery pack:
wherein an inner side surface facing the bus bar (21) is formed in the accommodating portion (25A, [0066]).
Regarding claim 11, Matsumura discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery pack, further comprising:
another holding member (25B) that holds the bus bar (21, [0066]),
wherein the bus bar (21) includes a first insertion hole (23A) into which a first fixing member (31) is inserted (FIG. 7, [0047]), and
an engagement portion (23) with which the first fixing member (31) is engaged with the bus bar (21) interposed between the engagement portion (23) and the another holding member (25B) is formed in the another holding member (25B, [0047]), or
an engagement member (23) with which the first fixing member (31) is engaged with the bus bar (21) interposed between the engagement member (23) and the another holding member (25B) is attached to the another holding member (25B, [0047]).
Regarding claim 12, Matsumura discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery pack:
wherein the bus bar (21) includes a second insertion hole (23A) into which a second fixing member (31) is inserted (FIG. 7, [0047]), and
another engagement portion (23) with which the second fixing member (31) is engaged with the bus bar (21) interposed between the another engagement portion (23) and the holding member (25, 40) is formed in the holding member (25, 40; [0047]), or
an engagement member (23) with which the second fixing member (31) is engaged with the bus bar (21) interposed between the engagement member (23) and the holding member (25, 40) is attached to the holding member (24, 40; [0047]).
Claims 1–7, 11, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ota et al. (US 2019/0044120 A1, hereinafter Ota).
Regarding claim 1, Ota discloses a battery pack (100, [0024]) comprising:
a plurality of batteries (101) that are stacked (FIG. 1, [00204]);
a bus bar (3) that electrically connects the batteries (101) and a terminal (2) of an external device (200, [0025]); and
a holding member (21) which has an insulating property (FIG. 1, [0027]) and
the holding member (21) holds the bus bar (3, [0027]) and
to which the terminal (24) is attached with the bus bar (3) interposed between the holding member (21) and the terminal (24, [0026]),
wherein the bus bar (3) extends in an elongated shape from the batteries (101) toward a side of the holding member (21, [0026]), and
the bus bar (3) includes a protrusion (33) on a side of a distal end in a longitudinal direction of the bus bar (3, [0025]),
the protrusion (33) extending in a lateral direction of the bus bar (3) and projecting toward the side of the holding member (21, [0036]), and
the holding member (31) includes an attachment portion (E1) to which the protrusion (33) is attached with a gap (25) at least partially provided (FIG. 5, [0030]).
Regarding claim 2, Ota discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery pack:
wherein the holding member (21) is provided along a stacking direction of the plurality of batteries (101, [0026]), and
the bus bar (3) extends in the elongated shape toward an intersecting direction intersecting the stacking direction (FIG. 1, [0026]).
Regarding claim 3, Ota discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery pack:
wherein the protrusion (33) is formed on a side edge of the distal end most distant from the battery (101) in the bus bar (3, [0025]).
Regarding claim 4, Ota discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery pack:
wherein the protrusion (33) partially projects from the side edge toward the side of the holding member (3, [0025]).
Regarding claim 5, Ota discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery pack:
wherein the protrusion (33) is formed at a center of the side edge (FIG. 3, [0025]).
Regarding claim 6, Ota discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery pack:
wherein the attachment portion (E1) is configured by a hole (25) formed in the holding member (21, [0030]).
Regarding claim 7, Ota discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery pack:
wherein the gap (25) is provided between the attachment portion (E1) and the protrusion (33, [0030]).
Regarding claim 11, Ota discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery pack, further comprising:
another holding member (21) that holds the bus bar (3, [0027]),
wherein the bus bar (3) includes a first insertion hole (32) into which a first fixing member (102) is inserted (FIG. 1, [0035]), and
an engagement portion (see nut, [0035]) with which the first fixing member (102) is engaged with the bus bar (3) interposed between the engagement portion and the another holding member (21) is formed in the another holding member (21, [0035]), or
an engagement member (see nut, [0035]) with which the first fixing member (102) is engaged with the bus bar (3) interposed between the engagement member and the another holding member (21) is attached to the another holding member (21, [0035]).
Regarding claim 12, Ota discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery pack:
wherein the bus bar (3) includes a second insertion hole (32) into which a second fixing member (102) is inserted (FIG. 1, [0035]), and
another engagement portion (see nut, [0035]) with which the second fixing member (102) is engaged with the bus bar (3) interposed between the another engagement portion and the holding member (21) is formed in the holding member (21, [0035]), or
an engagement member (see nut, [0035]) with which the second fixing member (102) is engaged with the bus bar (3) interposed between the engagement member and the holding member (21) is attached to the holding member (21, [0035]).
Conclusion
/Sean P Cullen, Ph.D./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725