DETAILED ACTION
The information disclosure statements filed on 12/25/2025, 12/27/2024 and 12/1/2024 have been entered. Claims 2-3, 12-13, and 21-26 have been cancelled. Claims 1, 4-11 and 14-20 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 9-11, 14, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Marty et al. (Marty et al. – 2011/0057603; herein after referred to as “Marty”; cited by applicant).
Regarding claim 1 and 11, Marty discloses a charger for determining time information for use in controlling charging of a power tool battery pack, the charger comprising:
a battery pack interface configured to receive a power tool battery pack and provide charging current to the power tool battery pack (Marty; Fig. 1, 4; par. 0011, 0013, 0029; smart battery charger 100, charging port 110, opening 190 into which battery packaging 194);
an input configured to receive a set of data; a controller coupled to the input, the controller configured to analyze the set of data to determine time information; At step 430, an optimal time to initiate a charge cycle on the battery is determined from the usage history. The optimal time is a time when the battery is likely to be next used minus a period of time required to complete the charge cycle. As illustrated previously in FIG. 2, if the next use cycle is to begin at about 5 o'clock and the charge cycle takes an hour to complete, then the optimal time to initiate a charge cycle on the battery would be roughly 4 o'clock. In one embodiment, a time buffer may be used to ensure that the charge cycle is completed in time for the next use cycle to begin. The buffer is illustrated by about a two-hour time period in FIG. 2. Embodiments of the present invention are not limited to including a buffer. In one embodiment, the usage history is evaluated by a machine-learning algorithm that determines the optimal time.”; step 450 – initiate the charge cycle for the battery at the optimal time to the optimal charge; step 460 – generate an updated usage history for the battery);
a real time clock configured to set a time using the time information and to maintain the time; and an internal battery coupled to the real time clock (Marty; Fig. 1, 3, 4; par. 0011, 0013, 0029; smart battery charger 100, charging port 110, opening 190 into which battery packaging 194; par. 0024 – user input the identification bar code of the battery; par. 0028 – retrieve usage history (step 420) for controller to determine from the usage history ab optimal time to initiate a charge cycle on the battery (step 430), 0029 – “At step 430, an optimal time to initiate a charge cycle on the battery is determined from the usage history. The optimal time is a time when the battery is likely to be next used minus a period of time required to complete the charge cycle. As illustrated previously in FIG. 2, if the next use cycle is to begin at about 5 o'clock and the charge cycle takes an hour to complete, then the optimal time to initiate a charge cycle on the battery would be roughly 4 o'clock. In one embodiment, a time buffer may be used to ensure that the charge cycle is completed in time for the next use cycle to begin. The buffer is illustrated by about a two-hour time period in FIG. 2. Embodiments of the present invention are not limited to including a buffer. In one embodiment, the usage history is evaluated by a machine-learning algorithm that determines the optimal time.”; step 450 – initiate the charge cycle for the battery at the optimal time to the optimal charge; step 460 – generate an updated usage history for the battery; inherently indicates the use of an internal real time clock),
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Marty discloses the charger according to claim 1 connected the power tool battery pack (Marty; par. 0013, 0034 – charging plug not shown in Fig. 1)
Regarding claim 9, Marty discloses the charger according to claim 1, wherein input is a user interface configured to receive the set of data from a user (Marty; Fig. 1, 3, 4; par. 0011, 0013, 0029; smart battery charger 100, charging port 110, opening 190 into which battery packaging 194; par. 0024 – user input the identification bar code of the battery; par. 0028 – retrieve usage history (step 420) for controller to determine from the usage history ab optimal time to initiate a charge cycle on the battery (step 430), 0029 – “At step 430, an optimal time to initiate a charge cycle on the battery is determined from the usage history. The optimal time is a time when the battery is likely to be next used minus a period of time required to complete the charge cycle. As illustrated previously in FIG. 2, if the next use cycle is to begin at about 5 o'clock and the charge cycle takes an hour to complete, then the optimal time to initiate a charge cycle on the battery would be roughly 4 o'clock. In one embodiment, a time buffer may be used to ensure that the charge cycle is completed in time for the next use cycle to begin. The buffer is illustrated by about a two-hour time period in FIG. 2. Embodiments of the present invention are not limited to including a buffer. In one embodiment, the usage history is evaluated by a machine-learning algorithm that determines the optimal time.”; step 450 – initiate the charge cycle for the battery at the optimal time to the optimal charge; step 460 – generate an updated usage history for the battery; inherently indicates the use of an internal real time clock).
Regarding claim 10, Marty discloses the charger according to claim 1, wherein the controller is further configured to:control charging of the power tool battery pack based on the time information (Marty; Fig. 1, 3, 4; par. 0011, 0013, 0029; smart battery charger 100, charging port 110, opening 190 into which battery packaging 194; par. 0024 – user input the identification bar code of the battery; par. 0028 – retrieve usage history (step 420) for controller to determine from the usage history ab optimal time to initiate a charge cycle on the battery (step 430), 0029 – “At step 430, an optimal time to initiate a charge cycle on the battery is determined from the usage history. The optimal time is a time when the battery is likely to be next used minus a period of time required to complete the charge cycle. As illustrated previously in FIG. 2, if the next use cycle is to begin at about 5 o'clock and the charge cycle takes an hour to complete, then the optimal time to initiate a charge cycle on the battery would be roughly 4 o'clock. In one embodiment, a time buffer may be used to ensure that the charge cycle is completed in time for the next use cycle to begin. The buffer is illustrated by about a two-hour time period in FIG. 2. Embodiments of the present invention are not limited to including a buffer. In one embodiment, the usage history is evaluated by a machine-learning algorithm that determines the optimal time.”; step 450 – initiate the charge cycle for the battery at the optimal time to the optimal charge; step 460 – generate an updated usage history for the battery; inherently indicates the use of an internal real time clock).
Regarding claim 19, Marty discloses the method according to claim 11, wherein input is a user interface and wherein receiving the set of data by the input includes receiving, by the user interface, the set of data from a user (Marty; Fig. 1, 3, 4; par. 0011, 0013, 0029; smart battery charger 100, charging port 110, opening 190 into which battery packaging 194; par. 0024 – user input the identification bar code of the battery; par. 0028 – retrieve usage history (step 420) for controller to determine from the usage history ab optimal time to initiate a charge cycle on the battery (step 430), 0029 – “At step 430, an optimal time to initiate a charge cycle on the battery is determined from the usage history. The optimal time is a time when the battery is likely to be next used minus a period of time required to complete the charge cycle. As illustrated previously in FIG. 2, if the next use cycle is to begin at about 5 o'clock and the charge cycle takes an hour to complete, then the optimal time to initiate a charge cycle on the battery would be roughly 4 o'clock. In one embodiment, a time buffer may be used to ensure that the charge cycle is completed in time for the next use cycle to begin. The buffer is illustrated by about a two-hour time period in FIG. 2. Embodiments of the present invention are not limited to including a buffer. In one embodiment, the usage history is evaluated by a machine-learning algorithm that determines the optimal time.”; step 450 – initiate the charge cycle for the battery at the optimal time to the optimal charge; step 460 – generate an updated usage history for the battery; inherently indicates the use of an internal real time clock).
Regarding claim 20, Marty discloses the method according to claim 11, further comprising:controlling, by the controller, charging of the power tool battery pack based on the time information (Marty; Fig. 1, 3, 4; par. 0011, 0013, 0029; smart battery charger 100, charging port 110, opening 190 into which battery packaging 194; par. 0024 – user input the identification bar code of the battery; par. 0028 – retrieve usage history (step 420) for controller to determine from the usage history ab optimal time to initiate a charge cycle on the battery (step 430), 0029 – “At step 430, an optimal time to initiate a charge cycle on the battery is determined from the usage history. The optimal time is a time when the battery is likely to be next used minus a period of time required to complete the charge cycle. As illustrated previously in FIG. 2, if the next use cycle is to begin at about 5 o'clock and the charge cycle takes an hour to complete, then the optimal time to initiate a charge cycle on the battery would be roughly 4 o'clock. In one embodiment, a time buffer may be used to ensure that the charge cycle is completed in time for the next use cycle to begin. The buffer is illustrated by about a two-hour time period in FIG. 2. Embodiments of the present invention are not limited to including a buffer. In one embodiment, the usage history is evaluated by a machine-learning algorithm that determines the optimal time.”; step 450 – initiate the charge cycle for the battery at the optimal time to the optimal charge; step 460 – generate an updated usage history for the battery; inherently indicates the use of an internal real time clock).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-8, and 15-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art fails to disclose:
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art fails to disclose:
i. the charger according to claim 1, wherein the input is a communication system configured to receive the set of data from an external time source as recited in claims 5 and 15. Claims 6-8 and 16-18 depend on claims 5 and 15 respectively.
Conclusion
/THIEN M LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876