DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/03/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant describes that the present invention provides for illumination which is not illuminated by conventional illumination devices provided in vehicles {See Remarks Bottom of Pg. 8 to Top of Pg. 9}. The claims do not specify this. Applicant can only argue what is currently present in the claims.
Applicant describes the advantage of allowing the road around the vehicle to be uniformly illuminated {See Remarks Bottom of Pg. 8 to Top of Pg. 9}. The claims do not specify this. The claims are only defining illumination of a portion of a vehicle. Applicant can only argue what is currently present in the claims.
Applicant describes that the second light-emitters (unclear why this is described in a plural sense as the independent claim being argued only defines a singular second light-emitter) are provided in addition to existing illumination devices to illuminate areas that cannot be illuminated by the existing illuminating devices {See Remarks Pg. 10}. First, the claims do not specify this. Applicant can only argue what is currently present in the claims. Second, Beev does disclose additional side light sources for illuminating side areas of a vehicle that are not usually illuminated by a vehicle {Beev, Fig. 6}.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Figs. 5/6 show an area being illuminated via a front headlight (40). It is unclear why a front headlight is being claimed/defined as a side marker lamp in the independent claim. Please clarify.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (US 20200213486) in view of Gao et al. (herein after will be referred to as Gao) (US 20180334099) and in further view of Beev et al. (herein after will be referred to as Beev) (US 20210400177).
Regarding claim 1, Liu discloses a light source unit comprising:
a light-emitting device to be attached to a vehicle together with an image capturing device, wherein the light-emitting device emits near infrared light to (i) a road in a lateral area of the vehicle and (ii) a road in at least one of a front area or a rear area of the vehicle, [See Liu [Fig. 4] Illuminators (20) with cameras (22) on front, sides and rear of vehicle. Also, see claim 2, near infrared illumination.]
the light-emitting device includes: a first light-emitter to be attached to a side [See Liu [Fig. 4] Illuminators (20) with cameras (22) on front, sides and rear of vehicle. Also, see claim 2, near infrared illumination.]
Liu does not explicitly disclose
;
the image capturing device detects the near infrared light emitted from the first light-emitter and the second light-emitter and reflected off the road, and the second light-emitter is attached to the vehicle body at a location more vertically downward than the image capturing device, and
the second light-emitter illuminates a position rearward of a position illuminated by a side marker lamp of the vehicle or illuminates a position forward of a position illuminated by a backup lamp of the vehicle.
However, Gao does disclose
[See Gao [Fig. 1] Side mirror illuminator.]
the second light-emitter is attached to the vehicle body at a location more vertically downward than the image capturing device. [See Gao [Fig. 1] Multiple illumination devices, where (26) is positioned vertically lower than (14).]
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the device by Liu to add the teachings of Gao, in order to perform a repositioning of parts in regards to the side illuminator in Liu to the side mirror location for performing the same function of providing illumination to the side of the vehicle.
Liu (modified by Gao) do not explicitly disclose
the image capturing device detects the near infrared light emitted from the first light-emitter and the second light-emitter and reflected off the road, and
the second light-emitter illuminates a position rearward of a position illuminated by a side marker lamp of the vehicle or illuminates a position forward of a position illuminated by a backup lamp of the vehicle.
However, Beev does disclose
the image capturing device detects the near infrared light emitted from the first light-emitter and the second light-emitter and reflected off the road, and [See Beev [Figs. 5-6] Two light emitters (which illuminate the side of the vehicle and the front left portion of the vehicle). Also, see 0020, lighting system with at least one image capturing device.]
the second light-emitter illuminates a position rearward of a position illuminated by a side marker lamp of the vehicle or illuminates a position forward of a position illuminated by a backup lamp of the vehicle. [See Beev [Fig. 4 and Fig. 6] Emitter (3) illuminates a front side of a vehicle. Also, see Fig. 6, The side emitter (3) illuminates a position of the front side of the vehicle at a forward position as compared to a position illuminated by the vehicle’s taillights (illumination via taillight not shown in the drawing).]
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the device by Liu (modified by Gao) to add the teachings of Beev, in order to improve upon vehicle lighting systems [See Beev [0011-0012]].
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (US 20200213486) in view of Gao (US 20180334099) in view of Beev (US 20210400177) and in further view of Copeland et al. (herein after will be referred to as Copeland) (US Patent No. 11,805,726).
Regarding claim 2, Liu (modified by Gao and Beev) disclose the device of claim 1. Furthermore, Liu does not explicitly disclose
wherein each of the first light-emitter and the second light-emitter emits near infrared light that illuminates the road at an illuminance of at least 1.0×1.0.sup.−3 W/m.sup.2.
However, Copeland does disclose
wherein each of the first light-emitter and the second light-emitter emits near infrared light that illuminates the road at an illuminance of at least 1.0×1.0.sup.−3 W/m.sup.2. [See Copeland [Col. 2 line 29] Light array with 0.5 watt/m2. Also, see Col. 23 line 66, light arrays (i.e. plural).]
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the device by Liu (modified by Gao and Beev) to add the teachings of Copeland, in order to supply the light sources at a specific intensity or power per area depending on the distance and/or area the light source needs to illuminate such that improved imaging capturing is achieved.
Regarding claim 3, Liu (modified by Gao and Beev) disclose the device of claim 1. Furthermore, Liu does not explicitly disclose
wherein each of the first light-emitter and the second light-emitter emits near infrared light that illuminates the road at an illuminance of at most 0.5 W/m.sup.2.
However, Copeland does disclose
wherein each of the first light-emitter and the second light-emitter emits near infrared light that illuminates the road at an illuminance of at most 0.5 W/m.sup.2. [See Copeland [Col. 2 line 29] Light array with 0.5 watt/m2. Also, see Col. 23 line 66, light arrays (i.e. plural).]
Applying the same motivation as applied in claim 2.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (US 20200213486) in view of Gao (US 20180334099) in view of Beev (US 20210400177) and in further view of Yamakage et al. (herein after will be referred to as Yamakage) (US Patent No. 11,050,912).
Regarding claim 4, Liu (modified by Gao and Beev) disclose the device of claim 1. Furthermore, Liu does not explicitly disclose
a control device that controls the light-emitting device and the image capturing device, wherein the control device causes a timing of emitting near infrared light by the light-emitting device to be same as a timing of capturing an image by the image capturing device.
However, Yamakage does disclose
a control device that controls the light-emitting device and the image capturing device, wherein the control device causes a timing of emitting near infrared light by the light-emitting device to be same as a timing of capturing an image by the image capturing device. [See Yamakage [Claim 1] Controller to cause synchronization between illumination and camera.]
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the device by Liu to add the teachings of Yamakage, in order to incorporate synchronization between illuminator and camera such that improved image capturing is achieved.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (US 20200213486) in view of Gao (US 20180334099) in view of Beev (US 20210400177) and in further view of Erdl et al. (herein after will be referred to as Erdl) (US 20220146817).
Regarding claim 5, Liu (modified by Gao and Beev) disclose the device of claim 1. Furthermore, Liu does not explicitly disclose
wherein each of the first light-emitter and the second light-emitter includes a light source and a lens that controls distribution of light emitted from the light source, wherein the lens includes a recessed portion located on a vehicle side of an outer surface of the lens when viewed from the light source, when the lens is attached to the vehicle, the recessed portion being recessed toward the light source, the outer surface being opposite to an inner surface located closer to the light source.
However, Erdl does disclose
wherein each of the first light-emitter and the second light-emitter includes a light source and a lens that controls distribution of light emitted from the light source, wherein the lens includes a recessed portion located on a vehicle side of an outer surface of the lens when viewed from the light source, when the lens is attached to the vehicle, the recessed portion being recessed toward the light source, the outer surface being opposite to an inner surface located closer to the light source. [See Erdl [Fig. 1] Concave lens (12) with a light source (2) for a vehicle. Also, see 0012, light sources.]
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the device by Liu (modified by Gao and Beev) to add the teachings of Erdl, in order to incorporate obvious optics for an illuminator. This will improve upon how the illumination is emitted.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over over Liu (US 20200213486) in view of Gao (US 20180334099) in view of Beev (US 20210400177) and in further view of Takagaki (US 20140145612).
Regarding claim 6, Liu (modified by Gao and Beev) disclose the device of claim 1. Furthermore, Liu does not explicitly disclose
wherein each of the first light-emitter and the second light-emitter includes a light source and a light-shielding component that shields part of near infrared light emitted from the light source, and when the light-shielding component is attached to the vehicle, the light-shielding component is disposed from a vehicle side of the light source to continuously extend beyond a point directly below the light source when viewed from the light source.
However, Takagaki does disclose
wherein each of the first light-emitter and the second light-emitter includes a light source and a light-shielding component that shields part of near infrared light emitted from the light source, and when the light-shielding component is attached to the vehicle, the light-shielding component is disposed from a vehicle side of the light source to continuously extend beyond a point directly below the light source when viewed from the light source. [See Takagaki [Fig. 2] Shade (70) extending beyond the optical axis of the light source (80). Also, see Fig. 1, plural light sources.]
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the device by Liu (modified by Gao and Beev) to add the teachings of Takagaki, in order to incorporate a shielding mechanism such that other vehicles do not receive too much illumination.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (US 20200213486) in view of Gao (US 20180334099) in view of Beev (US 20210400177) and in further view of Guidi (US 20200207252).
Regarding claim 9, Liu (modifed by Gao and Beev) disclose the device of claim 1. Furthermore, Liu does not explicitly disclose
wherein the second light-emitter is attached to an overhang surface of the vehicle body.
However, Guidi does disclose
wherein the second light-emitter is attached to an overhang surface of the vehicle body. [See Guidi [Fig. 4[ Light source (404) attached to bumper of the vehicle. The bumper is curved in respect to the vertical direction.]
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the device by Liu (modifed by Gao and Beev) to add the teachings of Guidi, in order to incorporate the lighting/imaging system of Liu on any type of vehicle. Some of the vehicles (such as shown in Guidi) incorporate a bumper that is not vertical.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20180311206 – Figs. 12A-12D and 0138 – illuminating a 360 degree of the road surface in respect to a vehicle using a plurality of illumination devices.
/JAMES T BOYLAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2486