DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 7/28/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-10, 13-14 and 17 remain pending in the application. Claims 3, 6, 11-12 and 15-16 were cancelled.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-10, 13-14 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Araki (JP 2020117635 A) in view of Heytow (US 4012690) and Candy (US 5506506).
Regarding claim 1, Araki teaches utensils (Figure 1ab) or items that is detectable from a sensor,
one or more utensils, said utensils provided to be formed of a plastics or other polymeric material (paragraph 0017 of the translation);
said item or items further including a plurality of metal detectable particles embedded within the plastics material (paragraph 0018 of the translation),
said metal detectable particles are embedded throughout the utensil such that after any attempt to shave, snap, cut, sharpen, reshape or otherwise alter the shape, size or appearance of the utensil, the said metal detectable particles will remain present within the altered utensil (as the particle is all over the device, attempt to cut can not remove all the particles, see Figure 1).
Araki fails to teach a system for detecting the removal of utensils to be used during the preparation, serving and/or consumption of food and/or drink from a secure area, said system including: said system including: a secure area in which said utensils are located; one or more entrances to and/or exits from said secure area; wherein the detectable particles are ferrous metals or metal compounds; detection or sensor apparatus located at the one or more entrances to and/or exits of said secure area, arranged to detect or sense the passage of metal detectable particles, in use and characterised in that thus be detectable by the detection or sensor apparatus, in use.
Heytow teach a system for detecting the removal of an item or items from a secure area (see Figures 1-3), said system including: said system including: a secure area in which said item or items are located; one or more entrances to and/or exits from said secure area (col. lines 19-49, see Figures 1-3); detection or sensor apparatus (see Figure 8) located at the one or more entrances to and/or exits of said secure area (see Figures 1-3), arranged to detect or sense the passage of metal detectable particles therethrough, in use (col. lines 19-49, see Figures 1-3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Heytow to use the metal detectable device of Araki to be used in the secure area, as taught by Heytow, in order to provide a safe zone by detecting ferrous and non ferrous metal (abstract of Heytow).
Candy teaches using iron oxide/magnetite as detectable material (col. 2 lines 4-13 of Candy).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Araki to use the iron oxide/magnetite as the detectable material, as taught by Candy, in order to provide a suitable metal as a detectable (col. 2 lines 4-13 of Candy).
The resulting device of modified Araki teaches said metal detectable particles are embedded throughout the utensil such that after any attempt to shave, snap, cut, sharpen, reshape or otherwise alter the shape, size or appearance of the utensil, the said metal detectable particles will remain present within the altered utensil, and thus be detectable by the detection or sensor apparatus, in use (paragraph 0018 of the translation of Araki and detected by system of Heytow).
Regarding claim 2, modified Araki further teaches when an attempt is made to remove the item or items from the secure area, the said detection or sensor apparatus located at the entrances and/or exits from the secure area will detect their presence, in use (as modified, col. lines 19-49 of Heytow).
Regarding claim 4, modified Araki further teaches said secure arca is provided to be a canteen, dining area, workshop or specific room or rooms in which said item or items may be required to be utilised or the like within a prison, jail, penitentiary, or other such restricted location (as modified, col. lines 19-49 of Heytow).
Regarding claim 5, modified Araki further teaches said secure area is provided to be within an airport location after the point where standard security checks are carried out (as modified, col. lines 19-49 of Heytow).
Regarding claim 7, modified Araki further teaches notification means are provided associated with said detection or sensor apparatus (as modified, col. lines 19-49 of Heytow).
Regarding claim 8, modified Araki further teaches in use, as an utensil comprising the metal detectable particles is attempted to be taken from the secure area, said item or items will be detected and the apparatus will notify security personnel of the detection, enabling them to prevent or deter the removal of the item from the secure area (as modified, col. lines 19-49 of Heytow).
Regarding claim 9, modified Araki further teaches the detection or sensor apparatus used to attempt to detect said utensils or portions thereof, will be known and have known detection parameters such that only utensils which are known to be detectable by said apparatus will be made available in the secure area and thereby ensure that the utensils or portions thereof are detected by the detection apparatus which is in use at that time, in use (as modified, paragraph 0005 of Caulfield).
Regarding claims 10 and 13-14, Araki teaches a utensil (see Figure 1) provided for use in an intended purpose in a secure area (can be used with in a detected gate area),
said utensil formed of a plastics or other polymeric material and in a manner to allow the same to be useable for its intended purpose (paragraph 0017 of the translation), and
said utensil further including embedded within the plastics material, a plurality of metal detectable particles (paragraph 0018 of the translation), such that when an attempt is made to remove the same from the secure area, detection apparatus located at exits from the secure area will detect the presence of said utensil, in use (examiner notes that the limitation after “such that” is treated as intended function of the device, therefore “detection apparatus” is not required by the utensil, only that the utensil can be detected by a detection apparatus, paragraph 0022 of the translation of Araki),
said metal detectable particles are embedded throughout the utensil such that after any attempt to shave, snap, cut, sharpen, reshape or otherwise alter the shape, size or appearance of the utensil, the said metal detectable particles will remain present within the altered utensil (as the particle is all over the device, attempt to cut can not remove all the particles, see Figure 1).
Araki fails to teach the metal particles which are used are ferrous metals or metal-compounds, the said metal detectable particles will remain present within the altered utensil (as required by 10), said ferrous metals or metal compounds may include iron oxide derivatives (as required by claim 13), said metal-detectable particles are provided as particles of magnetite (Fe₂O₃) (as required by claim 14).
Heytow teach a system for detecting the removal of an item or items from a secure area (see Figures 1-3), said system including: said system including: a secure area in which said item or items are located; one or more entrances to and/or exits from said secure area (col. lines 19-49, see Figures 1-3); detection or sensor apparatus (see Figure 8) located at the one or more entrances to and/or exits of said secure area (see Figures 1-3), arranged to detect or sense the passage of metal detectable particles therethrough, in use (col. lines 19-49, see Figures 1-3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Heytow to use the metal detectable device of Araki to be used in the secure area, as taught by Heytow, in order to provide a safe zone by detecting ferrous and non ferrous metal (abstract of Heytow).
Candy teaches using iron oxide/magnetite as detectable material (col. 2 lines 4-13 of Candy).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Araki to use the iron oxide/magnetite as the detectable material, as taught by Candy, in order to provide a suitable metal as a detectable (col. 2 lines 4-13 of Candy).
The resulting device of modified Araki teaches said metal detectable particles are embedded throughout the utensil such that after any attempt to shave, snap, cut, sharpen, reshape or otherwise alter the shape, size or appearance of the utensil, the said metal detectable particles will remain present within the altered utensil, and thus be detectable by the detection or sensor apparatus, in use (paragraph 0018 of the translation of Araki and detected by system of Heytow).
Regarding claim 17, Araki teaches a set of culinary utensils:
said utensils provided for the preparation (see Figures 1, 2 and 12), serving and/or consumption of food and/or drink in a secure area (as the secure area is not required by the device, only that the device can be used in the secure area, see Figure 1);
said utensils formed of a plastics or other polymeric material and in a manner to allow the same to be useable for their intended purpose (paragraph 0017 of the translation;
said utensils further including embedded within the plastics material, a plurality of metal detectable particles (paragraph 0018 of the translation),
arranged such that when an attempt is made to remove the same from the secure area, detection apparatus located at entrances and/or exits from the secure area will detect the presence of said utensils (examiner notes that the limitation after “such that” is treated as intended function of the device, therefore “detection apparatus” is not required by the utensil, only that the utensil can be detected by a detection apparatus, paragraph 0022 of the translation of Araki),
said metal detectable particles are embedded throughout the utensil such that after any attempt to shave, snap, cut, sharpen, reshape or otherwise alter the shape, size or appearance of the utensil, the said metal detectable particles will remain present within the altered utensil (as the particle is all over the device, attempt to cut can not remove all the particles, see Figure 1).
Araki fails to teach wherein the detectable particles are ferrous metals or metal compounds, the said metal detectable particles will remain present within the altered utensil.
Heytow teach a system for detecting the removal of an item or items from a secure area (see Figures 1-3), said system including: said system including: a secure area in which said item or items are located; one or more entrances to and/or exits from said secure area (col. lines 19-49, see Figures 1-3); detection or sensor apparatus (see Figure 8) located at the one or more entrances to and/or exits of said secure area (see Figures 1-3), arranged to detect or sense the passage of metal detectable particles therethrough, in use (col. lines 19-49, see Figures 1-3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Heytow to use the metal detectable device of Araki to be used in the secure area, as taught by Heytow, in order to provide a safe zone by detecting ferrous and non ferrous metal (abstract of Heytow).
Candy teaches using iron oxide/magnetite as detectable material (col. 2 lines 4-13 of Candy).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Araki to use the iron oxide/magnetite as the detectable material, as taught by Candy, in order to provide a suitable metal as a detectable (col. 2 lines 4-13 of Candy).
The resulting device of modified Araki teaches said metal detectable particles are embedded throughout the utensil such that after any attempt to shave, snap, cut, sharpen, reshape or otherwise alter the shape, size or appearance of the utensil, the said metal detectable particles will remain present within the altered utensil, and thus be detectable by the detection or sensor apparatus, in use (paragraph 0018 of the translation of Araki and detected by system of Heytow).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/28/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 7-10, 13-14 and 17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/LIANG DONG/Examiner, Art Unit 3724 9/17/2026