DETAILED ACTION
This is the initial Office action for application SN 18/704,141 having an effective date of 24 April 2024 and a Foreign priority date of 03 November 2021. A preliminary amendment was filed on 24 April 2024. Claims 1-12 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 7 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In Claim 1, part c) there is no proper antecedent basis for “the liquid phase” (emphasis added) since “liquid phase” is not cited in the claim.
In Claim 7, there is no proper antecedent basis for “the total weight ratio” (emphasis added) since “total weight ratio” is not cited in Claim 1.
In Claim 11, there is no proper antecedent basis for “the further hydrotreated composition stream” (emphasis added) since “further hydrotreated composition stream” is not cited in Claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brandvold et al (US 2019/0093021) which is the US equivalent to WO 2017/218577.
Brandvold et al [“Brandvold”] disclose processes for partially deoxygenating a biomass-derived pyrolysis oil to produce a fuel for a burner.
Regarding Claim 1, Brandvold discloses that a biomass-derived pyrolysis oil stream (applicant’s reactive liquid feedstock stream) is combined with a low recycle stream (applicant’s diluent stream) that is a portion of a deoxygenated effluent to form a heated diluted py-oil feed stream, which is then contacted with a first deoxygenating catalyst in the presence of hydrogen at first hydroprocessing conditions effective to form the effluent stream. The effluent may be separated and used to provide a product fuel stream for a burner. See claim 1.
As set forth in Figure 1, a diluent stream (14) and a reactive liquid feedstock stream (12) form a combined stream having a first hydrogen consumption potential (16) in a reactor (18) with added hydrogen wherein the hydroprocessing conditions effective to form an effluent stream (20) are from about 150 to 275°C [0037]. As set forth in Figure 1, stream (20) is withdrawn which is a stabilized composition stream having a second combined hydrogen consumption potential which is less than 80% and more than 10% of the first hydrogen consumption potential. See [0035], [0036], [0039], [0042] and [0053]. The process provides an amount of liquid phase of said stabilized composition stream as said diluent stream [0043].
Regarding dependent claims 2-4, Brandvold discloses that the biomass-derived pyrolysis oil is a complex, highly oxygenated organic liquid. Such oxygenated compounds include carboxylic acids, phenols, cresols, alcohols, aldehydes, etc. Brandvold teaches that conventional biomass-derived pyrolysis oil may comprise about 30% or greater by weight oxygen from these oxygenated compounds [0003]-[0004].
Regarding dependent claim 7, Brandvold discloses that a weight ratio of the recycle stream to biomass-derived pyrolysis oil is between about 3:1 and 16:1 [0010].
Regarding dependent claims 5-6 and 8-11, the examiner is of the position that such features are straightforward possibilities obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Claim 12 is drawn to a process plant configured for receiving a reactive liquid feedstock, an amount of dihydrogen and for providing a stabilized composition. Claim 12 is an apparatus which Brandvold discloses as Figure 1.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/ELLEN M MCAVOY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771
EMcAvoy
January 20, 2026