DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-4 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 2-4 and 6-7 are confusing as they are drawn to “the fine cellulose powder according to claim 1, wherein an aqueous dispersion…, prepared by dispersing the fine cellulose powder in water…” and then sets forth various properties of the product of claim 1 once dispersed in water. However, these claims merely define what properties the dispersed product has, but does not clearly set forth that the dispersed product is being claimed. The examiner is interpreting the claims as “The fine cellulose powder according to claim 1 in an aqueous dispersion, wherein the aqueous dispersion has a concentration of fine cellulose fiber of 0.3% by mass, prepared by…”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP6751811B2 – as provided by applicants in their IDS filed 1/14/26, in view of US 2021/0155717.
JP'811 discloses a fine cellulose fiber-containing dry solid having excellent redispersibility in water (abstract). The cellulose fibers are refined to an average fiber width of 1 nm to 1000 nm (paragraph 8 and 44). The fine cellulose fiber is a sulfonated fine cellulose fiber in which a sulfo-group is introduced into a part of a hydroxyl group, and the amount of sulfur introduced due to the sulfo group is 0.5 mmol/g or more and 3.0 mmol/g or less (paragraph 8, 16-17, and 41). The solid material has a water content of 50% or less (paragraph 8 and 13). The viscosity characteristics of the sulfonated fine cellulose fiber dispersion can be evaluated by the B-type viscosity of the dispersion. Such viscosity is preferably measured in a fine cellulose fiber dispersion having a solid content concentration of sulfonated fine cellulose fibers of 0.5% by mass and a temperature of 25 °C. under a measurement condition of 12 rpm and 3 minutes. It is 500 mPa.s or more, more preferably 1000 mPa-s, still more preferably 1500 mPa-s, and particularly preferably 2000 mPa⸱s or more (paragraph 55), addressing limitations of claim 2 and 4. JP'811 discloses the working example 1 in which the sulfonated fine cellulose fiber is neutralized by adding an excess amount of sodium hydrogen carbonate, and then thoroughly washed with pure water (paragraphs 72-79), implying that the Zr+ is the alkaline earth metal cation sodium, addressing limitations of claim 5 and 9. The total light transmittance is preferably adjusted so that the haze value of the dispersion liquid is within the above range and the total light transmittance is 90% or more, more preferably 95% or more (paragraph 51), addressing limitations of claim 6. The sulfonated fine cellulose fiber dispersion liquid or redispersion liquid has a haze value of the dispersion is preferably 20% or less, more preferably 15% or less, still more preferably 10% or less (paragraphs 48-49), addressing limitations of claim 7. The redispersion liquid is prepared by dispersing the sulfonated fine cellulose fiber material in a water-soluble solvent such as preferably water (paragraph 67-68), addressing limitations of claim 10. The fine cellulose fiber redispersion liquid can be suitably used as a transparent base material for transparent films (paragraph 118), implicitly addressing limitations of claim 11. The method of producing the sulfonated fine cellulose fiber comprising a drying step (paragraph 58-59), addressing limitations of claim 12.
JP'811 is silent as to the viscosity of the aqueous dispersion in terms of mPa⸱s in the specific conditions measured (claim 2), or the viscosity of the aqueous dispersion in terms of thixotropic index (claim 3-4). MPEP 2112.01 especially at citing In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 195 USPQ 430 (C.C.P.A. 1977) and In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990) discusses the support of rejections wherein the prior art discloses subject matter which there is reason to believe inherently includes functions that are newly recited or is identical to a product instantly claimed. In such a situation the burden is shifted to the applicants to show the products of the applicant and the prior art are not the same or that the prior art products do not necessarily possess the characteristics of the claimed product. In this case JP'811 discloses the sulfonated fine cellulose fibers having the same chemical structure, average fiber width, amount of sulfur introduced, moisture content, light transmittance, and haze value. Further, JP'811 discloses the sulfonated fine cellulose fibers having the viscosity of the aqueous dispersion in terms of mPa measured in the conditions close to the conditions of the claim. Therefore, there is reason to believe that products disclosed in the prior art inherently and necessarily possess the same characteristics of the claimed product as recited in the claims.
Additionally, JP’811 fails to teach the additional step of pulverizing the solid product produced prior to redispersion as set forth by the present claims and is the manner in which the present powders were formed.
‘717 teaches to form powders of cellulose nanofibers which have greater usability. ‘717 teaches that a powder obtained by drying a dispersion of cellulose nanofibers, pulverizing the resultant product, and classifying to have a certain size range is favorable in workability, hardly forms clumps (aggregate) when added to water (see [0009]). The means of pulverization are dry pulverization (see [0087]) and the process includes drying the cellulose nanofibers, scraping the dried product and pulverized with an impact type mill (dry pulverization) to obtain a dry pulverized product having a water content of 5% by mass, which was then classified using a 30-mesh sieve, thereby obtaining their powder cellulose nanofibers (see example 1, [0111]).
As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to perform one more step on the products of JP’811, and perform the additional dry pulverization step as in ‘717 to arrive at the powder composition claimed herein. One would have been motivated as ‘717 teaches that powdered cellulose nanofiber products have improved workability and decreased chances of clumping in the additional redispersing steps later performed.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of copending Application No. 18/704,516 in view of US 2021/0155717.
The products of ‘516 are seen to be substantially similar to those claimed herein, having the same properties and features, except ‘516 is drawn to a fine cellulose fiber solid material and the present application is drawn to a fine cellulose fiber powder.
The present application and ‘516 are seen to embrace the same fine cellulose fibers, wherein the present powders are prima facia obvious in view of the solid products of ‘516 in view of ‘717. ‘717 teachings are noted above, wherein ‘717 provides rationale and motivation for performing an additional dry pulverization step on a solid product of fine cellulose powders (cellulose nanofibers) to arrive at powder forms. This additional step would provide for the powder forms claimed herein from the solid forms of ‘516. As such, the present powder forms are prima facia obvious over the solid forms of ‘516 in view of ‘717.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of copending Application No. 19/157,81.
It is noted that the claims of both applications are seen to be substantially overlapping as they are both drawn to a fine cellulose powder comprising a fine cellulose fiber and water (see claim 3-4 of ‘814) and also comprising an ammonium salt (see claim 9 herein) wherein the fibers have the same sizes and properties and sulfate ester groups. A skilled artisan would see the applications are substantially overlapping.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
/TRAVISS C MCINTOSH III/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1693