DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The instant application is a 371 of PCT/US2022/047685 filed 10/25/2022 which claims priority to U.S. Provisional App. no. 63/271,763 filed 10/26/2021.
Claims 1-16 and 42-43 receive priority to the prior-filed application, filed on 10/26/2021.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species II in the reply filed on 06/22/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 7 and 10-11 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species (Species IV), there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 06/22/2026.
In light of the preliminary amendment filed 04/25/2024 in which claims 1, 3-9, and 12-16 were amended and claims 42-43 were added, claims 1-16 and 42-43 are pending in the instant application.
In light of the requirement for restriction wherein claims 7 and 10-11 are withdrawn, claims 1-6, 8-9, 12-16, and 42-43 are examined on the merits herein.
Claim Objections
Claims 9 and 13 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 9 recites the limitation “defining bores configured to arranged” in ln. 3-4. This should read “defining bores configured to be arranged.”
Claim 13 recites the limitation “extending from the head in direction” in ln. 2. This should read “extending from the head in a direction.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8-9 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "wherein the detection window is configured to be positioned between the sensor module with the cartridge housing removably positioned within the cartridge opening" in ln. 9-10. This limitation is indefinite in that it is unclear what the detection window is positioned between. For the sake of compact prosecution, the examiner is treating the claim as though the detection window is positioned in some manner between multiple elements of the sensor module.
Claims 9 and 12-13 are rejected for depending upon a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US/2011/0051136 A1 to Milton, in view of US/2020/0016311 A1 to Giordano.
Regarding claim 1, Milton discloses a cartridge (Fig. 2) configured to be coupled with a cartridge receiver of a medical waste collection system including a sensor housing, and a sensor module for detecting an optical characteristic of waste fluid indicative of a blood concentration of the waste fluid (para. 0006, cassette is fitted on the housing for a pump system, but may optionally be fitted near or even directly by or within surgical instrumentation forming the liquid path; para. 0012; para. 0015-0016; para. 0023-0025; para. 0032-0033; Fig. 1-4), the cartridge comprising:
a cartridge housing defining a passageway and comprising a head (para. 0032-0033; Fig. 1-4, frame 2 considered head), shoulders extending from the head (Fig. 1-4, inlets 3a-3c and outlet 4 considered shoulders extending from head 2), and a spine extending from the head and comprising opposing sides that are optically clear and defining a detection window (para. 0032-0033; Fig. 1-4, compartment 1 considered spine extending from head 2 defining a detection window), wherein the spine is configured to be positioned between emitters and sensors of the sensor module with the cartridge housing coupled with the cartridge receiver (para. 0032-0034; Fig. 3, emitter 5 and sensor 10; Fig. 4, emitters 5/11 and sensors 10/15), and wherein a first of the shoulders defines an inlet bore configured to receive the waste fluid being circulated from the medical waste collection system (para. 0032-0033; Fig. 1-4, shoulders 3a-3c considered to define inlet bores), and a second of the shoulders defines an outlet bore configured to direct the waste fluid being returned to the medical waste collection system after passing through the detection window of the spine (para. 0032-0033; Fig. 1-4, shoulder 4 considered to define outlet bore).
Milton differs from the instantly claimed invention in that Milton fails to explicitly disclose the cartridge housing removably coupled with the cartridge receiver.
Giordano teaches a cartridge comprising a cartridge housing which is removably coupled with a cartridge receiver (para. 0038-0039; para. 0071-0074; para. 0091-0092; Fig. 1-5, cartridge 11 coupled with reusable dialysis machine 201). Giordano teaches that as the cartridge is directly connected to fluid lines which are susceptible to contamination, the cartridge component should be disposed of and replaced prior to subsequent treatments while the pump motors can be reused in subsequent treatments (para. 0038-0039).
It would be considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the cartridge housing of Milton to be removably coupled with the cartridge receiver as taught by Giordano, because Giordano teaches that as the cartridge is directly connected to fluid lines which are susceptible to contamination, the cartridge component should be disposed of and replaced prior to subsequent treatments while the pump motors can be reused in subsequent treatments (para. 0038-0039).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Milton and Giordano as applied above, and further in view of US/2009/0051901 A1 to Shen.
Regarding claim 2, the cited prior art discloses the invention of claim 1.
The prior art differs from the instantly claimed invention in that the prior art fails to disclose wherein the shoulders and spine extend in opposite directions from the head.
Shen teaches a cuvette spectrometer for analysis of fluids comprising shoulders and a spine extending in opposite directions from a head (Fig. 1, head 104 comprising shoulders comprising inlets and outlets extending in a first direction and spine 108 extending in a second direction opposite the first direction). Shen further teaches that inlet and outlet channels may be placed in any configuration so long as they don’t interfere with optical analysis aspects (para. 0049).
It would be considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the shoulders and spine of the cartridge of the cited prior art to extend in opposite directions from the head, because Shen teaches that it is generally unimportant where inlet and outlet channels are placed so long as they don’t interfere with optical analysis aspects (para. 0049).
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Milton and Giordano as applied above, and further in view of US/2021/0138163 A1 to Sutter.
Regarding claim 3, the cited prior art discloses the invention of claim 1. The prior art differs from the instantly claimed invention in that the prior art fails to disclose a gasket coupled to each of the shoulders.
Sutter teaches a cartridge in an aspiration system comprising a gasket coupled to each of the shoulders (para. 0122; para. 0131; Fig. 4-6, cartridge 419 comprising fluid conditioner 420 and fluid warming cartridge 422; Fig. 11, fluid warming cartridge comprising inlet and outlet ports [shoulders] 527 and 533 comprising o-rings) for making water-tight connections (para. 0131).
It would be considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the shoulders of the cited prior art to comprise gaskets as taught by Sutter, because Sutter teaches that this allows for the system to make water-tight connections (para. 0131).
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Milton and Giordano as applied above, and further in view of U.S. Patent no. 10,232,094 B2 to Wangler and US/2021/0138163 A1 to Sutter.
Regarding claim 4, the cited prior art discloses the invention of claim 1. The prior art differs from the instantly claimed invention in that the prior art fails to disclose wherein the head is circular, and wherein the cartridge further comprises an outer gasket coupled to an outer diameter of the cartridge housing.
Wangler teaches a cartridge in an aspiration system comprising a sealing element coupled to an outer side of a cartridge housing which comes into contact with the cartridge receiver (Fig. 1, suction system 2 comprising cassette 1 in contact with suction module/cartridge receiver 19; Fig. 6, sealing surface 12 of cassette 1; para. 0066) for making a sealed connection between the cartridge and the cartridge receiver (para. 0066).
Sutter teaches a cartridge in an aspiration system comprising a gasket coupled to an outer perimeter of each of the circular shoulders (para. 0122; para. 0131; Fig. 4-6, cartridge 419 comprising fluid conditioner 420 and fluid warming cartridge 422; Fig. 11, fluid warming cartridge comprising inlet and outlet ports [shoulders] 527 and 533 comprising o-rings) for making water-tight connections (para. 0131).
It would be considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the head of the cited prior art to comprise seals and gaskets as taught by Wangler and Sutter, because Wangler teaches that this allows for a sealed connection between the cartridge and the cartridge receiver (para. 0066) and Sutter similarly teaches that this allows for the cartridge to make tight connections (para. 0131).
Further, it would be considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the head of the cited prior art to be circular in light of the disclosure of Sutter that an o-ring can be used as a sealing element around an outer diameter of a circular part of a cartridge (para. 0122; para. 0131; Fig. 4-6, cartridge 419 comprising fluid conditioner 420 and fluid warming cartridge 422; Fig. 11, fluid warming cartridge comprising inlet and outlet ports [shoulders] 527 and 533 comprising o-rings).
Further still, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the shape of the head such that it is circular, since a modification would have involved a mere change in the form or shape of a component. A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding claim 5, the cited prior art suggests the invention of claim 4. Milton further discloses: wherein the axes of the inlet and outlet bores are parallel (Fig. 3-4).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Milton, Giordano, and Shen as applied above, and further in view of U.S. Patent no. 5,647,852 A1 to Atkinson.
Regarding claim 6, the cited prior art discloses the invention of claim 2. The prior art differs from the instantly claimed invention in that the prior art fails to disclose wherein the cartridge housing further comprises an orientation feature extending from the head in the first direction.
Atkinson teaches a cassette and cassette platform for a lavage system, wherein the cartridge housing comprises orientation features, one of which extending from the housing of the cassette, to ensure that the cassette is properly aligned with the cassette platform (col. 4:2-5; col. 5:1-12; Fig. 7, cassette 20 comprising orientation features 95/100, orientation feature 100 extending from housing 84 of cassette).
It would be considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the cartridge housing of Milton to comprise orientation features as taught by Atkinson, because Atkinson teaches that these orientation features allow for alignment of the cassette with the cassette platform (col. 5:1-12).
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US/2011/0051136 A1 to Milton in view of US/2020/0016311 A1 to Giordano and U.S. Patent no. 5,647,852 A1 to Atkinson.
Regarding claim 8, Milton discloses a cartridge configured to be coupled with a cartridge receiver of a medical waste collection system including a sensor module for detecting an optical characteristic indicative of a blood concentration of waste fluid, and the cartridge receiver defining a cartridge opening (para. 0006, cassette is fitted on the housing for a pump system, but may optionally be fitted near or even directly by or within surgical instrumentation forming the liquid path; para. 0012; para. 0015-0016; para. 0023-0025; para. 0032-0033; Fig. 1-4), the cartridge comprising:
a cartridge housing defining an inlet bore, an outlet bore, and a passageway configured to form a circulation fluid path with the cartridge receiver with the cartridge housing removably positioned within the cartridge opening, wherein the cartridge housing further defines a detection window that is optically clear and in fluid communication with the passageway, wherein the detection window is configured to be positioned between the sensor module with the cartridge housing positioned within the cartridge opening (para. 0006, cassette is fitted on the housing for a pump system, but may optionally be fitted near or even directly by or within surgical instrumentation forming the liquid path; para. 0032-0033; Fig. 1-4, shoulders 3a-3c considered to define inlet bores, shoulder 4 considered to define outlet bore, compartment 1 considered spine defining a detection window; Fig. 3, emitter 5 and sensor 10; Fig. 4, emitters 5/11 and sensors 10/15).
Milton differs from the instantly claimed invention in that Milton fails to explicitly disclose the cartridge housing removably coupled with the cartridge receiver.
Giordano teaches a cartridge comprising a cartridge housing which is removably coupled with a cartridge receiver (para. 0038-0039; para. 0071-0074; para. 0091-0092; Fig. 1-5, cartridge 11 coupled with reusable dialysis machine 201). Giordano teaches that as the cartridge is directly connected to fluid lines which are susceptible to contamination, the cartridge component should be disposed of and replaced prior to subsequent treatments while the pump motors can be reused in subsequent treatments (para. 0038-0039).
It would be considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the cartridge housing of Milton to be removably coupled with the cartridge receiver as taught by Giordano, because Giordano teaches that as the cartridge is directly connected to fluid lines which are susceptible to contamination, the cartridge component should be disposed of and replaced prior to subsequent treatments while the pump motors can be reused in subsequent treatments (para. 0038-0039).
Further, Milton differs from the instantly claimed invention in that Milton fails to disclose a retention feature disposed on the cartridge housing and configured to releasably secure the cartridge within the cartridge housing.
Atkinson teaches a cassette and cassette platform for a lavage system, wherein the cassette housing comprises retention features to securely lock the removable cassette with the cassette platform (col. 4:2-5; col. 5:1-12; col. 5 ln. 36-37; Fig. 7, cassette 20 comprising retention features 92 on housing 84 of cassette).
It would be considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the cartridge housing of Milton to comprise retention features as taught by Atkinson, because Atkinson teaches that these retention features securely lock the cassette with the cassette platform (col. 5:1-12).
Regarding claim 9, the cited prior art suggests the invention of claim 8. Milton further discloses: wherein the cartridge housing comprises a head, and shoulders extending from the head and defining bores configured to be arranged in fluid communication with conduits of the cartridge receiver to form the circulation fluid path (para. 0032-0033; Fig. 1-4, frame 2 considered head, inlets 3a-3c considered to define inlet bores and outlet 4 considered to define outlet bores considered shoulders extending from head 2).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Milton, Giordano, and Atkinson as applied above, and further in view of US/2021/0138163 A1 to Sutter.
Regarding claim 12, the cited prior art suggests the invention of claim 9. The prior art differs from the instantly claimed invention in that the prior art fails to disclose a gasket coupled to each of the shoulders.
Sutter teaches a cartridge in an aspiration system comprising a gasket coupled to each of the shoulders (para. 0122; para. 0131; Fig. 4-6, cartridge 419 comprising fluid conditioner 420 and fluid warming cartridge 422; Fig. 11, fluid warming cartridge comprising inlet and outlet ports [shoulders] 527 and 533 comprising o-rings) for making water-tight connections (para. 0131).
It would be considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the shoulders of the cited prior art to comprise gaskets as taught by Sutter, because Sutter teaches that this allows for the system to make water-tight connections (para. 0131).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Milton, Giordano, and Atkinson as applied above, and further in view of US/2009/0051901 A1 to Shen.
Regarding claim 13, the cited prior art suggests the invention of claim 9.
Milton further discloses a spine extending from the head, wherein the spine defines the detection window (para. 0032-0033; Fig. 1-4, compartment 1 considered spine extending from head 2).
The prior art differs from the instantly claimed invention in that the prior art fails to disclose wherein the spine extends from the head in a direction opposite the shoulders.
Shen teaches a cuvette spectrometer for analysis of fluids comprising shoulders and a spine extending in opposite directions from a head (Fig. 1, head 104 comprising shoulders comprising inlets and outlets extending in a first direction and spine 108 extending in a second direction opposite the first direction). Shen further teaches that inlet and outlet channels may be placed in any configuration so long as they don’t interfere with optical analysis aspects (para. 0049).
It would be considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the shoulders and spine of the cartridge of the cited prior art to extend in opposite directions from the head, because Shen teaches that it is generally unimportant where inlet and outlet channels are placed so long as they don’t interfere with optical analysis aspects (para. 0049).
Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO/2013/090579 A1 to Vanderwoude in view of US/2011/0051136 A1 to Milton.
Regarding claim 14, Vanderwoude discloses a cartridge for a medical waste collection system including a waste container, a vacuum source, a manifold receiver defining a manifold opening, a cartridge receiver defining a cartridge opening, an inlet aperture, and an outlet aperture (para. 000146; para. 000155-000204, disclosures regarding first embodiment of the system; Fig. 1A, waste and tissue collection system 30 comprising vacuum source 58, manifold receiver defining a manifold opening considered canister cap 42 as seen in Fig. 2 comprising manifold opening for receiving manifold receptacle 102, cartridge receiver defining a cartridge opening considered manifold receptacle 102 comprising cartridge opening 118, inlet aperture 126, outlet aperture 130), the cartridge comprising:
a cartridge housing sized to be removably coupled with the cartridge receiver through the cartridge opening and sized to be unable to be coupled with the manifold receiver through the manifold opening (Fig. 2-6, cassette 200 considered cartridge sized specifically to fit into manifold receptacle), the cartridge housing comprising a head (Fig. 2-6, cassette housing 202 considered head), and a spine extending from the head (Fig. 2-6, sleeve 240 considered spine extending from the head), wherein the cartridge housing defines an inlet bore configured to be arranged in fluid communication with the outlet aperture of the cartridge receiver (para. 000169; para. 000184; Fig. 2; Fig. 8, inlet bore 180 in fluid communication with outlet aperture 250 of spine 240), and an outlet bore configured to be arranged in fluid communication with the inlet aperture of the cartridge receiver (para. 000160-000170; para. 000203; Fig. 8, cassette 200 defining outlet bore comprised of irrigation tube 280 connected to inlet port 266 arranged to be in fluid communication with outlet aperture 126 before connection of irrigation coupler 150), wherein the inlet bore and the outlet bore are on axes parallel to one another (Fig. 2, inlet bore 180 and fitting 181 of outlet bore parallel to one another).
Vanderwoude differs from the instantly claimed invention in that Vanderwoude fails to disclose the cartridge for performing quantitative blood loss analysis of waste fluid and the spine defining a detection window.
Milton teaches a cartridge comprising a spine defining a detection window for performing quantitative blood loss analysis of waste fluid in a waste fluid collection system for control of a peristaltic pump based on the existence of blood in the waste fluid (para. 0024-0027; para. 0032-0034; Fig. 1-4, compartment 1 considered spine extending from head 2 defining a detection window).
It would be considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the cartridge of Vanderwoude as taught by Milton, because Milton teaches that their detection window is an elongated window which has an increased sensitivity to differentiate between different particles and that blood loss analysis of waste fluid can be used to control a peristaltic pump based on the existence of blood and/or debris (para. 0024-0027).
Regarding claim 15, the cited prior art suggests the invention of claim 14. Vanderwoude further discloses: wherein the cartridge housing further comprises a first shoulder defining the inlet bore, and a second shoulder defining the outlet bore, wherein the first shoulder and the second shoulder are configured to be coupled to a respective one of the inlet aperture and the outlet aperture of the cartridge receiver (para. 000169; para. 000184; Fig. 2; Fig. 8, inlet bore 180 in fluid communication with outlet aperture 250 of spine 240, inlet bore 180 defining first shoulder; para. 000160-000170; para. 000203; Fig. 8, cassette 200 defining outlet bore comprised of irrigation tube 280 connected to inlet port 266 arranged to be in fluid communication with outlet aperture 126 before connection of irrigation coupler 150, outlet bore 280 defining second shoulder).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Milton and Giordano as applied above, and further in view of US/2005/0118048 A1 to Traxinger.
Regarding claim 16, the cited prior art discloses the invention of claim 1. The prior art differs from the instantly claimed invention in that the prior art fails to disclose a radiofrequency identification (RFID) tag comprising memory storing data indicative of compatibility of the cartridge with the medical waste collection system.
Traxinger discloses a cassette configured to be removably coupled with aspiration tubing comprising a radiofrequency identification (RFID) tag comprising memory storing data indicative of compatibility of the cassette with the system to provide a signal to a user in the instance that the cassette is incompatible for use with the system (para. 0042; Fig. 3-4, cassette 201).
It would be considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the cartridge of Milton to comprise an RFID tag as taught in Traxinger, because Traxinger teaches that this can be coupled to an electronic system which would provide a signal to a user in the instance that the cassette is incompatible for use with the system (para. 0042).
Claim 42 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Milton, Giordano, and Atkinson as applied above, and further in view of US/2005/0118048 A1 to Traxinger.
Regarding claim 42, the cited prior art discloses the invention of claim 8. The prior art differs from the instantly claimed invention in that the prior art fails to disclose a radiofrequency identification (RFID) tag comprising memory storing data indicative of compatibility of the cartridge with the medical waste collection system.
Traxinger discloses a cassette configured to be removably coupled with aspiration tubing comprising a radiofrequency identification (RFID) tag comprising memory storing data indicative of compatibility of the cassette with the system to provide a signal to a user in the instance that the cassette is incompatible for use with the system (para. 0042; Fig. 3-4, cassette 201).
It would be considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the cartridge of the cited prior art to comprise an RFID tag as taught in Traxinger, because Traxinger teaches that this can be coupled to an electronic system which would provide a signal to a user in the instance that the cassette is incompatible for use with the system (para. 0042).
Claim 43 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vanderwoude and Milton as applied above, and further in view of US/2005/0118048 A1 to Traxinger.
Regarding claim 16, the cited prior art discloses the invention of claim 1.
Vanderwoude discloses a radiofrequency identification (RFID) tag attached to the cassette (para. 000177; Fig. 5-6).
The prior art differs from the instantly claimed invention in that the prior art fails to explicitly disclose a radiofrequency identification (RFID) tag comprising memory storing data indicative of compatibility of the cartridge with the medical waste collection system.
Traxinger discloses a cassette configured to be removably coupled with aspiration tubing comprising a radiofrequency identification (RFID) tag comprising memory storing data indicative of compatibility of the cassette with the system to provide a signal to a user in the instance that the cassette is incompatible for use with the system (para. 0042; Fig. 3-4, cassette 201).
It would be considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the cartridge of the cited prior art to comprise an RFID tag as taught in Traxinger, because Traxinger teaches that this can be coupled to an electronic system which would provide a signal to a user in the instance that the cassette is incompatible for use with the system (para. 0042).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. WO/2016/183290 A1 to Fedele discloses photodetectors for use in a waste collection system.
/Linnae E. Raymond/Examiner, Art Unit 3781
/LESLIE R DEAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799 18 September 2026