DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-3, 5-7, 9, 11, 14-17, 19, 30 in the reply filed on 5-12-2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2,17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites “the hollow bodies”. There is a lack of antecedent basis for “the hollow bodies” in previous claim limitations.
Claim 17 recites “the composition prior to filing”. There is a lack of antecedent basis for “the composition prior to filing” in previous claim limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1,3,5-7,9,11,14-17,19,30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by Byrne et al(2018/0207611).
Byrne et al teaches a composition for producing porous structures(para 0136 noting “particulate adsorbent material”), the composition comprising: from 5 wt.% to 95 wt.% hollow glass bodies (para 0136 noting “hollow borosilicate glass microspheres”, also noting glass microspheres in table 2 composition with 45 wt% based on percentage of total combined weight of the hollow glass bodies and the inorganic powder (glass microspheres dry wt 1336/2969 = 45% )) ; from 5 wt.% to 95 wt.% inorganic powder(para 0136 noting “kaolin clay”, wherein kaolin clay is a fine white clay powder; also noting kaolin in table 2 composition with 55 wt% based on percentage of total combined weight of the hollow glass bodies and the inorganic powder (kaolin dry wt 1633/2969 = 55%)), wherein the wt.% is based on the total combined weight of the hollow glass bodies and the inorganic powder; at least one binder(methylcellulose binder in table 2); and water(para 0136 stating “the dry ingredients were charged to the equipment and then the silicate and a sufficient amount of water were added to result in an extrudable paste”) , wherein the inorganic powder has a median particle size of less than or equal to 0.5 times a median particle size of the hollow bodies(noting powder of kaolin clay has a median particle size of less than or equal to 0.5 times a median particle size of hollow borosilicate glass microspheres”).
With regards to claim 3, Byrne et al further teaches wherein the inorganic powder comprises a single inorganic powder that acts as one or more of a rigid frame material, a crystallization agent, a reactive agent, or combinations of these(examiner notes that “kaolin clay” is a single inorganic powder, and examiner notes the limitations “that acts as one or more of a rigid frame material, a crystallization agent, a reactive agent, or combinations of these” are not given patentable weight for prior art analysis , wherein the stated limitations are characteristics based on a sintered composition, wherein the composition of claim 1 does not require a sintered structure).
With regards to claim 5, Byrne et al further teaches wherein the inorganic powder that acts as one or more of a rigid frame material, a crystallization agent, a reactive agent, or combinations of these(examiner notes that “kaolin clay” is an inorganic powder, and examiner notes the limitations “that acts as one or more of a rigid frame material, a crystallization agent, a reactive agent, or combinations of these” are not given patentable weight for prior art analysis , wherein the stated limitations are characteristics based on a sintered composition, wherein the composition of claim 1 does not require a sintered structure).
With regards to claim 6, Byrne et al further teaches wherein the inorganic powder includes a rigid frame material comprising one or more powders selected from the group consisting of alumina, silica, titania, zirconia, cordierite, mullite, spinel, forsterite, wollastonite, clinoenstatite, diopside, zircon, sapphirine, clay(kaolin clay), SiC, Al4C₃, ZrC, Si₃N₄, AIN, and combinations of these (Examiner notes the limitations “includes a rigid frame material are not given patentable weight for prior art analysis , wherein the stated limitations are characteristics based on a sintered composition, wherein the composition of claim 1 does not require a sintered structure.”.
With regards to claim 7, Byrne et al further teaches wherein the inorganic powder comprises a rigid frame material that is capable of maintaining its original particle shape at temperatures: (i) greater than the softening temperature of the hollow bodies, has a melt temperature greater than the softening temperature of the hollow bodies, or both; or (ii) greater than the crystallization temperature of the hollow bodies, has a has a melt temperature greater than the crystallization temperature of the hollow bodies, or both (Examiner notes the claimed limitations are not given patentable weight for prior art analysis , wherein the stated limitations are characteristics based on a sintered composition, wherein the composition of claim 1 does not require a sintered structure).
With regards to claim 9, Byrne et al further teaches one or more powders selected from the group consisting of MgO, Mg(OH)₂, CaO, K2O, Na₂O, KOH, NaOH, CaCO₃, B₂O₃, B(OH)₃, BN, B4C, TiO2, talc, clay(kaolin clay), forsterite, wollastonite, clinoenstatite, diopside and combinations of these.
With regards to claim 11, Byrne et al further teaches wherein the hollow bodies: (i) comprise silica glass microspheres; or (ii) have a D50 of from 1 µm to 100 um and a size distribution of less than 0.8, where the size distribution is defined as the quotient of (D50-D10)/D50; or (iii) have a wall thickness of from 0.2 um to 10 um.
With regards to claim 14, Byrne et al further teaches wherein the composition has a peak firing temperature less than or equal to 1400 °C(para 0139 stating “the dried particles/pellets were then calcined under inert nitrogen atmosphere in a box furnace, a tube furnace, or in a rotary kiln. … up to about 1100 °C”. )
With regards to claim 15, Byrne et al further teaches a porous structure prepared from the composition of claim 1.
With regards to claim 16 , Byrne et al further teaches from 5 wt.% to 95 wt.% glass based on the total weight of the porous structure; and from 5% to 95% inorganic powder based on the total weight of the porous structure.
With regards to claim 17 , Byrne et al further teaches wherein the porous structure comprises a size and shape within 15% of a size and shape of a green structure comprising the composition prior to firing (Examiner noting based on a sintering temperature of about 1100 °C, and based on a composition including components of claim 1, that a porous structure prepared from the composition of claim 1 is expected to have a size and shape within 15% of a size and shape of a green structure comprising the composition prior to firing).
With regards to claim 19 , Byrne et al further teaches wherein the porous structure has a D-factor of less than or equal to 0.5, wherein: the D-factor is equal to (d50-d10)/d50; d50 refers to a mean pore diameter of the porous structure at which 50% by volume of the open porosity of the porous structure has been intruded by mercury during a porosimetry measurement; and d₁₀ is equal to the pore diameter at which 90% by volume of the open porosity of the porous structure has been intruded by mercury during a porosimetry measurement (Examiner noting based on a sintering temperature of about 1100 °C, and based on a composition including components of claim 1, that a porous structure prepared from the composition of claim 1 is expected to have a D-factor of less than or equal to 0.5 ; also noting para 0141 stating “by varying the proportions of ingredients , exemplary particulate adsorbent was prepared with a range of porosity properties”).
With regards to claim 30 , Byrne et al further teaches wherein the porous structure has median pore from 8 µm to 20 µm, and a porosity of from 50% to 85%, or both (Examiner noting based on a sintering temperature of about 1100 °C, and based on a composition including components of claim 1, that a porous structure prepared from the composition of claim 1 is expected to have median pore from 8 µm to 20 µm, and a porosity of from 50% to 85%, or both ; also noting para 0141 stating “by varying the proportions of ingredients , exemplary particulate adsorbent was prepared with a range of porosity properties”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Byrne et al(2018/0207611).
Byrne et al teaches all of the limitations of claim 2 but is silent as to comprising from 50 vol.% to 99 vol.% hollow glass bodies and from 1 vol.% to 50 vol.% inorganic powder based on the combined true volume of the hollow bodies and the inorganic powder. Examiner respectfully submits a vol% of the hollow borosilicate glass microspheres and a vol% of the kaolin clay are a result effective variable, wherein it would been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vol% of the hollow borosilicate glass microspheres and kaolin clay, through routine experimentation, in order to meet the claimed vol%.
/ROBERT A HOPKINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1776
June 9, 2026