DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 16 and 17 are objected to because of the following informalities: the claims both recite “the vehicle” and then subsequently recite “a vehicle” later in the respective claims providing improper antecedent basis in the claims. The examiner assumes that the claims contain typographical errors and are intended to initially recite “a vehicle” and then subsequently recite “the vehicle” later in the claims. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shido et al. (hereinafter “Shido” (US 2020 / 0282898).
As pertaining to Claim 1, Shido discloses (see Fig. 1 and Fig. 2) an in-vehicle display device (2) comprising:
a first display unit (2a) mounted on a front surface of a vehicle (100);
a second display unit (2b) mounted on a rear surface of the vehicle (100); and
a display control unit (see (1A) in Fig. 2) that performs control to display a first image (see (24) in Figs. 4A-4C) on the first display unit (2a), the first image (24) indicating a traveling direction of the vehicle (100), and performs control to display a second image (see (24) in Figs. 5A-5C) on the second display unit (2b), the second image (24) indicating the traveling direction of the vehicle (100) and different from the first image (see (24) in Figs. 4A-4C), on a basis of a state of the vehicle (100) or position information of the vehicle (100; see Page 2 through Page 3, Para. [0031]-[0035] and [0038]; Page 4, Para. [0047]-[0051]; and Page 5, Para. [0053]).
As pertaining to Claim 2, Shido discloses (see Fig. 1, Fig. 2, Figs. 4A-4C, and Figs. 5A-5C) that the display control unit (1A) controls the first display unit (2a) and the second display unit (2b) on the basis of the state of the vehicle (100; again, see Page 2 through Page 3, Para. [0031]-[0035] and [0038]; Page 4, Para. [0047]-[0051]).
As pertaining to Claim 3, Shido discloses (see Fig. 1, Fig. 2, Figs. 4A-4C, and Figs. 5A-5C) that the display control unit (1A) controls the first display unit (2a) and the second display unit (2b) on a basis of a blinker operation state (i.e., a lamp lighting state) and a driving state of the vehicle (100; again, see Page 2 through Page 3, Para. [0031]-[0035] and [0038]; Page 4, Para. [0047]-[0051]).
As pertaining to Claim 4, Shido discloses (see Fig. 1, Fig. 2, Figs. 4A-4C, and Figs. 5A-5C) that the display control unit (1A) controls the first display unit (2a) and the second display unit (2b) on a basis of the position of the vehicle (100; again, see Page 2 through Page 3, Para. [0031]-[0035] and [0038]; Page 4, Para. [0047]-[0051]).
As pertaining to Claim 5, Shido discloses (see Fig. 1, Fig. 2, Figs. 4A-4C, and Figs. 5A-5C) that the first image (see (24) in Figs. 4A-4C) and the second image (see (24) in Figs. 5A-5C) are arrows (again, see Page 4, Para. [0047]-[0051]).
As pertaining to Claim 6, Shido discloses (see Fig. 1, Fig. 2, Figs. 4A-4C, and Figs. 5A-5C) that the arrow of the second image (see (24) in Figs. 5A-5C) is an arrow point-symmetrical to the arrow of the first image (see (24) in Figs. 4A-4C; and again, see Page 4, Para. [0047]-[0051]).
As pertaining to Claim 7, Shido discloses (see Fig. 1, Fig. 2, Figs. 4A-4C, and Figs. 5A-5C) that the arrow of the first image (see (24) in Figs. 4A-4C) and the arrow of the second image (see (24) in Figs. 5A-5C) each have a straight line portion and a curved line portion (again, see Page 4, Para. [0047]-[0051]).
As pertaining to Claim 8, Shido discloses (see Fig. 1, Fig. 2, Figs. 4A-4C, and Figs. 5A-5C) a third display unit (2c) mounted on a left-side surface of the vehicle (100); and
a fourth display unit (2c) mounted on a right-side surface of the vehicle (100; see Page 2, Para. [0033]),
wherein the display control unit (1A) performs control to display a third image on the third display unit (2c), the third image (i.e., information indicating a turn) indicating the traveling direction of the vehicle (100), and performs control to display a fourth image (i.e., information indicating a turn) on the fourth display unit (2c), the fourth image (i.e., information indicating a turn) indicating the traveling direction of the vehicle (100) and different from the third image (i.e., information indicating a turn), on the basis of the state or the position information (see Page 5, Para. [0053]).
As pertaining to Claim 9, Shido discloses (see Fig. 1, Fig. 2, Figs. 4A-4C, and Figs. 5A-5C) that the third image and the fourth image (i.e., information indicating a turn) are arrows (see Page 5, Para. [0053] in combination with Page 4, Para. [0047]-[0051]).
As pertaining to Claim 10, Shido discloses (see Fig. 1, Fig. 2, Figs. 4A-4C, and Figs. 5A-5C) that the arrow of the fourth image (i.e., information indicating a turn; see (24) in Figs. 5A-5C, for example) is an arrow point-symmetrical to the arrow of the third image (i.e., information indicating a turn; see (24) in Figs. 4A-4C, for example; and again, see Page 5, Para. [0053] in combination with Page 4, Para. [0047]-[0051]).
As pertaining to Claim 11, Shido discloses (see Fig. 1, Fig. 2, Figs. 4A-4C, and Figs. 5A-5C) that the arrow of the third image (i.e., information indicating a turn; see (24) in Figs. 4A-4C, for example) and the arrow of the fourth image (i.e., information indicating a turn; see (24) in Figs. 5A-5C, for example) each have a straight line portion and a curved line portion (again, see Page 5, Para. [0053] in combination with Page 4, Para. [0047]-[0051]).
As pertaining to Claim 12, Shido discloses (see Fig. 1, Fig. 2, Figs. 4A-4C, and Figs. 5A-5C) that the first image (see (24) in Figs. 4A-4C) and the second image (see (24) in Figs. 5A-5C) are changed on a basis of a speed or an acceleration of the vehicle (100; see Page 2 through Page 3, Para. [0035]-[0036] and [0040]).
As pertaining to Claim 13, Shido discloses (see Fig. 1, Fig. 2, Figs. 4A-4C, and Figs. 5A-5C) that the first image (see (24) in Figs. 4A-4C) and the second image (see (24) in Figs. 5A-5C) change with time (again, see Page 4, Para. [0047]-[0051]).
As pertaining to Claim 14, Shido discloses (see Fig. 1, Fig. 2, Figs. 4A-4C, and Figs. 5A-5C) that the first image (see (24) in Figs. 4A-4C) and the second image (see (24) in Figs. 5A-5C) each include an arrow and a background image (24c), and
the display control unit (1A) changes a position of each of the arrows with time (see Page 4 through Page 5, Para. [0047]-[0053]).
As pertaining to Claim 15, Shido discloses (see Fig. 1, Fig. 2, Figs. 4A-4C, and Figs. 5A-5C) that the first image (see (24) in Figs. 4A-4C) and the second image (see (24) in Figs. 5A-5C) each include an arrow and a background image (24c), and
the display control unit (1A) changes the background image (24c) with time (see Page 4 through Page 5, Para. [0047]-[0053]).
As pertaining to Claim 16, Shido discloses (see Fig. 1 and Fig. 2) a display control device comprising a display control unit (see (1A) in Fig. 2) that controls display (see (2)) of a first image (see (24) in Figs. 4A-4C) on a front surface (2a) of a vehicle (100), the first image (24) indicating a traveling direction of the vehicle (100), and controls display of a second image (see (24) in Figs. 5A-5C) on a rear surface (2b) of the vehicle (100), the second image (24) indicating the traveling direction of the vehicle (100) and different from the first image (see (24) in Figs. 4A-4C), on a basis of a state of the vehicle (100) or position information of the vehicle (100; see Page 2 through Page 3, Para. [0031]-[0035] and [0038]; Page 4, Para. [0047]-[0051]; and Page 5, Para. [0053]).
As pertaining to Claim 17, Shido discloses (see Fig. 1 and Fig. 2) a display control method of a display control device including a display control unit (see (1A) in Fig. 2), the display control method comprising causing the display control unit (1A) to control display (see (2)) of a first image (see (24) in Figs. 4A-4C) on a front surface (2a) of a vehicle (100), the first image (24) indicating a traveling direction of a vehicle (100), and controls display of a second image (see (24) in Figs. 5A-5C) on a rear surface (2b) of the vehicle (100), the second image (24) indicating the traveling direction of the vehicle (100) and different from the first image (see (24) in Figs. 4A-4C), on a basis of a state of the vehicle (100) or position information of the vehicle (100; see Page 2 through Page 3, Para. [0031]-[0035] and [0038]; Page 4, Para. [0047]-[0051]; and Page 5, Para. [0053]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kunii et al. (US 2018 / 0118095) discloses a projection system in a vehicle for projecting images indicating a travelling direction of the vehicle at the front and the rear of the vehicle.
/JASON M MANDEVILLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623