DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/21/2024, 07/10/2024, and 09/09/2025 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 1, line 14, “a potential difference generation unit…to generate a potential difference between the measurement object electrode and the measurement film electrode”, is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f). Prong 1: potential difference generation unit (uses the generic placeholder), prong 2: to generate a potential … (functional language), prong 3: sufficient structure for performing the function not recited. Therefore, claim 1 invokes 112(f). However, the corresponding structure for performing the functions is described in the specification ([para. 0010] the potential difference generation unit may be a capacitor).
Claim 1, line 18, “a power supply control unit that controls a magnitude of the voltage output from the measurement object power supply, and that controls a magnitude of the voltage output from the measurement film supply”, is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f). Prong 1: power supply control unit (uses the generic placeholder), prong 2: that controls … (functional language), prong 3: sufficient structure for performing the function not recited. Therefore, claim 1 invokes 112(f). The corresponding structure for performing the functions is not described in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as failing to set forth the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 1, the limitation “a power supply control unit” invoke 112(f), as outlined previously in the claim interpretation. The corresponding structure for performing the functions is not described in the specification (instant specification only refers to a power supply control unit in numerous places as the power supply control unit 19, for example [paras. 0051, 0082], with no structure). Therefore, the scope of the claim 1 is indefinite. Claims 2-13 are further rejected by virtue of their dependency upon and because they fail to cure the deficiencies of indefinite claim 1. For examination purpose, the power supply control unit is interpreted to include any power supply control unit that is capable of the claimed functions.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Futagawa (US 2021/0199618 A1, which corresponds to WO 2019239817A1, provided in IDS submitted 05/21/2024) in view of Kusano (US 2019/0360962 A1, provided in IDS submitted 09/09/2025) and Yamagata (JP 2019 158650 A, provided in IDS submitted 05/21/2024, English translation provided).
Regarding Claim 1, Futagawa teaches an ion concentration measurement device (an ion concentration measuring device [para. 0042]; illustrated in Fig. 1) installed in a measurement object (measurement object 101, such as a soil [para. 0042]) including measurement ions (measurement ions 102 [para. 0042]) and non-measurement ions (non-measurement ions 103 [para. 0042]) to obtain a concentration of the measurement ions (concentration of hydrogen ions or pH [para. 0042]), the device comprising:
a measurement object electrode (measurement target electrode 14 [para. 0049]) disposed in the measurement object (measurement target electrode 14 is disposed in the soil [para. 0051]) to control a potential of the measurement object (potential is controlled in part via measurement target electrode 14 [para. 0051]);
a measurement object power supply (measurement target power supply 16 [para. 0051]) that is connectable to the measurement object electrode (measurement target power supply 16 is connected to the measurement object electrode 14 [para. 0051]), and that applies a voltage to the measurement object electrode (measurement target voltage is output from the measurement target power supply 16 to the measurement target electrode 14 [para. 0051]);
a measurement sensor unit (ISFET 2 [para. 0044]) including a measurement ion sensitive film (measurement ion sensitive membrane 7 [para. 0049]) that generates a voltage corresponding to the concentration of the measurement ions (voltage generated corresponds to the number of trapped measurement ions [para. 0007]);
a measurement film electrode (measurement membrane electrode 17 [para. 0049]) disposed in the measurement ion sensitive film (as illustrated in Fig. 1, measurement membrane electrode 17 is disposed in the measurement ion sensitive membrane 7) to control a potential of the measurement ion sensitive film (measurement membrane electrode 17 controls the voltage of measurement ion sensitive membrane 7 [para. 0053]);
a measurement film power supply (measurement membrane power supply 18 [para. 0052]) that is connectable to the measurement film electrode (measurement membrane power supply 18 is connected to the measurement film electrode 17 [para. 0052]), and that applies a voltage to the measurement film electrode (voltage is applied from measurement membrane power supply 18 to measurement film electrode 17 [para. 0053]); and
a power supply control unit (power supply control unit 19 [para. 0049]) that controls a magnitude of the voltage output from the measurement object power supply (power supply control unit provides a signal to control the measurement target voltage from measurement target power supply 16 [para. 0051]), and that controls a magnitude of the voltage output from the measurement film power supply (power supply control unit 19 controls the measurement membrane power supply 18 such that the membrane control voltage is smaller than the measurement target voltage [para. 0070]; thus, the magnitude is controlled).
Futagawa is silent on the measurement object power supply is connectable to the measurement object electrode “via a first switch”;
a measurement film power supply is connectable to the measurement film electrode “via a second switch”;
a potential difference generation unit connected to the measurement object electrode and the measurement film electrode without passing through the first switch and the second switch, to generate a potential difference between the measurement object electrode and the measurement film electrode.
Kusano teaches an ion-selective measurement device (abstract), and teaches the measurement object power supply is connectable to the measurement object electrode via a first switch (switch 50A is provided to the ISFET 30 in connection with a power supply [para. 0041]; illustrated in Fig. 3); a measurement film power supply is connectable to the measurement object electrode via a second switch (switch 50B is provided to connect the ISFET [para. 0045]; illustrated in Fig. 3).
Futagawa and Kusano are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of ion selective membrane sensors. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ion concentration measurement device of Futagawa to measurement object power supply is connectable to the measurement object electrode “via a first switch”; a measurement film power supply is connectable to the measurement object electrode “via a second switch”, as taught by Kusano, as using switches allows the surface potential of the ion sensitive film 31 to be refreshed to initial conditions (Kusano, [para. 0045]).
Modified Futagawa is silent on a potential difference generation unit connected to the measurement object electrode and the measurement film electrode without passing through the first switch and the second switch, to generate a potential difference between the measurement object electrode and the measurement film electrode.
Yamagata teaches a transistor enzyme sensor (abstract), and teaches a potential difference generation unit (external capacitor 12 [twelfth para. page 4]) connected to the measurement object electrode and the measurement film electrode (external capacitor 12 is provided in parallel with external resistor 5 and connected between reference electrode 4 and working electrode 2 [twelfth para. page 4]) without passing through the first switch and the second switch (no switches are used in the sensor of Yamagata), to generate a potential difference between the measurement object electrode and the measurement film electrode (capacitor provides a DC current, thus generates a potential [twelfth para., page 2]).
Modified Futagawa and Yamagata are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of biosensors. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ion concentration measurement device of Futagawa to add a potential difference generation unit connected to the measurement object electrode and the measurement film electrode without passing through the first switch and the second switch, to generate a potential difference between the measurement object electrode and the measurement film electrode, as taught by Yamagata, as using a capacitor allows for less noise in sensor measurement, improving accuracy (Yamagata, [twelfth para., page 2]).
Regarding Claim 2, modified Futagawa teaches the ion concentration measurement device according to claim 1, and teaches wherein the potential difference generation unit is a capacitor (as outlined in the claim 1 rejection above, Yamagata teaches the potential generation unit is a capacitor [twelfth para. page 4])).
Conclusion
/R.L.G./Examiner, Art Unit 1795
/SHIZHI QIAN/Examiner, Art Unit 1795