DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed August 25, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Amendments to the claims have changed the scope of the claimed invention, however the previous prior art combination reads upon the claims with minor modifications.
On page 7 of the Remarks section, Applicant discusses the previous Specification objection and 112 rejections, indicating that amendments made to address these issues should result in their withdrawal. The Examiner has withdrawn them as a result.
On pages 7-8, Applicant argues against the previous 103 prior art rejection of independent Claim 1 involving primary reference Jang et al., KR101400313 B1, (“Jang”, “Machine Translation of KR101400313”, 79 total pages, published 2014), and secondary reference Lee et al., KR 200257526Y1, (“Lee”, “Machine Translation of KR 200257526Y1”, 12 total pages, published 2001). Here, Applicant argues that primary reference Jang does not disclose discharge holes below the multiple compartments. The Examiner notes that the holes 49a are all vertically below any compartment formed by filter 41 and support plate 49 as shown in Figure 4 of Jang. Applicant also argues that the claims require an annular discharge pipe part, and that the discharge holes 49a of Jang are not an annular structure. The Examiner takes the position that the holes 49a/tubes 63 are positioned under an annular portion of the filter itself. It is not required in the claim that the discharge holes/tubes or the discharge pipe part must be annularly shaped themselves, but that they are positioned annularly in relation to the overall structure. Since they are positioned under an annular portion of the overall structure, the Examiner interprets that Jang still reads upon this limitation. Thus, the Examiner finds Applicant’s remarks here unpersuasive.
On pages 7-8, Applicant argues against the previous prior art references disclosing new independent Claim 9, asserting that they do not disclose the buoyancy ball closing the lower-through hole of the buoyancy tube. Applicant argues that Lee shuts off water flow completely. However, the Examiner interprets paragraphs 12-14 of Lee to indicate that water continues to collect in the channel when the pump stops operation. For these reasons, the Examiner finds Applicant’s remarks here unpersuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang et al., KR101400313 B1, (“Jang”, “Machine Translation of KR101400313”, 79 total pages, published 2014), in view of Lee et al., KR 200257526Y1, (“Lee”, “Machine Translation of KR 200257526Y1”, 12 total pages, published 2001).
Regarding Claims 1-8, Jang discloses water treatment equipment comprising: a guide part (10) having a conical body (11) open up and down, (Diffuser 37, See Figures 1 & 4, See paragraph [0052]), an inflow pipe (12) extending downward from the conical body (11) to guide contaminated water into a filtration tank (F), (Inlet Pipe 35 connected to bottom of Diffuser 37, See Figures 1 & 4, See paragraph [0052]), and an annular support surface (13) having multiple discharge holes (131) disposed to be spaced apart in a circumferential direction from each other, (Support Plate 49 with Drain Holes 49a, See Figure 1 & 4, See paragraph [0055]), with the annular support surface (13) being disposed along an upper edge of the conical body (11), (Plate 49 forms upper edge of Diffuser 37 as shown in Figures 1 & 4); a tubular filter part (20) having a fixed frame (21) configured to dispose multiple compartments (21a) divided along an inner circumferential edge of the annular support surface (13) and a curtain filtration layer (22) inserted into each of the compartments (21a), (Curtain Filter 41 sectioned into compartments, See Figure 1, See paragraph [0057]; figure demonstrates filter 41 broken into different sections), with the tubular filter part (20) installed in a tubular shape on the annular support surface, (Curtain Filter 41 is cylindrical and positioned on Plate 49, See Figures 1 & 4), with the multiple discharge holes located below the multiple compartments, (Drain Holes 49a are located vertically below all of different portions/compartments of Curtain Filter 41, See Figure 4); an annular discharge pipe part (30) having multiple buoyancy tubes (31) disposed respectively under the discharge holes (131) of the annular support surface (13) to enable fluid communication therebetween, (Stoppers 59 for Drainage Holes 49a moved by Buoyant Tubes 63, located directly below an annular portion of tubular filter part, See Figures 1 & 4, See paragraphs [0096]-[0099]), and a duct (33) being in fluid communication with the multiple buoyancy tubes (31) and extending to the outside of the filtration tank (F), (Drain Pipe 19, See Figures 1 & 4, See paragraph [0095]); and a filter washing part (50) configured to spray washing water for backwashing on the tubular filter part (20), (Washing Device 51 spraying on Filter Module Part 39, See Figure 4, See paragraphs [0051]-[0057]), wherein the tubular filter part (20) allows contaminated water guided into the guide part (10) to pass through the tubular filter part (20) in a radial direction for filtration, (Filter Module 39 filters spray, See Figure 4, See paragraph [0052]), and during backwashing, contaminants stripped from filter media of the tubular filter part and washing water are discharged through the discharge pipe part (30) to the outside of the filtration tank, (See paragraphs [0079]-[0086]).
Jang does not disclose a hinged cover (132) configured to open and close each of the discharge holes (131).
Lee discloses a hinged cover (132) configured to open and close each of the discharge holes (131), (Float 31 positioned like lever/cover that opens and blocks Water Supply Valve 30 (inherently has discharge hole), alternatively Water Detection Unit 42 of Unit 40 which floats as well is positioned like lever/cover that opens and blocks Channel 24, See Figure 1, See page 3, paragraphs 6 & 7, Lee). Additional features of this embodiment are included as part of the overall combination and are claim mapped to in the Additional Disclosures section below.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the water treatment equipment of Jang by incorporating a hinged cover (132) configured to open and close each of the discharge holes (131) as in Lee for “including a buoy blocking water from being supplied any more when the water…reaches a predetermined water level” so that “thus the quality and reliability of the product can be significantly improved by the above effect”, (See page 3, last paragraph, Lee).
Additional Disclosures Included:
Claim 2: The water treatment equipment of claim 1, wherein the discharge hole (131) is located in an inner area of the compartment (21 a), (Drain Valve 57 under Curtain Filter 41, See Figure 4, See paragraph [0055], Jang).
Claim 3: The water treatment equipment of claim 1, wherein the discharge pipe part (30) comprises: the multiple buoyancy tubes (31) having upper through-holes and lower through-holes, (Connecting Members 61/Buoyant Tubes 63, See paragraph [0103], [0106], Jang); a buoyancy ball (32) configured to open and close the hinged cover (132) by moving up and down according to a water level inside each of the buoyancy tubes (31), (Float (shaped like ball) 31 positioned like lever/cover that opens and blocks Water Supply Valve 30 (inherently has discharge hole), alternatively Water Detection Unit 42 (shaped like oblong float) of Unit 40 which floats as well is positioned like lever/cover that opens and blocks Channel 24, See page 3, paragraphs 6 & 7, Lee; and See paragraphs [0102]-[0107], Jang); and the duct (33) disposed to be in fluid communication with lower parts of the multiple buoyancy tubes (31), (Drain Pipe 19, See Figures 1 & 4, See paragraph [0095], Jang), with the duct (33) having a valve (V3) provided on an end part of a pipe thereof, (Valve 60 on Channel 24, See Figure 1, See paragraph 1 of page 3, Lee).
Claim 4: The water treatment equipment of claim 1, wherein the inflow pipe (12) comprises a branch pipe (15) extending to the outside of the filtration tank (F) by branching off from the inflow pipe, and a valve (V1) provided on an end part of the branch pipe (15), (See Figure 4, See paragraphs [0052] & [0108], Jang).
Claim 5: The water treatment equipment of claim 1, wherein the guide part (10) comprises one or more fine mesh filter parts (40; 41, 42) having concentric structures, (Fine Mesh Filters 43 & 45 concentrically arranged, See Figure 4, See paragraph [0058], Jang), with the tubular filter part (20) and disposed on the annular support surface (13), (Filter Module 39 arranged on/around Support Plate 49/Diffuser 37 in which Filter Module 39 includes Curtain Filter 41, First, Second Fine Filter Mesh Filter 43, 45, See Figure 4, See paragraphs [0057] & [0058], Jang).
Claim 6: The water treatment equipment of claim 1, wherein the fixed frame (21) defines the multiple compartments (21a) through a perforated screen (211) having a tubular shape disposed on an inner circumferential edge of the annular support surface (13) along a circumference thereof, a tubular fixed mesh (212) disposed outside the perforated screen (211) on the annular support surface, with the tubular fixed mesh (212) being concentric with the perforated screen (211) and having an increased diameter, and multiple partition walls (213) disposed to be spaced apart from each other in a circumferential direction between the perforated screen (211) having a tubular shape and the tubular fixed mesh (212), (see figure 2, Jang).
Claim 7: The water treatment equipment of claim 1, wherein the curtain filtration layer (22) is provided with one or more fibrous filter media (221), (Curtain Filter 41 has fibrous filter material built inside, See Figure 4, See paragraph [0060], Jang).
Claim 8: The water treatment equipment of claim 5, wherein the curtain filtration layer (22) and the one or more fine mesh filter parts (40; 41, 42) are formed and arranged to be denser gradually in a radial direction, (Fine Mesh Filters 45 then 43 then Curtain Filter 41, See Figure 4, See paragraphs [0061] & [0062], Jang).
Regarding Claims 1-8, Jang discloses water treatment equipment comprising: a guide part (10) having a conical body (11) open up and down, (Diffuser 37, See Figures 1 & 4, See paragraph [0052]), an inflow pipe (12) extending downward from the conical body (11) to guide contaminated water into a filtration tank (F), (Inlet Pipe 35 connected to bottom of Diffuser 37, See Figures 1 & 4, See paragraph [0052]), and an annular support surface (13) having multiple discharge holes (131) disposed to be spaced apart in a circumferential direction from each other, (Support Plate 49 with Drain Holes 49a, See Figure 1 & 4, See paragraph [0055]), with the annular support surface (13) being disposed along an upper edge of the conical body (11), (Plate 49 forms upper edge of Diffuser 37 as shown in Figures 1 & 4); a tubular filter part (20) having a fixed frame (21) configured to dispose multiple compartments (21a) divided along an inner circumferential edge of the annular support surface (13) and a curtain filtration layer (22) inserted into each of the compartments (21a), (Curtain Filter 41 sectioned into compartments, See Figure 1, See paragraph [0057]; figure demonstrates filter 41 broken into different sections), with the tubular filter part (20) installed in a tubular shape on the annular support surface, (Curtain Filter 41 is cylindrical and positioned on Plate 49, See Figures 1 & 4), with the multiple discharge holes located below the multiple compartments, (Drain Holes 49a are located vertically below all of different portions/compartments of Curtain Filter 41, See Figure 4); an annular discharge pipe part (30) having multiple buoyancy tubes (31) disposed respectively under the discharge holes (131) of the annular support surface (13) to enable fluid communication therebetween, (Stoppers 59 for Drainage Holes 49a moved by Buoyant Tubes 63, located directly below an annular portion of tubular filter part, See Figures 1 & 4, See paragraphs [0096]-[0099]), and a duct (33) being in fluid communication with the multiple buoyancy tubes (31) and extending to the outside of the filtration tank (F), (Drain Pipe 19, See Figures 1 & 4, See paragraph [0095]); and a filter washing part (50) configured to spray washing water for backwashing on the tubular filter part (20), (Washing Device 51 spraying on Filter Module Part 39, See Figure 4, See paragraphs [0051]-[0057]), wherein the tubular filter part (20) allows contaminated water guided into the guide part (10) to pass through the tubular filter part (20) in a radial direction for filtration, (Filter Module 39 filters spray, See Figure 4, See paragraph [0052]), and during backwashing, contaminants stripped from filter media of the tubular filter part and washing water are discharged through the discharge pipe part (30) to the outside of the filtration tank, (See paragraphs [0079]-[0086]), wherein each of the multiple buoyancy tubes (31) has: an upper through-hole and lower through-hole, (Connecting Members 61/Buoyant Tubes 63, See paragraph [0103], [0106], Jang).
Jang does not disclose a hinged cover (132) configured to open and close each of the discharge holes (131), and a buoyancy ball (32) configured to open and close the hinged cover (132) by moving up and down according to a water level inside each of the buoyancy tubes (31), wherein the buoyancy ball cannot close the lower through-hole.
Lee discloses a hinged cover (132) configured to open and close each of the discharge holes (131), (Float 31 positioned like lever/cover that opens and blocks Water Supply Valve 30 (inherently has discharge hole), alternatively Water Detection Unit 42 of Unit 40 which floats as well is positioned like lever/cover that opens and blocks Channel 24, See Figure 1, See page 3, paragraphs 6 & 7, Lee) and a buoyancy ball (32) configured to open and close the hinged cover (132) by moving up and down according to a water level inside each of the buoyancy tubes (31), (Float (shaped like ball) 31 positioned like lever/cover that opens and blocks Water Supply Valve 30 (inherently has discharge hole), alternatively Water Detection Unit 42 (shaped like oblong float) of Unit 40 which floats as well is positioned like lever/cover that opens and blocks Channel 24, See page 3, paragraphs 6 & 7, Lee), wherein the buoyancy ball cannot close the lower through-hole, (Float 31 or Unit 42 do not cover/close either channels 30 or 24, See Figure 1, See page 3, paragraphs 12-14, Lee; also residual water continues to collect when pump stops operation). Additional features of this embodiment are included as part of the overall combination and are claim mapped to in the Additional Disclosures section below.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the water treatment equipment of Jang by incorporating a hinged cover (132) configured to open and close each of the discharge holes (131), and a buoyancy ball (32) configured to open and close the hinged cover (132) by moving up and down according to a water level inside each of the buoyancy tubes (31), wherein the buoyancy ball cannot close the lower through-hole as in Lee for “including a buoy blocking water from being supplied any more when the water…reaches a predetermined water level” so that “thus the quality and reliability of the product can be significantly improved by the above effect”, (See page 3, last paragraph, Lee).
Additional Disclosures Included:
Claim 10: The water treatment equipment of claim 9, wherein the inflow pipe (12) comprises a branch pipe (15) extending to the outside of the filtration tank (F) by branching off from the inflow pipe, and a valve (V1) provided on an end part of the branch pipe (15), (See Figure 4, See paragraphs [0052] & [0108], Jang).
Claim 11: The water treatment equipment of claim 9, wherein the guide part (10) comprises one or more fine mesh filter parts (40; 41, 42) having concentric structures, (Fine Mesh Filters 43 & 45 concentrically arranged, See Figure 4, See paragraph [0058], Jang), with the tubular filter part (20) and disposed on the annular support surface (13), (Filter Module 39 arranged on/around Support Plate 49/Diffuser 37 in which Filter Module 39 includes Curtain Filter 41, First, Second Fine Filter Mesh Filter 43, 45, See Figure 4, See paragraphs [0057] & [0058], Jang).
Claim 12: The water treatment equipment of claim 9, wherein the fixed frame (21) defines the multiple compartments (21a) through a perforated screen (211) having a tubular shape disposed on an inner circumferential edge of the annular support surface (13) along a circumference thereof, (Mesh Filter 47, See Figure 2, paragraph [0113], Jang), a tubular fixed mesh (212) disposed outside the perforated screen (211) on the annular support surface, with the tubular fixed mesh (212) being concentric with the perforated screen (211) and having an increased diameter, (Curtain filtration filter 43 or Mesh Filter 45 are concentric with/outside Mesh Filter 47, See Figure 2, paragraph [0113], Jang), and multiple partition walls (213) disposed to be spaced apart from each other in a circumferential direction between the perforated screen (211) having a tubular shape and the tubular fixed mesh (212), (Diffuser 38 and/or Filtration filter 43 between Filter 45 and Filter 47, See Figure 2, paragraph [0113], Jang).
Claim 13: The water treatment equipment of claim 9, wherein the curtain filtration layer (22) is provided with one or more fibrous filter media (221), (Curtain Filter 41 has fibrous filter material built inside, See Figure 4, See paragraph [0060], Jang).
Claim 14: The water treatment equipment of claim 13, wherein the curtain filtration layer (22) and the one or more fine mesh filter parts (40; 41, 42) are formed and arranged to be denser gradually in a radial direction, (Fine Mesh Filters 45 then 43 then Curtain Filter 41, See Figure 4, See paragraphs [0061] & [0062], Jang).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JONATHAN M PEO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1779