DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to communications filed on 12/08/2025. Claims 1-3, 5-7 have been amended. Claim 4 has been canceled and claims 8-9 have been newly added. No other claims have been amended, added, or canceled. Accordingly, claims 1-3, 5-9 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-3, 5-9 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inaba et al. (JP2017170581A) in view of Ueyama (US 2008/0249659 A1).
As per claim 1, Inaba discloses: a processing device comprising:
a memory configured to store instructions (see Inaba at least fig. 1-7 and Abstract; robot control unit [12] and memories [16]); and
at least one processor a processor configured to execute the instructions to (see Inaba at least fig. 1-7 and Abstract; robot control unit [12] and memories [16]):
determine whether or not a control target has entered an area other than an area that the control target is allowed to enter in an environment of a range including at least a part of the control target (see Inaba at least fig. 1-7 and Abstract & Description; restriction area); and
execute a predetermined process when it is determined that the control target has entered the area other than the area that the control target is allowed to enter (see Inaba at least fig. 1-7 and Abstract & Description; restriction area and controlling the robot’s actions).
Inaba discloses the invention as detailed above.
However, Inaba does not appear to explicitly disclose wherein the area that the control target is not allowed to approach or enter based on observation information observed in a real environment; and information within a virtual environment corresponding to a shape and a movement of the control target.
Nevertheless, Ueyama—who is in the same field of endeavor--discloses wherein the area that the control target is not allowed to approach or enter based on observation information observed in a real environment; and information within a virtual environment corresponding to a shape and a movement of the control target (see Ueyama at least fig. 1-5 and Abstract & Field/background/summary of the invention; establishing no-entry zones in 3D working space and on computers using CAD, specifying corresponding points on picked-up images, virtual projected region, first and second closed region and establishing virtual no-entry region to calibrate positional relationship between imaging device and robot).
One of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the given invention, would have been motivated to combine Ueyama’s establishing of virtual no-entry regions with those corresponding to 3-D working space for a robot with those of Inaba’s method for teaching robots in order to form a more efficient and less burdensome system (i.e., by utilizing images from different directions to establish the no-entry zones and allowing them to be established more precisely).
Motivation for combining Inaba with Ueyama not only comes from knowledge well known in the art, but also from Ueyama (see at least Abstract & Field/background/summary of the invention).
Both Inaba and Ueyama disclose claim 2: wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions to: notify that the control target has entered the area other than the area that the control target is allowed to enter when it is determined that the control target has entered the area other than the area that the control target is allowed to enter (see Inaba at least fig. 1-7 and Abstract & Description; restriction area and controlling the robot’s actions and see Ueyama at least fig. 1-5 and Abstract & Field/background/summary of the invention).
Motivation to combine Inaba with Ueyama, in the instant claim, is the same as that in claim 1 above.
Both Inaba and Ueyama disclose claim 3: wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions to: output an instruction to restrict an operation of the control target or stop the operation of the control target to a controller for controlling the control target when it is determined that the control target has entered the area other than the area that the control target is allowed to enter (see Inaba at least fig. 1-7 and Abstract & Description; restriction area and controlling the robot’s actions and see Ueyama at least fig. 1-5 and Abstract & Field/background/summary of the invention).
Motivation to combine Inaba with Ueyama, in the instant claim, is the same as that in claim 1 above.
Both Inaba and Ueyama disclose claim 5: wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions to: exclude information of the area that the control target is allowed to enter from information of the including at least the part of the control target of the observation information observed in the real environment; and determine whether or not the control target has entered the area other than the area that the control target is allowed to enter on the basis of the information after excluding information of the area that the control target is allowed to enter (see Inaba at least fig. 1-7 and Abstract & Description; restriction area and controlling the robot’s actions and see Ueyama at least fig. 1-5 and Abstract & Field/background/summary of the invention).
Motivation to combine Inaba with Ueyama, in the instant claim, is the same as that in claim 1 above.
Both Inaba and Ueyama disclose claim 6: A processing method comprising:
determining whether or not a control target has entered an area other than an area that the control target is allowed to enter in an environment of a range including at least a part of the control target based on: information including an area that the control target is not allowed to approach or enter based on observation information observed in a real environment; and information within a virtual environment corresponding to a shape and a movement of the control target; and executing a predetermined process when it is determined that the control target has entered the area other than the area that the control target is allowed to enter (see Inaba at least fig. 1-7 and Abstract & Description; restriction area and controlling the robot’s actions and see Ueyama at least fig. 1-5 and Abstract & Field/background/summary of the invention).
Motivation to combine Inaba with Ueyama, in the instant claim, is the same as that in claim 1 above.
Both Inaba and Ueyama disclose claim 7: A non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing a program which causes a computer to execute: determining whether or not a control target has entered an area other than an area that the control target is allowed to enter in an environment of a range including at least a part of the control target based on: information including an area that the control target is not allowed to approach or enter based on observation information observed in a real environment; and information within a virtual environment corresponding to a shape and a movement of the control target; and executing a predetermined process when it is determined that the control target has entered the area other than the area that the control target is allowed to enter (see Inaba at least fig. 1-7 and Abstract & Description; restriction area and controlling the robot’s actions and see Ueyama at least fig. 1-5 and Abstract & Field/background/summary of the invention).
Motivation to combine Inaba with Ueyama, in the instant claim, is the same as that in claim 1 above.
Both Inaba and Ueyama disclose claim 8: wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions to: receive the observation information observed in the real environment and the information within the virtual environment corresponding to the shape and the movement of the control target; and determine a system failure based on a difference between the received observation information and the received information within the virtual environment before the at least one processor determines whether or not the control target has entered the area other than the area that the control target is allowed to enter (see Inaba at least fig. 1-7 and Abstract & Description; restriction area and controlling the robot’s actions and see Ueyama at least fig. 1-5 and Abstract & Field/background/summary of the invention).
Motivation to combine Inaba with Ueyama, in the instant claim, is the same as that in claim 1 above.
Both Inaba and Ueyama disclose claim 9: wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions to: acquire information of a control plan for controlling a controlled unit of the control target; and determine, based on a current state and the information within the virtual environment corresponding to the shape and the movement of the control target, the shape and the movement being based on information of the control plan, whether or not the control target has entered the area other than the area that the control target is allowed to enter before the control target moves (see Inaba at least fig. 1-7 and Abstract & Description; restriction area and controlling the robot’s actions and see Ueyama at least fig. 1-5 and Abstract & Field/background/summary of the invention).
Motivation to combine Inaba with Ueyama, in the instant claim, is the same as that in claim 1 above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MACEEH ANWARI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3663