DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. NL2029879, filed on 11/23/2021.
Claim Objections
Claim 9 objected to because of the following informalities: “wherein said article is sized and dimensioned to generically at least partly cover multiple shape variants within a class of prostheses or implants.”. Examiner recommends correcting to “at least partially and generically”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “means for monitoring a temperature change in said article “ in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 8-10, 13-18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Nelissen et al. WO 2020067898 A2, herein referred to as Neilssen.
Regarding claim 1, Neilssen discloses a shaped article sized (Fig 1, apparatus 18/10; pg 16 lines 31- pg 17 lines 14) and dimensioned to at least partly and removably cover a prosthetic or implant (pg 16 lines 31- pg 17 lines 14; fully capable of being removed), wherein said shaped article comprises means for monitoring a temperature change in said article (this element is interpreted under 112(f) as a “a visual indication of whether a predetermined temperature or temperature change” see [0042] of the instant application, and equivalents thereof; Pg 24 lines 15-25 “The method comprises real time visualization and/or measurement, such as provided by a display connected to or associated with an infra-red thermal camera.”; The visual indication is a display connected to the measuring apparatus or an associated infra-red thermal camera; Additionally, Fig 12 show a read visual indication of temperature using aforementioned infra-red camera.).
Regarding claim 2, Neilssen discloses wherein said means for monitoring a temperature change in said article comprises one or more temperature sensors (pg 24 lines 20-25, “In at least some examples, the method comprises automatically adapting the heating with an integral thermal sensor and a (micro-)controller 25 comprised in the heating apparatus 10, 110.”) attached to or embedded in said shaped article.
Regarding claim 8, further comprising one or more coils at least partly embedded in said shaped article, wherein said one or more coils (Fig 1, 12) are configured to inductively heat at least a portion of the prosthetic or implant (pg 25 lines 4-6).
Regarding claim 9, wherein said article is sized and dimensioned to generically at least partly cover multiple shape variants within a class of prostheses or implants (pg 16 lines 31- pg 17 lines 14).
Regarding claim 10, Neilssen discloses wherein said article is sized and dimensioned to generically at least partly cover an implant or prosthetic selected from the group consisting of: a tibial component for knee replacement surgery, a femoral component for replacement surgery, a tibial component for ankle replacement surgery, a talar component for ankle replacement surgery, a glenoid component for shoulder replacement surgery (pg 1 lines 19-23), a humeral (stem) component for shoulder replacement surgery, an acetabular component for hip replacement surgery, a femoral stem implant component for hip replacement surgery (pg 1 lines 19-23).
Regarding claim 13, Neilssen discloses wherein said shaped article comprises one or more induction coils configured for inductively heating at least a portion of said shaped article (pg 25 lines 4-6; pg 18 lines 4-6).
Regarding claim 14, Neilssen discloses wherein said shaped article comprises one or more temperature sensors attached to or embedded in said shaped article (pg 24 lines 20-25, “In at least some examples, the method comprises automatically adapting the heating with an integral thermal sensor and a (micro-)controller 25 comprised in the heating apparatus 10, 110.”).
Regarding claim 15, Neilssen discloses a method of inductively heating at least a portion of a prosthetic or implant (pg 19 lines 1-7), the method comprising a) covering at least portion a prosthetic or implant with the shaped article according to claim 1 (pg 19 lines 1-7); and) inductively heating said at least a portion of the prosthetic or implant using one or more induction coils (pg 19 lines 1-7).
Regarding claim 16, Neilssen discloses wherein the inductively heating of at least a portion of the prosthetic or implant using one or more induction coils occurs via one or more induction coils embedded in the shaped article (pg 19 lines 1-7).
Regarding claim 17, Neilssen discloses wherein the method comprises inductively heating the portion of the prosthetic or implant until a predetermined visual indication representing a predetermined temperature or temperature change has been reached in at least a portion of said article (Pg 24 lines 15-25 “The method comprises real time visualization and/or measurement, such as provided by a display connected to or associated with an infra-red thermal camera.”; The visual indication is a display connected to the measuring apparatus or an associated infra-red thermal camera; Additionally, Fig 12 show a read visual indication of temperature using aforementioned infra-red camera.).
Regarding claim 18, Neilssen discloses wherein the method further comprises administering a biocidal, preferably antimicrobial, a composition effective in reducing the count of harmful microorganisms at a concentration at the location of the prosthetic or implant suitable to achieve a reduction of the count of microorganisms (pg 21 lines 23-25).
Regarding claim 20, Neilssen discloses wherein the biocidal composition is an antimicrobial composition (pg 21 lines 23-25).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-5, 7, 11-12 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Neilssen in view of Chandler et al. EP 2130520 A1, herein referred to as Chandler.
Regarding claim 3, Nielssen discloses the invention substantially as claimed and as discussed above with respect to claim 1, but does not disclose wherein said means for monitoring a temperature change in said article comprises a material that is capable of providing a visual indication of whether a predetermined temperature or temperature change has been reached in at least a portion of said article.
But Chandler teaches wherein said means for monitoring a temperature change in said article comprises a material that is capable of providing a visual indication of whether a predetermined temperature or temperature change has been reached in at least a portion of said article ([0019-0020]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention modify the Neilssen to incorporate wherein said means for monitoring a temperature change in said article comprises a material that is capable of providing a visual indication of whether a predetermined temperature or temperature change has been reached in at least a portion of said article, as taught and suggested by Chandler in order allow biocompatible film formation over an implant (Chandler [0009])
Regarding claim 4, Niellssen/Chandler discloses the invention substantially as claimed and as discussed above with respect to claim 3, and additionally teaches wherein said material that is capable of providing said visual indication comprises a material that exhibits a change in optical transmittance, a change in optical reflectance, a change in luminescence, or a combination thereof in response to a temperature change (Chandler [0019-0020])
Regarding claim 5, Niellssen/Chandler discloses the invention substantially as claimed and as discussed above with respect to claim 4, and additionally teaches wherein said material that displays a change in optical transmittance, a change in optical reflectance, a change in luminescence, or a combination thereof is a thermochromic pigment, thermochromic polymer, thermochromic ink, or thermochromic dye; and said material that displays a change in optical transmittance, a change in optical reflectance, a change in luminescence, or a combination thereof is embedded in, [[or]] provided as a coating on, or a combination thereof, said shaped article (Chandler [0019-0020]).
Regarding claim 7, Niellssen/Chandler discloses the invention substantially as claimed and as discussed above with respect to claim 3, and additionally teaches wherein the body of said shaped article is made of a biocompatible plastic or rubber ([Chandler [0020] describes biocompatible polymers).
Regarding claim 11, Niellssen/Chandler discloses the invention substantially as claimed and as discussed above with respect to claim 7, and additionally teaches Neilssen discloses wherein said shaped article is in the form of a flexible sheet (Chandler [0014]).
Regarding claim 12, Niellssen/Chandler discloses the invention substantially as claimed and as discussed above with respect to claim 7, and additionally teaches wherein said shaped article is dimensioned to substantially follow the contours of an external surface of the prosthetic or implant (Chandler [0006], Chandler teaches conforming media to contour to desired shape of an implanted prosthesis).
Regarding claim 19, Niellssen/Chandler discloses the invention substantially as claimed and as discussed above with respect to claim 11 teaches wherein said flexible sheet can be further modelled and/or cut into a desired shape (Chandler [0014]).
Conclusion
/A.F./ /THOMAS C BARRETT/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3774 SPE, Art Unit 3799