Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-17 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Dixon et al. US publication no.: US 2021/0159830 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Dixon et al. teach, A method comprising: measuring, for a permanent magnet motor having a rotor rotating at a speed, a direct-axis voltage in a rotor frame of reference (see figure 2 and figure 9, where the D-axis voltage is calculated), the speed being determined by an angular position sensor (position sensor 16, paragraphs 58 and 64); comparing the measured direct-axis voltage with a reference voltage (see figure 2 and paragraph 64, where the “target” voltage is set as 0 which corresponds to the reference voltage); determining, based on the comparing, an angle offset estimate of the angular position sensor; and iteratively adjusting the angle offset estimate until the measured direct-axis voltage substantially equals the reference voltage (see figures 2 and 9 and paragraphs 17 and 64, where it can be seen that the angle is adjusted until the D-axis voltage reaches the target voltage of 0 corresponding to the reference voltage).
Regarding claims 2 and 11, Dixon et al. teach, the method of claim 1, wherein comparing the measured direct-axis voltage with the reference voltage includes comparing the measured direct-axis voltage with the reference voltage with a proportional integral controller (see paragraphs 19-20 and 64, where a closed loop PI controller is utilized).
Regarding claims 3, 6, 12 and 15, Dixon et al. teach, The method of claim 2, wherein the reference voltage is zero volts (see paragraph 17 and 64 and figure 2, where target or reference voltage is zero).
Regarding claims 4 and 13, Dixon et al. teach, The method of claim 2, wherein the proportional integral controller is configured to implement a regulator controller (see paragraphs 19-20 and 64, where a closed loop PI controller is utilized).
Regarding claims 5 and 14, Dixon et al. teach, The method of claim 2, wherein the proportional integral controller is enabled in response to: an enable signal; and the speed being greater than or equal to a threshold speed (see paragraph 61, where the “minimum voltage” corresponds to greater than or equal to threshold speed).
Regarding claim 7 and 16, Dixon et al. teach, The method of claim 1, further comprising generating torque with the permanent magnet motor based, at least in part, on the iteratively determined angle offset (see paragraphs 3-4).
Regarding claims 8 and 17, Dixon et al. teach, The method of claim 1, wherein measuring the direct-axis voltage includes measuring the direct-axis voltage with the rotor freely spinning at the speed (see paragraphs 60-65, where the voltage is determined based on the rotation of the rotor at a speed).
Regarding claim 9, A vehicle (see paragraph 2) comprising: a permanent magnet motor (motor 10, figure 9 and paragraph 43) including: a stator (stator 12, paragraph 43) a rotor (rotor 14, paragraph 45); and an angular position sensor (position sensor 16, paragraph 45); and a motor controller (controller 116, figure 1) configured to: measure, with the rotor rotating at a speed, a direct-axis voltage in a rotor frame of reference(see figure 2 and figure 9, where the D-axis voltage is calculated), the speed being determined by the angular position sensor; compare the measured direct-axis voltage with a reference voltage (see figure 2 and paragraph 64, where the “target” voltage is set as 0 which corresponds to the reference voltage); determine, based on the comparing, an angle offset estimate of the angular position sensor; and iteratively adjusting the angle offset estimate until the measured direct-axis voltage substantially equals the reference voltage (see figures 2 and 9 and paragraphs 17 and 64, where it can be seen that the angle is adjusted until the D-axis voltage reaches the target voltage of 0 corresponding to the reference voltage).
Regarding claim 10, Dixon et al. teach, the vehicle of claim 9, wherein the direct-axis voltage is measured in the stator (see figure 1 and paragraphs 43 and 57).
Conclusion
/ZOHEB S IMTIAZ/Primary Examiner , Art Unit 2846