DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 3, claim 3 recites “represented by a general formula HfxTeyO100-x-y…”. However, the inclusion of “…” does not render clear what material is anticipated by the claim. As such, it is unclear what are the metes and bounds, and thus the scope, of the material that is being claimed. Appropriate correction should be made to clarify the language.
Claims 4 and 5 are also rejected under 35 USC 112(b) as they spend from and include all of the limitations of rejected claim 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ohba et al. (US 2020/0350498) hereinafter “Ohba”.
Regarding claim 1, Figs. 1 and 2 of Ohba teach an amorphous material (Paragraph 0037) that contains Hf, O and Te as main components (Paragraph 0066) and whose electrical resistance transitioning from a first state to a second state that is lower than the first state at a specific threshold voltage (Paragraph 0089).
Claims 1, 2 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ohba et al. (US 2015/0318471) hereinafter “Ohba2”.
Regarding claim 1, Figs. 1 and 2 of Ohba2 teach an amorphous material (Paragraph 0034) that contains Hf, O and Te as main components (Paragraph 0091) and whose electrical resistance transitioning from a first state to a second state that is lower than the first state at a specific threshold voltage (Paragraph 0011).
Regarding claim 2, Ohba2 further teaches where the amorphous material according to claim 1 (See the rejection of claim 1 above; For brevity the rejection of claim 1 will not be repeated here), which is for a selector (Paragraph 0091) in a cross point type memory (Paragraph 0119).
Regarding claim 6, Ohba2 teaches a crosspoint type memory (Paragraph 0119) comprising: a first electrode wiring (Paragraph 0121); a second electrode wiring (Paragraph 0121); a memory portion (Paragraph 0123); and a selector portion (Paragraph 0122) containing the amorphous material according to claim 1 (See the rejection of claim 1 above; For brevity the rejection of claim 1 will not be repeated here), where the memory portion and the selector portion are disposed between the first electrode wiring and the second electrode wiring (Paragraphs 0121-0123).
Claims 1, 2 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Arendt et al. (US 2021/0090652) hereinafter “Arendt”.
Regarding claim 1, Figs. 1 and 2 of Arendt teach an amorphous material (Paragraph 0021) that contains Hf, O and Te as main components (Paragraph 0020) and whose electrical resistance transitioning from a first state to a second state that is lower than the first state at a specific threshold voltage (Paragraph 0021).
Regarding claim 2, Arendt further teaches where the amorphous material according to claim 1 (See the rejection of claim 1 above; For brevity the rejection of claim 1 will not be repeated here), which is for a selector (Paragraph 0020) in a cross point type memory (Paragraph 0001).
Regarding claim 6, Figs. 1 and 2 of Arendt teaches a crosspoint type memory (Paragraph 0001) comprising: a first electrode wiring (Item 204); a second electrode wiring (Item 206); a memory portion (Paragraph 0018); and a selector portion (Paragraph 0020) containing the amorphous material (Paragraph 0020) according to claim 1 (See the rejection of claim 1 above; For brevity the rejection of claim 1 will not be repeated here), where the memory portion and the selector portion are disposed between the first electrode wiring (Item 204) and the second electrode wiring (Item 206).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohba et al. (US 2020/0350498) hereinafter “Ohba”.
Regarding claim 3, Ohba teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention as stated above.
Ohba does not explicitly teach where the amorphous material is represented by a general formula HfxTeyO100-x-y (1), and in the formula (1), 23.0 ˂ x ˂ 32.0, 10.0 ˂ y ˂ 22.0 and 35 ≤ x + y ≤ 50.
However, Ohba teaches where the ratio of Hf and Te in HfTeO is a result effective variable (Ohba Paragraph 0077 where the ratio of Hf to Te in HfTeO will impact the write current and selection ratio). In In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977), the CCPA held that a particular parameter must first be recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e., a variable which achieves a recognized result, before the determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable might be characterized as routine experimentation, because "obvious to try" is not a valid rationale for an obviousness finding (MPEP 2144.05).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the Hf and Te in HfTeO such that the amorphous material is represented by a general formula HfxTeyO100-x-y (1), and in the formula (1), 23.0 ˂ x ˂ 32.0, 10.0 ˂ y ˂ 22.0 and 35 ≤ x + y ≤ 50 because "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding claim 4, Ohba teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention as stated above.
Ohba does not explicitly teach where in the formula (1), 23.0 ˂ x ˂ 30.0 and 13.0 ˂ y ˂ 22.0.
However, Ohba teaches where the ratio of Hf and Te in HfTeO is a result effective variable (Ohba Paragraph 0077 where the ratio of Hf to Te in HfTeO will impact the write current and selection ratio). In In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977), the CCPA held that a particular parameter must first be recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e., a variable which achieves a recognized result, before the determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable might be characterized as routine experimentation, because "obvious to try" is not a valid rationale for an obviousness finding (MPEP 2144.05).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the Hf and Te in HfTeO such that in the formula (1), 23.0 ˂ x ˂ 30.0 and 13.0 ˂ y ˂ 22.0 because "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding claim 5, Ohba teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention as stated above.
Ohba does not explicitly teach where in the formula (1), 23.0 ˂ x ˂ 28.0 and 15.0 ˂ y ˂ 22.0.
However, Ohba teaches where the ratio of Hf and Te in HfTeO is a result effective variable (Ohba Paragraph 0077 where the ratio of Hf to Te in HfTeO will impact the write current and selection ratio). In In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977), the CCPA held that a particular parameter must first be recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e., a variable which achieves a recognized result, before the determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable might be characterized as routine experimentation, because "obvious to try" is not a valid rationale for an obviousness finding (MPEP 2144.05).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the Hf and Te in HfTeO such that in the formula (1), 23.0 ˂ x ˂ 28.0 and 15.0 ˂ y ˂ 22.0 because "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (MPEP 2144.05).
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohba et al. (US 2015/0318471) hereinafter “Ohba2” in view of Ohba et al. (US 2020/0350498) hereinafter “Ohba”.
Regarding claim 3, Ohba2 teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention as stated above.
Ohba2 does not explicitly teach where the amorphous material is represented by a general formula HfxTeyO100-x-y (1), and in the formula (1), 23.0 ˂ x ˂ 32.0, 10.0 ˂ y ˂ 22.0 and 35 ≤ x + y ≤ 50.
However, Ohba teaches where the ratio of Hf and Te in HfTeO is a result effective variable (Ohba Paragraph 0077 where the ratio of Hf to Te in HfTeO will impact the write current and selection ratio). In In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977), the CCPA held that a particular parameter must first be recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e., a variable which achieves a recognized result, before the determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable might be characterized as routine experimentation, because "obvious to try" is not a valid rationale for an obviousness finding (MPEP 2144.05).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the Hf and Te in HfTeO such that the amorphous material is represented by a general formula HfxTeyO100-x-y (1), and in the formula (1), 23.0 ˂ x ˂ 32.0, 10.0 ˂ y ˂ 22.0 and 35 ≤ x + y ≤ 50 because "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding claim 4, Ohba2 teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention as stated above.
Ohba2 does not explicitly teach where in the formula (1), 23.0 ˂ x ˂ 30.0 and 13.0 ˂ y ˂ 22.0.
However, Ohba teaches where the ratio of Hf and Te in HfTeO is a result effective variable (Ohba Paragraph 0077 where the ratio of Hf to Te in HfTeO will impact the write current and selection ratio). In In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977), the CCPA held that a particular parameter must first be recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e., a variable which achieves a recognized result, before the determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable might be characterized as routine experimentation, because "obvious to try" is not a valid rationale for an obviousness finding (MPEP 2144.05).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the Hf and Te in HfTeO such that in the formula (1), 23.0 ˂ x ˂ 30.0 and 13.0 ˂ y ˂ 22.0 because "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding claim 5, Ohba2 teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention as stated above.
Ohba2 does not explicitly teach where in the formula (1), 23.0 ˂ x ˂ 28.0 and 15.0 ˂ y ˂ 22.0.
However, Ohba teaches where the ratio of Hf and Te in HfTeO is a result effective variable (Ohba Paragraph 0077 where the ratio of Hf to Te in HfTeO will impact the write current and selection ratio). In In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977), the CCPA held that a particular parameter must first be recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e., a variable which achieves a recognized result, before the determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable might be characterized as routine experimentation, because "obvious to try" is not a valid rationale for an obviousness finding (MPEP 2144.05).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the Hf and Te in HfTeO such that in the formula (1), 23.0 ˂ x ˂ 28.0 and 15.0 ˂ y ˂ 22.0 because "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (MPEP 2144.05).
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arendt et al. (US 2021/0090652) hereinafter “Arendt” in view of Ohba et al. (US 2020/0350498) hereinafter “Ohba”.
Regarding claim 3, Arendt teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention as stated above.
Arendt does not explicitly teach where the amorphous material is represented by a general formula HfxTeyO100-x-y (1), and in the formula (1), 23.0 ˂ x ˂ 32.0, 10.0 ˂ y ˂ 22.0 and 35 ≤ x + y ≤ 50.
However, Ohba teaches where the ratio of Hf and Te in HfTeO is a result effective variable (Ohba Paragraph 0077 where the ratio of Hf to Te in HfTeO will impact the write current and selection ratio). In In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977), the CCPA held that a particular parameter must first be recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e., a variable which achieves a recognized result, before the determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable might be characterized as routine experimentation, because "obvious to try" is not a valid rationale for an obviousness finding (MPEP 2144.05).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the Hf and Te in HfTeO such that the amorphous material is represented by a general formula HfxTeyO100-x-y (1), and in the formula (1), 23.0 ˂ x ˂ 32.0, 10.0 ˂ y ˂ 22.0 and 35 ≤ x + y ≤ 50 because "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding claim 4, Arendt teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention as stated above.
Arendt does not explicitly teach where in the formula (1), 23.0 ˂ x ˂ 30.0 and 13.0 ˂ y ˂ 22.0.
However, Ohba teaches where the ratio of Hf and Te in HfTeO is a result effective variable (Ohba Paragraph 0077 where the ratio of Hf to Te in HfTeO will impact the write current and selection ratio). In In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977), the CCPA held that a particular parameter must first be recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e., a variable which achieves a recognized result, before the determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable might be characterized as routine experimentation, because "obvious to try" is not a valid rationale for an obviousness finding (MPEP 2144.05).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the Hf and Te in HfTeO such that in the formula (1), 23.0 ˂ x ˂ 30.0 and 13.0 ˂ y ˂ 22.0 because "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding claim 5, Arendt teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention as stated above.
Arendt does not explicitly teach where in the formula (1), 23.0 ˂ x ˂ 28.0 and 15.0 ˂ y ˂ 22.0.
However, Ohba teaches where the ratio of Hf and Te in HfTeO is a result effective variable (Ohba Paragraph 0077 where the ratio of Hf to Te in HfTeO will impact the write current and selection ratio). In In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977), the CCPA held that a particular parameter must first be recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e., a variable which achieves a recognized result, before the determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable might be characterized as routine experimentation, because "obvious to try" is not a valid rationale for an obviousness finding (MPEP 2144.05).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the Hf and Te in HfTeO such that in the formula (1), 23.0 ˂ x ˂ 28.0 and 15.0 ˂ y ˂ 22.0 because "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (MPEP 2144.05).
Conclusion
/ERIC K ASHBAHIAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2891