DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Claims 1-20 are pending and are rejected.
Priority
Foreign priority:
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority to application no. JP2021-182421 filled on 11/09/2021. The certified copy has been received.
PCT:
The current application is a 371 of PCT/JP2022/04175838 filled on 11/09/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) filled on 07/10/2025, 05/28/2025, 04/25/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
Drawings filled on 04/25/2024 are acceptable for the examination purpose.
Response to Preliminary Amendment
Amendment claims 4-5, 7, 11-12, 14 and 18-19 filled on 04/25/2024 are being fully considered by the examiner.
Amendments to specification filled 04/25/2024 are acknowledged and are acceptable for the examination purpose.
Claim Interpretation
Claims 1-2, 5, 7, 12 and 14:
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
measured value acquisition unit in claim 1.
determination unit in claim 1.
estimation unit in claim 2.
candidate generation unit in claims 5 and 12.
control data generation unit in claims 7 and 14.
control data transmission unit in claim 7 and 14.
The claim limitations as described above uses generic placeholders for performing the claimed function such that the generic placeholders are modified by functional language as discussed below,
measured value acquisition unit configured to acquire a measured value of a pressure of a hydrogen tank… in claim 1.
determination unit configured to determine filling timings or filling order of the hydrogen gas…in claim 1.
estimation unit configured to estimate a value related to a filling time of the hydrogen gas…in claim 2.
candidate generation unit
configured to generate a plurality of candidates related to the filling timings or the filling order…in claim 5.
that generates a plurality of candidates related to the filling timings or the filling order…in claim 12.
control data generation unit configured to generate control data of the plurality of work vehicles in claims 7 and 14.
control data transmission unit configured to transmit the control data to the plurality of work vehicles in claim 7 and 14.
However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Therefore, the claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) and 35 U.S.C. 112(b). Please see the 35 U.S.C. 112 section below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
35 U.S.C. 112(b)
Claims 1-7, 12-14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 1-2, 5, 7, 12 and 14 limitations invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) but the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure:
Claim 1:
measured value acquisition unit:
Claim limitation measured value acquisition unit invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as described above. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function.
The specification is devoid of any structure that performs the function. In particular, the specification states that the claimed function of acquiring a measured value of a pressure of a hydrogen tank… is performed by measured value acquisition unit 51 that is part of management device 50 (see specification ¶27-¶28). There is no disclosure of any particular structure, either explicitly or inherently, to perform the above described claimed function. The use of the terms management device 50 includes measured value acquisition unit 51 and the measured value acquisition unit 51 performs the above described claimed function is not adequate structure for performing the claimed function of acquiring a measured value of a pressure of a hydrogen tank…because it does not describe a particular structure for performing the function.
As would be recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art, the measured value acquisition unit 51 included in the management device 50 performs the claimed function such that the claimed function can be performed in any number of ways in hardware, software or a combination of the two. The specification does not provide sufficient details such that one of ordinary skill in the art would understand which structures perform(s) the claimed function.
determination unit:
Claim limitation determination unit invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as described above. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function.
The specification is devoid of any structure that performs the function. In particular, the specification states that the claimed function of determining filling timings or filling order of the hydrogen gas … is performed by determination unit 54 that is part of management device 50 (see specification ¶27, ¶31). There is no disclosure of any particular structure, either explicitly or inherently, to perform the above described claimed function. The use of the terms management device 50 includes determination unit 54 and the determination unit 54 performs the above described claimed function is not adequate structure for performing the claimed function of determining filling timings or filling order of the hydrogen gas …because it does not describe a particular structure for performing the function.
As would be recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art, the determination unit 54 included in the management device 50 performs the claimed function such that the claimed function can be performed in any number of ways in hardware, software or a combination of the two. The specification does not provide sufficient details such that one of ordinary skill in the art would understand which structures perform(s) the claimed function.
Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 2:
estimation unit:
Claim limitation estimation unit invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as described above. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function.
The specification is devoid of any structure that performs the function. In particular, the specification states that the claimed function of estimating a value related to a filling time of the hydrogen gas … is performed by estimation unit 53 that is part of management device 50 (see specification ¶27, ¶28). There is no disclosure of any particular structure, either explicitly or inherently, to perform the above described claimed function. The use of the terms management device 50 includes estimation unit 53 and the estimation unit 53 performs the above described claimed function is not adequate structure for performing the claimed function of estimating a value related to a filling time of the hydrogen gas …because it does not describe a particular structure for performing the function.
As would be recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art, the estimation unit 51 included in the management device 50 performs the claimed function such that the claimed function can be performed in any number of ways in hardware, software or a combination of the two. The specification does not provide sufficient details such that one of ordinary skill in the art would understand which structures perform(s) the claimed function.
Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 5 and 12:
candidate generation unit:
Claim limitation candidate generation unit invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as described above. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function.
The specification is devoid of any structure that performs the function. In particular, the specification states that the claimed function of generating a plurality of candidates related to the filling timings or the filling order … is performed by candidate generation unit 52 that is part of management device 50 (see specification ¶27, ¶29). There is no disclosure of any particular structure, either explicitly or inherently, to perform the above described claimed function. The use of the terms management device 50 includes candidate generation unit 52 and the candidate generation unit 52 performs the above described claimed function is not adequate structure for performing the claimed function of generating a plurality of candidates related to the filling timings or the filling order …because it does not describe a particular structure for performing the function.
As would be recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art, the candidate generation unit 52 included in the management device 50 performs the claimed function such that the claimed function can be performed in any number of ways in hardware, software or a combination of the two. The specification does not provide sufficient details such that one of ordinary skill in the art would understand which structures perform(s) the claimed function.
Claims 7 and 14:
control data generation unit:
Claim limitation control data generation unit invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as described above. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function.
The specification is devoid of any structure that performs the function. In particular, the specification states that the claimed function of generating control data of the plurality of work vehicles … is performed by control data generation unit 52 that is part of management device 50 (see specification ¶27, ¶31). There is no disclosure of any particular structure, either explicitly or inherently, to perform the above described claimed function. The use of the terms management device 50 includes control data generation unit 52 and the control data generation unit 52 performs the above described claimed function is not adequate structure for performing the claimed function of generating control data of the plurality of work vehicles …because it does not describe a particular structure for performing the function.
As would be recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art, the control data generation unit 52 included in the management device 50 performs the claimed function such that the claimed function can be performed in any number of ways in hardware, software or a combination of the two. The specification does not provide sufficient details such that one of ordinary skill in the art would understand which structures perform(s) the claimed function.
control data transmission unit:
Claim limitation control data transmission unit invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as described above. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function.
The specification is devoid of any structure that performs the function. In particular, the specification states that the claimed function of transmitting the control data to the plurality of work vehicles … is performed by control data transmission unit 57 that is part of management device 50 (see specification ¶27, ¶31). There is no disclosure of any particular structure, either explicitly or inherently, to perform the above described claimed function. The use of the terms management device 50 includes control data transmission unit 57 and the control data transmission unit 57 performs the above described claimed function is not adequate structure for performing the claimed function of transmitting the control data to the plurality of work vehicles …because it does not describe a particular structure for performing the function.
As would be recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art, the control data transmission unit 57 included in the management device 50 performs the claimed function such that the claimed function can be performed in any number of ways in hardware, software or a combination of the two. The specification does not provide sufficient details such that one of ordinary skill in the art would understand which structures perform(s) the claimed function.
Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Appropriate correction is required.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Dependent claims 2-7:
Based on their dependencies in claim 1, claims 2-7 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) for the same reasons.
Unclear limitations:
Claims 6 and 13:
Claim limitation the estimation unit estimates a time when filling of each of the plurality of work vehicles with the hydrogen gas starts at the hydrogen station such that work vehicles exceeding a simultaneously fillable number do not exist simultaneously at the hydrogen station according to the filling order is unclear because it isn’t clear what it meant by work vehicles exceeding a simultaneously fillable number do not exist simultaneously at the hydrogen station according to the filling order.
Applicant’s specification ¶39 merely repeats this limitation without providing further details of what it means by work vehicles exceeding a simultaneously fillable number do not exist simultaneously.
Examiner notes that, applicant’s specification ¶40 provides details about calculating index value of next vehicle, however doesn’t provide any details about what it means by simultaneously fillable number and what it means by “work vehicles exceeding a simultaneously fillable number do not exist simultaneously.”
Examiner notes that, for the examination purpose, it cannot be construed what it means by simultaneously fillable number.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 20:
Claim limitation in the step of estimating the value related to the filling time, a time when filling of each of the plurality of work vehicles with the hydrogen gas starts at the hydrogen station is estimated such that work vehicles exceeding a simultaneously fillable number do not exist simultaneously at the hydrogen station according to the filling order is unclear because it isn’t clear what it meant by work vehicles exceeding a simultaneously fillable number do not exist simultaneously at the hydrogen station according to the filling order.
Applicant’s specification ¶39 merely repeats this limitation without providing further details of what it means by work vehicles exceeding a simultaneously fillable number do not exist simultaneously.
Examiner notes that, applicant’s specification ¶40 provides details about calculating index value of next vehicle, however doesn’t provide any details about what it means by simultaneously fillable number and what it means by “work vehicles exceeding a simultaneously fillable number do not exist simultaneously.”
Examiner notes that, for the examination purpose, it cannot be construed what it means by simultaneously fillable number.
Appropriate correction is required.
35 U.S.C. 112(a)
Claims 1-7, 12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1-2, 5, 7, 12 and 14 limitations invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) but the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure:
Claim 1:
Regarding measured value acquisition unit and determination unit:
As described above, the disclosure does not provide adequate structure to perform the claimed function of create the machining path. The specification does not demonstrate that applicant has made an invention that achieves the claimed function because the invention is not described with sufficient detail such that one of ordinary skill in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 2:
Regarding estimation unit:
As described above, the disclosure does not provide adequate structure to perform the claimed functions of determining ON/OFF of a smoothing processing function and determining setting the smoothing processing function to OFF and ON, performing provisional smoothing processing, calculating a provisional smoothing curve, and calculate a curvature of the provisional smoothing curve. The specification does not demonstrate that applicant has made an invention that achieves the claimed function because the invention is not described with sufficient detail such that one of ordinary skill in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 5 and 12:
Regarding candidate generation unit:
As described above, the disclosure does not provide adequate structure to perform the claimed function of create the machining path. The specification does not demonstrate that applicant has made an invention that achieves the claimed function because the invention is not described with sufficient detail such that one of ordinary skill in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 7 and 14:
Regarding control data generation unit and control data transmission unit:
As described above, the disclosure does not provide adequate structure to perform the claimed function of create the machining path. The specification does not demonstrate that applicant has made an invention that achieves the claimed function because the invention is not described with sufficient detail such that one of ordinary skill in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention.
Appropriate correction is required.
Dependent claims 2-7:
Based on their dependencies in claim 1, claims 2-7 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) for the same reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-12, and 14-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by YAMAGUCHI (JP2019132360A) [hereinafter YAMAGUCHI].
Regarding claim 1:
YAMAGUCHI discloses, A work vehicle management device comprising: [page 3, ¶4: The present invention relates to a hydrogen fuel filling control method and a hydrogen fuel filling control device, and, for example, relates to a supply method for an ordinary vehicle using hydrogen as a fuel to fill hydrogen fuel at a hydrogen station, and an apparatus therefor.];
a measured value acquisition unit configured to acquire a measured value of a pressure of a hydrogen tank of each of a plurality of work vehicles, on which the hydrogen tanks are mounted, and [page 16, ¶6: the pressure received while receiving the pressure measured by the pressure gauge 206 of the fuel tank 202 of the FCV vehicle 200 is used….the filling amount is controlled by the pressure increase rate of the hydrogen fuel using the pressure gauge 206…
page 12, ¶4: When the FCV vehicle 200 arrives in the hydrogen station 102…Communication with the device 34 is established…FCV information such as the current pressure…of the fuel tank 202…is output (transmitted) to the control circuit 100 via the relay device 34 in real time…The current pressure in the fuel tank 202 is measured by a pressure gauge 206…Within the control circuit 100, the receiving unit 52 receives FCV information via the communication control circuit 50
page 10, ¶1: The system control unit 58 monitors the pressure of the fuel tank 202 and the outside air temperature (not shown) received by the receiving unit 52…
Examiner notes the claim interpretation as set forth in the current office action, and the broadest reasonable interpretation of the measured value acquisition unit can be a hardware or software];
a measured value of a pressure of a pressure accumulator of a hydrogen station where the hydrogen tanks are filled with a hydrogen gas; and [page 13, ¶3: As the differential pressure calculation step (S108), first, the dispenser outlet pressure receiving unit 68 receives (acquires) the fuel filling outlet pressure of the dispenser 30 measured from the pressure gauge 17 via the communication control circuit 50…
page 6, ¶7: the pressure in the pressure accumulator 10 is measured by the pressure gauge 11. The pressure in the accumulator 12 is measured by a pressure gauge 13. The pressure in the accumulator 14 is measured by a pressure gauge 15.…
page 10, ¶3: the bank pressure receiving unit 66 receives the pressures of the pressure accumulators 10, 12, and 14 from the pressure gauges 11, 13, and 15 through the communication control circuit 50 at all times or at a predetermined sampling period.];
a determination unit configured to determine filling timings or filling order of the hydrogen gas for the plurality of work vehicles based on the measured values of the pressures. [Examiner notes that claim requires determining only one of filling timings or filling order and only one of them is giving the patentable weight.
Accordingly, YAMAGUCHI teaches the limitation, determine filling timings, as described below:
page 14, ¶1-¶2: calculates the differential pressure between the fuel filling outlet pressure of the dispenser 30 and a predetermined pressure related to the FCV vehicle 200. As the predetermined pressure related to the FCV vehicle 200, for example, the pressure of the fuel tank 202 (vehicle tank pressure) of the FCV vehicle 200 is used…it is determined whether or not the filling speed is further lowered…using the differential pressure between the dispenser outlet pressure and the vehicle tank pressure as a parameter.
page 9, ¶2: since the differential pressure between the pressure accumulator 14 and the fuel tank 202 is increased, a state where the filling speed is high can be maintained.
page 12, ¶1: while it is required to shorten the filling time for each FCV vehicle as much as possible, when the filling speed is further reduced for all the FCV vehicles 200, the filling control flow (1 )…the determination method described below is used so that any vehicle can be fully filled while preventing the filling time from becoming unnecessarily long.
Examiner notes the claim interpretation as set forth in the current office action, and the broadest reasonable interpretation of determination unit can be a hardware or software].
Regarding claim 2:
YAMAGUCHI further discloses, an estimation unit configured to estimate a value related to a filling time of the hydrogen gas at the hydrogen station for the plurality of work vehicles based on the measured values of the pressures, [page 14, ¶1: calculates the differential pressure between the fuel filling outlet pressure of the dispenser 30 and a predetermined pressure related to the FCV vehicle 200. As the predetermined pressure related to the FCV vehicle 200, for example, the pressure of the fuel tank 202 (vehicle tank pressure) of the FCV vehicle 200 is used…
Examiner notes that, as described above, YAMAGUCHI teaches, a value related to a filling time such as the calculating differential pressure.
Examiner notes the claim interpretation as set forth in the current office action, and the broadest reasonable interpretation of estimation unit can be a hardware or software];
wherein the determination unit determines the filling timings or the filling order of the hydrogen gas for the plurality of work vehicles based on the value related to the filling time. [Examiner notes that claim requires determining only one of the filling timings or the filling order and only one of them is giving the patentable weight.
Accordingly, YAMAGUCHI teaches the limitation, determines the filling timings, as described below:
page 9, ¶2: since the differential pressure between the pressure accumulator 12 and the fuel tank 202 is increased, a state where the filling speed is high can be maintained.
page 12, ¶1: while it is required to shorten the filling time for each FCV vehicle as much as possible, when the filling speed is further reduced for all the FCV vehicles 200, the filling control flow (1 )…the determination method described below is used so that any vehicle can be fully filled while preventing the filling time from becoming unnecessarily long].
Regarding claim 3:
YAMAGUCHI further discloses, wherein the determination unit determines the filling timings or the filling order of the hydrogen gas for the plurality of work vehicles such that a total of the filling times is minimized based on the value related to the filling time. [Examiner notes that claim requires determining only one of the filling timings or the filling order and only one of them is giving the patentable weight.
Accordingly, YAMAGUCHI teaches the limitation, determines the filling timings, as described below:
page 9, ¶2: since the differential pressure between the pressure accumulator 12 and the fuel tank 202 is increased, a state where the filling speed is high can be maintained.
page 12, ¶1: while it is required to shorten the filling time for each FCV vehicle as much as possible, when the filling speed is further reduced for all the FCV vehicles 200, the filling control flow (1 )…the determination method described below is used so that any vehicle can be fully filled while preventing the filling time from becoming unnecessarily long].
Regarding claim 4 (Amended):
YAMAGUCHI further discloses, wherein the value related to the filling time is a differential pressure between the pressure of the hydrogen tank and the pressure of the pressure accumulator at a time of hydrogen gas filling start, [page 14, ¶1: calculates the differential pressure between the fuel filling outlet pressure of the dispenser 30 and a predetermined pressure related to the FCV vehicle 200. As the predetermined pressure related to the FCV vehicle 200, for example, the pressure of the fuel tank 202 (vehicle tank pressure) of the FCV vehicle 200 is used];
the determination unit determines the filling timing or the filling order such that a total of the differential pressures between the pressure of the hydrogen tank and the pressure of the pressure accumulator at the time of hydrogen gas filling start of each of the plurality of work vehicles is maximized. [page 9, ¶2: since the differential pressure between the pressure accumulator 14 and the fuel tank 202 is increased, a state where the filling speed is high can be maintained. Then, the hydrogen fuel accumulated in the accumulator 14 due to the differential pressure between the accumulator 14 and the fuel tank 202 moves toward the fuel tank 202].
Regarding claim 5 (Amended):
YAMAGUCHI further discloses, a candidate generation unit configured to generate a plurality of candidates related to the filling timings or the filling order of the hydrogen gas for the plurality of work vehicles, [Examiner notes that claim requires determining only one of the filling timings or the filling order and only one of them is giving the patentable weight.
Accordingly, YAMAGUCHI teaches the limitation, determines the filling timings, as described below:
Page 14, ¶2: FIG. 6 is a diagram showing an example of the transition of the differential pressure between the dispenser outlet pressure (fuel filling outlet pressure of the dispenser 30) and the vehicle tank pressure in the first embodiment. FIG. 6 shows an example of the transition (temporal displacement) of the differential pressure between the dispenser outlet pressure and the vehicle tank pressure from the start to the end of filling in two FCV vehicles 200 (vehicles A and B) of different vehicle types….in most of the filling period, the vehicle B subtracts the pressure of the fuel tank 202 (vehicle tank pressure) of the FCV vehicle 200 from the dispenser outlet pressure as compared with the vehicle A….it is determined whether or not the filling speed is further lowered in the latter half of the filling period using the differential pressure between the dispenser outlet pressure and the vehicle tank pressure as a parameter…
Examiner notes that in broadest reasonable interpretation the limitation describes determination of candidate vehicles that are candidate for filling hydrogen in order to fill them in a filling time];
wherein the estimation unit estimates the value related to the filling time of the hydrogen gas for each of the plurality of candidates, and [ page 14, ¶2: the transition (temporal displacement) of the differential pressure between the dispenser outlet pressure and the vehicle tank pressure from the start to the end of filling in two FCV vehicles 200 (vehicles A and B) of different vehicle types….in most of the filling period, the vehicle B subtracts the pressure of the fuel tank 202 (vehicle tank pressure) of the FCV vehicle 200 from the dispenser outlet pressure as compared with the vehicle A….it is determined whether or not the filling speed is further lowered in the latter half of the filling period using the differential pressure between the dispenser outlet pressure and the vehicle tank pressure as a parameter…
Examiner notes that as described in parent claim 2, the value related to the filling time is the differential pressure];
the determination unit determines the filling timings or the filling order of the hydrogen gas for the plurality of work vehicles based on a candidate in which a total of the filling times is minimized, among the plurality of candidates. [page 15, ¶3: it is possible to detect a point in time when the differential pressure exceeds the threshold value Th ″ (or the threshold value Th ′) even once during the period of pressure P ′ to pressure P ″. When the differential pressure exceeds Th ″ (or threshold Th ′) even once during the period of pressure P ′ to pressure P ″, the control is switched to the filling control flow (2). If the differential pressure never exceeds Th ″ (or threshold Th ′) during the period of pressure P ′ to pressure P ″, the current filling control flow (1) is maintained.].
Regarding claim 7 (Amended):
YAMAGUCHI further discloses, a control data generation unit configured to generate control data of the plurality of work vehicles based on the filling timing or the filling order determined by the determination unit; and [Examiner notes that claim requires determining only one of the filling timings or the filling order and only one of them is giving the patentable weight.
Accordingly, YAMAGUCHI teaches the limitation, determines the filling timings, as described below:
page 9, ¶3: the system control unit 58 controls the valve control unit 60, the compressor control unit 62, the dispenser control unit 64, and the valve control unit 65…
page 9, ¶2: since the differential pressure between the pressure accumulator 12 and the fuel tank 202 is increased, a state where the filling speed is high can be maintained…
page 13, ¶1: Next, the flow planning unit 56 uses the multistage accumulator 101 to create a charging control flow plan for supplying (filling) hydrogen fuel to the fuel tank 202 of the FCV vehicle 200 with a differential pressure… the time t from the start of filling to reach the final pressure PF is obtained….When planning the filling control flow (1), the flow planning unit 56 sets a pressure increase rate…The filling control flow (1) is planned under these conditions, and the time t (end time 1) (arrival time) from the start of filling to reach the final pressure PF is obtained. In this way, the flow planning unit 56 calculates the arrival time from the start of filling to reach the final pressure PF for filling the fuel tank 202 (hydrogen storage container) with hydrogen fuel…
Examiner notes the claim interpretation as set forth in the current office action, and the broadest reasonable interpretation of control data generation unit can be a hardware or software];
a control data transmission unit configured to transmit the control data to the plurality of work vehicles. [page 9, ¶3: The valve control unit 60 outputs control signals to the valves 21, 23, 25, and 28 and the valves 322, 324, 326, and 328 via the communication control circuit 50 to control the opening and closing of each valve. The dispenser control unit 64 communicates with the dispenser 30 via the communication control circuit 50 and controls the operation of the dispenser 30 including the flow rate adjustment valve 29. The valve control unit 65 outputs a control signal to the valves 22, 24, and 26 via the communication control circuit 50 to control opening and closing of each valve.
Examiner notes the claim interpretation as set forth in the current office action, and the broadest reasonable interpretation of control data transmission unit can be a hardware or software].
Regarding claim 8:
YAMAGUCHI discloses, A system comprising: [page 3, ¶4: The present invention relates to a hydrogen fuel filling control method and a hydrogen fuel filling control device, and, for example, relates to a supply method for an ordinary vehicle using hydrogen as a fuel to fill hydrogen fuel at a hydrogen station, and an apparatus therefor.];
a plurality of work vehicles including a hydrogen tank, [page 14, ¶2: FIG. 6 shows an example of the transition (temporal displacement) of the differential pressure between the dispenser outlet pressure and the vehicle tank pressure from the start to the end of filling in two FCV vehicles 200 (vehicles A and B) of different vehicle types.];
a pressure gauge that acquires a measured value of a pressure of the hydrogen tank, a communication device that transmits the measured value of the pressure of the hydrogen tank; [page 16, ¶6: the pressure received while receiving the pressure measured by the pressure gauge 206 of the fuel tank 202 of the FCV vehicle 200 is used….the filling amount is controlled by the pressure increase rate of the hydrogen fuel using the pressure gauge 206…
page 12, ¶4: When the FCV vehicle 200 arrives in the hydrogen station 102…Communication with the device 34 is established…FCV information such as the current pressure…of the fuel tank 202…is output (transmitted) to the control circuit 100 via the relay device 34 in real time…The current pressure in the fuel tank 202 is measured by a pressure gauge 206…Within the control circuit 100, the receiving unit 52 receives FCV information via the communication control circuit 50….];
a hydrogen station including a pressure accumulator that raises a pressure of a hydrogen gas to a predetermined pressure to be filled with the hydrogen gas, [page 3, ¶2: a multi-stage accumulator including a plurality of accumulators for accumulating the hydrogen fuel compressed to a high pressure by a compressor is arranged.];
a pressure gauge that acquires a measured value of a pressure of the pressure accumulator, and a communication device that transmits the measured value of the pressure of the pressure accumulator; [page 6, ¶7: the pressure in the pressure accumulator 10 is measured by the pressure gauge 11. The pressure in the accumulator 12 is measured by a pressure gauge 13. The pressure in the accumulator 14 is measured by a pressure gauge 15.…
page 10, ¶3: the bank pressure receiving unit 66 receives the pressures of the pressure accumulators 10, 12, and 14 from the pressure gauges 11, 13, and 15 through the communication control circuit 50 at all times or at a predetermined sampling period.];
a management device including a communication device that receives the measured value of the pressure of the hydrogen tank and the measured value of the pressure of the pressure accumulator [page 12, ¶4: When the FCV vehicle 200 arrives in the hydrogen station 102…Communication with the device 34 is established…FCV information such as the current pressure…of the fuel tank 202…is output (transmitted) to the control circuit 100 via the relay device 34 in real time…The current pressure in the fuel tank 202 is measured by a pressure gauge 206…Within the control circuit 100, the receiving unit 52 receives FCV information via the communication control circuit 50….
page 10, ¶3: the bank pressure receiving unit 66 receives the pressures of the pressure accumulators 10, 12, and 14 from the pressure gauges 11, 13, and 15 through the communication control circuit 50 at all times or at a predetermined sampling period.];
a determination unit that determines filling timings or filling order of the hydrogen gas for the plurality of work vehicles based on the measured value of each of the pressure of the hydrogen tank and the pressure of the pressure accumulator. [Examiner notes that claim requires determining only one of filling timings or filling order and only one of them is giving the patentable weight.
Accordingly, YAMAGUCHI teaches the limitation, determine filling timings, as described below:
page 14, ¶1-¶2: calculates the differential pressure between the fuel filling outlet pressure of the dispenser 30 and a predetermined pressure related to the FCV vehicle 200. As the predetermined pressure related to the FCV vehicle 200, for example, the pressure of the fuel tank 202 (vehicle tank pressure) of the FCV vehicle 200 is used…it is determined whether or not the filling speed is further lowered…using the differential pressure between the dispenser outlet pressure and the vehicle tank pressure as a parameter.
page 9, ¶2: since the differential pressure between the pressure accumulator 14 and the fuel tank 202 is increased, a state where the filling speed is high can be maintained.
page 12, ¶1: while it is required to shorten the filling time for each FCV vehicle as much as possible, when the filling speed is further reduced for all the FCV vehicles 200, the filling control flow (1 )…the determination method described below is used so that any vehicle can be fully filled while preventing the filling time from becoming unnecessarily long.].
Regarding claim 9:
YAMAGUCHI further discloses, the management device includes an estimation unit that estimates a value related to a filling time of the hydrogen gas at the hydrogen station for the plurality of work vehicles based on the measured values of the pressures, [page 14, ¶1: calculates the differential pressure between the fuel filling outlet pressure of the dispenser 30 and a predetermined pressure related to the FCV vehicle 200. As the predetermined pressure related to the FCV vehicle 200, for example, the pressure of the fuel tank 202 (vehicle tank pressure) of the FCV vehicle 200 is used…
Examiner notes that, as described above, YAMAGUCHI teaches, a value related to a filling time such as the calculating differential pressure.];
and the determination unit determines the filling timings or the filling order of the hydrogen gas for the plurality of work vehicles based on the value related to the filling time. [Examiner notes that claim requires determining only one of the filling timings or the filling order and only one of them is giving the patentable weight.
Accordingly, YAMAGUCHI teaches the limitation, determines the filling timings, as described below:
page 9, ¶2: since the differential pressure between the pressure accumulator 12 and the fuel tank 202 is increased, a state where the filling speed is high can be maintained.
page 12, ¶1: while it is required to shorten the filling time for each FCV vehicle as much as possible, when the filling speed is further reduced for all the FCV vehicles 200, the filling control flow (1 )…the determination method described below is used so that any vehicle can be fully filled while preventing the filling time from becoming unnecessarily long].
Regarding claim 10:
YAMAGUCHI further discloses, wherein the determination unit determines the filling timings or the filling order of the hydrogen gas for the plurality of work vehicles such that a total of the filling times is minimized based on the value related to the filling time. [Examiner notes that claim requires determining only one of the filling timings or the filling order and only one of them is giving the patentable weight.
Accordingly, YAMAGUCHI teaches the limitation, determines the filling timings, as described below:
page 9, ¶2: since the differential pressure between the pressure accumulator 12 and the fuel tank 202 is increased, a state where the filling speed is high can be maintained.
page 12, ¶1: while it is required to shorten the filling time for each FCV vehicle as much as possible, when the filling speed is further reduced for all the FCV vehicles 200, the filling control flow (1 )…the determination method described below is used so that any vehicle can be fully filled while preventing the filling time from becoming unnecessarily long].
Regarding claim 11 (Amended):
YAMAGUCHI further discloses, wherein the value related to the filling time is a differential pressure between the pressure of the hydrogen tank and the pressure of the pressure accumulator at a time of hydrogen gas filling start, [page 14, ¶1: calculates the differential pressure between the fuel filling outlet pressure of the dispenser 30 and a predetermined pressure related to the FCV vehicle 200. As the predetermined pressure related to the FCV vehicle 200, for example, the pressure of the fuel tank 202 (vehicle tank pressure) of the FCV vehicle 200 is used];
and the determination unit determines the filling timing or the filling order such that a total of the differential pressures between the pressure of the hydrogen tank and the pressure of the pressure accumulator at the time of hydrogen gas filling start of each of the plurality of work vehicles is maximized. [page 9, ¶2: since the differential pressure between the pressure accumulator 14 and the fuel tank 202 is increased, a state where the filling speed is high can be maintained. Then, the hydrogen fuel accumulated in the accumulator 14 due to the differential pressure between the accumulator 14 and the fuel tank 202 moves toward the fuel tank 202].
Regarding claim 12 (Amended):
YAMAGUCHI further discloses, wherein the management device includes a candidate generation unit that generates a plurality of candidates related to the filling timings or the filling order of the hydrogen gas for the plurality of work vehicles, [Examiner notes that claim requires determining only one of the filling timings or the filling order and only one of them is giving the patentable weight.
Accordingly, YAMAGUCHI teaches the limitation, determines the filling timings, as described below:
Page 14, ¶2: FIG. 6 is a diagram showing an example of the transition of the differential pressure between the dispenser outlet pressure (fuel filling outlet pressure of the dispenser 30) and the vehicle tank pressure in the first embodiment. FIG. 6 shows an example of the transition (temporal displacement) of the differential pressure between the dispenser outlet pressure and the vehicle tank pressure from the start to the end of filling in two FCV vehicles 200 (vehicles A and B) of different vehicle types….in most of the filling period, the vehicle B subtracts the pressure of the fuel tank 202 (vehicle tank pressure) of the FCV vehicle 200 from the dispenser outlet pressure as compared with the vehicle A….it is determined whether or not the filling speed is further lowered in the latter half of the filling period using the differential pressure between the dispenser outlet pressure and the vehicle tank pressure as a parameter…
Examiner notes that in broadest reasonable interpretation the limitation describes determination of candidate vehicles that are candidate for filling hydrogen in order to fill them in a filling time];
the estimation unit estimates the value related to the filling time of the hydrogen gas for each of the plurality of candidates, [ page 14, ¶2: the transition (temporal displacement) of the differential pressure between the dispenser outlet pressure and the vehicle tank pressure from the start to the end of filling in two FCV vehicles 200 (vehicles A and B) of different vehicle types….in most of the filling period, the vehicle B subtracts the pressure of the fuel tank 202 (vehicle tank pressure) of the FCV vehicle 200 from the dispenser outlet pressure as compared with the vehicle A….it is determined whether or not the filling speed is further lowered in the latter half of the filling period using the differential pressure between the dispenser outlet pressure and the vehicle tank pressure as a parameter…
Examiner notes that as described in parent claim 2, the value related to the filling time is the differential pressure];
the determination unit determines the filling timings or the filling order of the hydrogen gas for the plurality of work vehicles based on a candidate in which a total of the filling times is minimized, among the plurality of candidates. [page 15, ¶3: it is possible to detect a point in time when the differential pressure exceeds the threshold value Th ″ (or the threshold value Th ′) even once during the period of pressure P ′ to pressure P ″. When the differential pressure exceeds Th ″ (or threshold Th ′) even once during the period of pressure P ′ to pressure P ″, the control is switched to the filling control flow (2). If the differential pressure never exceeds Th ″ (or threshold Th ′) during the period of pressure P ′ to pressure P ″, the current filling control flow (1) is maintained.].
Regarding claim 14 (Amended):
YAMAGUCHI further discloses a control data generation unit configured to generate control data of the plurality of work vehicles based on the filling timing or the filling order determined by the determination unit; [Examiner notes that claim requires determining only one of the filling timings or the filling order and only one of them is giving the patentable weight.
Accordingly, YAMAGUCHI teaches the limitation, determines the filling timings, as described below:
page 9, ¶3: the system control unit 58 controls the valve control unit 60, the compressor control unit 62, the dispenser control unit 64, and the valve control unit 65…
page 9, ¶2: since the differential pressure between the pressure accumulator 12 and the fuel tank 202 is increased, a state where the filling speed is high can be maintained…
page 13, ¶1: Next, the flow planning unit 56 uses the multistage accumulator 101 to create a charging control flow plan for supplying (filling) hydrogen fuel to the fuel tank 202 of the FCV vehicle 200 with a differential pressure… the time t from the start of filling to reach the final pressure PF is obtained….When planning the filling control flow (1), the flow planning unit 56 sets a pressure increase rate…The filling control flow (1) is planned under these conditions, and the time t (end time 1) (arrival time) from the start of filling to reach the final pressure PF is obtained. In this way, the flow planning unit 56 calculates the arrival time from the start of filling to reach the final pressure PF for filling the fuel tank 202 (hydrogen storage container) with hydrogen fuel…
Examiner notes the claim interpretation as set forth in the current office action, and the broadest reasonable interpretation of control data generation unit can be a hardware or software];
a control data transmission unit configured to transmit the control data to the plurality of work vehicles. [page 9, ¶3: The valve control unit 60 outputs control signals to the valves 21, 23, 25, and 28 and the valves 322, 324, 326, and 328 via the communication control circuit 50 to control the opening and closing of each valve. The dispenser control unit 64 communicates with the dispenser 30 via the communication control circuit 50 and controls the operation of the dispenser 30 including the flow rate adjustment valve 29. The valve control unit 65 outputs a control signal to the valves 22, 24, and 26 via the communication control circuit 50 to control opening and closing of each valve.
Examiner notes the claim interpretation as set forth in the current office action, and the broadest reasonable interpretation of control data transmission unit can be a hardware or software].
Regarding claim 15:
YAMAGUCHI discloses, A work vehicle management method comprising: [page 3, ¶4: The present invention relates to a hydrogen fuel filling control method and a hydrogen fuel filling control device, and, for example, relates to a supply method for an ordinary vehicle using hydrogen as a fuel to fill hydrogen fuel at a hydrogen station, and an apparatus therefor.];
a step of acquiring a measured value of a pressure of a hydrogen tank of each of a plurality of work vehicles, on which the hydrogen tanks are mounted, [page 16, ¶6: the pressure received while receiving the pressure measured by the pressure gauge 206 of the fuel tank 202 of the FCV vehicle 200 is used….the filling amount is controlled by the pressure increase rate of the hydrogen fuel using the pressure gauge 206…
page 12, ¶4: When the FCV vehicle 200 arrives in the hydrogen station 102…Communication with the device 34 is established…FCV information such as the current pressure…of the fuel tank 202…is output (transmitted) to the control circuit 100 via the relay device 34 in real time…The current pressure in the fuel tank 202 is measured by a pressure gauge 206…Within the control circuit 100, the receiving unit 52 receives FCV information via the communication control circuit 50
page 10, ¶1: The system control unit 58 monitors the pressure of the fuel tank 202 and the outside air temperature (not shown) received by the receiving unit 52];
a measured value of a pressure of a pressure accumulator of a hydrogen station where the hydrogen tanks are filled with a hydrogen gas; [page 13, ¶3: As the differential pressure calculation step (S108), first, the dispenser outlet pressure receiving unit 68 receives (acquires) the fuel filling outlet pressure of the dispenser 30 measured from the pressure gauge 17 via the communication control circuit 50…
page 6, ¶7: the pressure in the pressure accumulator 10 is measured by the pressure gauge 11. The pressure in the accumulator 12 is measured by a pressure gauge 13. The pressure in the accumulator 14 is measured by a pressure gauge 15.…
page 10, ¶3: the bank pressure receiving unit 66 receives the pressures of the pressure accumulators 10, 12, and 14 from the pressure gauges 11, 13, and 15 through the communication control circuit 50 at all times or at a predetermined sampling period.];
a step of determining filling timings or filling order of the hydrogen gas for the plurality of work vehicles based on the measured values of the pressures. [Examiner notes that claim requires determining only one of filling timings or filling order and only one of them is giving the patentable weight.
Accordingly, YAMAGUCHI teaches the limitation, determine filling timings, as described below:
page 14, ¶1-¶2: calculates the differential pressure between the fuel filling outlet pressure of the dispenser 30 and a predetermined pressure related to the FCV vehicle 200. As the predetermined pressure related to the FCV vehicle 200, for example, the pressure of the fuel tank 202 (vehicle tank pressure) of the FCV vehicle 200 is used…it is determined whether or not the filling speed is further lowered…using the differential pressure between the dispenser outlet pressure and the vehicle tank pressure as a parameter.
page 9, ¶2: since the differential pressure between the pressure accumulator 14 and the fuel tank 202 is increased, a state where the filling speed is high can be maintained.
page 12, ¶1: while it is required to shorten the filling time for each FCV vehicle as much as possible, when the filling speed is further reduced for all the FCV vehicles 200, the filling control flow (1 )…the determination method described below is used so that any vehicle can be fully filled while preventing the filling time from becoming unnecessarily long.
Examiner notes the claim interpretation as set forth in the current office action, and the broadest reasonable interpretation of determination unit can be a hardware or software].
Regarding claim 16:
YAMAGUCHI further discloses, a step of estimating a value related to a filling time of the hydrogen gas at the hydrogen station for the plurality of work vehicles based on the measured values of the pressures, [page 14, ¶1: calculates the differential pressure between the fuel filling outlet pressure of the dispenser 30 and a predetermined pressure related to the FCV vehicle 200. As the predetermined pressure related to the FCV vehicle 200, for example, the pressure of the fuel tank 202 (vehicle tank pressure) of the FCV vehicle 200 is used…
Examiner notes that, as described above, YAMAGUCHI teaches, a value related to a filling time such as the calculating differential pressure.];
wherein in the step of determining the filling timings or the filling order, the filling timings or the filling order of the hydrogen gas for the plurality of work vehicles is determined based on the value related to the filling time. [Examiner notes that claim requires determining only one of the filling timings or the filling order and only one of them is giving the patentable weight.
Accordingly, YAMAGUCHI teaches the limitation, determines the filling timings, as described below:
page 9, ¶2: since the differential pressure between the pressure accumulator 12 and the fuel tank 202 is increased, a state where the filling speed is high can be maintained.
page 12, ¶1: while it is required to shorten the filling time for each FCV vehicle as much as possible, when the filling speed is further reduced for all the FCV vehicles 200, the filling control flow (1 )…the determination method described below is used so that any vehicle can be fully filled while preventing the filling time from becoming unnecessarily long].
Regarding claim 17:
YAMAGUCHI further discloses, wherein in the step of determining the filling timings or the filling order, the filling timings or the filling order of the hydrogen gas for the plurality of work vehicles is determined such that a total of the filling times is minimized based on the value related to the filling time. [Examiner notes that claim requires determining only one of the filling timings or the filling order and only one of them is giving the patentable weight.
Accordingly, YAMAGUCHI teaches the limitation, determines the filling timings, as described below:
page 9, ¶2: since the differential pressure between the pressure accumulator 12 and the fuel tank 202 is increased, a state where the filling speed is high can be maintained.
page 12, ¶1: while it is required to shorten the filling time for each FCV vehicle as much as possible, when the filling speed is further reduced for all the FCV vehicles 200, the filling control flow (1 )…the determination method described below is used so that any vehicle can be fully filled while preventing the filling time from becoming unnecessarily long].
Regarding claim 18 (Amended):
YAMAGUCHI further discloses, wherein the value related to the filling time is a differential pressure between the pressure of the hydrogen tank and the pressure of the pressure accumulator at a time of hydrogen gas filling start, [page 14, ¶1: calculates the differential pressure between the fuel filling outlet pressure of the dispenser 30 and a predetermined pressure related to the FCV vehicle 200. As the predetermined pressure related to the FCV vehicle 200, for example, the pressure of the fuel tank 202 (vehicle tank pressure) of the FCV vehicle 200 is used];
in the step of determining the filling timing or the filling order, the filling timing or the filling order is determined such that a total of the differential pressures between the pressure of the hydrogen tank and the pressure of the pressure accumulator at the time of hydrogen gas filling start of each of the plurality of work vehicles is maximized. [page 9, ¶2: since the differential pressure between the pressure accumulator 14 and the fuel tank 202 is increased, a state where the filling speed is high can be maintained. Then, the hydrogen fuel accumulated in the accumulator 14 due to the differential pressure between the accumulator 14 and the fuel tank 202 moves toward the fuel tank 202].
Regarding claim 19 (Amended):
YAMAGUCHI further discloses, a step of generating a plurality of candidates related to the filling timings or the filling order of the hydrogen gas for the plurality of work vehicles, [Examiner notes that claim requires determining only one of the filling timings or the filling order and only one of them is giving the patentable weight.
Accordingly, YAMAGUCHI teaches the limitation, determines the filling timings, as described below:
Page 14, ¶2: FIG. 6 is a diagram showing an example of the transition of the differential pressure between the dispenser outlet pressure (fuel filling outlet pressure of the dispenser 30) and the vehicle tank pressure in the first embodiment. FIG. 6 shows an example of the transition (temporal displacement) of the differential pressure between the dispenser outlet pressure and the vehicle tank pressure from the start to the end of filling in two FCV vehicles 200 (vehicles A and B) of different vehicle types….in most of the filling period, the vehicle B subtracts the pressure of the fuel tank 202 (vehicle tank pressure) of the FCV vehicle 200 from the dispenser outlet pressure as compared with the vehicle A….it is determined whether or not the filling speed is further lowered in the latter half of the filling period using the differential pressure between the dispenser outlet pressure and the vehicle tank pressure as a parameter…
Examiner notes that in broadest reasonable interpretation the limitation describes determination of candidate vehicles that are candidate for filling hydrogen in order to fill them in a filling time];
wherein in the step of estimating the value related to the filling time, the value related to the filling time of the hydrogen gas for each of the plurality of candidates is estimated, [ page 14, ¶2: the transition (temporal displacement) of the differential pressure between the dispenser outlet pressure and the vehicle tank pressure from the start to the end of filling in two FCV vehicles 200 (vehicles A and B) of different vehicle types….in most of the filling period, the vehicle B subtracts the pressure of the fuel tank 202 (vehicle tank pressure) of the FCV vehicle 200 from the dispenser outlet pressure as compared with the vehicle A….it is determined whether or not the filling speed is further lowered in the latter half of the filling period using the differential pressure between the dispenser outlet pressure and the vehicle tank pressure as a parameter…
Examiner notes that as described in parent claim 2, the value related to the filling time is the differential pressure];
in the step of determining the filling timings or the filling order, the filling timings or the filling order of the hydrogen gas for the plurality of work vehicles is determined based on a candidate in which a total of the filling times is minimized, among the plurality of candidates. [page 15, ¶3: it is possible to detect a point in time when the differential pressure exceeds the threshold value Th ″ (or the threshold value Th ′) even once during the period of pressure P ′ to pressure P ″. When the differential pressure exceeds Th ″ (or threshold Th ′) even once during the period of pressure P ′ to pressure P ″, the control is switched to the filling control flow (2). If the differential pressure never exceeds Th ″ (or threshold Th ′) during the period of pressure P ′ to pressure P ″, the current filling control flow (1) is maintained.].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claim(s) 6, 13 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YAMAGUCHI, and further in view of Sudou (US20040143377A1) [hereinafter Sudou].
Regarding claim 6:
YAMAGUCHI further discloses, wherein the candidate generation unit generates a candidate of the filling order of the hydrogen gas, and [Page 14, ¶2: FIG. 6 shows an example of the transition (temporal displacement) of the differential pressure between the dispenser outlet pressure and the vehicle tank pressure from the start to the end of filling in two FCV vehicles 200 (vehicles A and B) of different vehicle types….it is determined whether or not the filling speed is further lowered in the latter half of the filling period using the differential pressure between the dispenser outlet pressure and the vehicle tank pressure as a parameter…
Examiner notes that in broadest reasonable interpretation the limitation describes determining of a candidate vehicle for filling hydrogen];
estimates a differential pressure between the hydrogen tank and the pressure accumulator at the estimated time based on the measured values of the pressures, and estimates the filling time of the hydrogen gas based on the differential pressure. [page 14, ¶2: the transition (temporal displacement) of the differential pressure between the dispenser outlet pressure and the vehicle tank pressure from the start to the end of filling in two FCV vehicles 200 (vehicles A and B) of different vehicle types….in most of the filling period, the vehicle B subtracts the pressure of the fuel tank 202 (vehicle tank pressure) of the FCV vehicle 200 from the dispenser outlet pressure as compared with the vehicle A….it is determined whether or not the filling speed is further lowered in the latter half of the filling period using the differential pressure between the dispenser outlet pressure and the vehicle tank pressure as a parameter…], but doesn’t explicitly disclose, and
Sudou disclose, the estimation unit estimates a time when filling of each of the plurality of work vehicles with the hydrogen gas starts at the hydrogen station such that work vehicles exceeding a simultaneously fillable number do not exist simultaneously at the hydrogen station according to the filling order, [¶55: The refueling permissible number calculated here makes a target number provided that, for example, the number (referred below to as “target number”)…
¶64: makes a calculation, for each vehicle 15, as to from which spot on the predetermined courses 7, 9 to the oil station R….(of course, the calculated spot eliminate simultaneous arrival of vehicles exceeding a predetermined number (for example, the refueling permissible number, or the number affording simultaneous refueling at the oil station R). Then the running control unit 73 transmits a refueling command…to a target vehicle 15 to have the same being off the course 7 or 9 at the respective spots (referred below to as “running modifying spot”) calculated every vehicle 15 to go to the oil station R.
¶67: adjust a refueling timing in its own refueling schedule in a time range, in which the vehicle is free from gas shortage, such that more vehicles than a predetermined number of vehicles are not simultaneously refueled.
Examiner notes the 35 USC 112(b) rejections as set forth in the current office action.
Examiner notes that in broadest reasonable interpretation the system determines a filling start time that is determination of start of filling of a candidate vehicle and not more than a number of vehicles are present to refuel simultaneously at the filling station.].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filling date of the claimed invention to have combined the capability of estimating a time when filling of each of the plurality of work vehicles with the hydrogen gas starts at the hydrogen station such that work vehicles exceeding a simultaneously fillable number do not exist simultaneously at the hydrogen station according to the filling order in order to efficiently perform maintenance such as fueling of the vehicles taught by Sudou with the system taught by YAMAGUCHI as discussed above in order to have reasonable expectation of success such as to efficiently perform maintenance such as fueling of the vehicles [Sudou, ¶8: maintenance of the plurality of vehicles is efficiently done and a predetermined productivity can be maintained.].
Regarding claim 13:
YAMAGUCHI further discloses, wherein the candidate generation unit generates a candidate of the filling order of the hydrogen gas, [Page 14, ¶2: FIG. 6 shows an example of the transition (temporal displacement) of the differential pressure between the dispenser outlet pressure and the vehicle tank pressure from the start to the end of filling in two FCV vehicles 200 (vehicles A and B) of different vehicle types….it is determined whether or not the filling speed is further lowered in the latter half of the filling period using the differential pressure between the dispenser outlet pressure and the vehicle tank pressure as a parameter…
Examiner notes that in broadest reasonable interpretation the limitation describes determining of a candidate vehicle for filling hydrogen];
estimates a differential pressure between the hydrogen tank and the pressure accumulator at the estimated time based on the measured values of the pressures, and estimates the filling time of the hydrogen gas based on the differential pressure. [page 14, ¶2: the transition (temporal displacement) of the differential pressure between the dispenser outlet pressure and the vehicle tank pressure from the start to the end of filling in two FCV vehicles 200 (vehicles A and B) of different vehicle types….in most of the filling period, the vehicle B subtracts the pressure of the fuel tank 202 (vehicle tank pressure) of the FCV vehicle 200 from the dispenser outlet pressure as compared with the vehicle A….it is determined whether or not the filling speed is further lowered in the latter half of the filling period using the differential pressure between the dispenser outlet pressure and the vehicle tank pressure as a parameter…], but doesn’t explicitly disclose, and
Sudou disclose, the estimation unit estimates a time when filling of each of the plurality of work vehicles with the hydrogen gas starts at the hydrogen station such that work vehicles exceeding a simultaneously fillable number do not exist simultaneously at the hydrogen station according to the filling order, [¶55: The refueling permissible number calculated here makes a target number provided that, for example, the number (referred below to as “target number”)…
¶64: makes a calculation, for each vehicle 15, as to from which spot on the predetermined courses 7, 9 to the oil station R….(of course, the calculated spot eliminate simultaneous arrival of vehicles exceeding a predetermined number (for example, the refueling permissible number, or the number affording simultaneous refueling at the oil station R). Then the running control unit 73 transmits a refueling command…to a target vehicle 15 to have the same being off the course 7 or 9 at the respective spots (referred below to as “running modifying spot”) calculated every vehicle 15 to go to the oil station R.
¶67: adjust a refueling timing in its own refueling schedule in a time range, in which the vehicle is free from gas shortage, such that more vehicles than a predetermined number of vehicles are not simultaneously refueled.
Examiner notes the 35 USC 112(b) rejections as set forth in the current office action.
Examiner notes that in broadest reasonable interpretation the system determines a filling start time that is determination of start of filling of a candidate vehicle and not more than a number of vehicles are present to refuel simultaneously at the filling station.].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filling date of the claimed invention to have combined the above described teachings of Sudou with the system taught by YAMAGUCHI as discussed above for the same reasons as described above in claim 6.
Regarding claim 20:
YAMAGUCHI further discloses, wherein in the step of generating the plurality of candidates, a plurality of candidates related to the filling order of the hydrogen gas are generated, [Page 14, ¶2: FIG. 6 shows an example of the transition (temporal displacement) of the differential pressure between the dispenser outlet pressure and the vehicle tank pressure from the start to the end of filling in two FCV vehicles 200 (vehicles A and B) of different vehicle types….it is determined whether or not the filling speed is further lowered in the latter half of the filling period using the differential pressure between the dispenser outlet pressure and the vehicle tank pressure as a parameter…
Examiner notes that in broadest reasonable interpretation the limitation describes determining of a candidate vehicle for filling hydrogen];
a differential pressure between the hydrogen tank and the pressure accumulator at the estimated time is estimated based on the measured values of the pressures, and the filling time of the hydrogen gas is estimated based on the differential pressure. [page 14, ¶2: the transition (temporal displacement) of the differential pressure between the dispenser outlet pressure and the vehicle tank pressure from the start to the end of filling in two FCV vehicles 200 (vehicles A and B) of different vehicle types….in most of the filling period, the vehicle B subtracts the pressure of the fuel tank 202 (vehicle tank pressure) of the FCV vehicle 200 from the dispenser outlet pressure as compared with the vehicle A….it is determined whether or not the filling speed is further lowered in the latter half of the filling period using the differential pressure between the dispenser outlet pressure and the vehicle tank pressure as a parameter], but doesn’t explicitly disclose, and
Sudou disclose, in the step of estimating the value related to the filling time, a time when filling of each of the plurality of work vehicles with the hydrogen gas starts at the hydrogen station is estimated such that work vehicles exceeding a simultaneously fillable number do not exist simultaneously at the hydrogen station according to the filling order, [¶55: The refueling permissible number calculated here makes a target number provided that, for example, the number (referred below to as “target number”)…
¶64: makes a calculation, for each vehicle 15, as to from which spot on the predetermined courses 7, 9 to the oil station R….(of course, the calculated spot eliminate simultaneous arrival of vehicles exceeding a predetermined number (for example, the refueling permissible number, or the number affording simultaneous refueling at the oil station R). Then the running control unit 73 transmits a refueling command…to a target vehicle 15 to have the same being off the course 7 or 9 at the respective spots (referred below to as “running modifying spot”) calculated every vehicle 15 to go to the oil station R.
¶67: adjust a refueling timing in its own refueling schedule in a time range, in which the vehicle is free from gas shortage, such that more vehicles than a predetermined number of vehicles are not simultaneously refueled.
Examiner notes the 35 USC 112(b) rejections as set forth in the current office action.
Examiner notes that in broadest reasonable interpretation the system determines a filling start time that is determination of start of filling of a candidate vehicle and not more than a number of vehicles are present to refuel simultaneously at the filling station.].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filling date of the claimed invention to have combined the above described teachings of Sudou with the system taught by YAMAGUCHI as discussed above for the same reasons as described above in claim 6.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is listed in the PTO-892 Notice of Reference Cited document.
Nagura et al. (US20140332114A1) - Gas supply method and gas supply apparatus
¶15: the control device determines a relationship between a filling pressure that serves as a pressure of the gas to be supplied to the tank and a target flow rate that serves as a target value of a flow rate of the gas to be supplied to the tank before supplying the gas to the tank from the compressor, determines the target flow rate based on the pressure detected by the filling pressure meter,.
Watanabe (US20220196210A1) - Hydrogen gas filling method and hydrogen station:
¶15: , its object is to provide, by making it typically possible to maintain the high-pressure bank, a filling method to the bank of the hydrogen gas that reduces the delay of the supply time of the hydrogen gas to the second and subsequent FCVs and a hydrogen station.
/M.S./
Patent Examiner,
Art Unit 2116
/KENNETH M LO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2116