DETAILED ACTION
U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on April 24, 2024 and December 04, 2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and have been considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC§ 102
1. Claims 1-5, 11-14 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being
anticipated by Masao et al. JPH08111798 (Noted: the reference is cited in the IDS filed on 04/24/2024).
In regard to claim 1, note Masao discloses an optical device (camera device 1 as shown in Fig 3) comprising: an optical system configured to cause incident first light (front window 15) to focus on an specified area ( imaging lens 12 and CCD image receiving section 13); and an optical element (left mirrors 20 & 21 or right mirrors 22 &23) configured to guide second light (left window 16 or right window 17) to the specified area (12 & 13), the second light having a principal ray that is incident on the optical system and angle between which and an optical axis of the optical system differs from angle between a principal ray of the first light and the optical axis of the optical system (See [0009] and Figs 3-7).
In regard to claim 2, note Masao discloses wherein the angle between the principal ray of the second light (from left side window 16 or right side window 17) and the optical axis is larger than the angle between the principal ray of the first light (from front window 15) and the optical axis (See Fig 3).
In regard to claim 3, note Masao discloses wherein the optical element is a mirror (left mirrors 20 & 21 or right mirrors 22 &23) configured to reflect the second light and guide the reflected second light to the specified area (imaging lens 12) as shown in Fig 3.
In regard to claim 4, note Masao discloses an imaging element comprising a light reception area overlapping the specified area as show in Fig 5.
In regard to claim 5, note Masao discloses wherein the optical element is a mirror configured to reflect the second light and guide the reflected second light to the specified area as shown in Fig 3.
In regard to claim 11, note Masao discloses wherein the mirror (21 or 23) is located outside an exit pupil of the optical system as viewed in direction of the optical axis of the optical system as shown in Fig 3.
In regard to claim 12, note Masao discloses wherein angle of a principal ray of any light flux in the optical system relative to the optical axis is larger than
as shown in Fig 3.
In regard to claim 13, note Masao discloses further comprising a controller (43, Fig. 9) configured to separate an image corresponding to an image signal generated by image capturing of the imaging element into first image components associated with object points within a direct field angle of the optical system, the direct field angle matching the light reception area of the imaging element, and second image components associated with object points outside the direct field angle as shown in Fig 5 (See [0021]).
In regard to claim 14, note Masao discloses further comprising wherein the optical element performs optical processing on light flux incident on the optical element and emits resultant light flux as shown in Figure 3.
In regard to claim 17, note Masao discloses the imaging device according to claim 14, adding distortion (adding left and right image with front image together) to an image to be formed by the incident light flux in the light reception area as shown in Fig 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC§ 103
2. Claims 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masao et al. JPH08111798, in view of Konrad et al. (US Pub. 2022/0137425).
In regard to claim 6, note Masao discloses the imaging device according to claim 5, but fails to explicitly disclose a reflection surface of the mirror is parallel to the optical axis of the optical system.
In analogous art, Konrad discloses the reflection surface of the mirror (13) is parallel to the optical axis of the optical system as shown in Fig 1 (See [0030]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the primary reference Masao such that the reflection surface of the mirror is parallel to the optical axis of the optical system in order to guide more wide light beams enter in the camera system and get an image appears larger.
In regard to claim 7, note Masao and Konrad disclose the imaging device according to claims 5- 6, wherein the light reception area is rectangular, and a reflection surface of the mirror is parallel to one side of the rectangular light reception area of the imaging element as shown in Konrad’s Fig 1.
In regard to claim 8, note Masao and Konrad disclose the imaging device according to claims 5- 7, and wherein the mirror comprises a plurality of plane mirrors (two sides mirror 13), and at least one set of two plane mirrors out of the plurality of plane mirrors comprises reflection surfaces parallel to each other as shown in Konrad’s Fig 1 (see [0030]).
In regard to claim 9, note Masao and Konrad disclose the imaging device according to claim 8, and wherein each plane mirror (13) is in close contact with an outer edge of the light reception area of the imaging element in a normal direction of the plane mirror (see Konrad [0048]).
3. Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masao et al. JPH08111798, in view of Ono (US Pub. 2018/01364337).
In regard to claims 15-16, note Masao discloses the imaging device according to claim 14, but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the optical processing is changing bandwidth of the incident light flux; adding, to the incident light flux, a brightness difference pattern according to incident position of the incident light flux.
In analogous art, Ono discloses the optical processing is changing bandwidth of the incident light flux (different wavelength) adding to the incident light flux, a brightness (amount lights) difference pattern according to incident position of the incident light flux (See [0353]- [0354]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the primary reference Masao such that the optical processing is changing bandwidth of the incident light flux; adding, to the incident light flux, a brightness difference pattern according to incident position of the incident light flux in order to easily adjust the light amount and individually preforming focus adjustment on optical system.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 9 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims
Regarding Claim 9, the prior art recod – taken alone or in combination – fails to disclose or render obvious wherein distance H between the optical axis of the imaging element and each of the reflection surfaces of the two plane mirrors parallel to each other is equal, and CRA < tan1(H/B) is satisfied, where CRA is angle of a principal ray of light flux from an object point at an angle of twice a direct field angle of the optical system, the direct field angle matching the light reception area of the imaging element, and B is backfocus of the optical system with all the limitations recited on claims1, 4, 5 and 8.
Conclusion
Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in
DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/LIN YE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2638