DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of claims 1-9 in the reply filed on 11/25/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal found persuasive, therefore requirement for restriction posted on 11/19/2025 is withdrawn. Thus claims 1-15 are considered in this office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4-8, 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mook (US 2021/0062756 A1).
Claim 1: Mook discloses a heat exchanger (c106), comprising:
a three-dimensional lattice structure (paragraph [217]: c605 includes structure such as 3D lattice); and
a spiral structure (paragraph [173]: fluid pathways c602 configured and arranged as spirals/array of spiral arcs) transecting the 3D lattice structure (c605 includes structure such as 3D lattice), wherein the spiral structure (fluid pathways c602 array of spiral arcs) is to mix fluid (paragraph [210]: working-fluid pathways c110) to pass through the 3D lattice structure (c605 includes structure such as 3D lattice).
Claim 2: Mook discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the heat exchanger is a single- flow heat exchanger (monolithic heat exchanger c106).
Claim 4: Mook discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, further comprising a second spiral structure (multiple of c602 arrays of spiral arcs) transecting the 3D lattice structure (c605 structure 3D lattice), wherein the second spiral structure is disposed adjacent to the spiral structure (multiple of c602 arrays of spiral arcs) in a channel (to clarify, fluid channel within heat exchanger) of the heat exchanger (c106).
Claim 5: Mook discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the 3D lattice structure (c605 structure 3D lattice) repeats in multiple directions (paragraph [162]: “three-dimensional” lattice c605 is multiple directions) and the spiral structure (c602 array of spiral arcs) repeats in one direction (paragraph [8]: spirals in one direction relative to longitudinal axis).
Claim 6: Mook discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the 3D lattice structure (c605 structure 3D lattice) and the spiral structure (c602 array of spiral arcs) are manufactured concurrently via 3D printing (paragraph [51]: additive manufacturing techniques such as 3D printing by inkjets and laser jets).
Claim 7: Mook discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 6, wherein the 3D lattice structure (c605 structure 3D lattice) supports the spiral structure (c602 array of spiral arcs) during manufacturing (paragraph [51]).
Claim 8: Mook discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 6, wherein the 3D lattice structure (c605 structure 3D lattice) and the spiral structure (c602 array of spiral arcs) are a monolithic body (paragraph [49]: layers together to form a monolithic component having variety of integral sub-components).
Claim 10: Mook discloses an apparatus, comprising:
a memory (paragraph [257]: memory devices b2006); a processor (paragraph [257]: processors b2004) in electronic communication with the memory (b2006), wherein the processor (b2004) is to:
control a printhead to print (paragraph [51]: additive manufacturing techniques such as 3D printing by inkjets and laser jets) a three-dimensional lattice structure (c605 structure 3D lattice); and control the printhead to print a flow exchange structure transecting the 3D lattice structure (c605 structure 3D lattice), wherein the flow exchange structure is to mix fluid (paragraph [210]: working-fluid pathways c110) to pass through the 3D lattice structure (c605 structure 3D lattice).
Claim 11: Mook discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 10, wherein the 3D lattice structure (c605 structure 3D lattice) and the flow exchange structure are printed concurrently (functional language).
Claim 12: Mook discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 11, wherein 3D lattice structure (c605 structure 3D lattice) is to support the flow exchange structure during sintering (paragraph [51]: additive manufacturing techniques such as laser sintering DLS).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mook (US 2021/0062756 A1).
Claim 3: Mook discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein a dimension of a first scale (to clarify, scale dimension of spiral structure shown in FIG.4.4.3A) of the spiral structure (c602 arrays of spiral arcs) (based on broadest reasonable interpretation, dimension of spiral structure c602 and dimension of lattice structure c605 shown in FIG.4.4.3A), a corresponding dimension of a second scale (to clarify, scale dimension of lattice structure shown in FIG.4.4.3A) of the 3D lattice structure (c605 structure 3D lattice).
Mook discloses the claimed limitations in claim 3, except for a dimension of a first scale of the spiral structure is larger than a corresponding dimension of a second scale of the 3D lattice structure. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the apparatus of Mook to include a dimension of a first scale of the spiral structure is larger than a corresponding dimension of a second scale of the 3D lattice structure since by doing so manufacturing improves overall assembly process (paragraph [63]), since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art - Optimum value: MPEP 2144.05 II-B.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mook (US 2021/0062756 A1), in view of Poltorak (US 2019/0021186 A1).
Claim 9: Mook discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 6, wherein the spiral structure (c602 array of spiral arcs), except for the spiral structure is perforated to facilitate removal of unprinted material.
However, Poltorak teaches the structure is perforated (paragraph [227]: manufacturing process of 3D printer, heat exchange elements arranged in 3D space each element being perforated with a plurality of holes to allow fluid medium to flow through the holes; perforation pattern in a thin plate) to facilitate removal of unprinted material (functional language/intended use) for the purpose of providing innovative ways to improve the efficiency of heat transfer yield significant benefit (paragraph [45]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the invention of Mook to include the spiral structure is perforated to facilitate removal of unprinted material as taught by Poltorak in order to provide innovative ways to improve the efficiency of heat transfer yield significant benefit.
Claims 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mook (US 2021/0062756 A1), in view of Grau (US 11,449,647 B2).
Claim 13: Mook discloses a method, comprising:
determine a geometrical representation (paragraph [55]: using 3D information for example 3D computer model or prototype can be scanned to determine 3D computer model to generate three-dimensional geometry of the components using CAD program to define three-dimensional design model of the components) of a three-dimensional lattice structure (paragraph [217]: c605 includes structure such as 3D lattice) and a spiral structure (paragraph [173]: fluid pathways c602 configured and arranged as spirals/array of spiral arcs); and
print a heat exchanger (c106) by printing the union (paragraph [51]: additive manufacturing techniques such as 3D printing by inkjets and laser jets) between the geometrical representation of the 3D lattice structure (c605 structure 3D lattice) and the spiral structure (c602 array of spiral arcs), wherein the spiral structure transects the 3D lattice structure (c605 structure 3D lattice).
Mook discloses the claimed limitations in claim 13, but lacks a union between a geometrical representation.
However, Grau teaches a union between a geometrical representation (to clarify, Boolean operation used as union operation; column 3 line 55-56: CAD geometry is combined via Boolean operation to create generate a solid body for a full volume from a CAD model) for the purpose of providing additive manufacturing process that functional performance, manufacturability, reliability and cost are optimized in an efficient and cost effective manner (column 1 line 36-38).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the invention of Mook to include a union between a geometrical representation as taught by Grau in order to provide additive manufacturing process that functional performance, manufacturability, reliability and cost are optimized in an efficient and cost effective manner.
Claim 14: Mook as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 13, further comprising printing a second spiral structure (multiple of c602 arrays of spiral arcs) that transects the 3D lattice structure (c605 structure 3D lattice) in a channel (to clarify, fluid channel within heat exchanger) of the heat exchanger (c106).
Claim 15: Mook as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 13, wherein a first scale (to clarify, scale dimension of spiral structure shown in FIG.4.4.3A) of the spiral structure (c602 arrays of spiral arcs) (based on broadest reasonable interpretation, dimension of spiral structure c602 and dimension of lattice structure c605 shown in FIG.4.4.3A), a second scale (to clarify, scale dimension of lattice structure shown in FIG.4.4.3A) of the 3D lattice structure (c605 structure 3D lattice).
Mook discloses the claimed limitations in claim 3, except for a first scale of the spiral structure is larger than a second scale of the 3D lattice structure. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the apparatus of Mook to include a dimension of a first scale of the spiral structure is larger than a corresponding dimension of a second scale of the 3D lattice structure since by doing so manufacturing improves overall assembly process (paragraph [63]), since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art - Optimum value: MPEP 2144.05 II-B.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure which is relevant to a heat exchanger:
Wang (US 2021/0363614 A1).
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Len Tran can be reached on (571) 272-1184. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/KAMRAN TAVAKOLDAVANI/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/LEN TRAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763