Detailed Action
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments and amendments with respect to claim(s) 6/26/2026 have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yin et al. (US 2012/0127869 A1) in view of Yerramalli et al. (S 2019/0182826 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Yin discloses a terminal comprising:
a transmitter configured to transmit a plurality of types of uplink control information (see uplink/downlink [0001]) to a base station (see transmission structure, [0005]); and
a processor (see processor [0011]) configured to control the uplink control information to be transmitted via an uplink shared channel (uplink shared channel [0045]) that is periodically scheduled (see [0045], “physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) is scheduled) ”) as a resource that can be used for any one of the plurality of types of uplink control information (see types of uplink [0070]);
Yin does not explicitly disclose however Yerramalli discloses wherein, when uplink data occurs and a transmission of the uplink shared channel is not sufficient for a transmission of the uplink data (see [0031], discloses uplink shared channel have insufficient resources as related to UCI), the processor is configured to use the uplink shared channel for a transmission of a scheduling request (then discloses scheduling request using uplink shared channel);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine the teachings of Yin with that of Yerramalli. Doing so would conform to well-known techniques in the field of invention.
Regarding claim 2, Yin discloses the terminal as claimed in claim 1, wherein the plurality of types of uplink control information include at least one of HARQ response information corresponding to data received from the base station (see HARQ-ACK, [0051]), or a buffer status report, or channel status information (see channel status information, [0051]).
Regarding claim 3, Yin discloses the terminal as claimed in claim 1, wherein in a case where
transmission of a plurality of types of uplink control information occurs, the control unit controls all
of the plurality of types of uplink control information to be transmitted when there is a sufficient amount of resources (see [0051], “minimum amount of resource”) for transmitting all of the types of uplink control information (see [0070], “different types of uplink control information (UCI)”), and, otherwise, controls some of the plurality of types of uplink control information to be selected to be transmitted (see [0070], “different types of uplink control information (UCI) 228 may be provided by the eNode B 202 or by predefined rules”).
Regarding claim 4, Yin discloses the terminal as claimed in claim 3, wherein in a case where transmission of a plurality of types of uplink control information occurs, the control unit controls some of the plurality of types of uplink control information to be selected to be transmitted according to a predefined priority order (see [0070], “ The priority of different types of uplink control information (UCI) 228 may be provided by the eNode B 202 or by predefined rules”) when there is an insufficient amount of resources for transmitting all of the plurality of types of uplink control information (see minimum [0051]).
Regarding claim 5, Yin discloses a communication method performed by a terminal, the communication method comprising:
transmitting a plurality of types of uplink control information to a base station (see transmission fig. 2); and
controlling the uplink control information to be transmitted via an uplink shared channel that is
periodically scheduled as a resource (physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) is scheduled, see [0045]) that can be used for any one of the plurality of types of uplink control information (see [0070], see “types of uplink”); and
Yin does not explicitly disclose however Yerramalli discloses when uplink data occurs and a transmission of the uplink shared channel is not sufficient for a transmission of the uplink data (see [0031], discloses uplink shared channel have insufficient resources as related to UCI), the processor is configured to use the uplink shared channel for a transmission of a scheduling request (then discloses scheduling request using uplink shared channel);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine the teachings of Yin with that of Yerramalli. Doing so would conform to well-known techniques in the field of invention.
Regarding claim 6, Yin discloses the terminal as claimed in claim 2, wherein in a case where transmission of a plurality of types of uplink control information occurs, the processor controls all of the plurality of types of uplink control information to be transmitted when there is a sufficient amount of resources for transmitting all of the types of uplink control information (see [0051], “The minimum amount of resource’), and, otherwise, controls some of the plurality of types of uplink control information to be selected to be transmitted (see [0078], “channel selection or physical uplink control channel”).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to K. WILFORD SHAHEED whose telephone number is (469) 295-9175. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday 9 am-6pm; CST; ALT Friday. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. The examiner’s Supervisor, Jinsong Hu, can be reached at (571)272-3965, where attempts to reach the examiner are unsuccessful.
/KHALID W SHAHEED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2643