DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “a power supply assembly, and the display panel according to claim 16, wherein the power supply assembly is configured to supply power to the display panel” as in claimed 17 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-6, 9-11 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 4, which recites “wherein a row direction of the plurality of third pixel units is parallel to the direction pointing from the first display region towards the second display region; and different columns of the third pixel units correspond to a same rate of change; wherein the rate of change corresponding to any one column of the third pixel units is: a difference between an aperture ratio of an adjacent column of pixel units and an aperture ratio of the any one column of the third pixel units; and the adjacent column of pixel units is adjacent to the any one column of the third pixel units, and the adjacent column of pixel units and the any one column of the third pixel units are sequentially arranged in the direction pointing from the first display region towards the second display region” renders the claim indefinite. Specifically, claim recites “rate of change” which when read in light of specification, it is not clear how such rate of change is achieved for given column. It is also not clear what is the rate of change, with respect to a particular column. Specification, as originally filed describes in para [0075]- [0077] aperture ratio for different columns, however, it fails to describe how such value is determined. Additionally, para [0050]-[0052] describes the value of first and second aperture ratio; however it does not describe how such value is calculated. Thus in absence of the details, it is not clear how the rate of change is determined/calculated. Thus rendering the claim indefinite.
Regarding claim 5, which recites “wherein a row direction of the plurality of third pixel units is parallel to the direction pointing from the first display region towards the second display region; and at least two columns of the third pixel units correspond to different rates of change; wherein the rate of change corresponding to any one column of the third pixel units is: a difference between an aperture ratio of an adjacent column of the pixel units and an aperture ratio of the any one column of the third pixel units; the adjacent column pixel units are adjacent to the any one column of the third pixel units, and the adjacent column of the pixel units and the any one column of the third pixel units are sequentially arranged in the direction pointing from the first display region towards the second display region.” renders the claim indefinite. Specifically, claim recites “rate of change” which when read in light of specification, it is not clear how such rate of change is achieved for given column. It is also not clear what is the rate of change, with respect to a particular column. Specification, as originally filed describes in para [0075]- [0077] aperture ratio for different columns, however, it fails to describe how such value is determined. Additionally, para [0050]-[0052] describes the value of first and second aperture ratio; however it does not describe how such value is calculated. Thus in absence of the details, it is not clear how the rate of change is determined/calculated. Thus rendering the claim indefinite.
Regarding claim 6, which recites “wherein the row direction of the plurality of third pixel units is parallel to the direction pointing from the first display region towards the second display region, and the rate of change corresponding to the any one column of the third pixel units is less than or equal to 0.2; the rate of change corresponding to the any one column of the third pixel units is: the difference between the aperture ratio of the adjacent column of the pixel units and the aperture ratio of the any one column of the third pixel units; and the adjacent column of the pixel units is adjacent to the any one column of the third pixel units, and the adjacent column of the pixel units and the any one column of the third pixel units are sequentially arranged in the direction pointing from the first display region towards the second display region” renders the claim indefinite. Specifically, claim recites “rate of change” which when read in light of specification, it is not clear how such rate of change is achieved for given column. It is also not clear what is the rate of change, with respect to a particular column. Specification, as originally filed describes in para [0075]- [0077] aperture ratio for different columns, however, it fails to describe how such value is determined. Additionally, para [0050]-[0052] describes the value of first and second aperture ratio; however it does not describe how such value is calculated. Thus in absence of the details, it is not clear how the rate of change is determined/calculated. Thus rendering the claim indefinite.
Regarding claim 9, which recites “wherein the first display region and the transition region belong to a normal display region, and the second display region belongs to an under-display camera region; and the under-display camera region is a display region configured to be matched with an under-display camera device, and the normal display region is a display region outside the under-display camera region.” renders the claim indefinite. It is not clear how the display region is “configured to be matched” with an under-display camera. Specifically, it is not clear how such “matching” is done and what feature/element is being matched. Thus rendering the claim indefinite.
Regarding claim 10, which recites “wherein the first display region belongs to a normal display region, and the second display region and the transition region belong to an under-display camera region; and the under-display camera region is a display region configured to be matched with an under-display camera device, and the normal display region is a display region outside the under-display camera region.” renders the claim indefinite. It is not clear how the display region is “configured to be matched” with an under-display camera. Specifically, it is not clear how such “matching” is done and what feature/element is being matched. Thus rendering the claim indefinite.
Regarding claim 11, which recites “wherein the transition region comprises a first transition region and a second transition region; wherein the first display region and the first transition region belong to a normal display region, and the second display region and the second transition region belong to an under-display camera region; wherein the under-display camera region is a display region configured to be matched with an under-display camera device, and the normal display region is a display region outside the under-display camera region.” renders the claim indefinite. It is not clear how the display region is “configured to be matched” with an under-display camera. Specifically, it is not clear how such “matching” is done and what feature/element is being matched. Thus rendering the claim indefinite.
Regarding claim 20, which recites “forming the pixel defining material layer on the base substrate after the cathode is formed and before the light-emitting layer is formed.” renders the claim indefinite. Specifically, claim recites “forming the anode, the light-emitting layer, and the cathode of the pixel unit sequentially on the base substrate” and given that the cathode layer is the topmost layer, how can the pixel definition layer be formed after the cathode is formed. Specifically, when the claim is read in light of specification which describes “the pixel defining layer is prepared after the anode is formed and before the light-emitting layer is formed.” in para [0092]. Thus, in view of this it is not clear how the claimed steps can be performed in the manner they are recited, thus rendering the claim indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 7, 8, 9 and 16 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hyun et al. (2020/0394964).
Regarding claim 1, Hyun teaches an array substrate, comprising: a base substrate (200; Fig 2) comprising a first display region (DA2; Fig 3), a second display region (DA1; Fig 3), and a transition region (DA3; Fig 3) disposed between the first display region and the second display region (Fig 3); a first pixel unit (para [0024] The first, second, and third display areas including a plurality of pixels, Fig 3) disposed in the first display region, wherein the first pixel unit has a first aperture ratio (para [0057] The second display area DA2 may have a second pixel density) (Note: claim recites aperture ratio which is a ratio of pixel area over transmissive area. Pixel density is describing the identical feature; thus reading on the claim); a second pixel unit disposed in the second display region (para [0024] The first, second, and third display areas including a plurality of pixels, Fig 3), wherein the second pixel region has a second aperture ratio (para [0057] The first display area DA1 may have a first pixel density.); and a third pixel unit disposed in the transition region (para [0024] The first, second, and third display areas including a plurality of pixels, Fig 3), wherein the third pixel unit has a third aperture ratio (para [0060] The pixel density of the third display area DA3 may vary with relative distances); wherein the first aperture ratio is greater than the second aperture ratio (para [0057] The second display area DA2 may have a second pixel density, and the second pixel density may be greater than the first pixel density.); in a direction pointing from the first display region towards the second display region, the first aperture ratio, the third aperture ratio, and the second aperture ratio progressively decrease (para [0060] The third display area DA3 may be interposed between the first display area DA1 and the second display area DA2. The pixel density of the third display area DA3 may vary with relative distances to the first display area DA1 and the second display area DA2. In an exemplary embodiment, the pixel density of the third display area DA3 may increase in a direction farther away from the first display area DA1. Also, the pixel density of the third display area DA3 may be higher than the first pixel density and lower than the second pixel density.).
Regarding claim 2, Hyun teaches the array substrate according to claim 1, comprising: a plurality of third pixel units (para [0024] The first, second, and third display areas including a plurality of pixels, Fig 3), wherein the third aperture ratios of the plurality of third pixel units progressively decrease in the direction pointing from the first display region towards the second display region (para [0092] The pixel density of the third display area DA3 may increase in a direction farther away from the first display area DA1. Fig 3; para [0102] The pixel density of the third display area DA3 may increase in a direction from the first display area DA1 to the second display area DA2. Therefore, the luminance of the third display area DA3 may gradually increase in a direction closer to the second display area DA2.).
Regarding claim 3, Hyun teaches the array substrate according to claim 2, wherein the plurality of third pixel units are distributed in an array in the transition region (Fig 3).
Regarding claim 7, Hyun teaches the array substrate according to claim 1, wherein the third pixel unit comprises a plurality of sub-pixels; wherein in the direction pointing from the first display region towards the second display region, aperture ratios of the plurality of sub-pixels progressively decrease (para [0092] The pixel density of the third display area DA3 may increase in a direction farther away from the first display area DA1. In an exemplary embodiment, the third display area DA3 may include first to k-th (where k is a natural number greater than 1) sub-areas SA1 to SAk. Among the first to k-th sub-areas SA1 to SAk, the first sub-area SA1 may be closest to the first display area DA1, and the k-th sub-area SAk may be closest to the second display area DA2.; Fig 3).
Regarding claim 8, Hyun teaches the array substrate according to claim 1, further comprising: a pixel defining layer (para [0058] when the pixel includes an organic light-emitting element, the area of the pixel may be the area of an anode electrode exposed between pixel-defining layers or the area of a light-emitting layer, for example.; para [0079] The light-emitting element layer EML may be disposed on the pixel circuit layer PCL. The light-emitting element layer EML may include a plurality of electrode layers and a light-emitting layer. The light-emitting element layer EML may also be disposed to avoid a transmissive area TA.; PA(PX); Fig 3) disposed in the first display region (DA2; Fig 3), the second display region (DA1; Fig 3), and the transition region (DA3; Fig 3); wherein the pixel defining layer of the first display region has an aperture corresponding (Note: term corresponding is very broad in scope. Thus under BRI, each element of device has some correspondence with the other, thus reading on prior art) to the first pixel unit (PA of DA2; Fig 3), and an orthographic projection of an aperture in the pixel defining layer corresponding (Note: term corresponding is very broad in scope. Thus under BRI, each element of device has some correspondence with the other, thus reading on prior art) to any one pixel unit on the base substrate is within an orthographic projection of the any one pixel unit on the base substrate (PA; Fig 3 and PA; Fig 4A); the pixel defining layer of the second display region has an aperture corresponding to the second pixel unit (PA of DA1; Fig 3); the pixel defining layer of the transition region has an aperture corresponding (Note: term corresponding is very broad in scope. Thus under BRI, each element of device has some correspondence with the other, thus reading on prior art) to the third pixel unit (PA of DA3; Fig 3); and an area of the aperture corresponding to the first pixel unit, an area of the aperture corresponding to the third pixel unit, and an area of the aperture corresponding (Note: term corresponding is very broad in scope. Thus under BRI, each element of device has some correspondence with the other, thus reading on prior art) to the second pixel unit progressively decrease in the direction pointing from the first display region towards the second display region (Fig 3; para [0061] Since the pixel density of the third display area DA3 gradually increases in a direction closer to the second display area DA2, a luminance difference between the first and second display areas DA1 and DA2 may gradually change in the third display area DA3.).
Regarding claim 9, Hyun teaches the array substrate according to claim 1, wherein the first display region and the transition region belong to a normal display region (DA3+DA2; Fig 3), and the second display region belongs to an under-display camera region (DA1 and 300; Fig 3); and the under-display camera region (300; Fig 3; para [0064]) is a display region configured to be matched (Note: the under-camera region and display region are in close proximity, thus they are matched) with an under-display camera device (para [0063] The sensor 300 may be interposed between the substrate 200 and the display panel 100. That is, the sensor 300 may be disposed below the rear surface of the display panel 100. The sensor 300 may overlap the first display area DA1. Although the first display area DA1 is illustrated as being wider than the sensor 300 in FIG. 1, the relationship between the first display area DA1 and the sensor 300 is not limited thereto. In an exemplary embodiment, the first display area DA1 and the sensor 300 may be provided to have substantially the same area,), and the normal display region is a display region outside the under-display camera region (Fig 3).
Regarding claim 12, Hyun teaches the array substrate according to claim 9, wherein the normal display region is provided with a pixel defining layer having an aperture (PA of DA2; Fig 3; PA; Fig 4A), the aperture in the pixel defining layer having a polygonal shape (PA; Fig 4B).
Regarding claim 16, Hyun teaches a display panel, comprising: a cover plate (500; Fig 2), and an array substrate (para [0008] The display device may include a substrate), wherein a portion of the array substrate other than the base substrate (200; Fig 2) is disposed between the cover plate and the base substrate (Fig 2); and the array substrate comprises: a base substrate (200; Fig 2) comprising the first display region (DA2; Fig 2; Fig 3), the second display region (DA1; Fig 2; Fig 3), and the transition region (DA3; Fig 3) disposed between the first display region and the second display region (Fig 2; Fig 3); the first pixel unit (para [0024] The first, second, and third display areas including a plurality of pixels, Fig 2; Fig 3) having the first aperture ratio is disposed in the first display region (para [0057] The second display area DA2 may have a second pixel density); the a second pixel unit having the second aperture ratio is disposed in the second display region (para [0024] The first, second, and third display areas including a plurality of pixels, Fig 3; para [0057] The first display area DA1 may have a first pixel density); and the third pixel unit having the third aperture ratio is disposed in the transition region (para [0024] The first, second, and third display areas including a plurality of pixels, Fig 3; para [0060] The pixel density of the third display area DA3 may vary with relative distances); and in a direction pointing from the first display region towards the second display region, the first aperture ratio, the third aperture ratio, and the second aperture ratio progressively decrease (para [0060] The third display area DA3 may be interposed between the first display area DA1 and the second display area DA2. The pixel density of the third display area DA3 may vary with relative distances to the first display area DA1 and the second display area DA2. In an exemplary embodiment, the pixel density of the third display area DA3 may increase in a direction farther away from the first display area DA1. Also, the pixel density of the third display area DA3 may be higher than the first pixel density and lower than the second pixel density.).
Regarding claim 17, Hyun teaches A display device comprising: a power supply assembly (para [0112] a power supply), and the display panel according to claim 16, wherein the power supply assembly is configured to supply power to the display panel (para [0112] a power supply for supplying predetermined supply voltages VDD and VSS to the pixels PX.).
Regarding claim 18, Hyun teaches a method for preparing the array substrate of claim 1, comprising: preparing the first pixel unit, the second pixel unit, and the third pixel unit on the base substrate (para [0057] The display area DA may include first to third display areas DA1, DA2, and DA3. The first display area DA1 may include a portion overlapping the sensor 300. para [0077] The pixel circuit layer PCL may be disposed in the pixel area PA on the base layer 210. The pixel circuit layer PCL may include at least one transistor, at least one capacitor, and at least one signal line coupled to the light-emitting element. The pixel circuit layer PCL may be provided via the stacking of a semiconductor layer, a plurality of insulating layers, and a plurality of conductive layers); wherein the base substrate comprises the first display region (DA2; Fig 2; Fig 3), the second display region (DA1; Fig 2; Fig 3), and the transition region (DA3; Fig 2; Fig 3) disposed between the first display region and the second display region (Fig 2; Fig 3); the first pixel unit having the first aperture ratio is disposed in the first display region (para [0057] The second display area DA2 may have a second pixel density; Fig 3); the second pixel unit having the second aperture ratio is disposed in the second display region (para [0057] The first display area DA1 may have a first pixel density.; Fig 3); the third pixel unit having the third aperture ratio is disposed in the transition region (para [0060] The third display area DA3 may be interposed between the first display area DA1 and the second display area DA2. The pixel density of the third display area DA3 may vary with relative distances to the first display area DA1 and the second display area DA2. Fig 3); and in the direction pointing from the first display region towards the second display region, the first aperture ratio, the third aperture ratio and the second aperture ratio progressively decrease (Fig 3; para [0060] In an exemplary embodiment, the pixel density of the third display area DA3 may increase in a direction farther away from the first display area DA1. Also, the pixel density of the third display area DA3 may be higher than the first pixel density and lower than the second pixel density.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hyun et al. (2020/0394964).
Regarding claim 10, Hyun teaches the array substrate according to claim 1, wherein the first display region and the transition region belong to a normal display region (DA3+DA2; Fig 3), and the second display region belongs to an under-display camera region (DA1 and 300; Fig 3).
Embodiment of Fig 3 fails to teach, the second display region and the transition region belong to an under-display camera region; and the under-display camera region is a display region configured to be matched with an under-display camera device, and the normal display region is a display region outside the under-display camera region; as claimed.
However, Hyun teaches, another embodiment, wherein display area DA1 may be provided to be smaller than the sensor 300 (para [0063]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of present application to have modified the embodiment of Fig 3 with the teachings of another embodiment as explained above in order to yield predictable results of providing device wherein and the second display region and the transition region belong to an under-display camera region (Note: when DA1 is smaller than sensor 300; it will result in the DA3 being above the sensor); and the under-display camera region is a display region configured to be matched (Note: the under-camera region and display region are in close proximity, thus they are matched) with an under-display camera device, and the normal display region is a display region outside the under-display camera region.
Regarding claim 11, Hyun teaches the array substrate according to claim 1, wherein the first display region and the transition region belong to a normal display region (DA3+DA2; Fig 3), and the second display region belongs to an under-display camera region (DA1 and 300; Fig 3); wherein the transition region comprises a first transition region (SA1; Fig 3) and a second transition region (SA2; Fig 3).
Embodiment of Fig 3 fails to teach, wherein the first display region and the first transition region belong to a normal display region, and the second display region and the second transition region belong to an under-display camera region; wherein the under-display camera region is a display region configured to be matched with an under-display camera device, and the normal display region is a display region outside the under-display camera region; as claimed.
However, Hyun teaches, another embodiment, wherein display area DA1 may be provided to be smaller than the sensor 300 (para [0063]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of present application to have modified the embodiment of Fig 3 with the teachings of another embodiment as explained above in order to yield predictable results of providing device wherein, wherein the first display region and the first transition region belong to a normal display region (DA2 and SA2; Fig 3), and the second display region and the second transition region belong to an under-display camera region (SA1+DA1; in light of “when DA1 is smaller than sensor 300; it will result in the SA1 being above the sensor”); wherein the under-display camera region is a display region configured to be matched (Note: the under-camera region and display region are in close proximity, thus they are matched) with an under-display camera device, and the normal display region is a display region outside the under-display camera region.
Claim(s) 13 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hyun et al. (2020/0394964) in view of Wang et al. (2021/0233970).
Regarding claim 13, Hyun teaches the array substrate, wherein the under-display camera region is provided with a pixel defining layer having an aperture (Fig 3; Fig 4A; para [0058] when the pixel includes an organic light-emitting element, the area of the pixel may be the area of an anode electrode exposed between pixel-defining layers or the area of a light-emitting layer, for example.; para [0079] The light-emitting element layer EML may be disposed on the pixel circuit layer PCL. The light-emitting element layer EML may include a plurality of electrode layers and a light-emitting layer. The light-emitting element layer EML may also be disposed to avoid a transmissive area TA.).
Hyun fails to teach; the aperture in the pixel defining layer having a circular shape or an elliptical shape; as claimed.
Wang teaches an array substrate comprising: an under-display camera region (3+300; Fig 16) is provided with a pixel defining layer having an aperture (Fig 2); the aperture in the pixel defining layer having a circular shape or an elliptical shape (para [0054] In other implementation modes of this embodiment, the first shape may further be other shapes. For example, the first shape may be a square as shown in FIG. 4, or the first shape may be a circle as shown in FIG. 5, or the first shape may be an oval as shown in FIG. 6. It is worth noting that any first shape that can achieve smoothly transition with the opening area of the sub-pixels in the first display region is within the scope of this embodiment.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of present application to have modified the teachings of Hyun with the teachings of Wang, because, this will provide device capable of achieving the smooth transition of the opening ratios of the sub-pixels in the first display region, the transition display region, and the second display region (Wang: para [0062]).
Regarding claim 14, Hyun teaches the array substrate, wherein the under-display camera region is provided with a pixel defining layer having an aperture (Fig 3; Fig 4A; para [0058] when the pixel includes an organic light-emitting element, the area of the pixel may be the area of an anode electrode exposed between pixel-defining layers or the area of a light-emitting layer, for example.; para [0079] The light-emitting element layer EML may be disposed on the pixel circuit layer PCL. The light-emitting element layer EML may include a plurality of electrode layers and a light-emitting layer. The light-emitting element layer EML may also be disposed to avoid a transmissive area TA.).
Hyun fails to teach; the aperture in the pixel defining layer having a waterdrop shape; as claimed.
Wang teaches an array substrate comprising: an under-display camera region (3+300; Fig 16) is provided with a pixel defining layer having an aperture (Fig 2); the aperture in the pixel defining layer having a circular shape or an elliptical shape (para [0054] In other implementation modes of this embodiment, the first shape may further be other shapes. For example, the first shape may be a square as shown in FIG. 4, or the first shape may be a circle as shown in FIG. 5, or the first shape may be an oval as shown in FIG. 6. It is worth noting that any first shape that can achieve smoothly transition with the opening area of the sub-pixels in the first display region is within the scope of this embodiment. Para [0071] It is to be noted that the combination of the fourth shape, the fifth shape and the sixth shape is not limited to the two types provided in the above embodiments, and any shape capable of achieving the smooth transition of the opening ratios of the sub-pixels in the first display region, the transition display region, and the second display region is within the scope of this embodiment.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of present application and a matter of design choice to have modified the teachings of Hyun with the teachings of Wang to have waterdrop shape, because, this will provide device capable of achieving the smooth transition of the opening ratios of the sub-pixels in the first display region, the transition display region, and the second display region (Wang: para [0062]).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hyun et al. (2020/0394964) in view of Han et al. (2019/0096962).
Regarding claim 15, Hyun teaches the array substrate according to claim 1, wherein any one of the pixel units of the first pixel unit, the second pixel unit, and the third pixel unit comprises an anode (para [0080] a first electrode layer (e.g., anode electrode)), a light-emitting layer (para [0080] an organic light-emitting layer between the first and second electrode layers), and a cathode (para [0080] a second electrode layer (e.g., cathode electrode)) arranged sequentially along a direction away from the base substrate (Fig 4A).
Hyun fails to teach, and the array substrate further comprises the pixel defining layer disposed between the anode and the light-emitting layer; as claimed.
Hand teaches a an array substrate comprising a pixel unit (Fig 19) which comprises an anode (310; Fig 19), a light-emitting layer (320; Fig 19), and a cathode (330; Fig 19) arranged sequentially; and the array substrate further comprises the pixel defining layer (PDL; Fig 19) disposed between the anode and the light-emitting layer (Fig 19).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of present application to have modified the teachings of Hyun with the teachings of Han because, it is well known in the art to provide pixel having such arrangement; in order to yield predictable results.
Claim(s) 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hyun et al. (2020/0394964) in view of Wang et al. (2021/0036075).
Regarding claim 19, Hyun teaches the method according to claim 18, further comprising: wherein the pixel defining layer of the first display region has the aperture corresponding to the first pixel unit (para [0058] when the pixel includes an organic light-emitting element, the area of the pixel may be the area of an anode electrode exposed between pixel-defining layers or the area of a light-emitting layer, for example.; Fig 3; Fig 4A), the orthographic projection of the aperture in the pixel defining layer corresponding to any one pixel unit on the base substrate is disposed within the orthographic projection of the any one pixel unit on the base substrate (Fig 2; Fig 3; Fig 4A; Fig 4B); the pixel defining layer of the second display region has the aperture corresponding to the second pixel unit (Fig 2; Fig 3; Fig 4A; Fig 4B); the pixel defining layer of the transition region has the aperture corresponding to the third pixel unit (Fig 2; Fig 3; Fig 4A; Fig 4B); and an area of the aperture corresponding to the first pixel unit, an area of the aperture corresponding to the third pixel unit, and an area of the aperture corresponding to the second pixel unit progressively decrease in the direction pointing from the first display region towards the second display region ((Fig 2; Fig 3; Fig 4A; Fig 4B); para [0060] The third display area DA3 may be interposed between the first display area DA1 and the second display area DA2. The pixel density of the third display area DA3 may vary with relative distances to the first display area DA1 and the second display area DA2. In an exemplary embodiment, the pixel density of the third display area DA3 may increase in a direction farther away from the first display area DA1. Also, the pixel density of the third display area DA3 may be higher than the first pixel density and lower than the second pixel density.).
Hyun fails to explicitly teach, forming a pixel defining material layer on the base substrate; and patterning the pixel defining material layer to obtain the pixel defining layer; as claimed.
Wang teaches a method for manufacturing, comprising: forming a pixel defining material layer on the base substrate (para [0081] forming a pixel definition layer pattern on the base substrate); and patterning the pixel defining material layer to obtain the pixel defining layer (para [0081] forming a light-emitting layer in an area defined by the pixel definition layer pattern. Para [0082]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of present application to have modified the teachings of Hyun with the teachings of Wang because, it is well known in the art to provide pixel having such steps of forming different layers; in order to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 20, Hyun teaches the method according to claim 19, wherein preparing the first pixel unit, the second pixel unit, and the third pixel unit on the base substrate comprises: forming the anode, the light-emitting layer, and the cathode of the pixel unit sequentially on the base substrate (para [0080] when the light-emitting element layer EML includes an organic light-emitting element, the light-emitting element layer EML may include a first electrode layer (e.g., anode electrode), a second electrode layer (e.g., cathode electrode), and an organic light-emitting layer between the first and second electrode layers,).
Hyun fails to teach, and forming the pixel defining material layer on the base substrate comprises: forming the pixel defining material layer on the base substrate after the cathode is formed and before the light-emitting layer is formed; as claimed (Note: in view of compact prosecution, claim 20 is interpreted in view of specification as in para [0092] for the following “forming the pixel defining material layer on the base substrate after the anode is formed and before the light-emitting layer is formed”).
Wang teaches the method, forming the pixel defining material layer on the base substrate comprises: forming the pixel defining material layer on the base substrate after the anode is formed and before the light-emitting layer is formed (para [0081] Further, subsequent to the forming the anode, the method further includes: forming a pixel definition layer pattern on the base substrate formed with the anode; forming a light-emitting layer in an area defined by the pixel definition layer pattern; and forming a transparent cathode layer on the light-emitting layer, an orthographic projection of the cathode layer onto the base substrate covering the base substrate. para [0082] After the anode 280 is formed, the pixel definition layer covering the planarization layer 260 and the anode 280 may be formed by using a deposition method, and the pixel definition layer is etched by using a mask to obtain a pixel definition layer pattern 290, as shown in FIG. 6.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of present application to have modified the teachings of Hyun with the teachings of Wang because, it is well known in the art to provide pixel having such steps of forming different layers; in order to yield predictable results.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Zhu et al. (2020/0380917) teaches A display panel including a first display area, a display transition area, and a second display area is provided. A first type of the first display area is different from a second type of the second display area. The first display area and the second display area are disposed at two opposite sides of the display transition area. The display transition area includes a plurality of display transition unit areas extending in a direction from the first display area to the second display area. The plurality of display transition unit areas are sequentially arranged adjacent to one another. In a full-screen display, luminance of the first display area, the plurality of display transition unit areas and the second display area display increases or decreases sequentially, and luminance of different display transition unit areas is different.
Bai et al. (2020/0280024) teaches An organic light-emitting diode (OLED) display panel and a manufacture method thereof are provided, which can enable the organic material encapsulated inside to have the function of removing water and oxygen, thereby further ensuring a reliable lifespan of the OLED display panel.
Chi et al. (2020/0312832) teaches Provided are a display panel and a display device. The display panel includes a first display area and a second display area. The first display area is reused as a sensor reserved area. The first display area includes a plurality of first pixel units. The second display area includes a plurality of second pixel units. The plurality of first pixel units include micro light-emitting diode pixel units, and the plurality of second pixel units include organic light-emitting diode pixel units. The first display area at least includes a region in which density of the plurality of first pixel units in the first display area is configured to be gradually decreased along a first direction.
Liu (2020/0066809) teaches A display screen and a display apparatus. The display screen includes a first region and a second region. The first region has a physical pixel density smaller than that of the second region. By providing a first region and a second region and having a greater physical pixel density in the second region than that in the first region, light can transmit through the gap between the pixels in the first region configured to house the under-screen photosensitive module such as a camera and the like, so as to achieve a high light transmittance and therefore to achieve an entire screen or full screen display. A non-display region above the active display region can be omitted and the screen-to-body ratio is increased, user experience is optimized and thus the technical problem of unfavorable user experience due to the presence of the non-display region is addressed.
Fan et al. (2019/0326366) teaches Display screens and display devices are disclosed. The display screen includes: a first display region, a second display region adjacent to the first display region, and a third display region adjacent to the second display region. A sub-pixel density of the first display region is smaller than a sub-pixel density of the second display region. The sub-pixel density of the second display region is smaller than a sub-pixel density of the third display region. The display screens and the display devices according to the present application can improve the user experience.
/PREMAL R PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2624