DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 should be formatted with proper indentations, in accordance with Rule 1.75(i).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 8, 10-12 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bossecker et al. (DE 102016213545).
Regarding Claim 1, Bossecker et al. discloses
two pendulum flanges (2, 3) which are rotationally fixed to one another, are rotatable about an axis of rotation (R) and define a pendulum mass receiving space (i.e. the volume between 2 and 3) between the pendulum flanges in a direction of the axis of rotation, and at least one pendulum mass (4) arranged in the pendulum mass receiving space which is movable relative to the pendulum flanges on at least one movement path which is defined by cutouts in the pendulum flanges and the pendulum mass (10 and 9, respectively), wherein roller bodies (8) extend through the cutouts, wherein a stop damper (14/16/17) is formed on each pendulum mass, wherein the stop damper is arranged on a radial inner face (i.e. the radially inner circumferential face of 4, along which 14 lies in Fig. 2) of the pendulum mass (Fig. 2/Fig. 7/Fig. 10) and has at least two through-openings (166/167) into which extend fastening elements (i.e. screws or 120) which connect the stop damper to the pendulum mass.
Regarding Claims 2 and 11, Bossecker et al. discloses
the fastening elements comprise pin connections (120, Fig. 10).
Regarding Claims 3 and 12, Bossecker et al. discloses
the fastening elements form a snap-fit connection (i.e. via “snap finger” 1632, hook 1634, Fig. 23-25).
Regarding Claims 8 and 17, Bossecker et al. discloses
the stop damper (14) is formed (at least in part) from an elastomeric material ([0027]).
Regarding Claim 10, Bossecker et al. discloses
two pendulum flanges (2, 3) that:
are rotationally fixed together;
comprise respective flange cutouts (10); and
define a pendulum mass receiving space (i.e. the volume between 2 and 3) therebetween;
a pendulum mass (4) arranged in the pendulum mass receiving space, the pendulum mass comprising:
a mass cutout (9); and
a radial inner face (i.e. the radially inner circumferential face of 4, along which 14 lies in Fig. 2);
a stop damper (14/16/17) arranged on the radial inner face, the stop damper comprising two through- openings (166/167); and
roller bodies (8) extending through the flange cutouts and the mass cutout, wherein:
the flange cutouts and the mass cutout define a movement path;
the pendulum mass is movable relative to the two pendulum flanges along the movement path; and
fastening elements (i.e. screws or 120) extend through the two through-openings to connect the stop damper to the pendulum mass.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 7, 13 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bossecker et al. (DE 102016213545) in view of Tondellier et al. (FR 3047785).
Regarding Claims 4 and 13, Bossecker et al. does not disclose a friction element as claimed.
Tondellier et al. discloses each pendulum mass has at least one friction element (30, made of rubber) which is formed on one side of the pendulum mass (Fig. 2, Fig. 3) in the direction of the axis of rotation (X) and rests on the pendulum mass, for the purpose of limiting movement of the pin.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date to modify the invention of Bossecker et al. by including the friction element as
disclosed by Tondellier et al., for the purpose of limiting movement of the pin.
Regarding Claims 7 and 16, Bossecker et al. does not disclose pins on a friction element as claimed.
Tondellier et al. discloses each friction element has at least two pins (33) which engage in corresponding cutouts (34) in the pendulum mass, for the purpose of fixing the friction element to the pendulum mass.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date to modify the invention of Bossecker et al. by including the pins as
disclosed by Tondellier et al., for the purpose of fixing the friction element to the pendulum mass.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bossecker et al. (DE 102016213545) in view of Dinger et al. (US Pub No. 2017/0030429 A1).
Regarding Claim 9, Bossecker et al. does not disclose an input part, an output part and a spring device as claimed.
Dinger et al. discloses an input part (110), an output part (115) and a spring device (130), wherein the input part and the output part are rotatable relative to one another about an axis of rotation (105) against the spring device ([0025]), wherein the input part or the output part is connected in a rotationally fixed manner to the centrifugal force pendulum ([0026]) according to claim 1, for the purpose of eliminating non-uniformities of rotary motion in the torque transmitting device in a motor vehicle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date to modify the invention of Bossecker et al. by including the input part, output
part and spring device as disclosed by Dinger et al, for the purpose of eliminating non-
uniformities of rotary motion in the torque transmitting device in a motor vehicle.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 6, 14 and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: None of the prior art of record shows the friction element to have snap-fit elements as the fastening elements (Claims 5, 6, 14 and 15).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Groneberg (US Pub No. 2018/0291980) discloses a damper 52 but lacks openings.
Verhoog et al. (US Pub No. 2017/0241509) discloses damper 17 with openings, connected to masses 18/19.
/PRASAD V GOKHALE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3653 May 8, 2026