Double Patenting
Claims 1-9 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 and 10-11 of copending Application No. 18/568,775 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are directed to polylactide resins comprising the same combination of nucleating agents (uracil and a lactide oligomer). The copending claims do not require the crystallinity degree or the glass transition temperature of the polylactide resin composition. However, said properties would be inherent because the contents of the resin are the same, the polylactide resin is the same and the nucleating agents which control such properties are the same.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-9 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5, 7-8, and 11 of copending Application No. 18/565,864 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are directed to polylactide resins comprising the same combination of nucleating agents (uracil and a lactide oligomer). The copending claims do not require the crystallinity degree or the glass transition temperature of the polylactide resin composition. However, said properties would be inherent because the contents of the resin are the same, the polylactide resin is the same and the nucleating agents which control such properties are the same.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-9 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 4-6, and 8 of copending Application No. 18/569, 869 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are directed to polylactide resins comprising the same combination of nucleating agents (uracil and a lactide oligomer). The copending claims do not require the crystallinity degree or the glass transition temperature of the polylactide resin composition. However, said properties would be inherent because the contents of the resin are the same, the polylactide resin is the same and the nucleating agents which control such properties are the same.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over being
unpatentable over US 2006/0142505 (Umemoto) in view of US 2006/0247340 (Sato).
As to claims 1-4 and 6-9, Umemoto discloses a composition comprising:
(A) a high-molecular weight aliphatic polyester having a weight-average (Mw) of 120,000 to 1,000,000 such as the exemplified polylactic acid having a Mw of 215,000 [0071] (meets Applicants' polylactide resin);
(B) a low-molecular weight aliphatic polyester having a Mw of 5,000 to 35,000 such as the exemplified polylactic acid having a Mw of 6,900 [0071]. which serves to improve the crystallization rate of the high molecular weight aliphatic polyester [0020] (meets Applicants' second nucleating agent compound containing a lactide oligomer structure); and
(C) a crystal nucleating agent such as talc [0045]/[0050], wherein the compounding ratio of the low-molecular weight aliphatic polyester to the high-molecular weight aliphatic polyester is preferably 10:90 to 90:10 [0014] (overlaps presently claimed second nucleating agent content) (e.g., abstract, [0016-0018], [0020], [0046-0050], examples, claims).
Umemoto discloses [0066]-[0073] treating the composition at a temperature of about 30 to 160°C for up to 30 minutes (overlaps Applicants' "temperature settings of 100 to 130°C product-by-process limitation).
Umemoto does not expressly disclose uracil or orotic acid as the first nucleating agent that would provide the claimed properties.
However, Sato discloses a polylactic acid composition comprising 0.01 to 1 part by weight of uracil nucleating agent (0094). The polylactic acid resin composition has an increased crystallization temperature as compared to a polylactic acid composition having a talc nucleating agent (e.g., Table 3, [0285-0287]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to use the uracil nucleating agent of Sato (meets Applicants' first nucleating agent uracil) in place of Umemoto's talc nucleating agent to ensure material reliability while simultaneously improving crystallinity of the resin (0039). The resulting composition comprising both nucleating agents including those preferred within the instant claims would have the claimed glass transition temperature and crystallization temperatures.
As to claim 5, Umemoto discloses the low-Mw polylactic acid and high- Mw polylactic acid are preferably compounded in a 10:90 to 90:10 weight ratio [0014], thus rendering obvious low-Mw polylactic acid amounts of 3 to 25% wt.% for its expected additive effect (0034). For example, when the content is low the crystallization rate is not sufficiently improved and when the content is to high the thermal stability of the polylactide resin composition is reduced (0034).
Conclusion
/MICHAEL L LEONARD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763