DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yamakawa et al. (WO 2018/168676). Note: US 2021/0135115 is being used as an English language equivalent for WO 2018/168676.
Considering Claims 1 and 2: Yamakawa et al. teaches a polymer comprising a monomer of the formula
, where R1 is hydrogen or a C1-C6 alkyl group, S1 represents -O- or -C(O)-, p represents 1 or 2, A1 represents a C6-C19 aryl group, Y is halogen, a cyano group, a carboxyalkyl group, an alkyl ether group, an aryl ether group, a C1-C18 alkyl group, a fluoroalkyl group, or a cycloalkyl group, and k is 0 to s-1 (¶0020-21); and a monomer of the formula
, where R2 is hydrogen or a C1-C6 alkyl group, S2 is -O- or -C(O)-, q is 0 or 1, A2 is a C6-C19 aryl group, Y is halogen, a cyano group, a carboxyalkyl group, an alkyl ether group, an aryl ether group, a C1-C18 alkyl group, a fluoroalkyl group, or a cycloalkyl group, j is an integer from 0 to (r-2), m is an integer from 1 to (r-j-1), and Z is a groups of one of the following formula:
,
,
, or
, R3 and R4 each is hydrogen, a C1-C6 alkyl group, an aryl group, or a carboxyalkyl group; and R5 to R29 is hydrogen, halogen, a cyano group, a carboxyalkyl group, an alkyl ether group, an aryl ether group, a C1-C18 alkyl group, a fluoroalkyl group, or a cycloalkyl group (¶0020-22); where the monomer of the second formula is containing in an amount of greater than 20 mole percent (¶0020).
Yamakawa et al. does not teach the second monomer has a HOMO level of -6.4 eV or less. However, Yamakawa et al. teaches the same chemical structures as the instant claim. "Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. See MPEP § 2112.01.
Considering Claim 3: Yamakawa et al. teaches an insulating film comprising a crosslinked product of the resin (¶0023).
Considering Claim 4: Yamakawa et al. teaches an organic field effect transistor device in which, on a substrate, an organic semiconductor layer on which a source electrode and a drain electrode are attached and a gate electrode are stacked to each other via a gate insulating layer, wherein the gate insulating layer is the insulating film of the Yamakawa et al. (¶0023).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 of U.S. Patent No. 12,291,587. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Considering Claims 1 and 2: Claim 1 of Patent ‘587 teaches a polymer comprising a monomer of the formula
, where R1 is hydrogen or a C1-C6 alkyl group, S1 represents -O- or -C(O)-, p represents 1 or 2, A1 represents a C6-C19 aryl group, Y is halogen, a cyano group, a carboxyalkyl group, an alkyl ether group, an aryl ether group, a C1-C18 alkyl group, a fluoroalkyl group, or a cycloalkyl group, and k is 0 to s-1; and a monomer of the formula
, where R2 is hydrogen or a C1-C6 alkyl group, S2 is -O- or -C(O)-, q is 0 or 1, A2 is a C6-C19 aryl group, Y is halogen, a cyano group, a carboxyalkyl group, an alkyl ether group, an aryl ether group, a C1-C18 alkyl group, a fluoroalkyl group, or a cycloalkyl group, j is an integer from 0 to (r-2), m is an integer from 1 to (r-j-1), and Z is a groups of one of the following formula:
,
,
, or
, R3 and R4 each is hydrogen, a C1-C6 alkyl group, an aryl group, or a carboxyalkyl group; and R5 to R29 is hydrogen, halogen, a cyano group, a carboxyalkyl group, an alkyl ether group, an aryl ether group, a C1-C18 alkyl group, a fluoroalkyl group, or a cycloalkyl group; where the monomer of the second formula is containing in an amount of greater than 20 mole percent.
Patent ‘587 does not teach the second monomer has a HOMO level of -6.4 eV or less. However, Patent ‘587 teaches the same chemical structures as the instant claim. "Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. See MPEP § 2112.01.
Considering Claim 3: Claim 2 of Patent ‘587 teaches an insulating film comprising a crosslinked product of the resin (¶0023).
Considering Claim 4: Claim 3 of Patent ‘587 teaches an organic field effect transistor device in which, on a substrate, an organic semiconductor layer on which a source electrode and a drain electrode are attached and a gate electrode are stacked to each other via a gate insulating layer, wherein the gate insulating layer is the insulating film of the Yamakawa et al. (¶0023).
Correspondence
/LIAM J HEINCER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767