DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-8 are pending and currently under prosecution.
Priority
3. Applicant’s claim under 35 U.S.C. §§ 119(e) and 365(c) for benefit of the earlier filing date of applications, is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
6. Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ho et al. (US 20190121935, published on 04/25/2019, IDS).
Claims 1-8 are drawn to a method of providing immunosuppressive therapy to a subject in need of immunosuppression, comprising:
a) administering known dosages of a combination of N immunosuppressive drugs to the subject;
b) performing a time course of p measurement instances of the dosages of the N drugs in the patient;
c) performing a time course of p measurement instances of the therapeutic outcome
of the patient in response to the N immunosuppressive drugs;
d) fitting results of the measurements of the dosages of the N drugs in the patients
and the therapeutic outcomes of the patients to a prediction of therapeutic outcome;
e) using the model of the therapeutic outcome to identify preferred changes to the
dosages of the N immunosuppressive drugs; and
f) treating the patient with the changed dosages of the N immunosuppressive drugs,
wherein N is an integer of 2 or more,
wherein the model of therapeutic outcome is a quadratic function of dosages of the N drugs with m parameters where m = 1 + 2N + (N(N-1))/2, wherein mis the number of
parameters needed, and wherein p ≥ m.
Ho et al. teach a method for applying drugs to treat a human patient following organ transplantation, the method comprises : (1) deriving an initial phenotypic map for a patient subjected to an initial therapeutic regimen including a first drug and a second drug, based on values of a phenotypic output for the patient and corresponding values of doses of the first drug and the second drug; (2) following a change from the initial therapeutic regimen to an updated therapeutic regimen, receiving an updated value of the phenotypic output for the patient subjected to the updated therapeutic regimen; (3) re-calibrating the initial phenotypic map according to the updated value of the phenotypic output; and (4) using the re-calibrated phenotypic map, identifying values of the doses of the first drug and the second drug for the patient subjected to the updated therapeutic regimen; wherein deriving the parameters of the individual phenotypic map includes fitting the values of the therapeutic outcome and the corresponding values of the dose of the drug with respect to a quadratic function relating the therapeutic outcome and the dose of the drug, a total number of parameters p is 1+2m+(m(m−1))/2, wherein m is drug; see entire document, e.g., title, abstract, [0006], [0027], [0046], [0068-0112], claims 1-17, Table 1.
For claims 2-3, Ho et al. teach optimizing liver transplant immunosuppression using a phenotypic personalized medicine platform; see page 9.
For claim 4, Ho et al. teach drugs (m) is 3 or more; see Table 1.
For claims 6-7, Ho et al. teach that immunosuppressive drugs include tacrolimus (calcineurin inhibitor), mycophenolate (immunosuppressant), prednisone (anti-inflammatory); see [0072-0076].
For claim 8, Ho et al. teach parameters p comprises immunosuppression drug dose; see [0046-0047], Table 1.
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
8. Claims 1, 4-5 and 8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 of U.S. Patent No. 10,603,390. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because for the following reasons:
Claims 1, 4-5 and 8 are drawn to a method of providing immunosuppressive therapy to a subject in need of immunosuppression, comprising:
a) administering known dosages of a combination of N immunosuppressive drugs to
the subject;
b) performing a time course of p measurement instances of the dosages of the N
drugs in the patient;
c) performing a time course of p measurement instances of the therapeutic outcome
of the patient in response to the N immunosuppressive drugs;
d) fitting results of the measurements of the dosages of the N drugs in the patients
and the therapeutic outcomes of the patients to a prediction of therapeutic outcome;
e) using the model of the therapeutic outcome to identify preferred changes to the
dosages of the N immunosuppressive drugs; and
f) treating the patient with the changed dosages of the N immunosuppressive drugs,
wherein N is an integer of 2 or more,
wherein the model of therapeutic outcome is a quadratic function of dosages of the N drugs with m parameters where m = 1 + 2N + (N(N-1))/2, wherein mis the number of
parameters needed, and wherein p ≥ m.
Claims 1-4 of U.S. Patent No. 10,603,390 are drawn to a method, comprising: for a combination of N drugs with N being 2 or more, representing a model of a therapeutic outcome as a quadratic function of dosages of the N drugs, wherein the quadratic function includes m parameters, with m=1+2N+(N(N<1))/2; applying the combination of the N drugs to a patient; performing measurements at p measurement instances of a time course variation of the dosages of the N drugs in the patient, wherein p≥m; performing measurements at the p measurement instances of a time course variation of the therapeutic outcome of the patient in response to the N drugs; fitting results of the measurements of the dosages and the therapeutic outcome into the model of the therapeutic outcome; using the model of the therapeutic outcome to identify optimized dosages of the N drugs; and treating the patient with the optimized dosages of the N drugs.
9. Claims 1-8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8, 11, 13 and 25 of copending Application No. 18/684546. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other for the following reasons:
Claims 1-8 are drawn to a method of providing immunosuppressive therapy to a subject in need of immunosuppression, comprising:
a) administering known dosages of a combination of N immunosuppressive drugs to
the subject;
b) performing a time course of p measurement instances of the dosages of the N
drugs in the patient;
c) performing a time course of p measurement instances of the therapeutic outcome
of the patient in response to the N immunosuppressive drugs;
d) fitting results of the measurements of the dosages of the N drugs in the patients
and the therapeutic outcomes of the patients to a prediction of therapeutic outcome;
e) using the model of the therapeutic outcome to identify preferred changes to the
dosages of the N immunosuppressive drugs; and
f) treating the patient with the changed dosages of the N immunosuppressive drugs,
wherein N is an integer of 2 or more,
wherein the model of therapeutic outcome is a quadratic function of dosages of the N drugs with m parameters where m = 1 + 2N + (N(N-1))/2, wherein mis the number of
parameters needed, and wherein p ≥ m.
Claims 1-8, 11, 13 and 25 of copending Application No. 18/684546 are drawn to a method for determining an immunosuppressant dosage for a patient after an organ transplant, the method comprising: obtaining a first dosage of an immunosuppressant drug administered to a patient on a first time period; obtaining a first serum level of the patient associated with the first time period; determining a second dosage of the immunosuppressant drug based on a first immunosuppressant ratio between the first dosage and the first serum level; generating a first output based on the second dosage; wherein: the second dosage associated with a second time period; and the first time period immediately precedes the second time period.
This is a provisional obviousness-type double patenting rejection because the conflicting claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
10. No claim is allowed.
/YAN XIAO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1642