DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for domestic priority under 35 U.S.C. 120. The PCT Application Number PCT/US2022/047602, being filed on October 24, 2022.
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for provisional priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(e). The provisional application being filed October 29, 2021, as Application No. 63/263,322.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed August 9, 2024 & July 31, 2024 have been submitted for consideration by the Office. They have been placed in the application file and the information referred to therein has been considered.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because Figures 2B-2D, 2F, 4C, and 7-13A lack the proper cross-hatching which indicates the type of materials, which may be in an invention. Specifically, the cross hatching to indicate the conductor and insulative materials is improper. The applicant should refer to MPEP Section 608.02 for the proper cross-hatching of materials. Correction is required.
In addition to Replacement Sheets containing the corrected drawing figure(s), applicant is required to submit a marked-up copy of each Replacement Sheet including annotations indicating the changes made to the previous version. The marked-up copy must be clearly labeled as “Annotated Sheets” and must be presented in the amendment or remarks section that explains the change(s) to the drawings. See 37 CFR 1.121(d)(1). Failure to timely submit the proposed drawing and marked-up copy will result in the abandonment of the application.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words. It is important that the abstract not exceed 150 words in length since the space provided for the abstract on the computer tape used by the printer is limited. The form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as "means" and "said," should be avoided. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, "The disclosure concerns," "The disclosure defined by this invention," "The disclosure describes," etc.
Extensive mechanical and design details of apparatus should not be given.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because in line 1, the abstract recites the terms “ …..are disclosed”, which is improper language for the abstract. The applicant should delete the terms, to provide the abstract with proper language. Correction is required. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-6, 15, 19-20, 22, 24, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Woody et al (Pat Num 5,591,937, herein referred to as Woody). Woody discloses an electrical power distribution system (Figs 1-2) that comprises a transmission cable having a cooling system and provides breach detection at a lower cost, while being more dependable (Col 1, lines 35-40). Specifically, with respect to claim 1, Woody discloses an electric power distribution system (11, Figs 1-2) comprising a busbar (30) comprising a rigid conductor (36) configured to carry current from a source (15) to a load (20), a hollow portion (31) surrounded by the rigid conductor (36) and configured to have a cooling medium (23) flow therethrough (Col 3, lines 26-29), an inner tube layer (33) positioned between the rigid conductor (36) and the hollow portion (31), an insulation layer (37), and a shielding layer (38) positioned such that the insulation layer (37) is between the rigid conductor (36) and the shielding layer (38, Fig 2). With respect to claim 3, Woody discloses that the inner tube layer (33) is configured to protect the rigid conductor (36) from corrosion from the cooling medium (23, i.e. the cooling medium isolates the conductor (36) from being in contact with the medium (23) therefore no corrosion will exist from the cooling medium because it never touches the conductor (36)). With respect to claim 4, Woody discloses that the busbar (30) further comprises an electrically insulating layer (34), wherein the electrically insulating layer (35) is positioned between an inner diameter of the rigid conductor (36) and the inner tube layer (33). With respect to claim 5, Woody discloses that the electric power distribution system (11) further comprises a second hollow portion (32) that is outside of an outer diameter of the rigid conductor (36). With respect to claim 6, Woody discloses that the rigid conductor (36) has a first end (top end) and a second end (bottom end, Fig 1), and the first end (top end) and the second end (bottom end) each have an electrical contact area (Fig 1). With respect to claim 15, Woody discloses that the electric power distribution system (11) further comprises a reservoir (21) and a pump (24) together configured to provide the cooling medium (23) to the hollow portion (31) of the busbar (30, Col 2, lines 42-49). With respect to claim 19, Woody discloses a busbar (30) comprising a conductor (36) configured to carry electrical energy between components of an electric powertrain (10, Col 1, lines 60-67), a conduit (31) for a cooling medium (32), wherein the conduit (31) is surrounded by the conductor (36), and wherein the conductor (36) and the conduit (31) are both part of a single busbar assembly (30), wherein the busbar (30) being a rigid busbar (Fig 1, no bends); and a tube layer (33) surrounding the conduit (31), the tube layer (33) positioned between the conduit (36) and the conductor (36). With respect to claim 20, Woody discloses that the busbar (30) further comprising a second conduit (32). With respect to claim 22, Woody discloses that the busbar (30) further comprises a second conductor (34) and an insulating layer (35), wherein the insulating layer (35) is positioned between the conductor (36) and the second conductor (34). With respect to claim 24, Woody discloses that the busbar (30) further comprises a shielding layer (38) surrounding the conductor (36) and an insulation layer (37) positioned between the conductor (36) and the shielding layer (38). With respect to claim 26, Woody discloses that the tube layer (33) comprises an electrically insulating layer configured to electrically isolate the conductor (36) and cooling medium (23) flowing through the conduit (31, i.e. the cooling medium isolates the conductor (36) from being in contact with the medium (23) therefore no corrosion will exist from the cooling medium because it never touches the conductor (36).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 8, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woody (Pat Num 5,591,937) in view of Patzak (Pub Num 2019/0140525). Woody discloses an electrical power distribution system (Figs 1-2) that comprises a transmission cable having a cooling system and provides breach detection at a lower cost, while being more dependable (Col 1, lines 35-40), as disclosed with respect to claims 1 , 19, & 26 above. Specifically, with respect to claims 2, 8, and 27, Woody discloses a rigid conductor (36) comprising an insulation layer (35, Col 3, lines 1-5).
However, Woody doesn’t necessarily disclose the rigid conductor comprises at least one of aluminum or copper (claim 2), nor the insulation layer comprises at least one of cross-linked polyethylene (XLPE), polyvinyl chloride (PVC), nylon, silicone, thermoplastic, or thermoset plastic (claim 8), nor the electrically insulating layer comprises at least one of polyethylene, nylon, polyvinyl chloride, silicone thermoplastic, or thermoset plastic (claim 27).
Patzak teaches an electrical power distribution system (Figs 1-6) that comprises a transmission cable (Fig 1) having a cooling system that provides extract heat losses and maintain a predefined temperature (Paragraph 14). Specifically, with respect to claims 2, 8, & 27, Patzak teaches an electric power distribution system (Fig 1) comprising a busbar (Fig 1) comprising a rigid conductor (1) configured to carry current from a source to a load (Paragraph 84), a hollow portion (5) surrounded by the rigid conductor (1) and configured to have a cooling medium flow therethrough (Paragraph 91), an insulation layer (2), and a shielding layer (3) positioned such that the insulation layer (2) is between the rigid conductor (1) and the shielding layer (3), wherein the rigid conductor (1) may comprise at least one of aluminum or copper (Paragraph 86) and the insulation layer (2) may be thermoplastic (Paragraph 85).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art of cables at the time the invention was made to modify the electrical power distribution system of Woody to comprise the busbar being made of the known conductor and insulation materials configuration as taught by Patzak because Patzak teaches that such a configuration provides an electrical power distribution system (Figs 1-6) that comprises a transmission cable having a cooling system that provides extract heat losses and maintain a predefined temperature (Paragraph 14) and since it has been held to be within general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Claim(s) 11 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woody (Pat Num 5,591,937) in view of Prasad et al (WO Pat Num 2020/188438, herein referred to as Prasad). Woody discloses an electrical power distribution system (Figs 1-2) that comprises a transmission cable having a cooling system and provides breach detection at a lower cost, while being more dependable (Col 1, lines 35-40), as disclosed with respect to claim 1 above.
However, Woody doesn’t necessarily disclose the electrical power distribution system, wherein the busbar is shaped for inclusion in an electric vehicle, and wherein the busbar is shaped to conform to in- vehicle packaging and extends between a charging port/inlet to a vehicle battery (claim 11), nor the electric power distribution system, further comprising a charge-port connecting unit configured to connect the busbar to the source (claim 17).
Prasad teaches an electrical power distribution system (Figs 1-8) that comprises a busbar that is bent into specific configurations that allow it to conform to the body of an electrical vehicle (abstract), wherein the rigidity of the busbar offers self-supporting assembly, thereby omitting the need for traditional clips and brackets, which results in reduced cost, reduced size, reduced manufacturing time of assemblage, and complexity (Paragraph 25). Specifically, with respect to claims 11 & 17, Prasad teaches a busbar (100, Fig 1) comprising a rigid conductor (136) configured to carry current from a source (112) to a load (108), an insulation layer (144), and a shielding layer (148) positioned such that the insulation layer (144) is between the rigid conductor (136) and the shielding layer (148), wherein the busbar (100) is shaped to conform to in-vehicle packaging (Fig 1) and extends between a charging port/inlet (108) to a vehicle battery (112, Paragraph 29), wherein the busbar (100) further comprising a charge-port connecting unit (156) configured to connect the busbar (100) to the source (i.e. battery, 112).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art of cables at the time the invention was made to modify the electrical power distribution system of Woody to comprise the busbar configuration as taught by Prasad because Prasad teaches that such a configuration provides an electrical power distribution system (Figs 1-8) that comprises a busbar that is bent into specific configurations that allow it to conform to the body of an electrical vehicle (abstract), wherein the rigidity of the busbar offers self-supporting assembly, thereby omitting the need for traditional clips and brackets, which results in reduced cost, reduced size, reduced manufacturing time of assemblage, and complexity (Paragraph 25) and since it has been held that a change in form cannot sustain patentability where involved is only extended application of obvious attributes from a prior art. In re Span-Deck Inc. vs. Fab-Con Inc. (CA 8, 1982) 215 USPQ 835.
Claim(s) 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woody (Pat Num 5,591,937) in view of Neumann (Pub Num 2020/0350098). Woody discloses an electrical power distribution system (Figs 1-2) that comprises a transmission cable having a cooling system and provides breach detection at a lower cost, while being more dependable (Col 1, lines 35-40), as disclosed with respect to claim 1 above.
However, Woody doesn’t necessarily disclose the electrical power distribution system further comprising a second busbar comprising a second rigid conductor, a second hollow portion, a second insulation layer, and a second shielding layer (claim 12), nor the system further comprising a coolant source, wherein the cooling medium flows from the coolant source to the busbar and from the second busbar to the coolant source (claim 13), nor the electric power distribution system, further comprising a U-Loop adaptor connected to the busbar and the second busbar, wherein the second busbar is configured to provide return flow for the cooling medium (claim 14).
Neuman teaches an electrical power distribution system in the form of a charging system (Paragraph 1), comprising a transmission cable (Figs 1-6) having a cooling system that transmit high amounts of electrical power in a short time (Paragraph 9), thereby allowing for efficient heat transfer (Paragraph 22), while reduces the overall diameter of the cable (Paragraph 23) and allowing for repeated manipulation of the cable without damaging the cable (Paragraph 26). Specifically, with respect to claims 12-14, Neuman teaches an electric power distribution system (4, Figs 4) comprising first and second busbar (left and right 10-13, respectively) comprising a first and second rigid conductors (left and right 12) configured to carry current from a source to a load (Paragraphs 10 & 14), first and second hollow portions (left and right 10) surrounded by the first and second rigid conductors (left and right 12) and configured to have a cooling medium flow therethrough (Paragraph 44), first and second insulation layers (left and right 13), and a first and second shielding layer (left and right 40) positioned such that the first and second insulation layers (left and right 13) is between the first and second rigid conductor (left and right 12), respectively and the first and second shielding layer (left and right 40), respectively. With respect to claim 13, Neuman teaches that the system (60) further comprising a coolant source (62), wherein the cooling medium (not shown) flows from the coolant source (62) to the first busbar (top 10, Fig 6) and from the second busbar (bottom 10) to the coolant source (62), wherein the electric power distribution system (60), further comprising a U-Loop adaptor (69) connected to the busbar (top 10) and the second busbar (bottom 10), wherein the second busbar (bottom 10) is configured to provide return flow for the cooling medium (62, Paragraph 62).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art of cables at the time the invention was made to modify the electrical power distribution system of Woody to comprise the busbar being made of the known conductor and insulation materials configuration as taught by Neuman because Neuman teaches that such a configuration provides an electrical power distribution system in the form of a charging system (Paragraph 1), comprising a transmission cable (Figs 1-6) having a cooling system that transmit high amounts of electrical power in a short time (Paragraph 9), thereby allowing for efficient heat transfer (Paragraph 22), while reduces the overall diameter of the cable (Paragraph 23) and allowing for repeated manipulation of the cable without damaging the cable (Paragraph 26).
Claim(s) 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Prasad (WO Pat Num 2020/188438) in view of Woody (Pat Num 5,591,937). Prasad discloses
an electrical power distribution system (Figs 1-8) that comprises a busbar that is bent into specific configurations that allow it to conform to the body of an electrical vehicle (abstract), wherein the rigidity of the busbar offers self-supporting assembly, thereby omitting the need for traditional clips and brackets, which results in reduced cost, reduced size, reduced manufacturing time of assemblage, and complexity (Paragraph 25). Specifically, with respect to claim 18, Prasad discloses an electric vehicle (Fig 1) comprising a battery (located at 112), a charge port (108) and a busbar (100) comprising a rigid conductor (136) configured to carry current in an electrical path from the charge port to the battery (Paragraphs 10 & 14), an insulation layer (144), and a shielding layer (148) positioned such that the insulation layer (144) is between the rigid conductor (136) and the shielding layer (148).
Prasad doesn’t necessarily disclose the busbar having a hollow portion surrounded by the rigid conductor and configured to have a cooling medium flow therethrough, an inner tube layer positioned between the rigid conductor and the hollow portion, an insulation layer, and a shielding layer positioned such that the insulation layer is between the rigid conductor and the shielding layer (claim 18).
Woody teaches an electrical power distribution system (Figs 1-2) that comprises a transmission cable having a cooling system and provides breach detection at a lower cost, while being more dependable (Col 1, lines 35-40). Specifically, with respect to claim 18, Woody teaches an electric power distribution system (11, Figs 1-2) comprising a busbar (30) comprising a rigid conductor (36) configured to carry current from a source (15) to a load (20), a hollow portion (31) surrounded by the rigid conductor (36) and configured to have a cooling medium (23) flow therethrough (Col 3, lines 26-29), an inner tube layer (33) positioned between the rigid conductor (36) and the hollow portion (31), an insulation layer (37), and a shielding layer (38) positioned such that the insulation layer (37) is between the rigid conductor (36) and the shielding layer (38, Fig 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art of cables at the time the invention was made to modify the electrical vehicle of Prasad to comprise the busbar configuration as taught by Woody because Woody teaches that such a configuration provides an electrical power distribution system (Figs 1-2) that comprises a transmission cable having a cooling system and provides breach detection at a lower cost, while being more dependable (Col 1, lines 35-40).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please refer to the enclosed PTO-892 form for the citation of pertinent art in the present case, all of which disclose various busbars having cooling mediums for usage with electrical vehicles, etc.
Communication
/William H. Mayo III/
William H. Mayo III
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2847
WHM III
January 17, 2026