DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-28 are pending.
Claims 9-28 are withdrawn from further consideration as being directed to non-elected inventions.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group 1, claims 1-8 in the reply filed on 27 April 2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 9-28 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 27 April 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites a size distribution as compared to montmorillonites exfoliated according to a certain process. This renders the scope of the claim indefinite because one of ordinary skill in the art would be unable to ascertain whether any nanoparticles meet the claimed limitations because only a few processing conditions are recited in the claims. Therefore, the claimed size distribution will be interpreted as being met by exfoliated nanoparticles.
Claims 2-8 are rejected as being dependent on indefinite claim 1.
Claims 6, 7, and 8 recited a broad range followed by narrower ranges within the same claim thus rendering the scope of the claims unclear. See MPEP 2173.05(c)(I). For purposes of examination, claims 6, 7, and 8 will be read as reciting the broadest range.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Pre-grant Publication 2018/0215896 to Beall et al. cited in the Information Disclosure Statement filed 24 April 2024 (herein Beall).
Regarding claims 1 and 2, Beall teaches a polymer clay nanocomposite coating used as a gas barrier (abstract) wherein the coating contains a water-dispersible polymer and a coated nanoparticle (paragraph 0018). Beall teaches that the nanoparticles can be an exfoliated montmorillonite (paragraph 0073). Beall teaches that the coating exhibits oxygen barrier properties as well as transparency (paragraph 0073).
Regarding claim 7, Beall teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above.
Beall teaches that a bilayer of polymer and nanoparticle in the film has a thickness of 2 to 3 microns (paragraph 0098) and that multiple bilayers can be included in the coating film (paragraph 0074).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beall as applied above and in view of U.S. Patent 6,593,408 to Takaki et al. (herein Takaki).
Regarding claim 3¸ Beall teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above.
Beall is silent as to the water content of the coating.
Takaki teaches an organic polymer/inorganic fine particle aqueous solution (abstract). Takaki teaches that a film made from the solution turns cloudy when absorbing moisture and turns transparent when dried wherein this change is reversible (Col 23, lines 53-57).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust the water content of the coating of Beall in order to adjust the transparency as taught by Takaki thereby rendering the claimed range obvious. See MPEP 2144.05(II).
Claim(s) 4-6 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beall as applied above.
Regarding claims 4 and 5, Beall teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above.
Beall teaches that the permeation rate of the coating can be decreased by increasing the amounts of polymer and nanoparticles in the coating (paragraph 0089). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize the permeability of the coating by adjusting the amounts of polymer and nanoparticles thereby rendering the claimed ranges obvious. See MPEP 2144.05(II).
Regarding claim 6, Beall teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above.
Beall teaches that the nanoparticles of the coating are intercalated throughout the thickness of the coating and the spacing between the nanoparticles can be adjusted by varying the ratio of polymer to nanoparticle ratio (paragraph 0098). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the permeability of the coating by adjusting the ratio of polymer to nanoparticles in order (paragraph 0100). See MPEP 2144.05(II).
Regarding claim 8, Beall teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above
Beall teaches that the coating layer(s) are formed by an aqueous polymer solution having 0.1 to 0.5 wt% water soluble polymer (paragraph 0071) and a nanoparticle suspension containing 0.1 to 0.5 wt% nanoparticles (paragraph 0073). Combining these two teachings yields an amount of nanoparticles in the dried coating that overlaps the claimed range. It has been held that obviousness exists where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art. MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Contact Information
/ZACHARY M DAVIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1783