DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed June 30, 2026, with respect to Claim Interpretation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) and Claim Rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 U.S.C. 112(f) interpretations have been withdrawn thus rendering the 35 U.S.C. 112 rejections moot.
Applicant’s arguments, filed June 30, 2026, with respect to Claim Interpretation under 35 U.S.C. 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejections of claims 1, 6, 8, 19 under 35 U.S.C. 102 have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed June 30, 2026 with respect to Claim Rejection Under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding claim 2, the applicant argues the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 is improper over Ryu et al. US 2014/0285689 in view of Onihashi et al. US 2009/0034821 because Onihasi fails to teach “outputting the pixel values in the block, in response to determining that the sum is greater than or equal to a predetermined threshold”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Onihashi paragraph [0029] discloses that the noise component extraction block 13 calculates a block sum of all pixels and replaces the pixel values with the summation value which happens prior to the line noise component extraction block 14 step and the line-shaped noise component subtraction block 15 step (see fig. 1). Thus, the pixel values as cited in Applicant arguments are in fact summation values.
Therefore, the examiner maintains the rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, as based on a disclosure which is not enabling. The disclosure does not enable one of ordinary skill in the art to practice the invention without “the radiation image signal processing method comprising: separating one or more pixels that output significant electrical conversion signals derived from incident radiation from pixels that output only signals due to noise specific to a sensor device based on a threshold that is statistically determined in advance; and removing pixel values due to noise and outputting pixel values of significant signals as radiation image data”, which is/are critical or essential to the practice of the invention but not included in the claim(s). See In re Mayhew, 527 F.2d 1229, 188 USPQ 356 (CCPA 1976). Paragraph [0018] of the specification states: “To put it simply, the gist of the present invention described below is an idea of separating one or more pixels that output significant electrical conversion signals derived from radiation incident on a sensitive surface of an image sensor from pixels that output only signals due to noise specific to a sensor device based on a threshold that is statistically determined and removing pixel values due to noise to generate a true radiation image data group appropriate for data compression.” The specification is explicit in the separating and removing steps as being critical and essential to the invention. Broadening a claim by omitting an essential limitation raises the issue of enablement, written description, and/or indefiniteness (MPEP 2163.05.I.A., MPEP 2172.01). Since the omitted step is explicitly critical in the specification, the claim lacks enablement.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. In the original presentation of claims, all independent claims included the limitations “the radiation image signal processing method comprising: separating one or more pixels that output significant electrical conversion signals derived from incident radiation from pixels that output only signals due to noise specific to a sensor device based on a threshold that is statistically determined in advance; and removing pixel values due to noise and outputting pixel values of significant signals as radiation image data” or something similar. As described above, the specification is explicit in the critical and essential nature of these limitations. Further the specification fails to disclose any embodiments which omit these limitations. The specification fails to support the newly amended and presented claims which claim a more broad and generic invention than the originally presented claim and raises the question regarding possession of the more generic and broad invention (MPEP 2163.05.I.A., MPEP 2172.01).
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as failing to set forth the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant regards as the invention. Evidence that claims 1-20 fail(s) to correspond in scope with that which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA applications the applicant regards as the invention can be found in the specification filed April 25, 2024. In the specification, the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA applications the applicant has stated “To put it simply, the gist of the present invention described below is an idea of separating one or more pixels that output significant electrical conversion signals derived from radiation incident on a sensitive surface of an image sensor from pixels that output only signals due to noise specific to a sensor device based on a threshold that is statistically determined and removing pixel values due to noise to generate a true radiation image data group appropriate for data compression,” and this statement indicates that the invention is different from what is defined in the claim(s) because the amended claims have been amended to omit these indicates critical and essential elements (MPEP 2163.05.I.A., MPEP 2172.01).
Claims 5 and 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 and 15 recites the limitation "the predetermined threshold that is statistically determined." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because claim 1 recites “a predetermined threshold” not “a predetermined threshold that is statistically determined”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 6, 8, 10, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Onihashi et al. US 2009/0034821.
Regarding claim 1, Onihashi discloses a radiation image signal processing method comprising: obtaining a plurality of pixel values output from an image sensor, the image sensor having a surface on which a plurality of pixels are two-dimensionally arranged, and the plurality of pixel values being output from the image sensor by electrical conversion at the plurality of pixels in response to incidence of radiation containing image information (para. 0026; definitionally a flat panel detector); obtaining a sum of pixel values in a block including adjacent pixels among the plurality of pixels (para. 0029; see Response to Arguments); and outputting the pixel values in the block in response to determining that the sum is greater than or equal to a predetermined threshold (para.0027, 0038-0040; see Response to Arguments).
Regarding claim 2, Onihashi discloses wherein the block includes two pixels in a vertical direction and two pixels in a horizontal direction adjacent each other (para. 0029; nxn includes 2x2).
Regarding claim 6, Onihashi discloses a radiation image signal processing apparatus(fig. 1) configured to: obtain a plurality of pixel values output from an image sensor, the image sensor having a surface on which a plurality of pixels are two-dimensionally arranged, and the plurality of pixel values being output from the image sensor by electrical conversion at the plurality of pixels in response to incidence of radiation containing image information (para. 0026; definitionally a flat panel detector); obtain a sum of pixel values in a block including adjacent pixels among the plurality of pixels (para. 0029; see Response to Arguments); and output the pixel values in the block, in response to determining that the sum is greater than or equal to a predetermined threshold (para.0027, 0038-0040; see Response to Arguments).
Regarding claim 8, Onihashi discloses a radiation imaging system comprising: the radiation image signal processing apparatus as claimed in claim 6 (see claim 6); a radiation source configured to irradiate an observation sample with radiation (para. 0026; x-ray image implies an x-ray source irradiating a sample); a camera including the image sensor (para. 0026; flat panel detectors are commonly known to be cameras).
Regarding claim 17, Onihashi discloses the radiation image signal processing apparatus according to claim 6, comprising a memory storing program instructions, wherein the at least one circuit includes a processor (para. 0025; an image processing device implies a computer readable medium storing a program), the program instructions causing the processor to perform the obtaining of the plurality of pixel values, the obtaining of the sum of the pixel values in the block, and the outputting (see claim 6).
Regarding claim 10, Onihashi discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium storing a program(para. 0025; an image processing device implies a computer readable medium storing a program): obtaining a plurality of pixel values output from an image sensor, the image sensor having a surface on which a plurality of pixels are two-dimensionally arranged, and the plurality of pixel values being output from the image sensor by electrical conversion at the plurality of pixels in response to incidence of radiation containing image information (para. 0026; definitionally a flat panel detector); obtaining a sum of pixel values in a block including adjacent pixels among the plurality of pixels (para. 0029; see Response to Arguments); and outputting the pixel values in the block, in response to determining that the sum is greater than or equal to a predetermined threshold (para.0027, 0038-0040; see Response to Arguments).
Claim(s) 11-13, 14, 16, 18, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sakurai et al. WO 2019/064632.
Regarding claim 11, Sakurai discloses a radiation image signal processing method comprising: obtaining a plurality of pixel values output from an image sensor, the image sensor having a surface on which a plurality of pixels are two-dimensionally arranged, and the plurality of pixel values being output from the image sensor by electrical conversion at the plurality of pixels in response to incidence of radiation containing image information (abstract; CCD, CMOS imaging, or semiconductor pixel detector); obtaining a first pixel value that is greater than or equal to a first threshold among the plurality of pixel values (fig. 7a, 7b; pg. 8 para. 5-8); obtaining a second pixel value that is less than the first threshold among the plurality of pixel values (fig. 7a, 7b; pg. 8 para. 5-8); correcting the second pixel value, in response to determining that the second pixel value is greater than or equal to a second threshold that is smaller than the first threshold (fig. 7a, 7b; pg. 8 para. 5-8); and outputting the first pixel value and the corrected second pixel value (fig. 7a, 7b; pg. 8 para. 5-8).
Regarding claim 16, Sakurai discloses comparing an output signal for each pixel from the image sensor with the first threshold that is statistically determined as a noise level and obtaining an image signal after removing pixel values of noise components as the first pixel value (fig. 7a, 7b; pg. 8 para. 5-8); and comparing pixel values of pixels having pixel values smaller than the first threshold with the second threshold to obtain the second pixel value, wherein the correcting of the second pixel value includes generating an image signal by adding a correction value that is statistically determined to the pixel values of pixels having pixel values that are smaller than the first threshold and equal to or greater than the second threshold (fig. 7a, 7b; pg. 8 para. 5-8); and the outputting includes outputting the image signal of the pixel values of the pixels to which the correction value is added along with an image signal of pixels having pixel values equal to or greater than the first threshold (fig. 7a, 7b; pg. 8 para. 5-8).
Regarding claim 20, Sakurai discloses resetting pixel values of output image data to 0 before the obtaining of the first pixel value, the obtaining of the second pixel value, the correcting of the second pixel value, and the outputting (pg. 5 para. 5), wherein the outputting of the first pixel value and the corrected second pixel value includes setting the first pixel value and the corrected second pixel value in the output image data at corresponding positions in the output image data (fig. 7a, 7b; pg. 8 para. 5-8), and wherein the obtaining of the first pixel value, the obtaining of the second pixel value, the correcting of the second pixel value, and the outputting are sequentially performed for each of the plurality of pixel values (fig. 7a, 7b; pg. 8 para. 5-8).
Regarding claim 12, Sakurai discloses a radiation image signal processing apparatus comprising: at least one circuit configured to: obtain a plurality of pixel values output from an image sensor, the image sensor having a surface on which a plurality of pixels are two-dimensionally arranged, and the plurality of pixel values being output from the image sensor by electrical conversion at the plurality of pixels in response to incidence of radiation containing image information (abstract; CCD, CMOS imaging, or semiconductor pixel detector); obtain a first pixel value that is greater than or equal to a first threshold among the plurality of pixel values (fig. 7a, 7b; pg. 8 para. 5-8); obtain a second pixel value that is less than the first threshold among the plurality of pixel values (fig. 7a, 7b; pg. 8 para. 5-8); correct the second pixel value, in response to determining that the second pixel value is greater than or equal to a second threshold that is smaller than the first threshold (fig. 7a, 7b; pg. 8 para. 5-8); and output the first pixel value and the corrected second pixel value (fig. 7a, 7b; pg. 8 para. 5-8).
Regarding claim 13, Sakurai discloses a radiation imaging system comprising: the radiation image signal processing apparatus as claimed in claim 12 (see claim 12); a radiation source configured to irradiate an observation sample with radiation (x-ray tube 1); a camera including the image sensor (x-ray camera 7).
Regarding claim 18, Sakurai discloses a memory storing program instructions, wherein the at least one circuit includes a processor (title, abstract; image processing implies a computer and memory to perform the processing), the program instructions causing the processor to perform the obtaining of the plurality of pixel values, the obtaining of the first pixel value, the obtaining of the second pixel value, the correcting, and the outputting (see claim 12).
Regarding claim 14, Sakurai discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium storing a program causing a computer (title, abstract; image processing implies a computer and memory to perform the processing) to execute: obtaining a plurality of pixel values output from an image sensor, the image sensor having a surface on which a plurality of pixels are two-dimensionally arranged, and the plurality of pixel values being output from the image sensor by electrical conversion at the plurality of pixels in response to incidence of radiation containing image information (abstract; CCD, CMOS imaging, or semiconductor pixel detector); obtaining a first pixel value that is greater than or equal to a first threshold among the plurality of pixel values (fig. 7a, 7b; pg. 8 para. 5-8); obtaining a second pixel value that is less than the first threshold among the plurality of pixel values (fig. 7a, 7b; pg. 8 para. 5-8); correcting the second pixel value, in response to determining that the second pixel value is greater than or equal to a second threshold that is smaller than the first threshold (fig. 7a, 7b; pg. 8 para. 5-8); and outputting the first pixel value and the corrected second pixel value (fig. 7a, 7b; pg. 8 para. 5-8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Onihashi et al. US 2009/0034821.
Regarding claim 3, Onihashi discloses the claimed invention except for Onihashi discloses that values greater than the threshold are noise and those less than the threshold are significant signals (para. 0047-0049). It would have been an obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to invert the relationship to make the values greater than the threshold significant and those less than the threshold noise since the examiner takes Office Notice of the equivalence of greater than and less than for their use in the art and the selection of any of these known equivalents to be mere conventions and would be within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Onihashi et al. US 2009/0034821 in view of Sakurai et al. WO 2019/064632.
Regarding claim 4, Onihashi teaches wherein the predetermined threshold is a first threshold (para. 0038-0040) and outputting the corrected pixel value as the pixel value of the pixel in the adjacent pixels of the block (para. 0027, 0029, 0038-0040; see Response to Arguments).
Onihashi fails to teach wherein the radiation image signal processing method comprises: comparing each of the pixel values in the block with a second threshold that is smaller than the first threshold, in response to determining that the sum is less than the first threshold; and correcting, in response to determining that a pixel value of a pixel in the adjacent pixels of the block is greater than or equal to the second threshold, the pixel value of the pixel and outputting the corrected pixel value as the pixel value of the pixel in the adjacent pixels of the block.
Sakurai teaches wherein the radiation image signal processing method comprises: comparing each of the pixel values in the block with a second threshold that is smaller than the first threshold, in response to determining that the sum is less than the first threshold (fig. 7a, 7b; pg. 8 para. 5-8); and correcting, in response to determining that a pixel value of a pixel in the adjacent pixels of the block is greater than or equal to the second threshold, the pixel value of the pixel (fig. 7a, 7b; pg. 8 para. 5-8) for the purpose of obtaining x-ray spectrum information while removing noise (fig. 7a, 7b; pg. 8 para. 7).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the radiation image signal processing method comprises: comparing each of the pixel values in the block with a second threshold that is smaller than the first threshold, in response to determining that the sum is less than the first threshold; and correcting, in response to determining that a pixel value of a pixel in the adjacent pixels of the block is greater than or equal to the second threshold, the pixel value of the pixel and outputting the corrected pixel value as the pixel value of the pixel in the adjacent pixels of the block as taught by Sakurai in the method of Onihashi for the purpose of obtaining x-ray spectrum information while removing noise.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
RICHARD O TOOHEY/Examiner, Art Unit 2884
/UZMA ALAM/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2884