CTNF 18/704,333 CTNF 85916 Detailed Action Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Priority 23-19 AIA Should applicant desire to obtain the benefit of foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) prior to declaration of an interference, a certified English translation of the foreign application must be submitted in reply to this action. 37 CFR 41.154(b) and 41.202(e). Failure to provide a certified translation may result in no benefit being accorded for the non-English application. Applicant cannot rely upon the certified copy of the foreign priority application to overcome this rejection because a translation of said application has not been made of record in accordance with 37 CFR 1.55. When an English language translation of a non-English language foreign application is required, the translation must be that of the certified copy (of the foreign application as filed) submitted together with a statement that the translation of the certified copy is accurate. See MPEP §§ 215 and 216. Claim Objections 07-29-01 AIA Claim s 1, 21 & 30 are objected to because of the following informalities: Abbreviations should be spelled out the first time they appear in independent claims or any claim it first appears in thereafter . Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim (s) 1-10, 21-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Qi (GB 2582893 A) . Regarding claims 1 and 21 , Qi discloses a method of operating a first user equipment (UE) and first user equipment, comprising: a memory; at least one transceiver (see transceiver, bottom of page 8); and at least one processor communicatively coupled to the memory (see memory, second para of page 9) and the at least one transceiver, the at least one processor (see processor, bottom of page 8) configured to: determining first assistance data that is common to each UE in a joint position estimation group that includes at least the first UE and a second UE (paragraph 2, page 7, “ a common PRS density/pattern is configured for both UE1 and UE2 such that PRS ”); receiving a first indication for the first UE to measure or transmit upon first PRS resources (see page 6, para 3, “ PRS may be transmitted ”) associated with a first subset of the first assistance data (see “partial overlap”, 2 nd to last para page 6); and performing one or more operations (see various operations, last paragraph page 7) related to measurement of one or more PRSs (by default PRS includes measurement as shown in second to last para. page 3) on the first PRS resources in accordance with the first indication (see received configuration, top of page 8). Regarding claims 2 and 22 ; Qi Qi discloses the method and ue of claims 1 and 21, wherein the one or more operations include performing one or more positioning measurements by the first UE on some or all of the first PRS resources (see second para. page 7, “ a first PRS density/pattern may be configured for UE1 ”), or wherein the one or more operations include transmitting at least one PRS on some or all of the first PRS resources for measurement by at least the second UE, or a combination thereof. Regarding claims 3 and 23 ; Qi discloses the method and ue of claims 1 and 21, further comprising: determining second assistance data that is specific to the first UE and is separate from the first assistance data, and wherein the first indication further triggers the first UE to measure or transmit upon second PRS resources associated with the second assistance data (see second para, page 7, “ while a second PRS density/pattern may be independently configured for UE2 ”). Regarding claims 4 and 24 ; Qi discloses the method and ue of claims 1 and 21, wherein the second UE is provided a second indication for the second UE to measure or transmit upon second PRS resources associated with a second subset of the first assistance data that is different than the first subset of the first assistance data (see third para, page 7, “ However, if there are different PRS density/pattern in the overlapping part (i.e. the PRS density/pattern for BWP1 is different from the PRS density/pattern for BWP2), ”). Regarding claims 5 and 25 ; Qi discloses the method and ue of 3 and 23, wherein the first PRS resources and the second PRS resources overlap in part (see “overlap”, third para. page 7). Regarding claims 6 and 26 ; Qi discloses the method and ue of claims 1 and 21, wherein the first indication is received from a network component (see base station page 8), or wherein the first indication is received via sidelink. Regarding claims 7 and 27 ; Qi discloses the method and ue of claims 1 and 21, further comprising: reporting, to a position estimation entity, measurement information that is based on one or more positioning measurements of at least one of the one or more PRSs (para. 5, page 4, “ Certain examples of the present disclosure provide methods, apparatus and systems for providing Positioning Reference Signals (PRS) for allowing the position of a User Equipment (UE) to be determined in a wireless communication system. For example, certain examples of the present disclosure provide methods, apparatus and systems for providing PRS in 3GPP 5G-NR ”). Regarding claims 8 ; Qi discloses the method and ue of claim 1, wherein the first PRS resources comprise uplink (UL) PRS resources (see UL PRS, 3 rd para page 6, ), downlink (DL) PRS resources (see DL PRS, page 6, para. 3, second to last para. page 5), sidelink (SL) PRS resources, or a combination thereof. Regarding claims 9 and 28 ; Qi discloses the method and ue of claims 1 and 21, further comprising: alternating between performing the one or more operations on the first PRS resources and performing the one or more operations of at least one PRS on second PRS resources associated with a second subset of the first assistance data that is different than the first subset of the first assistance data (see “switched”, top of page 8). Regarding claims 10 and 29 ; Qi discloses the method and ue of claims 1 and 21, wherein the first indication is valid for a period of time, or wherein the first indication is valid until receipt of a second indication for the first UE to measure or transmit upon second PRS resources associated with a second subset of the first assistance data that is different than the first subset of the first assistance data, or a combination thereof (see para. 4, page 6, “ part being active at a given time ”) . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-07 AIA 07-97 12-51-07 Claim s 11-20 & 30 are allowed. Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Fischer (US 2015/0018010 A1) - discloses some key concepts of PRS Sahai et al. (US 2019/0052996 A1) - discloses some key concepts of PRS Kumar et al. (US 2020/0351621 A1) - discloses some key concepts of PRS Modarres Razavi et al. (US Pat. No. 10, 871,545 B2 ) - discloses some key concepts of PRS Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to K. WILFORD SHAHEED whose telephone number is (469) 295-9175. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday 9 am-6pm; CST; ALT Friday. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. The examiner’s Supervisor, Jinsong Hu, can be reached at (571)272-3965, where attempts to reach the examiner are unsuccessful. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /KHALID W SHAHEED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2643 Application/Control Number: 18/704,333 Page 2 Art Unit: 2643 Application/Control Number: 18/704,333 Page 3 Art Unit: 2643 Application/Control Number: 18/704,333 Page 4 Art Unit: 2643 Application/Control Number: 18/704,333 Page 5 Art Unit: 2643