DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8, 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent 10,330,547 issued to Drewes et al. (“Drewes”) in view of U.S. Patent 7,252,009 issued to Kosh et al. (“Kosh”).
As for claim 1, Drewes discloses a pressure measuring cell (Fig. 2a) having a pressure sensor (11) and evaluation electronics (30) which are integrated into the pressure measuring cell, wherein
the evaluation electronics (30) of the pressure measuring cell are exclusively supplied with energy from a 4-20 mA interface (col. 6, line 66 - col. 7, line 5; also note that this limitation describes the intended use of the pressure measuring cell - i.e. to supply energy to the pressure measuring cell only through the claimed interface); and
a displacer (12) is arranged in the pressure measuring cell, on which the evaluation electronics (30) are positioned (see Fig. 2a).
Drewes does not disclose that the evaluation electronics comprise an application specific integrated circuit. Drewes discloses that the evaluation electronics has an electronic circuit that processes signals from the pressure sensor (col. 6, lines 13-17).
However, Kosh discloses evaluation electronics that comprise an application specific integrated circuit (col. 4, lines 28-32). Kosh discloses that the evaluation electronics comprising the application specific integrated circuit processes signals from a pressure sensor (col. 4, lines 24-32).
Because Drewes and Kosh both disclose evaluation electronics for processing signals, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to substitute the evaluation electronics that comprise and application specific integrated circuit of Kosh for the evaluation electronics of Drewes to achieve the predictable result of providing evaluation electronics that process signals from the pressure sensor.
In the event that Applicant does not believe that Drewes discloses that the evaluation electronics are exclusively supplied with energy from a 4-20 mA interface, the examiner notes that Kosh discloses evaluation electronics (Kosh: 130, 132) that are exclusively supplied with energy from a 4-20 mA interface (Kosh: 160; col. 7, lines 1-13). It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to modify Drewes and Kosh to be supplied with energy as disclosed by Kosh in order to simplify the interface connections of the pressure measuring cell. This combination of Drewes and Kosh at least discloses structure that is capable of performing the claimed function of being exclusively supplied by energy as claimed.
As for claim 8, Drewes as modified by Kosh discloses that the pressure measuring cell operates according to one or more of a capacitive (Drewes: col. 4, lines 43-47) or a resistive measuring principle.
As for claim 10, Drewes as modified by Kosh discloses that the pressure measuring cell is a pressure measuring cell for measuring an absolute pressure (Drewes: col. 4, lines 59-63).
As for claim 11, Drewes as modified by Kosh discloses that the pressure measuring cell is a pressure measuring cell for measuring a relative pressure (Drewes: col. 4, lines 59-63 and col. 5, line 64 - col. 6, line 2).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent 10,330,547 issued to Drewes et al. (“Drewes”) in view of U.S. Patent 7,252,009 issued to Kosh et al. (“Kosh”) as applied to claim 1, further in view of U.S. Patent 10,816,424 issued to Fadell et al. (“Fadell”).
As for claim 3, Drewes as modified by Kosh discloses the pressure measuring cell according to claim 1 (see the rejection of claim 1 above) and that the pressure measuring cell comprises a diaphragm (Drewes: 22) and a diaphragm seal medium adjacent the diaphragm (Drewes: col. 5, lines 45-51).
Drewes as modified by Kosh does not disclose that the evaluation electronics comprise a temperature sensor preferably for detecting a temperature of the diaphragm seal medium.
However, Fadell discloses evaluation electronics (58) that comprise a temperature sensor (28) detecting a temperature of a diaphragm seal medium (Abstract).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to modify the evaluation electronics of Drewes and Kosh to include the temperature sensor as disclosed by Fadell in order to compensate for changes in density of the diaphragm seal medium (Fadell: Abstract).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent 10,330,547 issued to Drewes et al. (“Drewes”) in view of U.S. Patent 7,252,009 issued to Kosh et al. (“Kosh”) as applied to claim 1, further in view of WO 2019/120776 A1 by Karweck et al.
U.S. Patent 11,662,265 issued to Karweck et al. (“Karweck”) is used as an English-language equivalent reference of WO 2019/120776 A1.
As for claim 4, Drewes as modified by Kosh discloses the pressure measuring cell according to claim 1 (see the rejection of claim 1 above).
Drewes as modified by Kosh does not disclose that the evaluation electronics implement a calibration function through which the pressure measuring cell can be calibrated by the evaluation electronics.
However, Karweck discloses evaluation electronics that implement a calibration function through which the pressure measuring cell can be calibrated by the evaluation electronics (col. 6, lines 15-35).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to modify the evaluation electronics of Drewes and Kosh to implement a calibration function as disclosed by Karweck in order to ensure that the measured pressure value is correct (Karweck: col. 6, lines 15-35).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent 10,330,547 issued to Drewes et al. (“Drewes”) in view of U.S. Patent 7,252,009 issued to Kosh et al. (“Kosh”) as applied to claim 1, further in view of U.S. Patent 11,496,254 issued to Alley et al. (“Alley”).
As for claim 4, Drewes as modified by Kosh discloses the pressure measuring cell according to claim 1 (see the rejection of claim 1 above).
Drewes as modified by Kosh does not disclose that the evaluation electronics are SIL 2 certified.
However, Alley discloses evaluation electronics that are SIL 2 certified (col. 1, lines 36-45 and col. 2, lines 20-23).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to modify the evaluation electronics of Drewes and Kosh to be SIL 2 certified as disclosed by Alley in order to reduce risk.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent 10,330,547 issued to Drewes et al. (“Drewes”) in view of U.S. Patent 7,252,009 issued to Kosh et al. (“Kosh”) as applied to claim 1, further in view of U.S. Patent 5,377,524 issued to Wise et al. (“Wise”).
As for claim 6, Drewes as modified by Kosh discloses the pressure measuring cell according to claim 1 (see the rejection of claim 1 above).
Drewes as modified by Kosh does not disclose that the evaluation electronics have a measuring frequency of at least 1 Hz with a precision of at least 12 bits.
However, Wise discloses evaluation electronics that have a measuring frequency of at least 1 Hz (Abstract) with a precision of at least 12 bits (Abstract).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to modify the evaluation electronics of Drewes and Kosh to have the measuring frequency and precision as disclosed by Wise in order to provide measurements with high resolution and high speed (Wise: col. 2, lines 33-39).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent 10,330,547 issued to Drewes et al. (“Drewes”) in view of U.S. Patent 7,252,009 issued to Kosh et al. (“Kosh”) as applied to claim 1, further in view of U.S. Patent 11,346,698 issued to Harsh et al. (“Harsh”).
As for claim 9, Drewes as modified by Kosh discloses the pressure measuring cell according to claim 1 (see the rejection of claim 1 above).
Drewes as modified by Kosh does not disclose that the pressure measuring cell is functional at an operating temperature of up to 150°C.
However, Harsh discloses a pressure measuring cell that is functional at an operating temperature of up to 150°C (col. 18, lines 21-32).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to modify the pressure measuring cell of Drewes and Kosh to function at an operating temperature as disclosed by Harsh in order to allow the measurement of high temperature gases (Harsh: col. 18, lines 21-32).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JUSTIN N OLAMIT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853