DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: in claim
Claim 1,
“signal reception unit”; “a candidate region identification unit”; “an information generation unit”; “a biological information association unit”.
Claims 5, 10-12, 16,
“biological information association unit”.
Claim 15,
“signal reception unit”; “the biological information association unit”.
Claim 9,
“candidate region identification unit”.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 10-16, 19, 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Stump (Pub. No.: US 2021/0000347)
Regarding claims 1, 19, 26, Stump discloses a signal reception unit configured to receive a signal related to biological information (respiratory rate of a subject 100) reflected from at least one person to be measured [see 0092-0093] by disclosing one or more physiological sign portions (110, 120) of enhanced monitoring device 140 may include a respiratory rate sensor (not shown) configured to sense and/or process respiratory rate of a subject 100 and respiratory rate sensor may receive an input from an ECG sensor (111, 121), PPG sensor (115), and/or neck motion sensor (113, 123) [see 0092];
a candidate region identification unit configured to calculate an arrival direction of the
signal and/or a distance to the at least one person to be measured from the signal received [see 0092-0093, 0181] by disclosing orientation sensor 108 is configured to monitor an orientation of a subject relative to a plurality of orientation axes and to generate an electronic orientation signal based on the monitored orientation and indicative of the subject 100 standing, walking, running, kneeling, sitting, lying face up, lying face down, laying on a side and/or in a vehicle [see 0093];
identify a candidate region (e.g., on the back of an ear, over a mastoid region, USP, LSP1, LSP2, skull, nose, or face surface opposite a portion of an eyeglasses physiological sign monitoring portion) of the at least one person to be measured using the arrival direction and/or the distance calculated [see 0071, 0092-0093, 0164] by disclosing respiratory rate sensor may include a neck motion sensor and take measurements directly with physical respiration motion data observed from the neck (e.g., in electronic signals generated by neck motion sensor 113 in first physiological sign portion 110 and/or by neck motion sensor 123 in second physiological sign portion 120) [see 0092];
an information generation unit (respiratory rate sensor) configured to generate biological information (internal biological activities or signals such as breathing rate, see 0093) corresponding to the candidate region of the at least one person to be measured from the signal received [see 0092-0093] by disclosing respiratory rate sensor may be configured to monitor a breathing rate of a subject 100 and to generate an electronic respiratory rate signal based on the monitored respiratory rate [see 0092];
a biological information association unit (enhanced monitoring device 140) configured to associate the at least one person to be measured with the biological information generated (internal biological activities or signals such as breathing rate, see 0093), on the basis of a feature related to the biological information generated or to the candidate region [see 0037, 0092-0093] by disclosing movements associated with sitting, standing, walking, lying face down, laying face up, or any other suitable orientation, including subtle localized body movements that can be correlated to internal biological activities or signals such as breathing rate [see 0093].
Regarding claim 10, Stump discloses wherein the biological information association unit associates the at least one person to be measured with the biological information generated, on the basis of a feature of a spatial distribution (measurement points) of the candidate region of the at least one person to be measured [see 0044-0045, 0047-0052, 0090, 0100, 0164].
Regarding claim 11, Stump discloses wherein the biological information association unit associates the at least one person to be measured with the biological information generated, on the basis of a magnitude of an amplitude indicated by the biological information generated [see 0158-0159].
Regarding claim 12, Stump discloses wherein the biological information association unit associates the at least one person to be measured with the biological information generated, on the basis of a feature of movement (walking/running) of the at least one person to be measured acquired from the signal received [0093, 0159].
Regarding claim 13, Stump discloses wherein the feature of the movement of the at least one person to be measured is a feature related to a sleeping position (lying face up, lying face down, laying on a side) of the at least one person to be measured [see 0093]
Regarding claim 14, Stump discloses wherein the feature of the movement of the at least one person to be measured is a feature related to walking of the at least one person to be measured [see 0093]
Regarding claim 15, Stump discloses wherein the signal reception unit acquires the signal related to biological information by receiving a signal reflected from the at least one person to be measured wearing a reflector [see 0071, 0164];
the biological information association unit associates the at least one person to be measured with the biological information generated, on the basis of a feature of the signal reflected from the reflector [see 0071, 0164].
Regarding claim 16, Stump discloses wherein the biological information association unit associates the at least one person to be measured with the biological information generated, on the basis of information identifying the at least one person to be measured acquired in advance [see 0112, 0116, 0132-0133] by disclosing memory 143 may store processed biological and/or environmental signal data until a time when such data is transferred to other subsystems within and/or external to electronic subsystems within enhanced monitoring device 140 including subsystems within second physiological sign portion 120 of enhanced monitoring device 140 [see 0112] and prior physiological parameters [see 0133].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stump (Pub. No.: US 2021/0000347) in view of Hecox (Pub. No.: US 2021/0052209)
Regarding claim 5, Stump doesn’t disclose wherein the biological information association unit associates the at least one person to be measured with the biological information generated, on the basis of a degree of similarity of a temporal change in movement of the at least one person to be measured indicated by the biological information generated.
Nonetheless, Hecox discloses wherein the biological information association unit associates the at least one person to be measured with the biological information generated, on the basis of a degree of similarity of a temporal change in movement of the at least one person to be measured indicated by the biological information generated [see 0048] by disclosing the morphology of the observed artifact or other spurious waveforms can demonstrate visual similarity to seizures [see 0048].
Therefore, it is obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed and would have been motivated to combine Stump and Hecox by having the biological information generated, on the basis of a degree of similarity of a temporal change in movement of the at least one person to be measured indicated by the biological information generated; because the morphology of the observed artifact or other spurious waveforms can demonstrate visual similarity to seizures [see 0048, Hecox].
Regarding claim 6, Stump discloses wherein the temporal change in the movement of the at least one person to be measured includes a feature of a respiratory rate per unit time [see 0067, 0092-0093, 0136], a time ratio between exhalation and inhalation, or a slope of a respiratory waveform.
Regarding claim 7, Stump discloses wherein the temporal change in the movement of the at least one person to be measured includes a feature of a respiratory waveform and/or a heartbeat waveform [see 0072, 0092-0093, 0136].
Regarding claim 8, Stump doesn’t disclose wherein the temporal change in the movement of the at least one person to be measured is a temporal change in the movement of the at least one person to be measured during a seizure of the at least one person to be measured.
Nonetheless, Hecox discloses a temporal change in the movement of the at least one person to be measured during a seizure [see 0048, 0083].
Therefore, it is obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed and would have been motivated to combine Stump and Hecox by measuring a temporal change in the movement of the at least one person to be measured during a seizure; because the morphology of the observed artifact or other spurious waveforms can demonstrate visual similarity to seizures [see 0048, Hecox].
Regarding claim 9, Stump discloses the candidate region identification unit calculates the arrival direction of the signal and/or the distance to the at least one person to be measured from the signal received identifies the candidate region of the at least one person to be measured using the arrival direction and/or the distance calculated at a time [see 0092-0093, 0164]; other than (which means not during a seizure, emphasis added) during a seizure of the at least one person to be measured.
Conclusion
/JOEL F BRUTUS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797