DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 20-35 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities: “of which is over 50” in line 16 should read “over 50”.
Claim 30 is objected to because of the following informalities: “tis” in line 4 should read “its”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 20-26 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 20 recites “the main raw material condition of the first layer” and “the main raw material of the second layer”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Furthermore, it is unclear as to what condition these limitations are referring. For purposes of examination, limitation (c) of claim 20 will be read as “wherein one of the main raw material of the first layer and the main raw material of the second layer has a grinding Schopper-Riegler value of which is over 50 and the other of the main raw material of the first layer and the main raw material of the second layer has a grinding Schopper-Riegler value over 35.”
Claims 21-26 are rejected as being dependent on indefinite claim 20.
Claim 25 recites the limitation “wherein a weight of the second layer is over 100 – 170 g sq m”. The recitation of a range as the lower limit of the basis weight of the layer renders the scope of the claim indefinite. For purposes of examination, this limitation will be read as “wherein a weight of the second layer is over 170 g sq m.”
Claim 30 recites “wherein further consists of a third layer”. It is unclear as to whether this third layer is the third layer referred to in claim 27, from which claim 30 depends, or a layer in addition to that third layer. Furthermore, “further consists of” renders the scope of the claim indefinite. For purposes of examination, this limitation will be read as “wherein the barrier board contains three layers…”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 20-22, and 24-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pre-grant Publication 2016/0016717 to Toubeau et al. cited in previous Office action (herein Toubeau).
Regarding claim 20, Toubeau teaches a fibrous substrate (abstract) that is repellent to fatty substances and water and is used as a barrier in packaging (paragraph 0030). Toubeau teaches that the substrate comprises a layer corresponding to the first layer recited in the instant claims (paragraph 0031) that can be made from softwood or hardwood Kraft pulp (paragraph 0041), i.e. softwood or hardwood chemical pulp, that is refined above 50° SR (paragraph 0043) which overlaps the claimed range. Toubeau teaches that the wood fibers have a length of 0.4 to 4 mm (paragraph 0045) and a diameter of 17 to 32 micrometers (paragraph 0046) which overlaps the claimed ranges. It has been held that obviousness exists where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art. MPEP 2144.05 (I). Toubeau teaches that the fibrous substrate can comprise additional layers which can be the same as the first layer (paragraph 0069) which would give a second layer an SR value above 50°. It has been held that obviousness exists where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art. MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Regarding claims 21, 24, and 25¸ Toubeau teaches all the limitations of claim 20 as discussed above.
Toubeau teaches that the layers have a basis weight of 20 to 200 g/m2 (paragraph 0039). It has been held that obviousness exists where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art. MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Regarding claim 22¸ Toubeau teaches all the limitations of claim 20 as discussed above.
As discussed above, Toubeau teaches that the substrate can contain additional layers (paragraph 0067) made of natural fibers (paragraph 0081) which, as discussed previously, can be made from softwood or hardwood Kraft pulp (paragraph 0041).
Claim(s) 23 and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toubeau as applied above and in view of WIPO Publication 2015/036930 to Hallgren et al. cited in the Information Disclosure Statement filed 25 April 2024 (herein Hallgren).
Regarding claims 23 and 26, Toubeau teaches all the limitations of claim 22 as discussed above.
Toubeau is silent as to the SR value of a third layer being below 35° or a basis weight of 40-80 gsm.
Hallgren teaches a multi-ply paperboard (abstract) comprising a top ply, back ply, and at least one middle ply (page 6, lines 27-29). The inventive examples use a top ply having a basis weight of 40 gsm (page 10, lines 10-11) and an SR value of 30.1° (Tables 1 and 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the third layer of Toubeau to be the top layer of Hallgren in order to provide strength and good printing properties (page 2, lines 12-14).
Claim(s) 27, 29, and 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toubeau in view of WIPO Publication WO 2022/071871 to Andersson et al. cited in previous Office action (herein Andersson).
Regarding claim 27, Toubeau teaches a fibrous substrate (abstract) that is repellent to fatty substances and water and is used as a barrier in packaging (paragraph 0030). Toubeau teaches that the substrate comprises a layer corresponding to the first layer recited in the instant claims (paragraph 0031) that can be made from softwood or hardwood Kraft pulp (paragraph 0041), i.e. softwood or hardwood chemical pulp, that is refined above 50° SR (paragraph 0043) which overlaps the claimed range. Toubeau teaches that the wood fibers have a length of 0.4 to 4 mm (paragraph 0045) and a diameter of 17 to 32 micrometers (paragraph 0046) which overlaps the claimed ranges. It has been held that obviousness exists where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art. MPEP 2144.05 (I). Toubeau teaches that the fibrous substrate can comprise additional layers (paragraph 0069).
Toubeau is silent as to an additional layer being corrugated.
Andersson teaches a container board (abstract) that is a corrugated board wherein the liner and fluting layers are made from the same containerboard material (page 5, line 27 – page 6, line 11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify an additional layer of Toubeau to be a corrugated layer as taught by Andersson because applying a known technique to a known device has been head to be obvious. See MPEP 2143(I)(D).
Regarding claim 29, Toubeau and Andersson teach all the limitations of claim 27 as discussed above.
Toubeau teaches that the additional layers can be the same as the first layer (paragraph 0069) which would give a second layer an SR value above 50°. It has been held that obviousness exists where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art. MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Regarding claim 31, Toubeau and Andersson teach all the limitations of claim 27 as discussed above.
Toubeau teaches that the additional layers can be the same as the first layer (paragraph 0069). Toubeau teaches that the layers have a basis weight of 20 to 200 g/m2 (paragraph 0039). It has been held that obviousness exists where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art. MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Claim(s) 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toubeau and Andersson as applied above and further in view of WIPO Publication WO 2020/003129 to Lampainen et al. cited in previous Office action (herein Lampainen).
Regarding claim 28, Toubeau and Andersson teach all the limitations of claim 27 as discussed above.
Toubeau teaches that the layers can contain strengthening additives such as carboxymethyl cellulose (paragraph 0066).
Toubeau is silent as to the amount of carboxymethyl cellulose present.
Lampainen teaches a linerboard for corrugated board (abstract). Lampainen teaches that the linerboard is made from pulps comprising cellulose fibers (page 4, lines 14-15) and that strengthening additives such as carboxymethyl cellulose can be added (page 5, lines 19-21) in an amount of 0.1 to 1 wt% (page 5, lines 28-30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the carboxymethyl cellulose of Toubeau in the amounts taught by Lampainen because it is known in the art as being suitable for the intended purpose. See MPEP 2144.07.
Claim(s) 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toubeau as applied above and in view of Hallgren.
Regarding claim 30, Toubeau teaches all the limitations of claim 27 as discussed above.
Toubeau teaches that the substrate can contain additional layers (paragraph 0067) made of natural fibers (paragraph 0081) which, as discussed previously, can be made from bleached or unbleached softwood or hardwood Kraft pulp (paragraph 0041). Toubeau also teaches that the substrate can have a coating formed thereon (paragraph 0133).
Toubeau is silent as to the SR value of a third layer being below 35°.
Hallgren teaches a multi-ply paperboard (abstract) comprising a top ply, back ply, and at least one middle ply (page 6, lines 27-29). The inventive examples use a top ply having a basis weight of 40 gsm (page 10, lines 10-11) and an SR value of 30.1° (Tables 1 and 2). Hallgren also teaches that the top layer can be made from bleached pulp (Tables 1 and 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the third layer of Toubeau to be the top layer of Hallgren in order to provide strength and good printing properties (page 2, lines 12-14).
Claim(s) 32 and 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toubeau.
Regarding claim 32, Toubeau teaches a fibrous substrate (abstract) that is repellent to fatty substances and water and is used as a barrier in packaging (paragraph 0030). Toubeau teaches that the substrate comprises a layer corresponding to the first layer recited in the instant claims (paragraph 0031) that can be made from softwood or hardwood Kraft pulp (paragraph 0041), i.e. softwood or hardwood chemical pulp, that is refined above 50° SR (paragraph 0043) which overlaps the claimed range. Toubeau teaches that the wood fibers have a length of 0.4 to 4 mm (paragraph 0045) and a diameter of 17 to 32 micrometers (paragraph 0046) which overlaps the claimed ranges. Toubeau teaches that the layers have a basis weight of 20 to 200 g/m2 (paragraph 0039). It has been held that obviousness exists where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art. MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Regarding claim 35, Toubeau teaches all the limitations of claim 32 as discussed above.
Toubeau teaches that the fibrous substrate can comprise additional layers (paragraph 0069) which meets the claimed limitations.
Claim(s) 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toubeau as applied above and in view of Lampainen.
Regarding claim 33, Toubeau teaches all the limitations of claim 32 as discussed above.
Toubeau teaches that the fibrous substrate can comprise additional layers (paragraph 0069). Toubeau teaches that the layers can contain strengthening additives such as carboxymethyl cellulose (paragraph 0066).
Toubeau is silent as to the amount of carboxymethyl cellulose present.
Lampainen teaches a linerboard for corrugated board (abstract). Lampainen teaches that the linerboard is made from pulps comprising cellulose fibers (page 4, lines 14-15) and that strengthening additives such as carboxymethyl cellulose can be added (page 5, lines 19-21) in an amount of 0.1 to 1 wt% (page 5, lines 28-30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the carboxymethyl cellulose of Toubeau in the amounts taught by Lampainen because it is known in the art as being suitable for the intended purpose. See MPEP 2144.07.
Claim(s) 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toubeau as applied above and in view of U.S. Pre-grant Publication 2002/0136913 to Schaedler et al. cited in previous Office action (herein Schaedler).
Regarding claim 34, Toubeau teaches all the limitations of claim 32 as discussed above.
Toubeau teaches that the fibrous substrate can be subjected to surface treatments such as coating (paragraph 0133).
Toubeau is silent as to the type of coating used.
Schaedler teaches an aqueous polymer dispersion for use on paper, cardboard, or paperboard (abstract) used in food packaging (paragraph 0002).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the coating of Toubeau to be the aqueous dispersion of Schaedler because it would improve the impermeability to water vapor without a tendency toward yellowing (paragraph 0006).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4 June 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Toubeau does not teach the claimed invention because Toubeau includes nanofibrillated cellulose (herein NFC) whereas the claimed invention does not include NFC (Remarks, pages 7-9). Applicant is correct in that Toubeau includes NFC; however, the claims as written do not preclude its use. The fact that the raw materials are referred to as a main raw material in the instant claims heavily implies that there are other raw materials used in the claimed layers and cellulose fibers are only present at >50%, i.e. the main raw material.
Applicant argues that Hallgren does not teach a pulp with an SR above 50 (Remarks, page 9). Applicant is correct; however, Hallgren was not relied upon to teach a pulp with an SR above 50. Hallgren was relied upon to teach an SR below 35.
Applicant argues that because Lampainen teaches the use of microfibrillated cellulose, Lampainen does not teach the claimed invention (Remarks, page 9). Applicant is correct; however, Lampainen was not relied upon to teach the entirety of the claimed invention. One cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/ZACHARY M DAVIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1783