DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 23-29 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected method, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 08/17/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 15 and 20 recite “Martensite” while reference in the instant Specification is to “fresh martensite” e.g. at Page 7. Due to the recitation of untempered martensite as “fresh martensite” in the instant Specification, it is unclear whether the reference to “Martensite” in Claims 15 and 20 refers to “fresh martensite,” “tempered martensite,” or has some other meaning entirely. Appropriate correction is required to describe the presence of a martensitic phase within the claimed steel sheet with specificity.
Claims 16-19 and 21-22 are rejected for their dependency on a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yokoyama et al. US 20210230712 A1.
Regarding Claim 1, Yokoyama et al. ‘712 teaches a cold rolled and heat treated steel sheet having a composition comprising the following elements by weight percent: C: 0.150% to 0.500%, Mn: 1.00% to 5.00%, Si: 0.01% to 2.50%, Al: 0.001% to 1.000%, Ti: 0% to 0.30%, B: 0% to 0.010%, P: 0.100% or less, S: 0.0100% or less, , N: 0.0100% or less, and a remainder of the composition being composed of iron and unavoidable impurities, overlapping the instantly claimed composition.
Yokoyama et al. ‘712 further teaches the steel sheet includes a microstructure comprising, by area percentage, 70% or more tempered martensite, 0% to 20% bainite, 0% to 10% fresh martensite (meeting the limitation for martensite), and 0% to 10% retained austenite (meeting the limitation for residual austenite), overlapping the instantly claimed ranges, meeting the limitations of the instant Claim.
See MPEP 2144.05. In cases where claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding Claims 16-19, Yokoyama et al. ‘712 teaches a cold rolled and heat treated steel sheet having a composition comprising the following elements by weight percent: C: 0.150% to 0.500%, Mn: 1.00% to 5.00%, Al: 0.001% to 1.000%, Si: 0.01% to 2.50%, meeting the limitations of the instant Claims.
See MPEP 2144.05. In cases where claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding Claim 20, Yokoyama et al. ‘712 teaches the steel sheet includes a microstructure comprising, by area percentage, 0% to 10% fresh martensite (meeting the limitation for martensite), overlapping the instantly claimed range of 1% to 6%, meeting the limitations of the instant Claim.
See MPEP 2144.05. In cases where claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding Claim 21, Yokoyama et al. ‘712 teaches the steel sheet includes a microstructure comprising, by area percentage, 70% or more tempered martensite, overlapping the instantly claimed range of 80% to 95%, meeting the limitations of the instant Claim.
See MPEP 2144.05. In cases where claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding Claim 22, Yokoyama et al. ‘712 further teaches the steel sheet includes a tensile strength of 1470 MPa or more, overlapping the instantly claimed range of 1440 MPa or more.
Yokoyama et al. ‘712 teaches a stress equivalent to 1200 MPa may be applied at [0166] but does not expressly measure a yield strength value. However, as Yokoyama et al. ‘712 teaches a tempering temperature of 200 °C, it would be expected to present the same or similar properties as the instantly claimed sheet, which is also tempered at 200 °C (Instant Specification Page 6).
Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977) “When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not.” In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir.1990) “Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties.” A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 12215402 B2 teaches a hot-rolled steel sheet with an overlapping microstructure.
US 20190003009 A1 teaches a high strength steel sheet
/Keith D. Hendricks/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1733
/M.S.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1733