DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11-18, 26, 28, 29 and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Settru et al. (WO 2015097537A1). Settru et al. teaches a junction box 100, comprising a first member 102 having a first locking structure (comprised of rim of 102, 112), a second member 104 couplable to the first member (figure 2) and having second locking structure (comprised of rim of 104, 132, 128), the first locking structure (comprised of rim of 102, 112) and the second locking structure (comprised of rim of 104, 132, 128) configured to assume an interlocked condition to releasably secure the first member 102 and the second member 104 in coupled relation (figure 3), and a connector member 110 selectively mountable to the first member 102 and the second member 104, the connector member 110 configured to operatively engage at least the first locking structure (engages rim of 102; figure 4) of the first member 102 to maintain the first locking structure and the second locking structure in the interlocked condition (through engagement of between 110 and the rims of 102, 104), to thereby retain the first member and the second member in the coupled relation (figures 3 and 4).
Regarding claim 12, the first member 102 and the second member 104 are configured to transition between an uncoupled relation (figure 1) and the coupled relation (figure 2).
Regarding claim 13, the connector member 110 is configured to be at least partially received within a port at 120 defined by the first member and the second member when in the coupled relation.
Regarding claim 14, the connector member 110 defines a channel portion, the channel portion receiving inner portions of the first member and the second member defining the port to facilitate mounting of the connector member within the port (figure 3).
Regarding claim 15, the connector member 110 includes a flange at 114 adjacent the channel portion, the flange engaging the first locking structure (rim of 102) to maintain the first member and the second member in the coupled relation (figure 3).
Regarding claim 16, the connector member 110 defines an inner opening for receiving a threaded fitting (center of 110; figure 3).
Regarding claim 17, the first locking structure (rim of 102, 112) of the first member 102 includes a latch 112 and the second locking structure (rim of 104 and 132, 128) of the second member 104 includes a slot (defined by 128) for at least partially receiving the latch 112.
Regarding claim 18, the first locking structure (rim of 102, 112) of the first member 102 includes first and second sets of latches (two shown in figure 1) and the second locking structure of the first member includes the second member (figure 1).
Regarding claim 26, the connector member 110 comprises an adapter (inner port of 110) configured for connection to one of a tubing, conduit, piping or fitting.
Regarding claim 28, the first locking structure (rim of 102, 112) of the first member 102 is capable of being released from the second locking structure (rim of 104, 132, 128) of the second member 104 when the connector member 110 is released from the first member and the second member, to thereby enable the first member and the second member to assume a decoupled relation (when 110 is removed from the first and second member the members can be decoupled).
Regarding claim 29, the first locking structure (rim of 102, 112) of the first member 102 is configured to be elastically pliable to selectively bend to disengage the second locking structure of the second member (112 bends to disengage from 128).
Regarding claim 31, electrical wiring 108 or plumbing extending from the junction box.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 19-24, 30 and 32-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Settru et al. (WO 2015097537A1) in view of Berner et al. (DE 102022130898A1).
Regarding claim 19, Settru et al. discloses the claimed invention except for the lower first component and upper second component. Berner et al. teaches that it is known to provide a box with multiple upper components (see figure 13). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the junction box of Settru et al. with multiple upper and lower components, as taught by Berner et al., in order to increase and decrease the overall size of the junction box.
Regarding claim 20, the upper first component is couplable to the upper second component with the first locking structure and the second locking structure (as modified by Berner et al. above; see elements 33and 34), and the lower first component is couplable to the lower second component with the one or more mating features (as modified by Berner et al. above; see elements 33 and 34).
Regarding claim 21, the upper first component is couplable to the lower first component; and the upper second component is couplable to the lower second component by elements 126, 128 of Settru et al.
Regarding claim 22, one or more fasteners for securing the upper first component to the lower first component (elements 126, 128 of Settru et al.), and one or more fasteners for securing the upper second component to the lower second component (elements 126, 128 of Settru et al.).
Regarding claim 23, the upper first component and the lower first component define a first port for reception of a fitting (at opening 120).
Regarding claim 24, the upper second component and the lower second component define a second port for reception of a fitting (other opening at 120).
Regarding claim 30, the lower first component includes the first locking structure and the lower second component includes the second locking structure, wherein the one or more additional mating features for coupling the lower first component to the lower second component includes the first locking structure and the second locking structure (elements 126, 128 of Settru et al.).
Regarding claim 32, Settru et al. teaches a junction box 100 for arranging electrical lines or plumbing, comprising a first member 102, a second member 104 and a modular adapter element 110 disposed in a port formed by the first member and the second member, the modular adapter element 110 including one or more engaging surfaces (figure 4) dimensioned to operative engage the one or more mating interfaces of the first member to maintain the one or more mating interfaces of the first member in the interlocked relation with the one or more mating interfaces of the second member (figure 4), to thereby prevent decoupling of the first member and the second member.
Further regarding claim 32, Settru et al. discloses the claimed invention except for the lower first component and upper second component. Berner et al. teaches that it is known to provide a box with multiple upper components (see figure 13). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the junction box of Settru et al. with multiple upper and lower components, as taught by Berner et al., in order to increase and decrease the overall size of the junction box.
Regarding claim 33, the upper first component and the lower first component of the first member (as modified by Berner et al. above) each include first locking structure (rim of upper and lower first components), and the upper second component and the lower second component (as modified by Berner et al. above) of the second member each include second locking structure (rim of upper and lower second components), the first locking structure and the second locking structure configured to assume an interlocked condition to releasably secure the first member and the second member in the coupled relation, and wherein the one or more mating interfaces of the first member and the second member include the first locking structure and the second locking structure (the interlocking rims taught by Settru et al. are applied on the additional components of the modified invention).
Regarding claim 34, the modular adapter element 110 is removable from the port 120, and wherein the first locking structure of the first member (rim) is capable of being released from the second locking structure (rim) of the second member upon removal of the modular adapter element 110 from the port, to thereby enable the first member and the second member to assume a decoupled relation (when 110 is removed from the first and second member the members can be decoupled).
Regarding claim 35, the first locking structure of the first member 102 includes a latch 112 and the second locking structure 128 of the second member 104 includes a recess at 128 for at least partially receiving the latch.
Regarding claim 36, the first locking structure of the first member 102 is configured to be elastically pliable to selectively bend to disengage the second locking structure of the second member (112 bends to disengage from 128).
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Settru et al. (WO 2015097537A1) in view of Berner et al. (DE 102022130898A1), as applied to claim 24 above, and further in view of Rao et al. (U.S. 2022/0285925).
Regarding claim 25, the modified junction box of Settru et al. discloses the claimed invention except for the internal thread of the port. Rao et al. teaches that it is known to provide a box with a port having an internal thread (see figure 6). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the modified junction box of Settru et al. with the port having an internal thread, as taught by Rao et al., in order to secure the attachment therein.
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Settru et al. (WO 2015097537A1) in view of Melton (U.S. 2012/0181054).
Regarding claim 27, Settru et al. discloses the claimed invention except for the second port being on a second side. Melton teaches that it is known to provide a box with multiple ports on multiple sides (see figure 5). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the junction box of Settru et al. with the second port being on a second side, as taught by Melton, in order to sue the box in settings where the cables extend from different directions.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed November 4, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Settru et al. does not teach a connecting member mountable and configured to engage the first locking structure of the first member to maintain the first locking structure and the second locking structure in the interlocked condition, as set forth in amended claim 11. It is the examiner’s position that Settru et al. meets this limitation of amended claim 11, to the degree set forth in the claim. Specifically, the locking structure of the first member 102 can be comprised of the rim of 102 and element 112. Similarly, the locking structure of the second member 104 cam be comprised of the rim of 104 and elements 132, 128. The connector member 110 is mountable on the rims of 102 and 104 which are components of their respective locking structures. Connector member 110 engages rims of 102 and 104 and aids in maintaining the locking structures in the interlocked condition, as shown in figure 4.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NIKI M ELOSHWAY/Examiner, Art Unit 3736
/ORLANDO E AVILES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3736