DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to the amendment and arguments filed on June 10, 2026.
Claims 1-12 are pending.
Claims 1-12 are rejected.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, see Page 5-6, filed June 10, 2026 with respect to the rejection of Claims 1-3, 8 and 10-12 under 35 U.S.C. §102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Aio have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues as follows:
Specifically, claims 1 and 10-12 as amended now particularly recite that "a primary channel used in coordinated communication, in which a plurality of access points participate, [is] determined from among one or more channels commonly used by the plurality of access points as operational channels in uncoordinated communication" and that "channel information including information on the primary channel" is shared among the plurality of access points, i.e., transmitted from one access point to another access point of the plurality of access points.
One technical advantage of the claimed subject matter is that a primary channel used in coordinated communication is reliably transmitted and received by the access points in coordinated communication, because the primary channel is determined from among one or more channel (already) commonly used by the plurality of access points as operational channels in uncoordinated communication.
Aio describes that an access point determines a coordination recommendation channel from an idle or empty channel or from secondary channels of the access point (see, e.g., paragraphs [0099] - [0107] and steps S51 - S58 of FIG. 11). Aio, however, fails to teach or suggest determining a primary channel used in coordinated communication from among one or more channels commonly used by the plurality of access points as operational channels in uncoordinated communication, as recited in claims 1 and 10-12.
Thus, claims 1 and 10-12, as amended, are now believed to be clearly allowable over Aio.
Allowance of claims 1 and 10-12, as well as claims 2-9 which depend from allowable base claim 1, is respectfully requested.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Prior art reference Aio is directed to a wireless communication device and method that make it possible to suppress signal collisions and a loss of an opportunity to acquire a transmission right. The wireless communication device transmits and receives signals to and from another wireless communication device, and determines a coordination recommendation channel to be recommended to the other wireless communication device in order to perform coordination communication (Aio Abstract).
Prior art reference Aio discloses a plurality of channels in Figure 3 utilized between a plurality of access points where the APs can receive mutual transmission signals. Paragraph [0055-0059] For example, when a certain AP has started to be operated, one channel (a bandwidth of 20 MHz) is selected from among bands to be used (in the case of FIG. 3, Ch44). In a wireless LAN standard, the channel is referred to as a primary channel (hereinafter, a PCH). Operations such as the transmission of a control signal to be described later and carrier sensing are performed using the PCH; Figure 11; Paragraph [0153-0169] Carrier sensing and selection of idle channel to be primary channel among the operational channels in uncoordinated communication.
Prior art reference Aio discloses in Figure 7 coordination, communication and control between two access points including determining a primary channel and transmitting and receiving channel information on the primary channel to another access point. Paragraph [0099-0107] AP1 transmits information indicating a coordination recommendation channel to be recommended to AP2 in order to perform coordination communication to the AP2. The AP1 sets an empty channel as a PCH. In addition, the AP1 determines a coordination recommendation channel of another AP (AP2) that can perform coordination communication with the AP1 on the basis of a bandwidth that the AP1 requests (desires) (a minimum bandwidth desired to be secured: hereinafter referred to as a requirement BW); In step S13, the AP1 includes information indicating the determined coordination recommendation channel (Coordination Recommended PCH Info.) in an M-AP Management Element (FIG. 8) to be described later, and transmits the information along with a Beacon signal. In this case, the Beacon signal is transmitted using its (AP1) own PCH; In step S32, the AP2 receives the Beacon signal transmitted from the AP1. The AP2 can recognize the PCH of the AP1 by receiving the Beacon signal. In step S33, the AP2 sets its own PCH on the basis of information indicating the coordination recommendation channel of the M-AP Management Element included in the received Beacon signal and channel scanning results.).
Prior art Aio continues in Paragraph [0099-0107] In addition, the AP1 determines a coordination recommendation channel of another AP (AP2) that can perform coordination communication with the AP1 on the basis of a bandwidth that the AP1 requests (desires) (a minimum bandwidth desired to be secured: hereinafter referred to as a requirement BW). For example, it is desirable that any one secondary channel of the AP1 be included as a coordination recommendation channel. In step S13, the AP1 includes information indicating the determined coordination recommendation channel (Coordination Recommended PCH Info.) in an M-AP Management Element (FIG. 8) to be described later, and transmits the information along with a Beacon signal. In this case, the Beacon signal is transmitted using its (AP1) own PCH; That is the first AP determines channel information related to control of coordinated communication based on channels allocated in uncoordinated communications and transmits the information to another access point.
That is prior art reference Aio clearly discloses an access point which determines a primary channel used in coordinated communication, in which a plurality of access points participate, from among one or more channels commonly used by the plurality of access points as operational channels in uncoordinated communication; and transmission circuitry, which, in operation, transmits channel information including information on the primary channel to another access point.
The rejection has been revised and set forth below according to the amended claims (See Office Action).
All remaining arguments presented by Applicant not specifically addressed herein and directed to various dependent claims are found unpersuasive for the same reasons as stated herein, supra, with regard to independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 8 and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Aio U.S. Patent Application Publication 2022/0287095, hereinafter Aio.
Regarding Claim 1, Aio discloses an access point, comprising: control circuitry, which, in operation (Abstract; Figure 2, 3, 5-7 and 29),
determines a primary channel used in coordinated communication (Figure 3 and 5; Paragraph [0099-0107] AP1 transmits information indicating a coordination recommendation channel to be recommended to AP2 in order to perform coordination communication to the AP2. The AP1 sets an empty channel as a PCH. In addition, the AP1 determines a coordination recommendation channel of another AP (AP2) that can perform coordination communication with the AP1 on the basis of a bandwidth that the AP1 requests (desires) (a minimum bandwidth desired to be secured: hereinafter referred to as a requirement BW); In step S13, the AP1 includes information indicating the determined coordination recommendation channel (Coordination Recommended PCH Info.) in an M-AP Management Element (FIG. 8) to be described later, and transmits the information along with a Beacon signal. In this case, the Beacon signal is transmitted using its (AP1) own PCH; In step S32, the AP2 receives the Beacon signal transmitted from the AP1. The AP2 can recognize the PCH of the AP1 by receiving the Beacon signal. In step S33, the AP2 sets its own PCH on the basis of information indicating the coordination recommendation channel of the M-AP Management Element included in the received Beacon signal and channel scanning results.),
in which a plurality of access points participate, from among one or more channels commonly used by the plurality of access points as operational channels in uncoordinated communication (Figure 3; Paragraph [0055-0059] For example, when a certain AP has started to be operated, one channel (a bandwidth of 20 MHz) is selected from among bands to be used (in the case of FIG. 3, Ch44). In a wireless LAN standard, the channel is referred to as a primary channel (hereinafter, a PCH). Operations such as the transmission of a control signal to be described later and carrier sensing are performed using the PCH; Figure 11; Paragraph [0153-0169] Carrier sensing and selection of idle channel to be primary channel among the operational channels in uncoordinated communication);
and transmission circuitry, which, in operation, transmits channel information including information on the primary channel to another access point (Figure 7; Paragraph [0099-0107] In addition, the AP1 determines a coordination recommendation channel of another AP (AP2) that can perform coordination communication with the AP1 on the basis of a bandwidth that the AP1 requests (desires) (a minimum bandwidth desired to be secured: hereinafter referred to as a requirement BW). For example, it is desirable that any one secondary channel of the AP1 be included as a coordination recommendation channel. In step S13, the AP1 includes information indicating the determined coordination recommendation channel (Coordination Recommended PCH Info.) in an M-AP Management Element (FIG. 8) to be described later, and transmits the information along with a Beacon signal. In this case, the Beacon signal is transmitted using its (AP1) own PCH; That is the first AP determines channel information related to control of coordinated communication based on channels allocated in uncoordinated communications and transmits the information to another access point).
Regarding Claim 2, Aio disclose the access point according to Claim 1. Aio further discloses wherein the primary channel is used in the coordinated communication by a first access point that controls the coordinated communication (Figure 7; Paragraph [0099-0107] In step S13, the AP1 includes information indicating the determined coordination recommendation channel (Coordination Recommended PCH Info.) in an M-AP Management Element (FIG. 8) to be described later, and transmits the information along with a Beacon signal. In this case, the Beacon signal is transmitted using its (AP1) own PCH).
Regarding Claim 3, Aio disclose the access point according to Claim 1. Aio further discloses wherein the primary channel is used in the coordinated communication by a second access point, different from a first access point that controls the coordinated communication (Figure 7; Paragraph [0099-0107] In step S13, the AP1 includes information indicating the determined coordination recommendation channel (Coordination Recommended PCH Info.) in an M-AP Management Element (FIG. 8) to be described later, and transmits the information along with a Beacon signal. In this case, the Beacon signal is transmitted using its (AP1) own PCH).
Regarding Claim 8, Aio disclose the access point according to Claim 1. Aio further discloses wherein the transmission circuitry transmits the channel information using a channel that is different from a first channel allocated to the access point, the channel being referred to as a second channel (Paragraph [0307-0329] The access point performs channel scanning and finds a secondary channel for use by the neighboring access point. The access point uses the secondary channel for channel coordination information to be transmitting using a channel that is different from the first channel allocated to the access point; since one AP gives notice of some of its own secondary channels as coordination recommendation channels, the other AP can set a PCH to be any one of the secondary channels of the one AP. Thereby, the AP1 and the AP2 can set different PCHs and communicate data for coordination between the AP1 and the AP2 without losing the opportunity to acquire a transmission right due to signal collisions or carrier sensing.).
Regarding Claim 10, Aio discloses an access point, comprising: reception circuitry, which, in operation (Abstract; Figure 2, 3, 5-7 and 29),
receives channel information including information on a primary channel used in coordinated communication (Figure 3, 5, 7; Paragraph [0099-0107] AP1 transmits information indicating a coordination recommendation channel to be recommended to AP2 in order to perform coordination communication to the AP2. The AP1 sets an empty channel as a PCH. In addition, the AP1 determines a coordination recommendation channel of another AP (AP2) that can perform coordination communication with the AP1 on the basis of a bandwidth that the AP1 requests (desires) (a minimum bandwidth desired to be secured: hereinafter referred to as a requirement BW); In step S13, the AP1 includes information indicating the determined coordination recommendation channel (Coordination Recommended PCH Info.) in an M-AP Management Element (FIG. 8) to be described later, and transmits the information along with a Beacon signal. In this case, the Beacon signal is transmitted using its (AP1) own PCH; In step S32, the AP2 receives the Beacon signal transmitted from the AP1. The AP2 can recognize the PCH of the AP1 by receiving the Beacon signal. In step S33, the AP2 sets its own PCH on the basis of information indicating the coordination recommendation channel of the M-AP Management Element included in the received Beacon signal and channel scanning results.),
in which a plurality of access points participate, from another access point, the primary channel being determined from among one or more channels commonly used by the plurality of access points as operational channels in uncoordinated communication (Figure 3; Paragraph [0055-0059] For example, when a certain AP has started to be operated, one channel (a bandwidth of 20 MHz) is selected from among bands to be used (in the case of FIG. 3, Ch44). In a wireless LAN standard, the channel is referred to as a primary channel (hereinafter, a PCH). Operations such as the transmission of a control signal to be described later and carrier sensing are performed using the PCH; Figure 11; Paragraph [0153-0169] Carrier sensing and selection of idle channel to be primary channel among the operational channels in uncoordinated communication);
and control circuitry, which in operation, controls the coordinated communication based on the channel information (Figure 7; Paragraph [0099-0107] In addition, the AP1 determines a coordination recommendation channel of another AP (AP2) that can perform coordination communication with the AP1 on the basis of a bandwidth that the AP1 requests (desires) (a minimum bandwidth desired to be secured: hereinafter referred to as a requirement BW). For example, it is desirable that any one secondary channel of the AP1 be included as a coordination recommendation channel. In step S13, the AP1 includes information indicating the determined coordination recommendation channel (Coordination Recommended PCH Info.) in an M-AP Management Element (FIG. 8) to be described later, and transmits the information along with a Beacon signal. In this case, the Beacon signal is transmitted using its (AP1) own PCH; That is the first AP determines channel information related to control of coordinated communication based on channels allocated in uncoordinated communications and transmits the information to another access point).
Regarding Claim 11, Aio discloses a communication method (Abstract; Figure 2, 3, 5-7 and 29), comprising:
determining, by an access point, a primary channel used in coordinated communication (Figure 3, 5 and 7; Paragraph [0099-0107] AP1 transmits information indicating a coordination recommendation channel to be recommended to AP2 in order to perform coordination communication to the AP2. The AP1 sets an empty channel as a PCH. In addition, the AP1 determines a coordination recommendation channel of another AP (AP2) that can perform coordination communication with the AP1 on the basis of a bandwidth that the AP1 requests (desires) (a minimum bandwidth desired to be secured: hereinafter referred to as a requirement BW); In step S13, the AP1 includes information indicating the determined coordination recommendation channel (Coordination Recommended PCH Info.) in an M-AP Management Element (FIG. 8) to be described later, and transmits the information along with a Beacon signal. In this case, the Beacon signal is transmitted using its (AP1) own PCH; In step S32, the AP2 receives the Beacon signal transmitted from the AP1. The AP2 can recognize the PCH of the AP1 by receiving the Beacon signal. In step S33, the AP2 sets its own PCH on the basis of information indicating the coordination recommendation channel of the M-AP Management Element included in the received Beacon signal and channel scanning results.)
in which a plurality of access points participate, from among one or more channels commonly used by the plurality of access points as operational channels commonly used by the plurality of access points as operational channels in uncoordinated communication (Figure 3; Paragraph [0055-0059] For example, when a certain AP has started to be operated, one channel (a bandwidth of 20 MHz) is selected from among bands to be used (in the case of FIG. 3, Ch44). In a wireless LAN standard, the channel is referred to as a primary channel (hereinafter, a PCH). Operations such as the transmission of a control signal to be described later and carrier sensing are performed using the PCH; Figure 11; Paragraph [0153-0169] Carrier sensing and selection of idle channel to be primary channel among the operational channels in uncoordinated communication);
and transmitting, by the access point, channel information including information on the primary channel to another access point (Figure 7; Paragraph [0099-0107] In addition, the AP1 determines a coordination recommendation channel of another AP (AP2) that can perform coordination communication with the AP1 on the basis of a bandwidth that the AP1 requests (desires) (a minimum bandwidth desired to be secured: hereinafter referred to as a requirement BW). For example, it is desirable that any one secondary channel of the AP1 be included as a coordination recommendation channel. In step S13, the AP1 includes information indicating the determined coordination recommendation channel (Coordination Recommended PCH Info.) in an M-AP Management Element (FIG. 8) to be described later, and transmits the information along with a Beacon signal. In this case, the Beacon signal is transmitted using its (AP1) own PCH; That is the first AP determines channel information related to control of coordinated communication based on channels allocated in uncoordinated communications and transmits the information to another access point).
Regarding Claim 12, Aio discloses a communication method (Abstract; Figure 2, 3, 5-7 and 29), comprising:
receiving, by an access point, channel information including information on a primary channel used in coordinated communication, in which a plurality of access points participate, from another access point (Figure 3, 5 and 7; Paragraph [0099-0107] AP1 transmits information indicating a coordination recommendation channel to be recommended to AP2 in order to perform coordination communication to the AP2. The AP1 sets an empty channel as a PCH. In addition, the AP1 determines a coordination recommendation channel of another AP (AP2) that can perform coordination communication with the AP1 on the basis of a bandwidth that the AP1 requests (desires) (a minimum bandwidth desired to be secured: hereinafter referred to as a requirement BW); In step S13, the AP1 includes information indicating the determined coordination recommendation channel (Coordination Recommended PCH Info.) in an M-AP Management Element (FIG. 8) to be described later, and transmits the information along with a Beacon signal. In this case, the Beacon signal is transmitted using its (AP1) own PCH; In step S32, the AP2 receives the Beacon signal transmitted from the AP1. The AP2 can recognize the PCH of the AP1 by receiving the Beacon signal. In step S33, the AP2 sets its own PCH on the basis of information indicating the coordination recommendation channel of the M-AP Management Element included in the received Beacon signal and channel scanning results.)
the primary channel being determined from among one or more channels commonly used by the plurality of access points as operational channel in uncoordinated communication (Figure 3; Paragraph [0055-0059] For example, when a certain AP has started to be operated, one channel (a bandwidth of 20 MHz) is selected from among bands to be used (in the case of FIG. 3, Ch44). In a wireless LAN standard, the channel is referred to as a primary channel (hereinafter, a PCH). Operations such as the transmission of a control signal to be described later and carrier sensing are performed using the PCH; Figure 11; Paragraph [0153-0169] Carrier sensing and selection of idle channel to be primary channel among the operational channels in uncoordinated communication)
and controlling, by the access point, the coordinated communication based on the channel information (Figure 7; Paragraph [0099-0107] In addition, the AP1 determines a coordination recommendation channel of another AP (AP2) that can perform coordination communication with the AP1 on the basis of a bandwidth that the AP1 requests (desires) (a minimum bandwidth desired to be secured: hereinafter referred to as a requirement BW). For example, it is desirable that any one secondary channel of the AP1 be included as a coordination recommendation channel. In step S13, the AP1 includes information indicating the determined coordination recommendation channel (Coordination Recommended PCH Info.) in an M-AP Management Element (FIG. 8) to be described later, and transmits the information along with a Beacon signal. In this case, the Beacon signal is transmitted using its (AP1) own PCH; That is the first AP determines channel information related to control of coordinated communication based on channels allocated in uncoordinated communications and transmits the information to another access point).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aio in view of Naribole et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2021/0289499, hereinafter Naribole.
Regarding Claim 4, Aio disclose the access point according to Claim 3. Aio fails to explicitly discloses wherein the control circuitry determines a content of the channel information in accordance with a scheme of the coordinated communication.
However, Naribole more specifically teaches wherein the control circuitry determines a content of the channel information in accordance with a scheme of the coordinated communication (Claim 1 and 2; Paragraph [0020-0052] setting conditions for an AP to be included in an AP candidate set of a coordinating AP for a TXOP includes setting a first primary channel of the AP as part of the AP candidate set of the coordinating AP within a basic service set (BSS) operating bandwidth of the coordinating AP, and coordinating AP updates in the AP candidate set when a coordinated AP that is part of the AP candidate set performs a channel switch to a second primary channel operating on a different bandwidth stream than a bandwidth stream of the first primary channel).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Aio with the teachings of Naribole. The efficient protocol and frame design for a common AP and associated STA or devices are provided to temporarily change their primary channel for the duration of a shared transmission option (SH-TXOP). The SH-TXOP-SWITCH frame only contains information that is essential for the Extreme High Throughput (EHT)- STA of the common AP, such as the primary channel and the bandwidth, and includes a significantly shorter length than that SH-TXOP-ANN frame in order to reduce overhead. The task of resource allocation prevents interference between the Aps (Naribole Abstract; Paragraph [0011-0024]).
Regarding Claim 6, Aio in view of Naribole disclose the access point according to Claim 4. Aio in view of Naribole further discloses wherein the channel information includes information on the primary channel common to the first access point that controls the coordinated communication and the second access point when the scheme of the coordinated communication is a scheme using a common frequency resource for the plurality of access points (Naribole Claim 1 and 2; Paragraph [0020-0052] an operating frequency of the first primary channel is identical to the operating frequency of the second primary channel).
Regarding Claim 7, Aio disclose the access point according to Claim 1. Aio fails to explicitly disclose wherein the channel information includes information on a channel commonly available to the plurality of access points in the coordinated communication.
However, Naribole more specifically teaches wherein the channel information includes information on a channel commonly available to the plurality of access points in the coordinated communication (Claim 1 and 2; Paragraph [0020-0052] common channels in bandwidth for coordination communication between access points).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Aio with the teachings of Naribole. The efficient protocol and frame design for a common AP and associated STA or devices are provided to temporarily change their primary channel for the duration of a shared transmission option (SH-TXOP). The SH-TXOP-SWITCH frame only contains information that is essential for the Extreme High Throughput (EHT)- STA of the common AP, such as the primary channel and the bandwidth, and includes a significantly shorter length than that SH-TXOP-ANN frame in order to reduce overhead. The task of resource allocation prevents interference between the Aps (Naribole Abstract; Paragraph [0011-0024]).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aio in view of Naribole as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Wang et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2023/0362994, hereinafter Wang.
Regarding Claim 5, Aio in view of Naribole disclose the access point according to Claim 4. Aio in view of Naribole fail to explicitly disclose wherein the channel information includes the information on the primary channel for the second access point when the scheme of the coordinated communication is a scheme using different frequency resources for the plurality of access points.
However, Wang more specifically teaches wherein the channel information includes the information on the primary channel for the second access point when the scheme of the coordinated communication is a scheme using different frequency resources for the plurality of access points (Paragraph [0084-0088] Due to the different levels of interference experienced at different APs, APs may not always be able to transmit on the same time/frequency resources to one or more STAs in a joint transmission. Procedures that address this problem may enable a coordinating AP to orchestrate a joint transmission taking Clear Channel Assessments (CCAs) at different APs into account such that the time/frequency resource from different APs may be different).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Aio in view of Naribole with the teachings of Wang. The method enables utilizing a communication system to enable multiple wireless users to access content through sharing of system resources including wireless bandwidth in an efficient manner. The method allows the AP to transmit the RTS frame to the other AP and the STAs in a reliable manner (Wang Abstract; Paragraph [0002-0003 and 0088]).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aio in view of Grandhi U.S. Patent Application Publication 2011/0116489, hereinafter Grandhi.
Regarding Claim 9, Aio in view of Kishida disclose the access point according to Claim 8. Aio in view of Kishida fail to disclose wherein the transmission circuitry transmits the channel information using a public action frame of the second channel.
However, the above limitation is known in the art, as evidenced by Grandhi. Grandhi discloses wherein the transmission circuitry transmits the channel information using a public action frame of the second channel (Figure 8; Paragraph [0083-0111] VHT frequency reuse information report or VHT frequency reuse report IE, may be included by an AP/WTRU in a new public action frame, referred to herein as a "VHT frequency reuse report" action frame).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Aio with the teachings of Grandhi. Grandhi provides a solution in which operation parameters are adjusted based on the frequency reuse information reports, thus reusing spectrum in an efficient manner providing better throughput and user capacity per the AP as well (Grandhi Abstract; Paragraph [0002-0007]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
IVAN O. LATORRE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2409
/IVAN O LATORRE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2409