Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Huang et al US 20240248167 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Huang discloses a method of performing a sensing measurement by a first station (STA) in a wireless LAN system, the method comprising:
receiving, from a second STA, a sensing measurement element (receiving, by a first device, a measurement configuration element from a second device, (at least see claim 1) including first information indicating at least one of a trigger-based (TB) measurement instance or a non-TB measurement instance (wherein the measurement configuration element includes a field indicating whether a trigger-based or non-trigger-based measurement instance is to be performed, (at least see [0374], [0376] and claim 6); and
performing the sensing measurement in at least one of the TB measurement instance or the non-TB measurement instance (at least see [0078] and [0374])
wherein the sensing measurement element includes at least one of a parameter set for the TB measurement instance or a parameter set for the non-TB measurement instance based on the first information, (at least see fig. 11, [0239] and claim 13).
Regarding claim 2, Huang discloses the method of claim 1, wherein:
based on the first information indicating the TB measurement instance, the sensing measurement element includes a parameter set for the TB measurement instance (at least see claims 2 and 3), and
based on the first information indicating the non-TB measurement instance, the sensing measurement element includes a parameter set for the non-TB measurement instance (at least see claims 2 and 3).
Regarding claim 3, Huang discloses the method of claim 1, wherein:
the parameter set for the TB measurement instance includes information about a polling phase, second information about a sensing measurement phase based on a null data physical protocol data unit (NDP) announcement frame, information about a trigger frame- based sensing measurement phase, and third information related to reporting (at least [0376] and claim 6), and
the parameter set for the non-TB measurement instance includes the second information and the third information (at least see [0110], [0111] and [0374]).
Regarding claim 4, Huang discloses the method of claim 3, wherein:
the third information includes at least one of information indicating whether delayed reporting of feedback based on the sensing measurement is allowed, information indicating whether the feedback can be aggregated, or a type of the feedback (at least see [0110], [0111] and [0374].
Regarding claim 5, Huang discloses the method of claim 1, wherein:
the sensing measurement element is included in a sensing measurement setup request frame and transmitted to the second STA, and the first information is included in a common information field of the sensing measurement element (at least see [0207] to [0212]).
Regarding claim 7, Huang discloses the method of claim 1, wherein:
the sensing measurement element includes a parameter set for the TB measurement instance, and based on the first information indicating the non-TB measurement instance, information about a polling phase and information about a trigger frame-based sensing measurement phase among parameter sets for the TB measurement instance are reserved (at least see [0110], [0111] and [0272]).
Regarding claim 8, Huang discloses the method of claim 1, wherein:
the sensing measurement element includes an termination time field that sets a specific time, and based on a frame being not exchanged within the specific time after a measurement setup phase is initiated, the measurement setup step is terminated (at least see [0080] and [0141])..
Regarding claim 9, Huang discloses the method of claim 1, wherein:
the first STA is a sensing responder (at least see [0087]), and
the second STA is a sensing initiator (at least see [0090]).
Regarding claim 10, Huang discloses a first station (STA) for performing sensing measurement in a wireless LAN system, the first STA comprising:
at least one transceiver; and at least one processor connected to the at least one transceiver (at least see claims 5 and 7), wherein the at least one processor is configured to:
receive, from the second STA through the at least one transceiver, a sensing measurement (receiving, by a first station, a measurement configuration element from a second station, at least see claim 1) element including first information indicating at least one of a trigger-based (TB) measurement instance or a non-TB measurement instance (wherein the measurement configuration element includes a field indicating whether a trigger-based or non-trigger-based measurement instance is to be performed, (at least see claim 2, [0374] and [0376]); and
perform the sensing measurement in at least one of the TB measurement instance or the non-TB measurement instance,
wherein the sensing measurement element includes at least one of a parameter set for the TB measurement instance or a parameter set for the non-TB measurement instance based on the first information (at least see fig. 11, [0239] and claim 13).
11. (Canceled)
Regarding claim 12, Huang discloses a second station (STA) for performing sensing measurement in a wireless LAN system, the second STA comprising:
at least one transceiver; and at least one processor connected to the at least one transceiver transceiver (at least see claims 5 and 7),
wherein the at least one processor is configured to:
transmit, to a first STA through the at least one transceiver, a sensing measurement element including first information indicating at least one of a trigger-based (TB) measurement instance or a non-TB measurement instance; and
perform the sensing measurement in at least one of the TB measurement instance or the non-TB measurement instance,
wherein the sensing measurement element includes at least one of a parameter set for the TB measurement instance or a parameter set for the non-TB measurement instance based on the first information (at least see fig. 11, [0239] and claim 13).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Da Silva “Specification Framework for TGbf”, IEEE DRAFT; 11-21-0504-03-SPECIFICATION-FRAMEWORK-FOR-TGBF, IEEE-SA MENTOR, PISCATAWAY, NJ USA in view of Huang Huang et al US 20240248167 A1.
Regarding claims 1, 10 and 12, Huang discloses a method of performing a sensing measurement by a first station (STA) in a wireless LAN system, the method comprising:
receiving, from a second STA, a sensing measurement element (receiving, by a first device, a measurement configuration element from a second device, (at least see chapter 7.1.1, sensing measurement setup…) including first information indicating at least one of a trigger-based (TB) measurement instance or a non-TB measurement instance (wherein the measurement configuration element includes a field indicating whether a trigger-based or non-trigger-based measurement instance is to be performed, (at least see chapter 7.1.1, a WLAN sensing procedure may be comprised of multiple sensing measurement instances); and
performing the sensing measurement in at least one of the TB measurement instance or the non-TB measurement instance (at least see motion 15, 20/1851r4, and chapter 7.1.4.2 TB sensing measurement instance, also see 7.1.4.3)
Da Silva does not disclose the first STA receives, from a second STA, a sensing measurement element including first information indicating at least one of a trigger- based TB measurement instance or a non-TB measurement instance and the sensing measurement element includes at least one of a parameter set for the TB measurement instance or a parameter set for the non-TB measurement instance based on the first information, (at least see fig. 11, [0239] and claim 13). However, Huang teaches these missing limitations (see rejection for claims 1, 10 and 11, also see [0239], [0078], [0374] and claim 13.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Da Silva by incorporating the teachings of Huang, as this combination enables flexible, efficient, and interoperable sensing measurement configuration through explicit selection and standardized parameter exchange for both trigger-based and non-trigger-based measurement instances.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
.
/HELAL A ALGAHAIM/SPE , Art Unit 3645