DETAILED ACTION
This final action is in response to the amendment filed on 08/19/2026
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 32-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Dependent method claim 32 depends from container claim 16. The examiner is unable to determine the metes and bounds of method claim 32 since the claim does not recite what structures are or are not included in the method claim. It is respectfully requested dependent method claim 32 be rewritten in independent form to include all the structural limitations of claim 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16-18, 20-23, 25-29, and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Katsumata (US 6,012,267).
Regarding claim 16, Katsumata discloses a container processing system (Fig.1:20) for processing containers, comprising:
at least one component having a surface with a material that can be photoactivated (Fig.3A:66 and 68; col.4, lines 50-65) for the disinfecting of the surface, and
wherein the at least one component has at least one of a user interface, a user-operated element (Fig.2:60 and col.4, lines 50-65), a display, a touch-sensitive display, a keyboard, an emergency-button, a safety switch, and a door opener (col.4, lines 50-67 through col.5, lines 1-40).
Regarding claim 17, Katsumata discloses that at least one of: the material is a photocatalyst material (col.4, lines 50-65) and the material comprises titanium dioxide.
Regarding claim 18, Katsumata discloses at least one of:
the material, when irradiated with light (col.4, lines 50-65), is stimulated to transfer energy to oxygen in the surroundings of the surface, so that singlet oxygen is formed for disinfecting the surface; and
the material, when irradiated with light, forms a singlet oxygen layer for disinfecting the
surface (col.4, lines 50-65).
Regarding claim 20, Katsumata discloses that the surface of the at least one component is a container contact surface for contacting containers during operation of the container processing system (col.4, lines 50-67 through col.5, lines 1-18).
Regarding claim 21, Katsumata discloses that at least one component comprises: a guide element for guiding the containers (col.4, lines 50-67 through col.5, lines 1-18).
Regarding claim 22, Katsumata discloses that the guide element
includes one of:
a guide railing, a guide wall, a guide format part adapted to a geometry of the containers
to be processed, and a wear strip of a container guide (col.4, lines 50-67 through col.5, lines 1-18).
Regarding claim 23, Katsumata discloses at least one of:
the at least one component comprises a transport element (col.4, lines 50-67 through col.5, lines 1-18) for transporting the containers;
and
the at least one component comprises a container conveyor (col.4, lines 50-67 through col.5, lines 1-18) for conveying the containers; and
the at least one component is arranged in a portion of the container processing system
(col.4, lines 50-67 through col.5, lines 1-18) between a rinsing device of the container processing system and a filling device of the container processing system.
Regarding claim 25, Katsumata discloses that the at least one component (col.4, lines 50-67 through col.5, lines 1-18) comprises a container processing device for processing the containers.
Regarding claim 26, Katsumata discloses that the container processing device includes one of:
a heating device for heating preforms for producing the containers;
a container production device (col.4, lines 27-38) for producing the containers;
a coating device for coating the containers;
a rinsing device for rinsing the containers;
a filling device for filling the containers;
a closing device for closing the containers;
an inspection device for inspecting the containers;
a labeling device for labeling the containers;
a printing device for printing on the containers; and
a packaging device for packaging the containers.
Regarding claim 27, Katsumata discloses that the surface is formed by a spray-applied coating having the material (col.4, lines 50-67 through col.5, lines 1-18).
Regarding claim 28, Katsumata discloses that the photoactivatable material (col.4, lines 50-67 through col.5, lines 1-18) is mixed into a base material of the at least one component.
Regarding claim 29, Katsumata discloses that the base material includes plastic (col.4, lines 50-67 through col.5, lines 1-18).
Regarding claim 32, Katsumata discloses a method for treating a container processing system for disinfecting the surface of the at least one component effected by irradiating the material of the surface with light (col.4, lines 50-67 through col.5, lines 1-18).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 24, 30-31, and 33-35 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Regarding claims 24, 30-31, and 33-35, the primary reasons for indicating allowable subject matters are the following: the use of a transport starwheel and a linear conveyor; the use of an inspection device, the use of an evaluation device; the steps of requesting and applying a coating; the steps of sensing, elapsing, reaching a predefined number of containers, and elapsing of a predefined amount of time as related to the coating of the surface.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 08/19/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pages 10-11, Applicant argues the following: that Katsumata does not describe a user interface, a user-operated element, a display, a touch-sensitive display, a keyboard, an emergency-button, a safety switch, and a door opener; that the passage relied upon in the office action describes only mechanical and structural components and is silent as to any operator-facing control; that even were such a component assumed to be present in Katsumata, the reference affirmatively directs its catalyst to standing-water and structural surfaces, not to any operator-facing element; that the recited items are affirmative structural components, not statements of intended use, and therefore carry patentable weight; and that Katsumata suggest the claimed arrangement is directed to apply the catalyst to wet and standing-water surfaces rather than to the normally dry, hand-contacted operator surfaces.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. Katsumata does teach to coat the guide rails that are part of the conveyor system (Fig.2:60) with the catalyst (col.4, lines 50-65). The examiner considers the conveyor system of Katsumata as the user-operated element (Fig.2:60 and col.4, lines 50-65). Katsumata goes on to further teach coating other structural parts (col.5, lines 1-40) with the catalyst. The guide rails of the conveyor system are dry and are hand-contacted operator surfaces. And therefore, Katsumata discloses coating other dry surfaces beside standing-water surfaces.
The amendment to the specification is accepted.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The Roberts (US 6,458,331 B1) reference teaches sterilizing keyboards and input devices.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MONZER R CHORBAJI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799