DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the application filed on 07/08/2026.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Claims 1-9 and 11-20 are rejected.
Claim 10 is objected to.
Claims 1 and 14-16 are independent claims.
- Response to Amendment
- Claim Objection
6. Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities: “determine whether a first SSB is a cell defining SSB for a user equipment (UE) based on at least one of a value of a first parameter and a configuration of a first control resource set (CORESET) associated with a first synchronization signal and physical broadcast channel block (SSB)” should be “determine whether a first synchronization signal and physical broadcast channel block (SSB) is a cell defining SSB for a user equipment (UE) based on at least one of a value of a first parameter and a configuration of a first control resource set (CORESET) associated with the SSB”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
10. Claims 1-9 and 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Naoya Shibaike et al. (US 2024/0373458 A1), hereinafter Shibaike, in view of Yang LIU et al. (US 2021/0022069 A1), hereinafter LIU.
For claim 1, Shibaike teaches a user equipment (UE) (Shibaike, Fig. 11.), comprising:
at least one memory (Shibaike, Fig. 11 item 1002.); and
at least one processor (Shibaike, Fig. 11 item 1001.) coupled to the at least one memory and configured to cause the UE to:
determine at least one of a value of a first parameter and a configuration of a first control resource set (CORESET) associated with a first synchronization signal and physical broadcast channel block (SSB) (Shibaike, Fig. 7 and paragraph 45 teach in step S1, the terminal 20 receives SSB and performs synchronization with the cell. In addition, the terminal 20 receives MIB (Master Information Block) via PBCH included in the SSB. In subsequent step S2, the terminal 20 monitors the Type0-PDCCH search space and receives CORESET #0 via PDCCH. In subsequent step S3, the terminal 20 receives SIB1 via PDSCH, based on the control information included in the CORESET #0. Paragraphs 130 further teach the “determining” may include a case in which “receiving” (e.g., receiving information).);
determine a type of the first SSB based on at least one of the value of the first parameter and the configuration of the first CORESET (Shibaike, Fig. 7 and paragraph 45 teach in step S1, the terminal 20 receives SSB and performs synchronization with the cell. In addition, the terminal 20 receives MIB (Master Information Block) via PBCH included in the SSB. In subsequent step S2, the terminal 20 monitors the Type0-PDCCH search space and receives CORESET #0 via PDCCH. In subsequent step S3, the terminal 20 receives SIB1 via PDSCH, based on the control information included in the CORESET #0. Paragraphs 130 further teach the “determining” may include a case in which “receiving” (e.g., receiving information)).
LIU further teaches determine a cell defining SSB for the UE based on the type of the first SSB; or determine a frequency range for searching the cell defining SSB for the UE based on the type of the first SSB (LIU, Fig. 4 step S407 and paragraph 76 teach the SSB position indication information is read in response to that the on-off indication information parsed from the PBCH of the SSB is the first value, and the position of the cell-defining SSB is searched for based on the SSB position indication information. In other words, LIU teaches “determine a cell defining SSB for the UE based on the type of the first SSB”. See also paragraphs 7-9.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in Shibaike with determine a cell defining SSB for the UE based on the type of the first SSB taught in LIU because both references teach determining SSB in the same technical filed, LIU explicitly teaches determine a cell defining SSB for the UE based on the type of the SSB, thereby reducing the search time[LIU: paragraph 53].
For claim 2, Shibaike and LEE further teach the UE of Claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the UE to: determine the type of the first SSB is the cell defining SSB for the UE when the first parameter is within a range from 0 to 11, and the configuration indicates the first CORESET is configured with a subcarrier spacing (SCS) of 15kHz and 24 resource blocks (LIU, Fig. 2 and paragraphs 34 teach up to 10 SSB candidate positions may be configured in a case of 15 kHz SCS. In addition, in an SSB candidate position corresponding to PBCH-DMRS in each DBTW, one of up to 8 beams applied to the SSB may be transmitted. In addition, the PBCH payload may indicate MSBs of an SSB candidate position index and QCL (Quasi co-location) parameters. Note that the number of QCL parameters applied to the SSB may be {1, 2, 4, 8}. See also Fig. 3 and paragraphs 35-40. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in Shibaike with LIU to have determine the type of the first SSB is the cell defining SSB for the UE when the first parameter is within a range from 0 to 11, and the configuration indicates the first CORESET is configured with a subcarrier spacing (SCS) of 15kHz and 24 resource blocks. Because it is common to modify the parameter in the technical field.).
For claim 3, Shibaike and LEE further teach the UE of Claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the UE to: determine the type of the first SSB is not the cell defining SSB for the UE and detect a second CORESET or a second SSB when the first parameter is within a range from 0 to 11, and the configuration indicates the first CORESET is configured with a subcarrier spacing (SCS) of 15kHz and 48 or 96 resource blocks (LIU, Fig. 2 and paragraphs 34 teach up to 10 SSB candidate positions may be configured in a case of 15 kHz SCS. In addition, in an SSB candidate position corresponding to PBCH-DMRS in each DBTW, one of up to 8 beams applied to the SSB may be transmitted. In addition, the PBCH payload may indicate MSBs of an SSB candidate position index and QCL (Quasi co-location) parameters. Note that the number of QCL parameters applied to the SSB may be {1, 2, 4, 8}. See also Fig. 3 and paragraphs 35-40. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in Shibaike with LIU to have determine the type of the first SSB is not the cell defining SSB for the UE and detect a second CORESET or a second SSB when the first parameter is within a range from 0 to 11, and the configuration indicates the first CORESET is configured with a subcarrier spacing (SCS) of 15kHz and 48 or 96 resource blocks. Because it is common to modify the parameter in the technical field.).
For claim 4, Shibaike and LEE further teach the UE of Claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the UE to: determine the type of the first SSB is not the cell defining SSB for the UE and detect a second CORESET or a second SSB when the first parameter is within a range from 0 to 23, and the configuration indicates the first CORESET is configured with a subcarrier spacing (SCS) of 30 kHz (LIU, Fig. 2 and paragraphs 34 teach up to 10 SSB candidate positions may be configured in a case of 15 kHz SCS. In addition, in an SSB candidate position corresponding to PBCH-DMRS in each DBTW, one of up to 8 beams applied to the SSB may be transmitted. In addition, the PBCH payload may indicate MSBs of an SSB candidate position index and QCL (Quasi co-location) parameters. Note that the number of QCL parameters applied to the SSB may be {1, 2, 4, 8}. See also Fig. 3 and paragraphs 35-40. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in Shibaike with LIU to have determine the type of the first SSB is not the cell defining SSB for the UE and detect a second CORESET or a second SSB when the first parameter is within a range from 0 to 11, and the configuration indicates the first CORESET is configured with a subcarrier spacing (SCS) of 15kHz and 48 or 96 resource blocks. Because it is common to modify the parameter in the technical field.).
For claim 5, Shibaike and LEE further teach the UE of Claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the UE to:
determine the type of the first SSB is not a cell defining SSB for the UE; determine a second SSB based on the first SSB;
determine whether the second SSB is a cell defining SSB for the UE based on a field in broadcast information; and
detect the second SSB when it is a cell defining SSB; or
detect a cell defining SSB for the UE when the second SSB is not the cell defining SSB (LIU, Fig. 2A and paragraph 36 teach the on-off indication information is to distinguish two scenarios by taking the first value or the second value. In scenario 1, two frequency bands of an operator are not separated by one frequency band of another operator. As shown in FIG. 2A, frequency band F1 and frequency band F2, both of which are owned by operator A, are contiguous, that is, there is no frequency band of another operator between them. Moreover, there is no cell-defining SSB in frequency band F1, and there is cell-defining SSB(s) in frequency band F2. In scenario 2, two frequency bands of an operator are separated by one frequency band of another operator, and there is cell-defining SSB(s) in the frequency band of another operator. As shown in FIG. 2B, frequency band Fl and frequency band F2 which both are owned by operator A are separated by a frequency band of another operator, that is frequency band f of operator B. Moreover, there is no cell-defining SSB in frequency band F1, there is cell-defining SSB(s) in frequency band F2 and in frequency band f.).
For claim 6, Shibaike and LEE further teach the UE of Claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the UE to:
determine the type of the first SSB is not a cell defining SSB for the UE;
determine whether there is a cell defining SSB for the UE within the frequency range based on a field in broadcast information; and
detect the cell defining SSB for the UE within the frequency range; or
detect a cell defining SSB for the UE out of the frequency range (LIU, Fig. 2A and paragraph 36 teach the on-off indication information is to distinguish two scenarios by taking the first value or the second value. In scenario 1, two frequency bands of an operator are not separated by one frequency band of another operator. As shown in FIG. 2A, frequency band F1 and frequency band F2, both of which are owned by operator A, are contiguous, that is, there is no frequency band of another operator between them. Moreover, there is no cell-defining SSB in frequency band F1, and there is cell-defining SSB(s) in frequency band F2. In scenario 2, two frequency bands of an operator are separated by one frequency band of another operator, and there is cell-defining SSB(s) in the frequency band of another operator. As shown in FIG. 2B, frequency band Fl and frequency band F2 which both are owned by operator A are separated by a frequency band of another operator, that is frequency band f of operator B. Moreover, there is no cell-defining SSB in frequency band F1, there is cell-defining SSB(s) in frequency band F2 and in frequency band f. See also paragraphs 5-6.).
For claim 7, Shibaike and LEE further teach the UE of Claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the UE to:
determine the type of the first SSB is not a cell defining SSB for the UE;
determine a frequency offset for a cell defining SSB for the UE based on one or more fields in broadcast information; and
detect a cell defining SSB for the UE based on the frequency offset (LIU, Fig. 2A and paragraph 36 teach the on-off indication information is to distinguish two scenarios by taking the first value or the second value. In scenario 1, two frequency bands of an operator are not separated by one frequency band of another operator. As shown in FIG. 2A, frequency band F1 and frequency band F2, both of which are owned by operator A, are contiguous, that is, there is no frequency band of another operator between them. Moreover, there is no cell-defining SSB in frequency band F1, and there is cell-defining SSB(s) in frequency band F2. In scenario 2, two frequency bands of an operator are separated by one frequency band of another operator, and there is cell-defining SSB(s) in the frequency band of another operator. As shown in FIG. 2B, frequency band Fl and frequency band F2 which both are owned by operator A are separated by a frequency band of another operator, that is frequency band f of operator B. Moreover, there is no cell-defining SSB in frequency band F1, there is cell-defining SSB(s) in frequency band F2 and in frequency band f. See also paragraphs 5-6, 40-41.).
For claim 8, Shibaike and LEE further teach the UE of claim 7, wherein the frequency offset is associated with a frequency position of the first SSB or a second SSB (LIU, paragraphs39-41.).
For claim 9, Shibaike and LEE further teach the UE of Claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the UE to: determine the first SSB as a cell defining SSB for the UE when the first parameter is within a range from 12 to 23 (LIU, paragraph 39 teaches In the PBCH, there are a first preset number of redundant bits and a second preset number of frequency offset reserved bits. The first preset number may be 8, and the second preset number may also be 8.).
For claim 11, Shibaike and LEE further teach the UE of Claim 1, wherein a dedicated master information block in the first SSB indicates a dedicated CORESET for the UE (Shibaike, paragraph 32 teaches in addition to the 120 kHz SCS. SSB with 480 kHz SCS may be supported. Initial access supporting CORESET (Control Resource Set) #0/Type0-PDCCH included in the MIB, may be performed by the SSB. However, there may be the following limitations. For example, entry numbers of the synchronization raster may be limited. In addition, only CORESET #0/Type0-PDCCH with 480 kHz SCS may be supported in a case of SSB with 480 kHz SCS. Furthermore, SSB-CORESET multiplexing pattern 1 (SS/PBCH block and CORESET multiplexing pattern 1) may be prioritized.).
For claim 12, Shibaike and LEE further teach the UE of Claim 11, wherein a configuration of the dedicated CORESET includes less resource blocks (RB) than 24 RBs or more than 3 orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbols (Shibaike, Fig. 3 and paragraph 35.).
For claim 13, Shibaike and LEE further teach the UE of Claim 11, wherein a starting position of the dedicated CORESET for the UE is higher than a starting position of the first SSB in frequency domain (Shibaike, Fig. 4 and paragraph 41.).
For claim 14, Shibaike teaches a base station (BS) (Shibaike, Fig. 11.), comprising:
at least one memory (Shibaike, Fig. 11 item 1002.); and
at least one processor (Shibaike, Fig. 11 item 1001.) coupled to the at least one memory and configured to cause the BS to:
determine and transmit a first SSB based on at least one of a value of a first parameter and a configuration of a first control resource set (CORESET) associated with a first synchronization signal and physical broadcast channel block (SSB) (Shibaike, Fig. 7 and paragraph 45 teach in step S1, the terminal 20 receives SSB and performs synchronization with the cell. In addition, the terminal 20 receives MIB (Master Information Block) via PBCH included in the SSB. In subsequent step S2, the terminal 20 monitors the Type0-PDCCH search space and receives CORESET #0 via PDCCH. In subsequent step S3, the terminal 20 receives SIB1 via PDSCH, based on the control information included in the CORESET #0. Paragraph 130 further teaches the “determining” may include a case in which “receiving” (e.g., receiving information), “transmitting” (e.g., transmitting information).);
LIU further teaches determine a cell defining SSB for the UE based on the first SSB; or determine a frequency range for searching the cell defining SSB for the UE based on the type of the first SSB (LIU, Fig. 4 step S407 and paragraph 76 teach the SSB position indication information is read in response to that the on-off indication information parsed from the PBCH of the SSB is the first value, and the position of the cell-defining SSB is searched for based on the SSB position indication information. In other words, LIU teaches “determine a cell defining SSB for the UE based on the type of the first SSB”. See also paragraphs 7-9.). and
transmit the cell defining SSB for the UE when the first SSB is not the cell defining SSB for the UE (LIU, paragraph 9 teaches set, in response to that the on-off indication information is the second value, gap indication information in the PBCH to indicate that there is no cell-defining SSB within a range of a current frequency band, where the range has a length of a gap value and is centered at a position of the current SSB; and send the SSB to UE.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in Shibaike with determine a cell defining SSB for the UE based on the first SSB; or determine a frequency range for searching the cell defining SSB for the UE based on the type of the first SSB; and transmit the cell defining SSB for the UE when the first SSB is not the cell defining SSB for the UE taught in LIU. Because both references teach determining SSB in the same technical filed, LIU explicitly teaches determine a cell defining SSB for the UE based on the first SSB; or determine a frequency range for searching the cell defining SSB for the UE based on the type of the first SSB; and transmit the cell defining SSB for the UE when the first SSB is not the cell defining SSB for the UE, thereby reducing the search time [LIU: paragraph 53].
For claim 15, Shibaike teaches a method performed by a user equipment (UE) (Shibaike, Fig. 11.), the method comprising:
determining at least one of a value of a first parameter and a configuration of a first control resource set (CORESET) associated with a first synchronization signal and physical broadcast channel block (SSB) (Shibaike, Fig. 7 and paragraph 45 teach In step S1, the terminal 20 receives SSB and performs synchronization with the cell. In addition, the terminal 20 receives MIB (Master Information Block) via PBCH included in the SSB. In subsequent step S2, the terminal 20 monitors the Type0-PDCCH search space and receives CORESET #0 via PDCCH. In subsequent step S3, the terminal 20 receives SIB1 via PDSCH, based on the control information included in the CORESET #0. Paragraphs 130 further teach the “determining” may include a case in which “receiving” (e.g., receiving information));
determine a type of the first SSB based on at least one of the value of the first parameter and the configuration of the first CORESET (Shibaike, Fig. 7 and paragraph 45 teach In step S1, the terminal 20 receives SSB and performs synchronization with the cell. In addition, the terminal 20 receives MIB (Master Information Block) via PBCH included in the SSB. In subsequent step S2, the terminal 20 monitors the Type0-PDCCH search space and receives CORESET #0 via PDCCH. In subsequent step S3, the terminal 20 receives SIB1 via PDSCH, based on the control information included in the CORESET #0. Paragraphs 130 further teach the “determining” may include a case in which “receiving” (e.g., receiving information)).
LIU further teaches determining a cell defining SSB for the UE based on the type of the first SSB; or determining a frequency range for searching the cell defining SSB for the UE based on the type of the first SSB (LIU, Fig. 4 step S407 and paragraph 76 teach the SSB position indication information is read in response to that the on-off indication information parsed from the PBCH of the SSB is the first value, and the position of the cell-defining SSB is searched for based on the SSB position indication information. In other words, LIU teaches “determine a cell defining SSB for the UE based on the type of the first SSB”. See also paragraphs 7-9.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in Shibaike with determining a cell defining SSB for the UE based on the type of the first SSB taught in LIU because both references teach determining SSB in the same technical filed, LIU explicitly teaches determine a cell defining SSB for the UE based on the type of the SSB, thereby reducing the search time[LIU: paragraph 53].
For claim 16, Shibaike teaches a processor for wireless communication (Shibaike, Fig. 11.) comprising:
at least one controller (Shibaike, Fig. 11 item 1001.) coupled with at least one memory and configured to cause the processor to:
determine at least one of a value of a first parameter and a configuration of a first control resource set (CORESET) associated with a first synchronization signal and physical broadcast channel block (SSB) (Shibaike, Fig. 7 and paragraph 45 teach In step S1, the terminal 20 receives SSB and performs synchronization with the cell. In addition, the terminal 20 receives MIB (Master Information Block) via PBCH included in the SSB. In subsequent step S2, the terminal 20 monitors the Type0-PDCCH search space and receives CORESET #0 via PDCCH. In subsequent step S3, the terminal 20 receives SIB1 via PDSCH, based on the control information included in the CORESET #0. Paragraphs 130 further teach the “determining” may include a case in which “receiving” (e.g., receiving information).);
determine a type of the first SSB based on at least one of the value of the first parameter and the configuration of the first CORESET (Shibaike, Fig. 7 and paragraph 45 teach In step S1, the terminal 20 receives SSB and performs synchronization with the cell. In addition, the terminal 20 receives MIB (Master Information Block) via PBCH included in the SSB. In subsequent step S2, the terminal 20 monitors the Type0-PDCCH search space and receives CORESET #0 via PDCCH. In subsequent step S3, the terminal 20 receives SIB1 via PDSCH, based on the control information included in the CORESET #0. Paragraphs 130 further teach the “determining” may include a case in which “receiving” (e.g., receiving information)).
LIU further teaches determine a cell defining SSB for the UE based on the type of the first SSB; or determine a frequency range for searching the cell defining SSB for the UE based on the type of the first SSB (LIU, Fig. 4 step S407 and paragraph 76 teach the SSB position indication information is read in response to that the on-off indication information parsed from the PBCH of the SSB is the first value, and the position of the cell-defining SSB is searched for based on the SSB position indication information. In other words, LIU teaches “determine a cell defining SSB for the UE based on the type of the first SSB”.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in Shibaike with determine a cell defining SSB for the UE based on the type of the first SSB taught in LIU because both references teach determining SSB in the same technical filed, LIU explicitly teaches determine a cell defining SSB for the UE based on the type of the SSB, thereby reducing the search time[LIU: paragraph 53].
For claim 17, Shibaike and LEE further teach the processor of claim 16, wherein the at least one controller is further configured to cause the processor to: determine the type of the first SSB is the cell defining SSB for the processor when the first parameter is within a range from 0 to 11, and the configuration indicates the first CORESET is configured with a subcarrier spacing (SCS) of 15kHz and 24 resource blocks (LIU, Fig. 2 and paragraphs 34 teach up to 10 SSB candidate positions may be configured in a case of 15 kHz SCS. In addition, in an SSB candidate position corresponding to PBCH-DMRS in each DBTW, one of up to 8 beams applied to the SSB may be transmitted. In addition, the PBCH payload may indicate MSBs of an SSB candidate position index and QCL (Quasi co-location) parameters. Note that the number of QCL parameters applied to the SSB may be {1, 2, 4, 8}. See also Fig. 3 and paragraphs 35-40. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in Shibaike with LIU to have determine the type of the first SSB is the cell defining SSB for the UE when the first parameter is within a range from 0 to 11, and the configuration indicates the first CORESET is configured with a subcarrier spacing (SCS) of 15kHz and 24 resource blocks. Because it is common to modify the parameter in the technical field.).
For claim 18, Shibaike and LEE further teach the processor of claim 16, wherein the at least one controller is further configured to cause the processor to determine the type of the first SSB is not the cell defining SSB for the UE and detect a second CORESET or a second SSB when the first parameter is within a range from 0 to 11, and the configuration indicates the first CORESET is configured with a subcarrier spacing (SCS) of 15kHz and 48 or 96 resource blocks (LIU, Fig. 2 and paragraphs 34 teach up to 10 SSB candidate positions may be configured in a case of 15 kHz SCS. In addition, in an SSB candidate position corresponding to PBCH-DMRS in each DBTW, one of up to 8 beams applied to the SSB may be transmitted. In addition, the PBCH payload may indicate MSBs of an SSB candidate position index and QCL (Quasi co-location) parameters. Note that the number of QCL parameters applied to the SSB may be {1, 2, 4, 8}. See also Fig. 3 and paragraphs 35-40. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in Shibaike with LIU to have determine the type of the first SSB is not the cell defining SSB for the UE and detect a second CORESET or a second SSB when the first parameter is within a range from 0 to 11, and the configuration indicates the first CORESET is configured with a subcarrier spacing (SCS) of 15kHz and 48 or 96 resource blocks. Because it is common to modify the parameter in the technical field.).
For claim 19, Shibaike and LEE further teach the processor of claim 16, wherein the at least one controller is further configured to cause the processor to: determine the type of the first SSB is not the cell defining SSB for the UE and detect a second CORESET or a second SSB when the first parameter is within a range from 0 to 23, and the configuration indicates the first CORESET is configured with a subcarrier spacing (SCS) of 30 kHz (LIU, Fig. 2 and paragraphs 34 teach up to 10 SSB candidate positions may be configured in a case of 15 kHz SCS. In addition, in an SSB candidate position corresponding to PBCH-DMRS in each DBTW, one of up to 8 beams applied to the SSB may be transmitted. In addition, the PBCH payload may indicate MSBs of an SSB candidate position index and QCL (Quasi co-location) parameters. Note that the number of QCL parameters applied to the SSB may be {1, 2, 4, 8}. See also Fig. 3 and paragraphs 35-40. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in Shibaike with LIU to have determine the type of the first SSB is not the cell defining SSB for the UE and detect a second CORESET or a second SSB when the first parameter is within a range from 0 to 11, and the configuration indicates the first CORESET is configured with a subcarrier spacing (SCS) of 15kHz and 48 or 96 resource blocks. Because it is common to modify the parameter in the technical field.).
For claim 20, Shibaike and LEE further teach the processor of claim 16, wherein the at least one controller is further configured to cause the processor to:
determine the type of the first SSB is not a cell defining SSB for the UE; determine a second SSB based on the first SSB;
determine whether the second SSB is a cell defining SSB for the UE based on a field in broadcast information; and
detect the second SSB when it is a cell defining SSB; or
detect a cell defining SSB for the UE when the second SSB is not the cell defining SSB (LIU, Fig. 2A and paragraph 36 teach the on-off indication information is to distinguish two scenarios by taking the first value or the second value. In scenario 1, two frequency bands of an operator are not separated by one frequency band of another operator. As shown in FIG. 2A, frequency band F1 and frequency band F2, both of which are owned by operator A, are contiguous, that is, there is no frequency band of another operator between them. Moreover, there is no cell-defining SSB in frequency band F1, and there is cell-defining SSB(s) in frequency band F2. In scenario 2, two frequency bands of an operator are separated by one frequency band of another operator, and there is cell-defining SSB(s) in the frequency band of another operator. As shown in FIG. 2B, frequency band Fl and frequency band F2 which both are owned by operator A are separated by a frequency band of another operator, that is frequency band f of operator B. Moreover, there is no cell-defining SSB in frequency band F1, there is cell-defining SSB(s) in frequency band F2 and in frequency band f.).
Allowable Subject Matter
11. Claim 10 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reason for the indication of allowable subject matter:
12. Claim 10 is considered allowable because the prior art does not teach limitations including:
" wherein a subcarrier offset between a first resource block (RB) of the first SSB and a common RB is the first parameter minus 12.”
Response to Arguments
13. Applicant's arguments filed 07/08/2026 have been fully considered but they are moot because of the new ground of rejection.
Conclusion
/WILL W LIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412