In the response to this Office action, the Office respectfully requests that support be shown for language added to any original claims on amendment and any new claims. That is, indicate support for newly added claim language by specifically pointing to page(s) and line numbers in the specification and/or drawing figure(s). This will assist the Office in prosecuting this application.
The Office has cited particular figures, elements, paragraphs and/or columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the responses, to fully consider each of the cited references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage disclosed by the Office.
Status of Claims
- Applicant’s Amendment filed October 27, 2025 is acknowledged.
- Claim(s) 1, 2, 5-8 is/are amended
- Claim(s) 9-10 is/are new
- Claim(s) 1-10 is/are pending in the application.
This action is FINAL
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on August 13, 2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakamoto, International Patent Publication No. WO 2020090477 (publication date May 5, 2020), Examiner is using U. S. Patent Publication No. 20210389822 (National Stage Application) as English translation of International Publication in view of Gwak et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20200124860.
Consider claim 1, Sakamoto teaches a head-mounted display comprising: a main body that has a display panel (see Sakamoto figure 1, element 44, 38 and paragraphs 0041-0042 where HMD includes a display section 38);
a front support section that is connected to an upper side of the main body, (see Sakamoto figure 1 reproduced below and paragraph 0047 where display section 38 is positioned in front of a user when the HMD 12 is mounted on the user. Therefore, the illustrated band would have a front support section connected to an upper side of the main body and placed on a forehead of a user so as to position the display in front of a user when the HMD is mounted on the user);
the front support section comprising:
a housing that is disposed on the front support section, the housing configured to accommodate a portion of the motor frame; (see Sakamoto paragraph 0070 where rocking section 42 may be provided on an inner surface of the housing 44. Additionally, the rocking section 42 need not be provided in the HMD 12. where it is illustrated in figure 1 that element 42 is incorporated into front support section such that front support section corresponds to housing the rocking section); and
a vibration motor that is accommodated in the housing (see Sakamoto paragraph 0070 where rocking section 42 may be provided on an inner surface of the housing 44. Additionally, the rocking section 42 need not be provided in the HMD 12. where it is illustrated in figure 1 that element 42 is incorporated into front support section such that front support section corresponds to housing the rocking section),
Sakamot is silent regarding a motor frame.
In the same field of endeavor, Gwak teaches a vibration motor formed in a recess on a frame so as to attach a vibration motor to a frame (see Gwak figure 19, element ac52, bc52 and paragraphs 0098-0099).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have modified Sakamoto with the teachings of Gwak to have a recess section in which a part of the vibration motor is disposed is formed on the frame so as to attach a vibration motor to a frame using known techniques with predictable results.
Incorporation of the teachings of Gwak would have resulted in having a motor frame comprising: a left column and a right column (see Gwak figure 19, reproduced below, element left column, right column); and a body support portion extending forward from lower parts of the left and right columns and connected to an upper part of the main body (see Gwak figure 19, reproduced below, element body support and Sakamoto figure 1 where rocking section is connected to an upper part of the main body 44); wherein the motor frame is configured to hold the vibration motor between the left and right columns (see Gwak figure 19, element ac52).
Sakamoto illustrates rocking section 42 in the center of the front surface of the housing (see Sakamoto figure 1, element 42, 44 and paragraphs 0049-0050, 0069). Further, Sakamoto teaches in paragraph 0070 that rocking section 42 may be provided on an inner surface of the housing 44 (see Sakamoto paragraph 0070). It is clear from paragraphs 0049-0050 that Sakamoto equates the illustrated location of element 42 to correspond to a portion of housing 44 (see Sakamoto paragraph 0050 where In an example in FIG. 1, one rocking section 42 is provided in the center of the front surface of the housing 44 of the HMD 12). Therefore, one of ordinary skill would readily recognize, without inventive inspiration, that the location of the rocking section is attached to a n upper portion of a housing that is located at a front support section. Further, in view of Sakamoto’s express teaching that the rocking section may be provided on an inner surface of the housing, the recited features of the claim would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill based on the disclosure of Sakamoto.
Consider claim 2, Sakamoto as modified by Gwak teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and further teaches wherein the vibration motor is configured to vibrate in a direction intersecting an up-down direction of the display panel (see Sakamoto paragraph 0049 where the rocking section 42 is an eccentric motor, a spindle included in the rocking section 42 may rotate as a shaft extending generally along a front-back direction to vibrate the rocking section 42).
Consider claim 3, Sakamoto as modified by Gwak teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and further teaches wherein the vibration motor is an eccentric motor having a rotating shaft, and the rotating shaft is oriented in a direction along the display panel (see Sakamoto paragraph 0049 where the rocking section 42 is an eccentric motor, a spindle included in the rocking section 42 may rotate as a shaft extending generally along a front-back direction to vibrate the rocking section 42).
Consider claim 4, Sakamoto as modified by Gwak teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and further teaches wherein the front support section includes a frame that supports the main body (implicit as illustrated in figure 1), and the vibration motor is mounted on the frame (see Sakamoto figure 1, element 42, 44 and paragraphs 0049-0050, 0069-0070).
Sakamoto illustrates rocking section 42 in the center of the front surface of the housing (see Sakamoto figure 1, element 42, 44 and paragraphs 0049-0050, 0069). Further, Sakamoto teaches in paragraph 0070 that rocking section 42 may be provided on an inner surface of the housing 44 (see Sakamoto paragraph 0070). It is clear from paragraphs 0049-0050 that Sakamoto equates the illustrated location of element 42 to correspond to a portion of housing 44 (see Sakamoto paragraph 0050 where In an example in FIG. 1, one rocking section 42 is provided in the center of the front surface of the housing 44 of the HMD 12). Therefore, one of ordinary skill would readily recognize, without inventive inspiration, that the location of the rocking section is attached to a portion of a housing that is located at a front support section. Further, in view of Sakamoto’s express teaching that the rocking section may be provided on an inner surface of the housing, the recited features of the claim would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill based on the disclosure of Sakamoto.
Consider claim 5, Sakamoto as modified by Gwak teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and further teaches further comprising: a recess section formed on the frame, configured to receive a part of the vibration motor (see Gwak figure 19, element ac52, bc52 and paragraphs 0098-0099).
Consider claim 6, Sakamoto as modified by Gwak teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and further teaches wherein the front support section motor is disposed in front
Sakamoto is silent regarding a cushion. In the same field of endeavor, Gwak teaches having a cushion layer in contact with a user’s face so as to facilitate the user feeling more comfortable wearing sensation (see Gwak figure 16, element 300 and paragraph 0106)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have modified Sakamoto with the teachings of Gwak to have a cushion layer in contact with a user’s face so as to facilitate the user feeling more comfortable wearing sensation.
Consider claim 9, Sakamoto as modified by Gwak teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and further teaches wherein the front support section further comprises: a frame configured to be attached to a cushion at a rear side thereof (see Gwak figure 13, element 300, 300us, 300ds and paragraphs 0085-0089, 0106 where buffer cover may include a cushion layer therein and 300ds corresponds to a frame configured to be attached to a cushion at a rear side); and
a front frame portion forming a front surface of the front support section and having the housing forward (see Gwak figure 13, element 300us and Sakamoto figure 1 where the front support section has the housing forward).
Consider claim 10, Sakamoto as modified by Gwak teaches all the limitations of claim 9 and further teaches wherein the frame is disposed behind the vibration motor (see Gwak figure 19, element bc52 is disposed behind the vibration motor).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakamoto, International Patent Publication No. WO 2020090477 (publication date May 5, 2020), Examiner is using U. S. Patent Publication No. 20210389822 (National Stage Application) as English translation of International Publication and Gwak et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20200124860 in view of Shin et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20170153672.
Consider claim 7, Sakamoto in view of ordinary skill and Gwak teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and further teaches wherein the front support section (see Sakamoto figure 1 reproduced above) includes a cushion that is configured to be in contact with the forehead of the user (see Gwak figure 16, element 300 and paragraph 0106),
Sakamoto/Gwak is silent regarding the cushion is extended obliquely rearward and upward from a lower end thereof, and the vibration motor is disposed above the lower end of the cushion.
In a related field of endeavor, Shin teaches a main frame of a head mounted device may have a shape corresponding to a curve of a face (see Shin figures 1-4 and paragraph 0058 where a rear surface of the main frame 110 serves as a facial-side contact part 130 which makes contact with the face of a user, the rear surface of the main frame 110 may have a shape corresponding to a curve of a face and include an elastomer 131 as at least a portion thereof. The elastomer 131 may include at least one cushion material, such as a sponge, to provide a comfortable fit if the facial-side contact part 130 makes contact with the face of a user.)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have further modified Sakamoto to have a shape corresponding to a curve of a face so as to provide a comfortable fit using known techniques with predictable results. Incorporation of a curved shape would have resulted in the cushion is extended obliquely rearward and upward from a lower end thereof, and the vibration motor is disposed above the lower end of the cushion (see Gwak figure 16, element 300 and paragraph 0106).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakamoto, International Patent Publication No. WO 2020090477 (publication date May 5, 2020), Examiner is using U. S. Patent Publication No. 20210389822 (National Stage Application) as English translation of International Publication and Gwak et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20200124860 in view of Wang et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20160062454.
Consider claim 8, Sakamoto in view of ordinary skill and Gwak teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Sakamoto/Gwak is silent regarding wherein the front support section includes a cushion that is configured to be in contact with the forehead of the user, the cushion includes a rear surface that is placed on the forehead of the user, an upper part of the rear surface has a curved section that is curved rearward, and the main body of the vibration motor is positioned lower than the curved section.
In a related field of endeavor, Wang teaches a support part having cushions so as to provide a comfortable fit (see Wang figure 2, element 115 and paragraph 0042).
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to have further modified Sakamoto with the teachings of Wang to have a front support section include a cushion that contacts the forehead of the user so as to provide a comfortable fit. Incorporation of the teachings of Wang would have resulted in having the front support section (see Sakamoto figure 1 reproduced above) includes a cushion that contacts the forehead of the user (see Wang figure 2, element 115 and paragraph 0042), the cushion includes a rear surface that is placed on the forehead of the user (see Wang figure 2, element 115 and paragraph 0042), an upper part of the rear surface has a curved section that is curved rearward (see Wang figure 2, element 115 where band is curved to fit shape of a head and Sakamoto figure 1 where front support section is curved to fit shape of a head), and the main body of the vibration motor is positioned lower than the curved section (see Gwak figure 19, element ac52, bc52 and paragraphs 0098-0099).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed October 27, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that Gwak teaches an actuator support cover that covers actuator on a front surface of the base band that is behind displays 100, the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
Sakamoto clearly teaches a rocking element on a front portion of a support band. Gwak’s teachings have been cited to modify Sakamoto.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Saikawa et al, U.S. Patent No. 5986813 (head mounted type display), Brav et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20160171846 (wearable haptic feedback devices), Drinkwater et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20170082859 (facial interface assemblies), Yang et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20190204606 (virtual reality headset), Magrath et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20200033601 (haptic skull cap), Lee et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20210097285 (providing vibrations at headset).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Dorothy Harris/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2625