DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “fine” in claims 1-6 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “fine” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP’616 (JP 2013-095616).
Regarding claims 1-3, JP’616 teaches a method comprising: preparing powder catalyst (such as iron powder) and adding the powder catalyst in a supply tank; supplying a hydrocarbon gas (such as methane gas) and contacting between the hydrocarbon gas and the metal particles being carried out at a temperature of 800°C to 900°C (Page 6 and 7). JP’616 discloses that the hydrocarbon is decomposed into ultrafine carbon (Page 7). JP’616 does not explicitly disclose that the powder catalyst iron powder is changed to fine iron powder as recited in claim 1. However, in view of the fact that JP’616 teaches that the raw materials are methane and iron powder that are the same as the raw material as recited in claims 1 and 3, and the reaction is conducted at 800°C to 900°C, which meets the reaction temperature recited in claim 1, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect that the iron powder will become fine iron powder in the process of JP’616 as recited in claim 1. “Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established.” In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP 2112.01 I.
JP’616 discloses that the ultrafine carbon grown on the powder catalyst is discharged and powder catalyst is removed and separated from the recovered ultrafine fine carbon (Page 7), which meets the limitation recited in claim 2.
Claims 1-4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Edwin (US 2007/0215520, IDS dated 02/18/2025).
Regarding claims 1-3, Edwin teaches a method, comprising: preparing metal catalyst particles such as nickel powder ([0019] to [0023]); supplying a hydrocarbon gas such as methane to the metal catalyst particles, and contacting between the hydrocarbon gas and the metal catalyst particles being carried out at a temperature of 630°C to 680°C ([0019] to [0036]), which meets the limitations recited in claim 1.
Edwin does not explicitly disclose that the powder catalyst particles are changed to fine powder as recited in claim 1. However, in view of the fact that Edwin teaches that the raw materials are methane and nickel powder that are the same as the raw material as recited in claims 1 and 3, and the reaction is conducted at 630°C to 680°C, which meets the reaction temperature recited in claim 1, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect that that the nickel powder will become fine powder in the process of Edwin as recited in claim 1. “Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established.” In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP 2112.01 I.
Edwin discloses that catalyst and produced carbon are separated from each other ([0050]), which meets the limitation recited in claim 2.
Regarding claim 4, Edwin discloses that the catalyst preferable has a particle size of 20-40 µm ([0022]), which meets the limitation recited in claim 4.
Regarding claim 6, Edwin discloses supplying hydrogen to the catalyst particles before the step of supplying the feed gas to the catalyst particles ([0049]), which meets the limitation recited in claim 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Edwin (US 2007/0215520).
Regarding claim 5, Edwin discloses that the feed gas comprises methane and Co at a ratio of 10:90 to 90:10 ([0030]), which converts a partial pressure of methane of 0.0101 to 0.0909 MPa. Thus, the partial pressure of hydrocarbon disclosed by Edwin overlaps the recited partial pressure in claim 5. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 2144.05 I. Thus, claim 5 is obvious over Edwin.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3-4 and 6-13 of U.S. Patent No. 18/037,416 (US 2023/0406701). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1, 3-4 and 6-13 of U.S. Patent No. 18/037,416 teach all the limitations recited in instant claims 1-6.
Conclusion
/XIAOWEI SU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1733