Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on April 24, 2024 and October 10, 2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “section” in claims 1-10 precedes by modifier that is not structural.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fiorini, Laura et al. “Daily Gesture Recognition During Human-Robot Interaction Combining Vision and Wearable Systems.” IEEE Sensors Journal 21 (2021): 23568-23577 in view of Ishikawa (Japanese Patent JP2010036762 A).
Regarding claim 1, 11, and 12, Fiorini et. al. discloses a work recognition device, a work recognition method in which a computer executes processing, and non-transitory computer readable medium storing a work recognition program that causes a computer to execute processing comprising: an acquisition section that acquires a photographed image capturing work of a worker (Fiorini et. al., Section III.A, Section III.C); a first detection section that detects, based on the photographed image, first detection information relating to at least one of an object of the work or a hand of the worker, the hand being at least one of a right hand or a left hand of the worker (Fiorini et. al., Section IV.A.1.: “As concerns the RGB images analysis, skeleton features were obtained thanks to the Openpose software [23]…hands…”; “They were also free to grab the objects…” Section III.C; Table II (e.g., fork, pen)); a second detection section that detects, based on the photographed image, second detection information relating to a skeleton of the worker (Fiorini et. al., Section I; Section IV.A.1 “Skeleton data were obtained from an RBG-D camera…Openpose software [23]…”); a first recognition section that executes first recognition processing that recognizes the work, based on the first detection information and the second detection information which have been detected (Fiorini et. al., Section IV.B, Section VI); a second recognition section that executes second recognition processing that recognizes the work, based on the second detection information that has been detected (Fiorini et. al., Section IV.B, Section VI); and an output section that, in a case in which the switching condition is not satisfied, outputs a recognition result of the work by the first recognition section, and in a case in which the switching condition is satisfied, outputs a recognition result of the work by the second recognition section (Fiorini et. al., Section IV.C, Section VI.).
However, Fiorini et. al. fails to disclose a determination section that determines, based on the first detection information, whether or not a switching condition for switching between recognizing the work by the first recognition section or recognizing the work by the second recognition section is satisfied.
Ishikawa teaches a determination section that determines, based on the first detection information, whether or not a switching condition for switching between recognizing the work by the first recognition section or recognizing the work by the second recognition section is satisfied (Ishikawa [0102]-[0106]).
It is a key feature to the claimed invention to include the determination section that determines the type of work done that satisfies the work requested. Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included in the teachings of Ishikawa with the teachings of Fiorini et. al. so that a switching condition is present to improve robustness of recognition processes based on hand/object detection quality.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Fiorini et. al. and Ishikawa disclose the work recognition device according to claim 1, wherein: the determination section determines that the switching condition is satisfied. Fiorini et. al. further discloses when the switching condition is satisfied in a case in which a distance between the hand and the object is greater than or equal to a predetermined threshold value (Fiorini et. al. Section IV occlusion affects hand detection. Distance thresholding is standard (e.g., Openpose key points). When the hand is occluded by an object, this creates difficulty in detecting accuracy. Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the teachings of Fiorini et. al. and Ishikawa so that the effects of occlusion are considered in the threshold standard.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Fiorini et. al. and Ishikawa disclose the work recognition device according to claim 1, wherein: the determination section determines that the switching condition is satisfied. Fiorini et. al. further discloses when the switching condition is satisfied in a case in which a distance between the right hand and the left hand is greater than or equal to a predetermined threshold value (Fiorini et. al. Section IV.A.1., hand key points are detected). Here, the hand-hand distance calculation is routine and it is possible that the other hand is a source of occlusion. Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the teachings of Fiorini et. al. and Ishikawa so that the effects of occlusion are considered in the threshold standard.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Fiorini et. al. and Ishikawa disclose the work recognition device according to claim 1, wherein: the determination section determines that the switching condition is satisfied. Fiorini et. al. further discloses when the switching condition is satisfied in a case in which a bounding box of the hand and a bounding box of the object do not overlap (Fiorini et. al. Section. IV). The bounding box overlap checks are standard. Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the teachings of Fiorini et. al. and Ishikawa so that the effects of occlusion are considered in the threshold standard.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Fiorini et. al. and Ishikawa disclose the work recognition device according to claim 1, wherein: the determination section determines whether or not the switching condition is satisfied. Fiorini et. al. further discloses when the switching condition is satisfied based on a size of the object that has been detected (Fiorini et. al. objects implied, Table II). Here, the object size estimation is common. Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the teachings of Fiorini et. al. and Ishikawa so that the effects of occlusion are considered in the threshold standard.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Fiorini et. al. and Ishikawa disclose the work recognition device according to claim 5, wherein: the determination section determines that the switching condition is satisfied. Fiorini et. al. further discloses when the switching condition is satisfied in a case in which a size of a bounding box of the object that has been detected is smaller than a predetermined minimum size of the object (Fiorini et. al. Section IV, Table II). Here, the object size estimation is common. Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the teachings of Fiorini et. al. and Ishikawa so that the effects of occlusion are considered in the threshold standard.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Fiorini et. al. and Ishikawa disclose the work recognition device according to claim 5, wherein: the determination section determines that the switching condition is satisfied. Fiorini et. al. further discloses when the switching condition is satisfied in a case in which a size of a bounding box of the object that has been detected is larger than a predetermined maximum size of the object (Fiorini et. al. Section IV, Table II). Here, the object size estimation is common. Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the teachings of Fiorini et. al. and Ishikawa so that the effects of occlusion are considered in the threshold standard.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Fiorini et. al. and Ishikawa disclose the work recognition device according to claim 1. Fiorini et. al. further discloses wherein: the first detection section calculates a degree of reliability of the object that has been detected; and the determination section determines that the switching condition is satisfied in a case in which the degree of reliability of the object is less than or equal to a predetermined threshold value (Fiorini et. al. Section VI “We found out that the visual recognition system decreases its capabilities…due to the natural occlusion problems…” Here, this implies reliability via occlusion in the subsequent analysis. Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the teachings of Fiorini et. al. and Ishikawa so that the effects of occlusion are considered in the threshold standard.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Fiorini et. al. and Ishikawa disclose the work recognition device according to claim 1. Fiorini et. al. further discloses wherein: the determination section determines that the switching condition is satisfied in a case in which a speed of at least one of the hand or the object, which have been detected, is greater than or equal to a predetermined threshold value (Fiorini et. al. Section IV.A.2 inertial sensors measure acceleration/velocity). Here the speed calculation is routine. Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the teachings of Fiorini et. al. and Ishikawa so that the effects of occlusion and speed are considered in the threshold standard.
Regarding claim 10, Fiorini et. al. and Ishikawa disclose the work recognition device according to claim 1, wherein: the determination section determines that the switching condition is satisfied. Fiorini et. al. further discloses when the switching condition is satisfied in a case in which a position of the hand that has been detected is outside a range of a predetermined work space (Fiorini et. al. Section. IV). The workspace definition is standard here, which is obvious given the lateral position challenges. Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the teachings of Fiorini et. al. and Ishikawa so that the effects of occlusion are considered within the defined workspace.
Conclusion
/JESSICA YIFANG LIN/Examiner, Art Unit 2668 February 24, 2026
/VU LE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2668