DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings were received on May 5, 2026. These drawings are not approved because Figures 2B-2D, 2F, 4C, and 7-13A lack the proper cross-hatching which indicates the type of materials, which may be in an invention. Specifically, the cross hatching to indicate the conductive and insulation materials is improper. The applicant should refer to MPEP Section 608.02 for the proper cross-hatching of materials. Correction is required. The proper cross hatchings are disclosed below:
All insulative materials (i.e. insulation, jacket, etc.) shown be crosshatched as shown below:
All conductive materials (i.e. conductor, shielding, braids, etc.) should be cross-hatched as shown below:
In addition to Replacement Sheets containing the corrected drawing figure(s), applicant is required to submit a marked-up copy of each Replacement Sheet including annotations indicating the changes made to the previous version. The marked-up copy must be clearly labeled as “Annotated Sheets” and must be presented in the amendment or remarks section that explains the change(s) to the drawings. See 37 CFR 1.121(d)(1). Failure to timely submit the proposed drawing and marked-up copy will result in the abandonment of the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 8, 15, 19-20, 22, 24, 26, 27, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patzak (Pub Num 2019/0140525) in view of Woody et al (Pat Num 5,591,937, herein referred to as Woody). Patzak discloses an electrical power distribution system (Figs 1-6) that comprises a transmission cable (Fig 1) having a cooling system that provides extract heat losses and maintain a predefined temperature (Paragraph 14). Specifically, with respect to claim 1, Patzak discloses an electric power distribution system (Fig 1) comprising a busbar (Fig 1) comprising a rigid conductor (1) configured to carry current from a source to a load (Paragraph 84), a hollow portion (5) surrounded by the rigid conductor (1) and configured to have a cooling medium flow therethrough (Paragraph 91), an insulation layer (2), and a shielding layer (3) positioned such that the insulation layer (2) is between the rigid conductor (1) and the shielding layer (3), wherein the busbar is configured such that the cooling medium flow in a single direction through the busbar (Fig 1, Paragraph 91). With respect to claims 2 & 8, Patzak discloses that the rigid conductor (1) may comprise at least one of aluminum or copper (Paragraph 86) and the insulation layer (2) may be thermoplastic (Paragraph 85). With respect to claim 6, Patzak discloses that the rigid conductor (1) has a first end (left end) and a second end (right end, Fig 1), and the first end (left end) and the second end (right end) each have an electrical contact area (Fig 1). With respect to claim 19, Patzak discloses a busbar (Fig 1) comprising a rigid conductor (1) configured to carry electrical energy between components of an electrical powertrain (Paragraph 84), wherein the busbar (Fig 1) is a single conductor (1) with a single conductor to carry current (i.e. outer conductor is connected to ground), a conduit (5) for a cooling medium (Paragraph 91) surrounded by the rigid conductor (1), wherein the conductor (1) and the conduit (5) are both part of a single busbar assembly (Fig 1). With respect to claim 24, Patzak discloses the busbar (Fig 1) further comprising a shielding layer (3) surrounding the conductor (1) and an insulation layer (2) positioned between the rigid conductor (1) and the shielding layer (3). With respect to claim 27, Patzak discloses that the insulation layer (2) may be thermoplastic (Paragraph 85). With respect to claim 29, Patzak discloses that the busbar (Fig 1) has a single rigid conductor (1) configured to carry current (i.e. outer conductor is connected to ground).
However, Patzak doesn’t necessarily disclose an inner tube layer positioned between the rigid conductor and the hollow portion (claims 1 & 19), nor the inner tube layer is configured to protect the rigid conductor from corrosion from the cooling medium (claim 3), nor the busbar further comprises an electrically insulating layer, wherein the electrically insulating layer is positioned between an inner diameter of the rigid conductor and the inner tube layer (claim 4), nor the electric power distribution system further comprising a reservoir and a pump together configured to provide the cooling medium to the hollow portion of the busbar (claim 15), nor the busbar further comprising a second conduit (claim 20), nor the busbar further comprising a second conductor and an insulating layer, the insulating layer positioned between the conductor and the second conductor (claim 22), nor the tube layer comprises an electrically insulating layer configured to electrically isolate the conductor and cooling medium flowing through the conduit (claim 26).
Woody teaches an electrical power distribution system (Figs 1-2) that comprises a transmission cable having a cooling system and provides breach detection at a lower cost, while being more dependable (Col 1, lines 35-40). Specifically, with respect to claim 1, Woody teaches an electric power distribution system (11, Figs 1-2) comprising a busbar (30) comprising a rigid conductor (36) configured to carry current from a source (15) to a load (20), a hollow portion (31) surrounded by the rigid conductor (36) and configured to have a cooling medium (23) flow therethrough (Col 3, lines 26-29), an inner tube layer (33) positioned between the rigid conductor (36) and the hollow portion (31), an insulation layer (37), and a shielding layer (38) positioned such that the insulation layer (37) is between the rigid conductor (36) and the shielding layer (38, Fig 2). With respect to claim 3, Woody teaches that the inner tube layer (33) is configured to protect the rigid conductor (36) from corrosion from the cooling medium (23, i.e. the cooling medium isolates the conductor (36) from being in contact with the medium (23) therefore no corrosion will exist from the cooling medium because it never touches the conductor (36)). With respect to claim 4, Woody teaches that the busbar (30) further comprises an electrically insulating layer (34), wherein the electrically insulating layer (35) is positioned between an inner diameter of the rigid conductor (36) and the inner tube layer (33). With respect to claim 15, Woody teaches that the electric power distribution system (11) further comprises a reservoir (21) and a pump (24) together configured to provide the cooling medium (23) to the hollow portion (31) of the busbar (30, Col 2, lines 42-49). With respect to claim 19, Woody teaches a busbar (30) comprising a conductor (36) configured to carry electrical energy between components of an electric powertrain (10, Col 1, lines 60-67), a conduit (31) for a cooling medium (32), wherein the conduit (31) is surrounded by the conductor (36), and wherein the conductor (36) and the conduit (31) are both part of a single busbar assembly (30), wherein the busbar (30) being a rigid busbar (Fig 1, no bends); and a tube layer (33) surrounding the conduit (31), the tube layer (33) positioned between the conduit (36) and the conductor (36). With respect to claim 20, Woody teaches that the busbar (30) further comprising a second conduit (32). With respect to claim 22, Woody teaches that the busbar (30) further comprises a second conductor (34) and an insulating layer (35), wherein the insulating layer (35) is positioned between the conductor (36) and the second conductor (34). With respect to claim 26, Woody teaches that the tube layer (33) comprises an electrically insulating layer configured to electrically isolate the conductor (36) and cooling medium (23) flowing through the conduit (31, i.e. the cooling medium isolates the conductor (36) from being in contact with the medium (23) therefore no corrosion will exist from the cooling medium because it never touches the conductor (36).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art of cables at the time the invention was made to modify the electrical power distribution system of Patzak to comprise the busbar having an inner tube layer configuration as taught by Woody because Woody teaches that such a configuration provides an electrical power distribution system (Figs 1-2) that comprises a transmission cable having a cooling system and provides breach detection at a lower cost, while being more dependable (Col 1, lines 35-40).
Claim(s) 11 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patzak (Pub Num 2019/0140525) in view of Woody (Pat Num 5,591,937), as applied to claim 1 above (herein referred to as modified Patzak), further in view of Prasad et al (WO Pat Num 2020/188438, herein referred to as Prasad). Modified Patzak discloses an electrical power distribution system (Figs 1-6) that comprises a transmission cable (Fig 1) having a cooling system that provides extract heat losses and maintain a predefined temperature (Paragraph 14), as disclosed with respect to claim 1 above.
However, modified Patzak doesn’t necessarily disclose the electrical power distribution system, wherein the busbar is shaped for inclusion in an electric vehicle, and wherein the busbar is shaped to conform to in- vehicle packaging and extends between a charging port/inlet to a vehicle battery (claim 11), nor the electric power distribution system, further comprising a charge-port connecting unit configured to connect the busbar to the source (claim 17).
Prasad teaches an electrical power distribution system (Figs 1-8) that comprises a busbar that is bent into specific configurations that allow it to conform to the body of an electrical vehicle (abstract), wherein the rigidity of the busbar offers self-supporting assembly, thereby omitting the need for traditional clips and brackets, which results in reduced cost, reduced size, reduced manufacturing time of assemblage, and complexity (Paragraph 25). Specifically, with respect to claims 11 & 17, Prasad teaches a busbar (100, Fig 1) comprising a rigid conductor (136) configured to carry current from a source (112) to a load (108), an insulation layer (144), and a shielding layer (148) positioned such that the insulation layer (144) is between the rigid conductor (136) and the shielding layer (148), wherein the busbar (100) is shaped to conform to in-vehicle packaging (Fig 1) and extends between a charging port/inlet (108) to a vehicle battery (112, Paragraph 29), wherein the busbar (100) further comprising a charge-port connecting unit (156) configured to connect the busbar (100) to the source (i.e. battery, 112).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art of cables at the time the invention was made to modify the electrical power distribution system of modified Patzak to comprise the busbar configuration as taught by Prasad because Prasad teaches that such a configuration provides an electrical power distribution system (Figs 1-8) that comprises a busbar that is bent into specific configurations that allow it to conform to the body of an electrical vehicle (abstract), wherein the rigidity of the busbar offers self-supporting assembly, thereby omitting the need for traditional clips and brackets, which results in reduced cost, reduced size, reduced manufacturing time of assemblage, and complexity (Paragraph 25) and since it has been held that a change in form cannot sustain patentability where involved is only extended application of obvious attributes from a prior art. In re Span-Deck Inc. vs. Fab-Con Inc. (CA 8, 1982) 215 USPQ 835.
Claim(s) 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patzak (Pub Num 2019/0140525) in view of Woody (Pat Num 5,591,937), as applied to claim 1 above (herein referred to as modified Patzak), further in view of Neumann (Pub Num 2020/0350098). Modified Patzak discloses an electrical power distribution system (Figs 1-6) that comprises a transmission cable (Fig 1) having a cooling system that provides extract heat losses and maintain a predefined temperature (Paragraph 14), as disclosed with respect to claim 1 above.
However, modified Patzak doesn’t necessarily disclose the electrical power distribution system further comprising a second busbar comprising a second rigid conductor, a second hollow portion, a second insulation layer, and a second shielding layer (claim 12), nor the system further comprising a coolant source, wherein the cooling medium flows from the coolant source to the busbar and from the second busbar to the coolant source (claim 13), nor the electric power distribution system, further comprising a U-Loop adaptor connected to the busbar and the second busbar, wherein the second busbar is configured to provide return flow for the cooling medium (claim 14).
Neuman teaches an electrical power distribution system in the form of a charging system (Paragraph 1), comprising a transmission cable (Figs 1-6) having a cooling system that transmit high amounts of electrical power in a short time (Paragraph 9), thereby allowing for efficient heat transfer (Paragraph 22), while reduces the overall diameter of the cable (Paragraph 23) and allowing for repeated manipulation of the cable without damaging the cable (Paragraph 26). Specifically, with respect to claims 12-14, Neuman teaches an electric power distribution system (4, Figs 4) comprising first and second busbar (left and right 10-13, respectively) comprising a first and second rigid conductors (left and right 12) configured to carry current from a source to a load (Paragraphs 10 & 14), first and second hollow portions (left and right 10) surrounded by the first and second rigid conductors (left and right 12) and configured to have a cooling medium flow therethrough (Paragraph 44), first and second insulation layers (left and right 13), and a first and second shielding layer (left and right 40) positioned such that the first and second insulation layers (left and right 13) is between the first and second rigid conductor (left and right 12), respectively and the first and second shielding layer (left and right 40), respectively. With respect to claim 13, Neuman teaches that the system (60) further comprising a coolant source (62), wherein the cooling medium (not shown) flows from the coolant source (62) to the first busbar (top 10, Fig 6) and from the second busbar (bottom 10) to the coolant source (62), wherein the electric power distribution system (60), further comprising a U-Loop adaptor (69) connected to the busbar (top 10) and the second busbar (bottom 10), wherein the second busbar (bottom 10) is configured to provide return flow for the cooling medium (62, Paragraph 62).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art of cables at the time the invention was made to modify the electrical power distribution system of modified Patzak to comprise the busbar being made of the known conductor and insulation materials configuration as taught by Neuman because Neuman teaches that such a configuration provides an electrical power distribution system in the form of a charging system (Paragraph 1), comprising a transmission cable (Figs 1-6) having a cooling system that transmit high amounts of electrical power in a short time (Paragraph 9), thereby allowing for efficient heat transfer (Paragraph 22), while reduces the overall diameter of the cable (Paragraph 23) and allowing for repeated manipulation of the cable without damaging the cable (Paragraph 26).
Claim(s) 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Prasad (WO Pat Num 2020/188438) in view of Woody (Pat Num 5,591,937) and Patzak (Pub Num 2019/0140525). Prasad discloses an electrical power distribution system (Figs 1-8) that comprises a busbar that is bent into specific configurations that allow it to conform to the body of an electrical vehicle (abstract), wherein the rigidity of the busbar offers self-supporting assembly, thereby omitting the need for traditional clips and brackets, which results in reduced cost, reduced size, reduced manufacturing time of assemblage, and complexity (Paragraph 25). Specifically, with respect to claim 18, Prasad discloses an electric vehicle (Fig 1) comprising a battery (located at 112), a charge port (108) and a busbar (100) comprising a rigid conductor (136) configured to carry current in an electrical path from the charge port to the battery (Paragraphs 10 & 14), an insulation layer (144), and a shielding layer (148) positioned such that the insulation layer (144) is between the rigid conductor (136) and the shielding layer (148).
Prasad doesn’t necessarily disclose the busbar having a hollow portion surrounded by the rigid conductor and configured to have a cooling medium flow therethrough, an inner tube layer positioned between the rigid conductor and the hollow portion, an insulation layer, and a shielding layer positioned such that the insulation layer is between the rigid conductor and the shielding layer (claim 18).
Woody teaches an electrical power distribution system (Figs 1-2) that comprises a transmission cable having a cooling system and provides breach detection at a lower cost, while being more dependable (Col 1, lines 35-40). Specifically, with respect to claim 18, Woody teaches an electric power distribution system (11, Figs 1-2) comprising a busbar (30) comprising a rigid conductor (36) configured to carry current from a source (15) to a load (20), a hollow portion (31) surrounded by the rigid conductor (36) and configured to have a cooling medium (23) flow therethrough (Col 3, lines 26-29), an inner tube layer (33) positioned between the rigid conductor (36) and the hollow portion (31), an insulation layer (37), and a shielding layer (38) positioned such that the insulation layer (37) is between the rigid conductor (36) and the shielding layer (38, Fig 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art of cables at the time the invention was made to modify the electrical vehicle of Prasad to comprise the busbar configuration as taught by Woody because Woody teaches that such a configuration provides an electrical power distribution system (Figs 1-2) that comprises a transmission cable having a cooling system and provides breach detection at a lower cost, while being more dependable (Col 1, lines 35-40).
Modified Prasad also doesn’t necessarily disclose the busbar being configured such that the cooling medium flows in a single direction through the busbar (claim 18).
Patzak teaches an electrical power distribution system (Figs 1-6) that comprises a transmission cable (Fig 1) having a cooling system that provides extract heat losses and maintain a predefined temperature (Paragraph 14). Specifically, with respect to claim 18, Patzak teaches an electric power distribution system (Fig 1) comprising a busbar (Fig 1) comprising a rigid conductor (1) configured to carry current from a source to a load (Paragraph 84), a hollow portion (5) surrounded by the rigid conductor (1) and configured to have a cooling medium flow therethrough (Paragraph 91), an insulation layer (2), and a shielding layer (3) positioned such that the insulation layer (2) is between the rigid conductor (1) and the shielding layer (3), wherein the busbar is configured such that the cooling medium flow in a single direction through the busbar (Fig 1, Paragraph 91).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art of cables at the time the invention was made to modify the electrical vehicle of modified Prasad to comprise the busbar configured such that the cooling medium flows in a single direction configuration as taught by Patzak because Patzak teaches that such a configuration provides an electrical power distribution system (Figs 1-6) that comprises a transmission cable (Fig 1) having a cooling system that provides extract heat losses and maintain a predefined temperature (Paragraph 14).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 18, & 19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please refer to the enclosed PTO-892 form for the citation of pertinent art in the present case, all of which disclose various busbars having cooling mediums for usage with electrical vehicles, etc.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Communication
/William H. Mayo III/
William H. Mayo III
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2847
WHM III
July 10, 2026