Response to Amendment
The amendments filed on 04/23/2024 have been fully considered and are made of record.
Claims 1-12, 15 and 18 have been amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5-11 and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bergstrom et al. (Pub NO. US 2016/0207418 A1; hereinafter Bergstrom) in view of Marsili et al. (Pub NO. US 2019/0115762 A1; hereinafter Marsili).
Regarding Claim 1, Bergstrom teaches a control method for impedance spectrum measurement of a battery (control system in Fig. 65; See [0191]), wherein the battery outputs a power via a DC-DC converter (battery 822 outputs power through DC-DC converter 854 in Fig. 65; See [0191]), the control method, comprising:
sending a first signal (first signal is to close switch 852in Fig. 65; See [0191]), wherein the first signal indicates a conduction mode of the DC- DC converter to be set (closing switch 852 is DC-DC converter 854 is in conduction mode in Fig. 65; See [0191]), and
the conduction mode comprises a discontinuous conduction mode or a critical conduction mode (when charging 822 is critical conduction mode in Fig. 65; See [0191]);
receiving a current measurement value and a voltage measurement value at an output end of the battery (to determine SOC of battery 822 by determining current and voltage of battery; See [0188], [0206]-[0207]);
Bergstrom teaches impedance spectrum of battery and current and voltage measurement,
However, Bergstrom is silent about calculating an impedance spectrum of the battery based on the received current measurement value and the received voltage measurement value.
Marsili teaches calculating an impedance spectrum of the battery based on the received current measurement value and the received voltage measurement value (See [0018]-[0020]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of Bergstrom by calculating an impedance spectrum of the battery based on the received current measurement value and the received voltage measurement value, as taught by Marsili in order for calculating an impedance of the battery using the current measurement value, the further current measurement value, and the voltage measurement value (Marsili; [0004]).
Regarding Claim 5, Bergstrom in view of Marsili teaches the control method according to claim 1. Bergstrom further teaches wherein when the DC-DC converter is set to the critical conduction mode (critical conduction mode is switch 852 is closes in Fig. 65’ See [0191]), the control method further comprises: sending a second signal (second signal to open switch 852 in fig. 65; See [0191]), wherein the second signal indicates the load of the battery to be changed so that a switching frequency of the DC-DC converter changes (See [0191]);
Bergstrom is silent about receiving the current measurement values and the voltage measurement values at the output end of the battery at different switching frequencies; and calculating the impedance spectra of the battery at the different switching frequencies based on the received current measurement values and the received voltage measurement values at the different switching frequencies.
Marsili teaches receiving the current measurement values and the voltage measurement values at the output end of the battery at different switching frequencies; and calculating the impedance spectra of the battery at the different switching frequencies based on the received current measurement values and the received voltage measurement values at the different switching frequencies (See [0015]-[0020]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of Bergstrom by receiving the current measurement values and the voltage measurement values at the output end of the battery at different switching frequencies; and calculating the impedance spectra of the battery at the different switching frequencies based on the received current measurement values and the received voltage measurement values at the different switching frequencies, as taught by Marsili in order for calculating an impedance of the battery using the current measurement value, the further current measurement value, and the voltage measurement value (Marsili; [0004]).
Regarding Claim 6, Bergstrom in view of Marsili teaches the control method according to claim 5. Bergstrom is silent about further comprising fusing the calculated impedance spectra at the different switching frequencies.
Marsili further teaches further comprising fusing (calculating mean is fusing; See [0056]) the impedance spectra calculated in different conduction modes (different frequencies are different conduction mode; See [0015]-[0020]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of Bergstrom by fusing the impedance spectra calculated in different conduction modes, as taught by Marsili in order for calculating an impedance of the battery using the current measurement value, the further current measurement value, and the voltage measurement value (Marsili; [0004]).
Regarding Claim 7, Bergstrom in view of Marsili teaches a control device for impedance spectrum measurement of a battery (Marsili; [0015]-[0020]), the control device comprising a memory (Bergstrom; [0158]), a processor (Bergstrom; [0158]), and a computer program stored on the memory and executable on the processor (Bergstrom; [0158]), wherein the computer program (Bergstrom; [0158]), when executed by the processor (Bergstrom; [0158]), implements the steps in the control method for impedance spectrum measurement of a battery according to claim 1.
Regarding Claim 8, Bergstrom in view of Marsili teaches a vehicle electronic control unit. Marsili further teaches comprising the control device for impedance spectrum measurement of a battery according to claim 7 (See [0015]-[0020]).
Regarding Claim 9, Bergstrom in view of Marsili teaches a computer-readable storage medium having a computer program stored thereon (Bergstrom; [0158]), wherein the computer program (Bergstrom; [0158]), when executed by a processor (Bergstrom; [0158]), implements the steps in the control method for impedance spectrum measurement of a battery (Marsili; [0015]-[0020]) according to claim 1.
Regarding Claim 10, Bergstrom in view of Marsili teaches a computer program product comprising a computer program (Bergstrom; [0158]), wherein the computer program (Bergstrom; [0158]), when executed by a processor (Bergstrom; [0158]), implements the steps in the control method for impedance spectrum measurement of a battery (Marsili; [0015]-[0020]) according to claim 1.
Regarding Claim 11, Bergstrom teaches a system for impedance spectrum measurement of a battery (control system in Fig. 65; See [0191]), comprising:
a DC-DC conversion device configured to convert an output power of the battery (battery 822 outputs power through DC-DC converter 854 in Fig. 65; See [0191]), and
transmit the converted power to a load (822 transmits the converted power to load in Fig. 65),
wherein a conduction mode of the DC-DC conversion device comprises a discontinuous conduction mode or a critical conduction mode or a critical conduction mode (when charging 822 is critical conduction mode in Fig. 65; See [0191]);
a measurement device configured to measure an output current value and an output voltage value of the battery (to determine SOC of battery 822 by determining current and voltage of battery; See [0188], [0206]-[0207]);
Bergstrom teaches impedance spectrum of battery and current and voltage measurement,
However, Bergstrom is silent about a calculation device configured to calculate an impedance spectrum of the battery based on the measured output current value and the measured output voltage value.
Marsili teaches a calculation device configured to calculate an impedance spectrum of the battery based on the measured output current value and the measured output voltage value (See [0018]-[0020]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of Bergstrom by using a calculation device configured to calculate an impedance spectrum of the battery based on the measured output current value and the measured output voltage value, as taught by Marsili in order for calculating an impedance of the battery using the current measurement value, the further current measurement value, and the voltage measurement value (Marsili; [0004]).
Regarding Claim 15, Bergstrom in view of Marsili teaches the system according to claim 11. Bergstrom further teaches wherein when the DC-DC converter is set to the critical conduction mode (critical conduction mode is switch 852 is closes in Fig. 65; See [0191]), the control method further comprises: sending a second signal (second signal to open switch 852 in fig. 65; See [0191]), wherein the second signal indicates the load of the battery to be changed so that a switching frequency of the DC-DC converter changes (See [0191]);
Bergstrom is silent about the measurement device is further configured to measure the output current values and the output voltage values of the battery at different switching frequencies; and the calculation device is further configured to calculate the impedance spectra of the battery at the different switching frequencies based on the measured output current values and the measured output voltage values.
Marsili teaches receiving the current measurement values and the voltage measurement values at the output end of the battery at different switching frequencies (See [0015]-[0020]); and calculating the impedance spectra of the battery at the different switching frequencies based on the received current measurement values and the received voltage measurement values at the different switching frequencies (See [0015]-[0020]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of Bergstrom by receiving the current measurement values and the voltage measurement values at the output end of the battery at different switching frequencies; and calculating the impedance spectra of the battery at the different switching frequencies based on the received current measurement values and the received voltage measurement values at the different switching frequencies, as taught by Marsili in order for calculating an impedance of the battery using the current measurement value, the further current measurement value, and the voltage measurement value (Marsili; [0004]).
Regarding Claim 16, Bergstrom in view of Marsili teaches the system according to claim 15. Bergstrom is silent about wherein the calculation device is further configured to fuse the calculated impedance spectra at the different switching frequencies.
Marsili further teaches wherein the calculation device is further configured to fuse (calculating mean is fusing; See [0056]) the calculated impedance spectra at the different switching frequencies (different frequencies are different conduction mode; See [0015]-[0020]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of Bergstrom by fusing the impedance spectra calculated in different conduction modes, as taught by Marsili in order for calculating an impedance of the battery using the current measurement value, the further current measurement value, and the voltage measurement value (Marsili; [0004]).
Regarding Claim 17, Bergstrom in view of Marsili teaches the system according to claim 11. Bergstrom further teaches further comprising the battery (battery 822 outputs power through DC-DC converter 854 in Fig. 65; See [0191]) and/or the load.
Regarding Claim 18, Bergstrom in view of Marsili teaches a vehicle. Marsili teaches further teaches comprising system for impedance spectrum measurement of a battery according to claim 11 (See [0015]-[0020]).
Claim(s) 2-4 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bergstrom in view of Marsili further in view of KIM et al. (Pub NO. US 2017/0155272 A1; hereinafter Kim).
Regarding Claim 2, Bergstrom in view of Marsili teaches the control method according to claim 1. Bergstrom in view of Marsili is silent about wherein the conduction mode further comprises a continuous conduction mode, and wherein: if at least one of the battery, the DC-DC converter, and a load of the battery meets a predetermined criterion, the first signal indicates the DC-DC converter to be set to the discontinuous conduction mode or the critical conduction mode, and otherwise, the first signal indicates the DC-DC converter to be set to the continuous conduction mode.
Kim teaches wherein the conduction mode further comprises a continuous conduction mode (CC mode; See [0084]), and wherein: if at least one of the battery, the DC-DC converter, and a load of the battery meets a predetermined criterion, the first signal indicates the DC-DC converter to be set to the discontinuous conduction mode or the critical conduction mode (CV mode; See [0084]), and otherwise, the first signal indicates the DC-DC converter to be set to the continuous conduction mode (if not CV mode, it is CC mode; See [0088], [0092], [0100], [0108], [0134]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of Bergstrom and Marsili by using the conduction mode further comprises a continuous conduction mode, and wherein: if at least one of the battery, the DC-DC converter, and a load of the battery meets a predetermined criterion, the first signal indicates the DC-DC converter to be set to the discontinuous conduction mode or the critical conduction mode, and otherwise, the first signal indicates the DC-DC converter to be set to the continuous conduction mode, as taught by Kim in order for controlling the impedance at the output end of the DC/DC converter to be kept constant by adjusting voltage at the output end of the DC/DC converter (Kim; [0015]).
Regarding Claim 3, Bergstrom in view of Marsili further in view of Kim teaches the control method according to claim 2. Bergstrom in view of Kim is silent about further comprising fusing the impedance spectra calculated in different conduction modes
Marsili further teaches further comprising fusing (calculating mean is fusing; See [0056]) the impedance spectra calculated in different conduction modes (different frequencies are different conduction mode; See [0015]-[0020]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of Bergstrom and Kim by fusing the impedance spectra calculated in different conduction modes, as taught by Marsili in order for calculating an impedance of the battery using the current measurement value, the further current measurement value, and the voltage measurement value (Marsili; [0004]).
Regarding Claim 4, Bergstrom in view of Marsili further in view of Kim teaches the control method according to claim 2. Bergstrom further teaches wherein the predetermined criterion comprises: a current of the load of the battery being less than a predetermined threshold (SOC of battery 822 is determined by difference and difference is predetermined threshold; See [0188]), and/or the battery being in a purge phase.
Regarding Claim 12, Bergstrom in view of Marsili teaches the system according to claim 11. Bergstrom in view of Marsili is silent about wherein; the conduction mode of the DC-DC conversion device further comprises a continuous conduction mode and the system further comprises a switching device configured to: if at least one of the battery, the DC-DC conversion device, and the load meets a predetermined criterion, switch the DC-DC conversion device to the discontinuous conduction mode or the critical conduction mode, otherwise, switch the DC-DC conversion device to the continuous conduction mode.
Kim teaches wherein the conduction mode further comprises a continuous conduction mode (CC mode; See [0084]), and the system further comprises a switching device configured to: if at least one of the battery, the DC-DC conversion device, and the load meets a predetermined criterion, switch the DC-DC conversion device to the discontinuous conduction mode or the critical conduction mode (CV mode; See [0084]), otherwise, switch the DC-DC conversion device to the continuous conduction mode (if not CV mode, it is CC mode; See [0088], [0092], [0100], [0108], [0134]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of Bergstrom and Marsili by using the conduction mode further comprises a continuous conduction mode, and wherein: if at least one of the battery, the DC-DC converter, and a load of the battery meets a predetermined criterion, the first signal indicates the DC-DC converter to be set to the discontinuous conduction mode or the critical conduction mode, and otherwise, the first signal indicates the DC-DC converter to be set to the continuous conduction mode, as taught by Kim in order for controlling the impedance at the output end of the DC/DC converter to be kept constant by adjusting voltage at the output end of the DC/DC converter (Kim; [0015]).
Regarding Claim 13, Bergstrom in view of Marsili further in view of Kim teaches the system according to claim 12. Bergstrom in view of Kim is silent about wherein the calculation device is further configured to fuse the impedance spectra calculated in different conduction modes.
Marsili further teaches wherein the calculation device is further configured to fuse (calculating mean is fusing; See [0056]) the impedance spectra calculated in different conduction modes (different frequencies are different conduction mode; See [0015]-[0020]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of Bergstrom and Kim by fusing the impedance spectra calculated in different conduction modes, as taught by Marsili in order for calculating an impedance of the battery using the current measurement value, the further current measurement value, and the voltage measurement value (Marsili; [0004]).
Regarding Claim 14, Bergstrom in view of Marsili further in view of Kim teaches the system according to claim 12. Bergstrom further teaches wherein the predetermined criterion comprises: a current of the load being less than a predetermined threshold (SOC of battery 822 is determined by difference and difference is predetermined threshold; See [0188]); and/or the battery being in a purge phase.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
May et al. (Pub NO. US 2007/0002600 A1) discloses System and Method for Direct Current Converter.
MURAYAMA et al. (Pub NO. US 2016/0089985 A1) discloses Power Transmission System.
Renner et al. (Pub NO. US 2017/0317628 A1) discloses System and Method for controlling Power.
/ZANNATUL FERDOUS/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/LEE E RODAK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858