CTNF 18/704,528 CTNF 80571 DETAILED ACTION Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. PGPub 2019/0036607 A1 by Inada in view of U.S. Patent 10,020,631 B2 to Yaman . Regarding claim 1, Inada teaches multicore transmission apparatus comprising: first to fourth optical fibers (corresponding to each of first to fourth signal cables 112, 113, 122, 123); a first processor (a first multi-band signal processing device 111) configured to output a light beam to a mutually different core of the second optical fiber 113), the light beam being input from the core of the first optical fiber (112) and being individually processed; a second processor (a second multi-band signal processing device 121) configured to output a light beam to a mutually different core of the fourth optical fiber (123), the light beam being input from the core of the third optical fiber (122) and being individually processed; a first joint box (110) that accommodates the first optical fiber (112), the first processor (111), the second optical fiber (113), and the fourth optical fiber (123); and a second joint box (120) that accommodates the second optical fiber (113), the third optical fiber (122), the second processor (121), and the fourth optical fiber (123). Inada does not specify that the optical fibers are multicore fibers each having a plurality of cores for inputting and outputting a plurality of light beams, but uses the multi-band (i.e., multiple wavelength bands) signal processors (111, 121) for performing optical repeater transmission using a plurality of bands where general devices such as those of optical fiber amplifiers are used. Yaman teaches an optical coupler (Fig. 1)for optical amplifier comprising a multicore input (102) and a multicore output (110) interfacing with a plurality of multicore fibers (114), which couple a plurality of light beams into multiple optical paths in a waveguide (116) (see Fig. 6). Since both Inada and Yaman are analogous prior art using EDF to amplify optical signals in submarine communication cables, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Inada’s invention, by using multicore optical fibers as the first through fourth optical fibers (112, 113, 122, 123), each for inputting and outputting a plurality of light beams, to be processed by the multiband processing devices (111, 121), e.g., amplifying optical signals, as suggested in Yaman’s invention, since the multicore EDF can support multitude of modes and can support all of the power from the multimode pump, efficiently amplify the signals in the cores with high efficiency and with low noise. Regarding claim 2, Inada further teaches each of the first joint box and the second joint box includes a connector that is capable of being stack-connected to each other (stack-coupling, ¶[0064]). Regarding claim 3, Yaman further suggests that a wavelength band of light propagating in each of the cores of the first and third multicore fibers is single single-band wavelength division multiplexing (WDM) light (via WDM couplers 508 that are coupled to individual fibers 510, so as to support the transmission of different optical signals simultaneously, as is well known in the art). Regarding claims 4, 5, Inada further teaches each processing system receives and separates a same C+L band optical signal and accordingly outputs a C band optical signal and an L band optical signal. Regarding claim 6, Yaman further suggests (Fig. 5) each of the first multicore processor and the second multicore processor includes: a first FIFO (Fan-In wavelength divisional multiplexer (FI/WDM) coupler 504) that outputs light being input from a multicore fiber (input side MCF 502) to a plurality of single-core devices; a plurality of single-core devices (individual fibers 510) that process light being input from the first FIFO and outputs the processed light; and a second FIFO (Fan-Out wavelength divisional multiplexer (FO/WDM) coupler 508) that couples light being output from the plurality of single- core devices with another multicore fiber (output side MCF 502), which forms a WDM that supports the transmission of different optical signals simultaneously and improves data transmission capacity, as is well known in the art. Regarding claim 7, Inada further teaches that processing in the plurality of single-core devices includes amplifying the input light (see at least Background and Fig. 2 and its description). Regarding claim 8, Inada teaches a complex joint box comprising: a first joint box (110) accommodating a first fiber (112) having a core, a first processor (111) configured to output a light beam to a mutually different core of a second fiber (113) a core, the light beam being input from the cores of the first fiber and being individually processed (by 111), the second fiber (113), and a fourth fiber (123) each having a core; and a second joint box (120) accommodating the second fiber (113), a third fiber (122) each having a core, a second processor (121) configured to output a light beam to a mutually different core of the fourth fiber (123), the light beam being input from the core of the third fiber (122) and being individually processed, and the fourth fiber (123). Inada does not specify that the optical fibers are multicore fibers each having a plurality of cores for inputting and outputting a plurality of light beams, but uses the multi-band (i.e., multiple wavelength bands) signal processors (111, 121) for performing optical repeater transmission using a plurality of bands where general devices such as those of optical fiber amplifiers are used. Yaman teaches an optical coupler (Fig. 1)for optical amplifier comprising a multicore input (102) and a multicore output (110) interfacing with a plurality of multicore fibers (114), which couple a plurality of light beams into multiple optical paths in a waveguide (116) (see Fig. 6). Since both Inada and Yaman are analogous prior art using EDF to amplify optical signals in submarine communication cables, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Inada’s invention, by using multicore optical fibers as the first through fourth optical fibers (112, 113, 122, 123), each for inputting and outputting a plurality of light beams, to be processed by the multiband processing devices (111, 121), e.g., amplifying optical signals, as suggested in Yaman’s invention, since the multicore EDF can support multitude of modes and can support all of the power from the multimode pump, efficiently amplify the signals in the cores with high efficiency and with low noise. Regarding claim 9, Inada further teaches the first joint box and the second joint box are connected by a connector that is capable of being stack-connected (¶[0064]). Regarding claim 10, Inada teaches a fiber accommodation method comprising: accommodating, in a first joint box (110), a first fiber (112) having a core, a first multicore processor (111) configured to output a light beam to a mutually different core of a second fiber (113) having a core, the light beam being input from the core of the first multicore fiber (112) and being individually processed, the second fiber (113), and a third fiber (122) having a core; and accommodating, in a second joint box (120), the second fiber (113), the third fiber (122), second processor (121) configured to output a light beam to a mutually different core of a fourth fiber (123) having a core, the light beam being input from the core of the third fiber (122) and being individually processed, and the fourth fiber (123). Inada does not specify that the optical fibers are multicore fibers each having a plurality of cores for inputting and outputting a plurality of light beams, but uses the multi-band (i.e., multiple wavelength bands) signal processors (111, 121) for performing optical repeater transmission using a plurality of bands where general devices such as those of optical fiber amplifiers are used. Yaman teaches an optical coupler (Fig. 1)for optical amplifier comprising a multicore input (102) and a multicore output (110) interfacing with a plurality of multicore fibers (114), which couple a plurality of light beams into multiple optical paths in a waveguide (116) (see Fig. 6). Since both Inada and Yaman are analogous prior art using EDF to amplify optical signals in submarine communication cables, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Inada’s invention, by using multicore optical fibers as the first through fourth optical fibers (112, 113, 122, 123), each for inputting and outputting a plurality of light beams, to be processed by the multiband processing devices (111, 121), e.g., amplifying optical signals, as suggested in Yaman’s invention, since the multicore EDF can support multitude of modes and can support all of the power from the multimode pump, efficiently amplify the signals in the cores with high efficiency and with low noise . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. USPub20230244025 discloses a multi-core fiber configured for connecting optical devices . Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to CHARLIE PENG whose telephone number is (571)272-2177. The examiner can normally be reached 9AM - 6PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Thomas Hollweg can be reached at (571)270-1739. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /CHARLIE Y PENG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874 Application/Control Number: 18/704,528 Page 2 Art Unit: 2874 Application/Control Number: 18/704,528 Page 3 Art Unit: 2874 Application/Control Number: 18/704,528 Page 4 Art Unit: 2874 Application/Control Number: 18/704,528 Page 5 Art Unit: 2874 Application/Control Number: 18/704,528 Page 6 Art Unit: 2874