DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 18704165, filed on 4/24/2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 4/24/2024 was filed on the filing date of the application on 4/24/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “plurality of elastic elements” in claim 11 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 4-7 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 4, “said element” and “the element” should be “the at least one elastic element” to keep terms consistent. Same issues for claims 6-7.
“regarding claim 5, “has a first portion” should be “has the first portion” to avoid lack of antecedent bases issues.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“elastic means” as recited in claim 1 (first, “means” is a generic placeholder; second, the generic placeholder is modified by the functional language “elastic”; third, the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure for performing the claimed function – e.g., the term “elastic” preceding the generic placeholder describes the function, not the structure, of the means)
“elastic” as recited in claim 1 (first, “element” is a generic placeholder for “means”; second, the generic placeholder is modified by the functional language “elastic”; third, the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure for performing the claimed function – e.g., the term “elastic” preceding the generic placeholder describes the function, not the structure, of the element)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 11, it is unclear if “a plurality of elastic elements” is part of “at least one elastic element” or an additional elastic element.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sprungman (US 20150342116 A1) in view of Dai (US 20210321560 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Sprungman teaches a head for brush cutters, rotatable about an axis, of the type comprising:
- a first shell (208, see Figure 3) having a first peripheral portion and a first central portion, the latter being peripheral crossed and/or connected to a hollow shaft (236) engageable with a drive shaft (203), of the brush cutter, to impart a rotation of the head about the axis; said first peripheral portion defining a first concave shape and said hollow shaft extending inside the first concave shape, away from the first peripheral portion (see Figure 3);
- a second shell (216, see Figure 3), couplable to the first shell, having a second peripheral portion and a second open central portion; said second peripheral portion defining a second concave shape, with concavity facing the first shell, and defining by coupling with the first portion an inner compartment; said second concave shape having concavity facing the second shell (see Figure 3);
- a pair of eyelets (204), placed at the second peripheral portion or at the first peripheral portion, adapted to allow to load cutting wire inside the inner compartment and to facilitate the dispensing, outside the inner compartment, of cutting wire segments during the use of the head (see Figure 3);
- a spool (210), for accumulating cutting wire (110), placed inside the compartment and movable between a first position, in which the spool is rotationally coupled to the first and the second shell so as to rotate integral therewith maintaining a prefixed length of wire segments outside the pair of eyelets, to a second position, in which the spool is rotationally decoupled from the first and the second shell so as to rotate independently with respect thereto feeding a prefixed length of wire segments outside the pair of eyelets (see Figure 3); said spool having therein a hub (center hub of 210, see Figure 2B) axially coupled to the hollow shaft and slidingly movable thereon during the movement of the spool from the first position to the second position and vice versa (See Figure 2);
- a knob (218) coupled to the spool and protruding outside the second central opening portion so as to impart, when bumped against a surface, the movement of the spool from the first position to the second position allowing the spool to dispense wire segments outside the pair of eyelets (paragraph 0055 and 0059);
- an elastic means (212) active on the spool adapted to maintain the spool in the first position or adapted to return the spool to the first position by counteracting the action imparted by the knob (see Figure 3);
Sprungman fails to teach wherein the head comprises at least one elastic element, coupled to the hub and to the hollow shaft so as to provide at least a first portion in contact with the hub, adapted to absorb part of the vibrations generated during the rotation of the head about the rotation axis.
Dai teaches a trimmer including at least one elastic element (110g), coupled to the hub and to the hollow shaft so as to provide at least a first portion in contact with the hub (as it contact the middle portion, see Figure 5), adapted to absorb part of the vibrations generated during the rotation of the head about the rotation axis (paragraph 0063).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Sprungman to add at least one elastic element, as taught by Dai, in order to absorb shock in the system (paragraph 0063 of Dai).
Regarding claim 2, modified Sprungman further teaches said hollow shaft has an inner cylindrical portion and an outer cylindrical portion each terminating at a head surface, placed in an opposite position with respect to the first central portion of the first shell (see Figure 2A of Sprungman).
Regarding claim 3, modified Sprungman further teaches said hollow shaft is coupled with clearance inside the hub (see Figure 2A of Sprungman).
Regarding claim 4, modified Sprungman further teaches said elastic element has a circular shape in section (as modified by Dai, see Figure 3 of Dai).
Regarding claim 5, modified Sprungman further teaches said elastic element has a first portion, located outside the element, in contact with the hub and a second portion (at least in contact with the upper portion of the hub, see Figure 2A of Sprungman and Figure 3 of Dai), located inside the element, abutting the hollow shaft (at least the portion of the hollow shaft that is with the upper shell, see Figure 2A of Sprungman and Figure 3 of Dai).
Regarding claim 6, modified Sprungman further teaches said elastic element is ring shaped (as modified by Dai, see Figure 3 of Dai).
Regarding claim 7, modified Sprungman further teaches said hollow shaft further has a groove, obtained on the outer cylindrical portion and defined by an annular recess to accommodate the elastic element (as modified by Dai, see Figure 3 of Dai).
Regarding claim 8, modified Sprungman further teaches said second portion is in contact with the bottom of the groove obtained on the outer cylindrical portion (as modified by Dai, see Figure 3 of Dai).
Regarding claim 9, modified Sprungman further teaches said hollow shaft is coupled to a bushing having a tubular stretch, coupled to the inner cylindrical portion of the hollow shaft, a section enlargement defining, together with the head surface, a groove for accommodating the elastic element (as modified by Dai, see Figure 3 of Dai and see Figure 2A of Sprungman).
Regarding claim 10, modified Sprungman further teaches said second portion is in contact with the tubular stretch of the bushing (as modified by Dai, see Figure 3 of Dai).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 11 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 11, modified Sprungman further teaches all elements of the current invention as set forth in claim 1 stated above.
Modified Sprungman fails to teach the head comprises a plurality of elastic elements, each coupled to the hub and to the hollow shaft so as to provide a plurality of respective first portions in contact with the hub, adapted to absorb part of the vibrations generated during the rotation of the head about the rotation axis.
Examiner note there appeal to be no obvious reason for the device of modified Sprungman to add additional elastic elements on top of what is claimed in claim 1. Therefore claim 11 appear to be allowable if the 112b rejection is overcome.
Claims 12-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 12, modified Sprungman teaches all elements of the current invention as set forth in claim 1 stated above.
Modified Sprungman fails to teach said elastic element, defined by a flanged body, has an upper extension from the first portion, extending away from the first portion, defining a shoulder therewith.
Furthermore, no additional prior art could be found to teach the claimed limitations either alone nor in combination to further modify the device of Sprungman and Dai. Thus claim 12 is allowable, claims 13-17 are allowable by virtue of its dependency on claim 12.
Conclusion
/LIANG DONG/Examiner, Art Unit 3724 2/26/2026