DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5-16, and 18-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2015/0035432 A1 (Kendall).
With respect to claim 1: Kendall discloses a home appliance (refrigerator 10) comprising: a cabinet (cabinet 12) having a space therein (compartment(s) 16-18); a door (door 14L, 14R) configured to open and close the space and including a light source (LED subassembly 30 in the door handle 62 in Figs. 2A-2E; LED subassembly 30L/R/T/F in the badge 72 in Figs. 3A-3H; well light LED subassembly 30L/R in the dispenser 102 in Figs. 6A-12F); and a controller (controller 20) configured to control the light source (at least [0099]-[0100]), wherein the controller is configured to operate the home appliance in a first mode or a second mode (two different operating modes – mode when user is proximate vs. mode when user is not proximate [e.g., Fig. 3G] and/or mode when door is open vs. mode when door is closed [e.g., Fig. 2E] and/or mode when ambient light is below a threshold vs. mode when ambient light is at or above the threshold [e.g., Fig. 6D] and/or mode for the time the well lights are on vs. mode for the time the well lights are off [e.g., Fig. 9C] and/or mode before timer 21 is met vs. time after timer 21 is met [e.g. Fig. 3G]), wherein, when a specific event occurs in the first mode (at least Fig. 6E and [0147] – the specific event of a user pressing on a paddle 105 in the first mode of ambient light sensor 109 detecting light above the “night time or dark in the room” threshold), the controller is configured to control the light source to change from a first state (LED array 30L/R off) to a second state (LED array 30L/R on and not dimmed), and wherein, when the specific event occurs in the second mode (the specific event of a user pressing on a paddle 105 in the second mode of ambient light sensor 109 detecting light at or below the “night time or dark in the room” threshold), the controller is configured to control the light source so that the light source maintains the first state or changes from the first state to a third state (LED array 30L/R on and dimmed).
Kendall discloses a plurality of lighting control schemes that meet three “wherein” clauses of claim 1. Fig. 6E and [0147], relied upon above, are one non-limiting example. For the sake of brevity, not every single possibility is provided in this Office action.
For another example, see [0159]-[0160] and Figs. 11D-11E. This embodiment meets, as claimed, wherein the controller is configured to operate the home appliance in a first mode (cold water selected) or a second mode (warm water selected), wherein, when a specific event occurs in the first mode (water dispensed when cold water selected), the controller is configured to control the light source to change from a first state (all LEDs off) to a second state (blue LEDs on, red LEDs off), and wherein, when the specific event occurs in the second mode (water dispensed when warm water selected), the controller is configured to control the light source so that the light source maintains the first state or changes from the first state (all LEDs off) to a third state (blue LEDs off, red LEDs on).
Kendall discloses “or changes from the first state to a third state” in the claim limitation “and wherein, when the specific event occurs in the second mode, the controller is configured to control the light source so that the light source maintains the first state or changes from the first state to a third state”.
Kendall does not disclose an embodiment which meets “maintains the first state” in the aforementioned recitation.
Kendall discloses a multitude of lighting control schemes, sometimes including multiple alternative control schemes for individual components. Kendall discloses embodiments using a door sensor (e.g., Figs. 2B-2E), a proximity sensor (e.g., Figs. 3G, 6F, 10C), embodiments using an ambient light sensor (e.g., Figs. 6E, 7C, 8C), embodiments using user-selectable defined on and off times (e.g., Fig. 9C), and embodiments that use some combination of these elements (e.g., ambient light and proximity sensors used in combination in Figs. 7A-7C)
Regarding “Options and Alternatives”, Kendall [0261] states:
Control of operation of the light sources. Foregoing embodiments have been discussed in the context of a refrigerator controller such as are known in the art. They are basically programmable microprocessors. As indicated, the LED boards themselves could have some form of microprocessor, including some with at least some programmability. Therefore, some functions (e.g. varying driving of LEDs by LED drivers) could be controlled right at the lighting boards. A variety of alternatives are possible. There could be other types of intelligent control. In some cases there could be at least partial analogue circuitry that accomplishes at least some of the control loop functions. It is further emphasized that one of the dynamic lighting schemes can be applied to the device or two or more, or any combinations thereof. Individual schemes could be operated concurrently but with independent triggers and control loops. Depending on the programmability of the main control board or controller 20, and its inputs and outputs, a variety of different controlled loop, dynamic, and passive lighting effects can be designed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Kendall’s controller 20, sensors, lights, etc. to be controlled by a user-selectable combination of one or more door sensors, one or more proximity sensors, one of more ambient light sensors, and/or programmable on and off times – because Kendall suggests combining and/or running concurrently multiple controls schemes.
One such obvious control scheme resulting from combining and/or running concurrently multiple controls schemes is having user-selectable on and off times take precedence over one or more of the door sensor(s), proximity sensor(s), and/or ambient light sensor(s). This results in the light(s) only being activatable within time(s) set by the user – even if the door sensor(s), proximity sensor(s), and/or ambient light sensor(s) would otherwise trigger activation of the light(s).
This meets, as claimed, wherein the controller is configured to operate the home appliance in a first mode (time(s) user sets for lights able to be on) or a second mode (time(s) user sets for lights to stay off), wherein, when a specific event occurs in the first mode (door sensor(s), proximity sensor(s), and/or ambient light sensor(s) triggered), the controller is configured to control the light source to change from a first state (off) to a second state (on), and wherein, when the specific event occurs in the second mode (door sensor(s), proximity sensor(s), and/or ambient light sensor(s) triggered), the controller is configured to control the light source so that the light source maintains the first state (off) or changes from the first state to a third state.
The above example is non-limiting. There are a multitude of other alternative, obvious control schemes which meet the claimed “wherein” clauses. For the sake of brevity, not every single possibility is provided in this Office action.
Kendall, as modified, meets wherein a plurality of functions is performed in the first mode (light(s) turned on/off by door sensor(s), light(s) turned on/off by proximity sensor(s), lights turned on/off by ambient light sensor(s), lights turned on when dispensing water/ice, etc.), and wherein some or all of the plurality of functions are restricted in the second mode (the light(s) is/are restricted from turning on in the “second mode”).
Kendall, as modified, meets a manipulator ([0154]: “some user interface (e.g., touch screen, key pad, buttons, etc., such as are known in the art)”) configured to change the mode between the first mode and the second mode, wherein all of the plurality of functions are restricted when the first mode is changed to the second mode by the manipulator (the light(s) is/are restricted from turning on in the “second mode”).
See Kendall [0242]-[0257]. Kendall, as modified, meets a communicator (the refrigerator’s Wi Fi connection) capable of communicating with an external remote device (personal computer and/or other peripheral device wirelessly connected to the wireless home network), wherein some or all of the plurality of functions can be restricted when the first mode is changed to the second mode through the remote device ([0245] for a consumer programming the lighting controls).
With respect to claim 5: Kendall, as modified, meets wherein the manipulator includes a plurality of buttons (“buttons” @ [0154]).
Kendall does not specifically disclose pressing two or more buttons sequentially or simultaneously to change the mode. Kendall [0159] discloses pressing buttons of the user interface to select cold or hot water. Kendall Fig. 11E shows what appears to be multiple buttons at the dispenser.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the user interface and/or controller 20 to have two or more sequential or simultaneous button presses change the refrigerator between two of its modes, E.G., to have a user pressing one or more buttons to set dedicated “off” time(s), pressing one or more buttons to set dedicated “on” time(s), and pressing one or more buttons to confirm the user’s selections.
With respect to claims 6-7: Kendall [0149] discloses controlling the lighting with an ambient light sensor, and having the lighting turn on when the ambient light is below a threshold, and using a timer. Kendall [0195] discloses controller 20 using any number of inputs to trigger lighting effects – including from monitoring states of the appliance, switches related to the appliance, timers, and sensors.
This suggests it is obvious to modify the lighting control scheme in controller 20 to turn the light(s) on based on the ambient light sensor detecting light detecting ambient light at or below a threshold for a certain period of time, in order to provide illumination in a dark room and/or to help a user locate a handle, dispenser, etc. of the refrigerator. Using the timer prevents temporary blocking or shading of the ambient light sensor (e.g., from a user’s hand or body at the sensor) from unexpected or unwanted activation of the lighting.
This meets, as claimed, a sensing part (ambient light sensor) configured to change the mode between the first mode and the second mode, wherein the first mode is changed to the second mode or the second mode is changed to the first mode when a reference state (ambient light level) is detected by the sensing part, wherein the sensing part includes an illuminance sensor (ambient light sensor), wherein the mode is changed when the illuminance detected by the illuminance sensor is detected to be a restricted illuminance or less (at or below the low light threshold) for a certain period of time (as detected by the timer).
With respect to claims 6 and 8: See [0128] for controlling lighting based on a combination of a proximity sensor and predetermined amounts of time. Kendall Fig. 3G and [0132] disclose a proximity sensor 78 and a timer 21 as inputs to the controller 20, and [0142] discloses a proximity sensor triggering different events at different detection distances. Kendall [0195] discloses controller 20 using any number of inputs to trigger lighting effects – including from monitoring states of the appliance, switches related to the appliance, timers, and sensors.
This suggests it is obvious to modify the lighting control scheme in controller 20 to turn the light(s) on based on the proximity sensor 78 detecting a person for a certain period of time, in order to provide the desired handle/badge/dispenser lighting effect(s) based on a user’s approach. Using the timer prevents short, temporary detection (e.g., a user walking past the refrigerator rather than approaching the refrigerator) from unexpected or unwanted activation of the lighting.
This meets, as claimed, a sensing part (proximity sensor 78) configured to change the mode between the first mode and the second mode, wherein the first mode is changed to the second mode or the second mode is changed to the first mode when a reference state (user detected/not and/or detection distance) is detected by the sensing part, wherein the sensing part includes a sensor configured to detect a user's proximity (proximity sensor 78), and wherein the mode is changed when the sensor detects that the user is within a restricted distance for a certain period of time.
With respect to claim 9: Kendall, as modified, meets wherein the first mode is changed to the second mode when a current time becomes a start time of the second mode (the “off” time begins at the time programmed by the user), and the second mode is changed to the first mode when the current time becomes an end time of the second mode (the “on” time begins at the end of the “off” time, as programmed by the user).
With respect to claim 10: Based on the disclosure of Kendall, it is obvious to combine schemes such that the lighting has different intensity levels during the “on” times. E.G., there are disclosed different lighting levels based on the detection distance of the proximity sensor ([0142]), based on providing different lighting effects when the user approaches ([0128]-[0129]), based on the ambient lighting level in the room ([0152]), etc.
It is further obvious to have different color of lighting, e.g., based on dispensed water being hot or cold @ [0159], proximity of a user @ [0142], user aesthetic preference @ [0134], etc. Kendall [0142] also discloses one effect being a subset of LEDs turned on, and a second effect being all LEDs turned on.
Such a configuration meets wherein the first state is a state where the light source is turned off (lights off during “off” time), and the second state (lights on at a first level/color/number) and the third state (lights on at a second level/color/number different than the first level) are a state where the light source is turned on.
With respect to claim 11: Kendall, as modified, meets wherein the second state is a state where the light source is turned on and irradiates light of a first color, and the third state is a state where the light source is turned on and irradiates light of a second color (as in Kendall [0134], [0142], and/or [0159]), wherein the second state is a state where the light source is turned on and light of the first color is irradiated at a first intensity, and the third state is a state where the light source is turned on and the light of the first color is irradiated at a second intensity lower than the first intensity (as in Kendall [0128]-[0129], [0142], and/or [0152]), or wherein the second state is a state where some or all of the plurality of LEDs included in the light source are turned on, and the third state is a state where a fewer number of LEDs than the number of LEDs turned on in the second state is turned on (as in Kendall [0142]).
With respect to claim 12: Kendall, as modified, meets wherein the door includes a plurality of doors (door 14L, 14R), wherein each of the plurality of doors includes a light source (each door 14L, 14R has at least one light source in a handle, a dispenser, and/or badge), and wherein the light source operating in the second state and the light source operating in the third state are different from each other (based on color, intensity, or number of LEDs on).
With respect to claim 13: Kendall, as modified, meets a sensing part configured to detect a proximity of a user (one or more of the proximity sensors disclosed by Kendall, see e.g. [0128] and/or Fig. 3G), wherein it is determined that the specific event has occurred when the sensing part detects that the user is within a reference distance (at least [0128]: either the range of the proximity sensor, or one of the different distance ranges that provide different lighting effects).
With respect to claim 14: Kendall, as modified, meets a sensing part configured to detect opening and closing of the door (door switch 64), wherein it is determined that the specific event has occurred when the opening or closing of the door is detected by the sensing part (at least [0123]-[0124]).
With respect to claim 15: Kendall, as modified, meets a sensing part configured to detect opening and closing of the door (door switch 64), wherein it is determined that the specific event has occurred when the door closing is not detected by the sensing part until an opening reference time has elapsed after the door is opened ([0119]-[0126]).
With respect to claim 16: Kendall, as modified, meets wherein the first state includes a fourth state where the light source operates when a current time is in a first time zone (zone defined by one of the “on” or “off” time in [0154]-[0155]), and a fifth state where the light source operates in a second time zone after the first time zone (zone defined by the other of the “on” or “off” time in [0154]-[0155]), and wherein it is determined that the specific event has occurred when the current time reaches a start time of each time zone (each of the “on” and “off” times have a start time).
With respect to claim 18: By making the same combinations and/or modifications as in the rejections above, Kendall makes obvious a home appliance (refrigerator 10) comprising: a cabinet (cabinet 12) having a space therein (compartment(s) 16-18); a door (door 14L, 14R) configured to open and close the space and including a light source (LED subassembly 30 in the door handle 62 in Figs. 2A-2E; LED subassembly 30L/R/T/F in the badge 72 in Figs. 3A-3H; well light LED subassembly 30L/R in the dispenser 102 in Figs. 6A-12F); an output part configured to output sound information (audio output device 42 in at least [0100] and Fig. 1A); and a controller (controller 20) configured to control the light source and the output part, in order to perform a function of the home appliance (e.g., emitting light and/or audio), wherein the controller is configured to control the home appliance to operate in a first mode or a second mode (two different operating modes – mode when user is proximate vs. mode when user is not proximate [e.g., Fig. 3G] and/or mode when door is open vs. mode when door is closed [e.g., Fig. 2E] and/or mode when ambient light is below a threshold vs. mode when ambient light is at or above the threshold [e.g., Fig. 6D] and/or mode for the time the well lights are on vs. mode for the time the well lights are off [e.g., Fig. 9C] and/or mode before timer 21 is met vs. time after timer 21 is met [e.g. Fig. 3G]), wherein a plurality of functions is performed in the first mode (at least emitting light and emitting sound), wherein some or all of the plurality of functions are restricted in the second mode (at least [0228]: audio and lighting being bypassed if a proximity sensor detects an object for more than a specified amount of time), and wherein the number of outputs or operations of one or more of the light source and the output part is restricted in order to restrict the some or all of the plurality of functions function (there is zero output from the lighting and audio output devices in this mode; further see [0142] regarding one mode with a subset of LEDs on and a second mode with all LEDs on), wherein the home appliance further comprises: a manipulator ([0154]: “some user interface (e.g., touch screen, key pad, buttons, etc., such as are known in the art)”) configured to change the mode between the first mode and the second mode, a communicator ([0242]-[0257]: the refrigerator’s Wi Fi connection) capable of communicating with an external remote device ([0242]-[0257]: personal computer and/or other peripheral device wirelessly connected to the wireless home network), wherein all of the plurality of functions are restricted when the first mode is changed to the second mode by the manipulator (the light(s) is/are restricted from turning on in the “second mode”), and some or all of the plurality of functions can be restricted when the first mode is changed to the second mode through the remote device ([0245] for a consumer programming the lighting controls).
Kendall discloses a plurality of control schemes that meet four of the “wherein” clauses of claim 18. The example relied upon above is one non-limiting example. For the sake of brevity, not every single possibility is provided in this Office action.
For another example, see Fig. 6E and [0147]. This meets wherein the controller is configured to control the home appliance to operate in a first mode (ambient light sensor 109 detecting light above the “night time or dark in the room” threshold) or a second mode (ambient light sensor 109 detecting light at or below the “night time or dark in the room” threshold), wherein a plurality of functions is performed in the first mode (at least emitting light and dispensing water/ice), wherein some or all of the plurality of functions are restricted in the second mode (dimmed light in the dark room), and wherein the number of outputs or operations of one or more of the light source and the output part is restricted in order to restrict the some or all of the plurality of functions function (there output of the LED array 30L and/or 30R is restricted to provide dimming; further see [0142] regarding one mode with a subset of LEDs on and a second mode with all LEDs on).
With respect to claim 19: Kendall discloses when a specific event (pressing the paddle in [0147]) occurs in the first mode, the controller is configured to control the light source to change from the first state (lights off) to the second state (lights on and not dimmed), and wherein, when the specific event (pressing the paddle in [0147]) occurs in the second mode (timer at or greater than preset time), the controller is configured to control the light source so that the light source maintains the first state or changes from the first state to a third state (lights on and dimmed).
For another example, see [0159]-[0160] and Figs. 11D-11E. This embodiment meets, as claimed, when a specific event occurs in the first mode (water dispensed when cold water selected), the controller is configured to control the light source to change from a first state (all LEDs off) to a second state (blue LEDs on, red LEDs off), and wherein, when the specific event occurs in the second mode (water dispensed when warm water selected), the controller is configured to control the light source so that the light source maintains the first state or changes from the first state (all LEDs off) to a third state (blue LEDs off, red LEDs on).
With respect to claim 20: Kendall discloses when a specific event (in [0228], the proximity sensor detecting an object) occurs in the first mode (timer less than preset time), the controller is configured to operate the output part (sound generated by audio output device 42), and wherein, when the specific event (in [0228], the proximity sensor detecting an object) occurs in the second mode (timer at or greater than preset time), the controller is configured to operate the output part so that the output part does not operate or generates a sound smaller than the sound of the output part in the first mode (no sound generated by audio output device 42).
With respect to claims 21-22: Kendall, as modified, meets wherein the plurality of functions includes two or more of a first function to control the light source when detecting user proximity (using proximity sensor 78), a second function to control the light source when the door is detected to be open or closed (using door switch 64), a third function to control the light source of an opened door (using door switch 64) and/or a door adjacent to the opened door or to control an output part when a door closing is not detected until a reference opening time has elapsed after opening the door (using timer 21), a fourth function to control an operation of the light source differently according to a time zone (“time zone status” @ [0257]), a fifth function to control the light source or the output part during a voice command input process using a voice input part (this is not disclosed by Kendall), or a sixth function to control the light source and/or the output part for schedule notification when a user inputs a specific schedule and notification time on the remote device or a display (this is not disclosed by Kendall).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2015/0035432 A1 (Kendall) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2021/0396454 A1 (Cho).
With respect to claim 17: Kendall discloses an output part configured to output sound (audio output device 42 in at least Fig. 1A and [0100]).
Kendall does not disclose “a voice input part configured to input a voice command” and/or “wherein when the input of the voice command is detected at the voice input part, it is determined that the specific event has occurred, wherein, when the specific event occurs in the first mode, the controller is configured to operate the output part, and wherein, when the specific event occurs in the second mode, the controller is configured to operate the output part so that the output part does not operate or generates a sound smaller than the sound of the output part in the first mode” as claimed.
Kendall [0228] teaches detecting an object with the proximity sensor, keeping track of how long that object is detected with a timer, and bypassing the audio and lighting events triggered by the proximity sensor if a preset amount of time passes.
Kendall [0154]-[0155] discloses have programmable times when the lighting is on, and programmable times when the lighting is off.
Kendall [0261] suggests that variations and combinations to the control schemes can be made. Individual schemes can be operated concurrently and/or schemes may be combined. There may be a variety of inputs to the controller 20.
Cho [0059] shows it is known in the art for a microphone to be used as an inputter 110 for acquiring a user’s voice commands in relation to operations of a refrigerator door.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Kendall’s refrigerator to include Cho’s microphone as an input to Kendall’s controller 20, in order to control operations of Kendall’s refrigerator via voice commands similarly to Cho’s invention.
In the modification, it is obvious to have a control scheme for the night and day times, in which the audio output device 42 is prevented from output, or has a lower sound level output, at night (or another user-specified time range). This is similar to having the lights be dimmed at night and/or having specific times for the lights be on and off.
The added microphone meets “a voice input part configured to input a voice command” as claimed. The control scheme meets, as claimed, wherein when the input of the voice command is detected at the voice input part, it is determined that the specific event has occurred (a user’s voice command recognized by the microphone is the “specific event”), wherein, when the specific event occurs in the first mode (day mode, or mode allowing regular/full sound output), the controller is configured to operate the output part (output sound as a response to the voice command), and wherein, when the specific event occurs in the second mode (night mode, or mode with lower/no sound output), the controller is configured to operate the output part so that the output part does not operate or generates a sound smaller than the sound of the output part in the first mode.
Response to Arguments
The double patenting rejections made in the previous Office action are withdrawn, as being overcome by the latest claim amendments.
The Applicant’s remarks regarding the rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 102 made in the previous Office action are rendered moot, as those rejections are not maintained in this Office action.
Applicant's arguments filed regarding the rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant points to the Applicant’s specification at paragraphs [177], [231]-[236], and [242]-[243] for specifics of the modes being restricted, etc.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., the specifics of paragraphs [177], [231]-[236], and [242]-[243]) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW ROERSMA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3637