DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 5, it is unclear how the “outflow speed forms a second angle.” As a speed is measured in one unit of measurement (m/s in the present case) and an angle is measured in a different unit of measurement (degrees in the present case), it is unclear how a speed can form an angle.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by O’Callaghan et. al. (US 2022/0248946, hereinafter “O’Callaghan”).
Regarding Claim 1, O’Callaghan discloses a handpiece (abstract) capable of being used for dental applications including a handle (Figure 2, 9), a housing (described in [0014] but not specifically labeled) comprising an optical emission source (5) comprising at least one light-emitting diode (Figure 9a, 42) connected to an electric power supply (power lines 15 connect to axis pins 16 as described in [0291]), an optical sensor (Figure 9a, 37) adapted to be connected to visualization devices, where the housing comprises a transparent shielding window (44, described in [0044] as part of the housing) adapted to shield the optical sensor, the dental handpiece additionally comprises a device for supplying compressed air on the transparent shielding window ([0331], airflow generated by the vibration of the focusing lens), the housing additionally comprises an aperture (Figure 15c, vents 100 or Figure 15d, holes 101) for supplying compressed air to the transparent shielding window, the aperture being connected to the device for supplying compressed air (the device being the vibration of the focusing lens), and a diffuser (outer lens 44 also serves as a diffuser as described in [0331-0332] and is located in the aperture, the diffuser being designed so as to generate an air jet which forms an air curtain in front of the transparent shielding window (described in [0332]).
Regarding Claim 2, O’Callaghan discloses the dental handpiece according to claim 1, and further discloses that the diffuser is located from a working end of the housing (as seen in Figures 1-9a), and where the diffuser is designed so as to direct the air jet away from the working end of the housing longitudinally towards the handle (as seen in Figures 10-14, the outer lens can be directed in many directions including toward the handle as seen in Figure 12, which would direct the air jet away from the working end of the handle).
Regarding Claim 3, O’Callaghan discloses the dental handpiece according to claim 1, and further discloses that the diffuser is located from a working end of the housing (as seen in Figures 1-9a), the diffuser is designed
Regarding Claim 4, O’Callaghan discloses the dental handpiece according to claim 1, and further discloses that the diffuser can be oriented perpendicularly to the handle (as seen in Figure 11 where the image sensor/diffuser is rotated to 45 degrees), the diffuser is designed to direct the air jet sideways from the handle (as would be the case when rotated to 45 degrees), the housing comprises a protrusion located from the working end (visualizer 3 as seen in Figures 1a and 1b), and the protrusion has a surface shape which turns the air jet outgoing from the diffuser to a the first angle in a first range of from 120° to 140° (as seen in Figures 1a-1b and 10-14, visualizer is rotatable in a range including 120° as seen in Figure 12).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over O’Callaghan in view of Poll et al. (US 2008/0319266 A1, hereinafter “Poll”).
Regarding Claim 5, O’Callaghan discloses the invention according to claim 1 substantially as described above but does not disclose that the diffuser is designed to generate the air jet with an outflow speed in a range of from 6 m/s to 50 m/s, and the outflow speed forms a second angle with a plane of the transparent shielding window, the second angle being in a second range of from 0 to 15.
In the similar art of surgical scopes (handpieces), Poll teaches a gas flow state that delivers a flow of gas across a lens at a flow rate of 6 m/s to 50 m/s ([0090]), and the outflow speed forms a second angle with a plane of the transparent shielding window, the second angle being in a second range of from 0 to 15. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to construct the device of O’Callaghan with a flow rate as taught by Poll in order to provide a flow rate adequate to keep the window clean during use.
Conclusion
/CHRISTINE L NELSON/Examiner, Art Unit 3772
/EDWARD MORAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3772