DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 9, 11, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng et al. (US 2021/0271886 A1) in view of Ramani et al. (US 2021/0134065 A1).
Consider claim 1, Zheng teaches a method for automatically generating ([0007]), comprising: a) training a Machine Learning (ML) model (The AI module 15 may use stored or learned object data to identify and detect objects seen in the videos and/or may identify the objects through comparison with keywords in the text data or physical motions of the expert seen in the video data. [0083]) to identify and classify: a.1) predetermined parts of said device ([0083]); a.2) tools for performing said maintenance operations by manipulating the state of said parts ([0083]); a.3) hands gestures and manual operations of a professional worker, while using said tools, during manipulation according to a workflow being a sequence of phases for carrying out said maintenance operations, each phase being a predetermined plurality of corresponding operations performed by said professional worker in any order, to be completed before moving to the next phase ([0085]); b) acquiring, by one or more video cameras, video segments of said sequence of maintenance phases ([0009]); c) processing said video segments by a processor and operating software and automatically generating, by said processor and operating software, using the trained model, an interaction file ([0056]) which is adapted to: c.1) encode, using a playable format, said workflow in the form of a collection of landmarks, manual operations, and the relation between them (Fig. 9); c.2) associate each landmark with a corresponding phase (Fig. 9); c.3) determine starting and ending landmarks for each phase (Fig. 9); c.4) determine transitions between completed phases and their corresponding consecutive phases ([0064]); d) playing said interaction file by a player, which is adapted to: d.1) generate graphical guiding visual signs and animations representing each of said phases and transitions ([0063]); d.2) generate audio guiding instructions to be played with corresponding visual signs and animations ([0071]).
However, Zheng does not explicitly teach AR and e) add said graphical guiding visual signs and animations and the audio guiding instructions to an AR user interface, to be worn by said novice user.
Ramani teaches AR ([0010]) and e) add said graphical guiding visual signs and animations and the audio guiding instructions to an AR user interface, to be worn by said novice user ([0010] – [0011], [0036], [0040], [0055], [0057], [0060] – [0069] and Fig. 20).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the known technique of implementing the method taught by Zheng using AR because such incorporation would improve the tutorial creation process of spatio-temporal tasks by leveraging the advantages of combining an object recognition system with virtual object rendering. [0026].
Consider claim 2, Zheng teaches the camera is a body camera attached to the forehead of the professional worker (Abstract, [0009], [0012], [0055]).
Consider claim 3, Zheng teaches the processing of the video segments comprises: a) detecting and recognizing, the operations carried-out by the professional worker ([0056] – [0062]); b) recognizing and tracking the manipulated parts of the device ([0056] – [0062]); c) detecting the order of the operations carried-out by the professional worker and grouping together several operations into a sequence ([0056] – [0062]); d) detecting portions of the work scenes that are performed by the professional worker during each phase ([0056] – [0062]).
Consider claim 4, the combination of Zheng and Ramani teaches integrating voice indications to the generated and/or to the played interaction file, for guiding the user via the AR interface ([0056] of Zheng; [0010] – [0011], [0036], [0040], [0055], [0057], [0060] – [0069] and Fig. 20 of Ramani).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the known technique of implementing the method taught by Zheng using AR because such incorporation would improve the tutorial creation process of spatio-temporal tasks by leveraging the advantages of combining an object recognition system with virtual object rendering. [0026].
Consider claim 5, Zheng teaches the operations within each phase are performed by the professional worker or by the novice user, according to any order ([0012] – [0015], [0020], [0055] – [0062]).
Consider claim 6, Ramani teaches the AR user interface is a smart helmet or smart glasses with AR capability ([0010] – [0012], [0026] – [0028], [0057]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the known technique of implementing the method taught by Zheng using AR because such incorporation would improve the tutorial creation process of spatio-temporal tasks by leveraging the advantages of combining an object recognition system with virtual object rendering. [0026].
Consider claim 7, the combination of Zheng and Ramani teaches the interaction file is played ([0050] – [0059] of Ramani) according to the following steps: a) arranging the workflow according to progress in the workflow steps and termination points ([0077] – [0082] of Zheng); b) detecting the work scene and the target parts at each step ([0036] – [0039] of Ramani); c) drawing markers on the scene, to guide the novice user while carrying out the workflow operations ([0044] – [0049] of Ramani); and d) performing a validation process by the operating software of the AR interface device, to ensure that any operation was completed successfully according to the workflow, wherein progress in playing said interaction file is made according to said workflow and the transition from a phase to the next phase is done upon detecting that all the mandatory operations in a current phase have been completed by the user ([0050] – [0059] of Ramani).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the known technique of implementing the method taught by Zheng using AR because such incorporation would improve the tutorial creation process of spatio-temporal tasks by leveraging the advantages of combining an object recognition system with virtual object rendering. [0026].
Consider claim 9, the combination of Zheng and Ramani teaches integrating voice indications into the played AR, for guiding the user ([0056] of Zheng; [0010] – [0011], [0036], [0040], [0055], [0057], [0060] – [0069] and Fig. 20 of Ramani).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the known technique of implementing the method taught by Zheng using AR because such incorporation would improve the tutorial creation process of spatio-temporal tasks by leveraging the advantages of combining an object recognition system with virtual object rendering. [0026].
Consider claim 11, Zheng teaches the operations within each phase are performed by the professional worker or by the novice user according to any order ([0012] – [0015], [0020], [0055] – [0062]).
Consider claim 15, claim 15 recites the system that performs the method recited in claim 1. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng et al. (US 2021/0271886 A1) in view of Ramani et al. (US 2021/0134065 A1) and Arshad et al. (US 2019/0354761 A1).
Consider claim 8, the combination of Zheng and Ramani teaches all the limitations in claim 1 but does not explicitly teach the Interaction File is a JavaScript Object Notation (JSON) file or an Extensible Markup Language (XML) file.
Arshad teaches the Interaction File is a JavaScript Object Notation (JSON) file or an Extensible Markup Language (XML) file ([0072]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the known technique of generating the interaction file in JavaScript Object Notation or the Extensible Markup Language format because such incorporation would allow presenting at least a subset of the information contained in the procedural workflow data to al least one user through a browser application. [0072].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/TAT C CHIO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2486