DETAILED ACTION
This is a first action on the merits for this regular application filed on 04/23/2024
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16-23, 25-29, and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Katsumata (US 6,012,267).
Regarding claim 16, Katsumata discloses a container processing system (Fig.1:20) for processing containers, comprising:
at least one component having a surface with a material that can be photoactivated (Fig.3A:66 and 68; col.4, lines 50-65) for the disinfecting of the surface.
Regarding claim 17, Katsumata discloses that at least one of: the material is a photocatalyst material (col.4, lines 50-65) and the material comprises titanium dioxide.
Regarding claim 18, Katsumata discloses at least one of:
the material, when irradiated with light (col.4, lines 50-65), is stimulated to transfer energy to oxygen in the surroundings of the surface, so that singlet oxygen is formed for disinfecting the surface; and
the material, when irradiated with light, forms a singlet oxygen layer for disinfecting the
surface (col.4, lines 50-65).
Regarding claim 19, Katsumata discloses that the at least one component has at least one of a user interface, an operating element, a touch-sensitive display, a keyboard, an emergency-off button, a safety switch, and a door opener (col.4, lines 50-67 through col.5, lines 1-18).
Regarding claim 20, Katsumata discloses that the surface of the at least one component is a container contact surface for contacting containers during operation of the container processing system (col.4, lines 50-67 through col.5, lines 1-18).
Regarding claim 21, Katsumata discloses that at least one component comprises: a guide element for guiding the containers (col.4, lines 50-67 through col.5, lines 1-18).
Regarding claim 22, Katsumata discloses that the guide element
includes one of:
a guide railing, a guide wall, a guide format part adapted to a geometry of the containers
to be processed, and a wear strip of a container guide (col.4, lines 50-67 through col.5, lines 1-18).
Regarding claim 23, Katsumata discloses that at least one of:
the at least one component comprises a transport element (col.4, lines 50-67 through col.5, lines 1-18) for transporting the containers;
and
the at least one component comprises a container conveyor (col.4, lines 50-67 through col.5, lines 1-18) for conveying the containers; and
the at least one component is arranged in a portion of the container processing system
(col.4, lines 50-67 through col.5, lines 1-18) between a rinsing device of the container processing system and a filling device of the container processing system.
Regarding claim 25, Katsumata discloses that the at least one component (col.4, lines 50-67 through col.5, lines 1-18) comprises a container processing device for processing the containers.
Regarding claim 26, Katsumata discloses that the container processing device includes one of:
a heating device for heating preforms for producing the containers;
a container production device (col.4, lines 27-38) for producing the containers;
a coating device for coating the containers;
a rinsing device for rinsing the containers;
a filling device for filling the containers;
a closing device for closing the containers;
an inspection device for inspecting the containers;
a labeling device for labeling the containers;
a printing device for printing on the containers; and
a packaging device for packaging the containers.
Regarding claim 27, Katsumata discloses that the surface is formed by a spray-applied coating having the material (col.4, lines 50-67 through col.5, lines 1-18).
Regarding claim 28, Katsumata discloses that the photoactivatable material (col.4, lines 50-67 through col.5, lines 1-18) is mixed into a base material of the at least one component.
Regarding claim 29, Katsumata discloses that the base material includes plastic (col.4, lines 50-67 through col.5, lines 1-18).
Regarding claim 32, Katsumata discloses a method for treating a container processing system for disinfecting the surface of the at least one component effected by irradiating the material of the surface with light (col.4, lines 50-67 through col.5, lines 1-18).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 24, 30-31, and 33-35 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Regarding claims 24, 30-31, and 33-35, the primary reasons for indicating allowable subject matters are the following: the use of a transport starwheel and a linear conveyor; the use of an inspection device, the use of an evaluation device; the steps of requesting and applying a coating; the steps of sensing, elapsing, reaching a predefined number of containers, and elapsing of a predefined amount of time as related to the coating of the surface.
Conclusion
/MONZER R CHORBAJI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799