DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant traverses the restriction requirement, arguing that the shared technical feature is a grading system of hydrogenation catalysts, rather than catalyst composition, and that such feature is not disclosed in the prior art. The traverse is not persuasive. Even assuming, arguendo, that the common feature among the claims is the grading system of hydrogenation catalysts, such feature does not constitute a special technical feature defining a contribution over the prior art, as required under 37 CFR 1.475. Specifically, it is well known in the art to employ multiple catalysts arranged sequentially in a reactor (graded catalyst beds), wherein catalyst properties vary along the flow direction to optimize performance. For example, CN 106669787A teaches a reactor comprising a plurality of catalyst beds arranged in sequence and explicitly discloses graded catalyst layering schemes.
Applicant further relies on the claimed R value, defined as a ratio of (i) the molar surface content of a Group VIII metal determined by XPS to (ii) the bulk metal oxide content determined by XRF, to distinguish the claims. However, this R value merely quantifies the known relationship between surface metal concentration and bulk metal loading (i.e., surface enrichment), which is a well-established catalyst property. The use of XPS for surface composition and XRF for bulk composition, as well as the expression of such relationship using molar and weight units, represents conventional analytical practice and does not define a new physical property or structural limitation. Accordingly, even under Applicant’s characterization, the alleged common feature (grading system with R value) does not constitute a special technical feature that makes a contribution over the prior art. Therefore, the claims are not linked by a single general inventive concept, and the restriction requirement is proper and is therefore make FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12–21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over CN 106669787 A in view of WO 2016/151454 A1.
CN ’787 teaches a hydrocracking catalyst grading method in which:
A reactor is divided into 2–8 reaction zones (preferably 3–5) arranged along the material flow direction
Different catalysts are sequentially loaded in these zones
A catalyst property (e.g., regeneration agent content) gradually increases along the flow direction, with adjacent zones differing by 5–40% (preferably 10–30%)
Relative catalyst quantities in adjacent zones are adjustable (e.g., 1:8 to 2:1)
Further, CN ’787 teaches characterization of surface active metal ratios (e.g., Ni/Al, Mo/Al) using XPS, reflecting differences in surface metal distribution across catalysts.
Thus, CN ’787 teaches:
M ≥ 2 (indeed up to 8) catalysts sequentially arranged in a flow direction
graded catalyst properties across zones
monotonic increase of a catalyst property along flow direction
WO ’454 teaches catalysts comprising Group VIII metals (e.g., Pt) having:
surface metal content determined by XPS (surface-sensitive measurement)
bulk metal content determined by ICP (bulk composition measurement)
See, e.g.:
WO ’454, p. 5–6: description of XPS measuring surface composition and ICP measuring bulk metal content
WO ’454, p. 5: definition of surface enrichment value (SEV) as:
SEV = (surface metal - bulk metal)/ (bulk metal)
WO ’454, Examples (pp. 8–10):
Example 2: enrichment ≈ 94%
Example 4: enrichment ≈ 89%
Example 3: enrichment ≈ 73%
These values demonstrate that catalysts can have different surface-to-bulk Group VIII metal relationships.
Since enrichment is defined as (surface − bulk)/bulk, the ratio of surface metal to bulk metal is: R ≈ surface/bulk = 1 + enrichment.
Accordingly, WO ’454 inherently teaches catalysts having different surface-to-bulk metal ratios R.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ catalysts having different surface-to-bulk Group VIII metal ratios (WO ’454) in the graded catalyst system of CN ’787, because:
CN ’787 teaches that catalysts are intentionally varied across zones to optimize reaction performance
CN ’787 further teaches monotonic increase of catalyst properties along the flow direction
WO ’454 teaches that surface metal accessibility (surface enrichment) is a key catalyst property affecting performance
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to select surface-to-bulk metal ratio as the graded property in CN ’787 and to arrange catalysts such that this ratio increases along the flow direction, consistent with the general grading strategy taught in CN ’787.
Claim 13 (M ≥ 3)
CN ’787 explicitly teaches 3–5 (and up to 8) reaction zones, each containing a catalyst.
Claim 14 (R increase 1–20%)
CN ’787 teaches incremental increases of catalyst properties between adjacent zones (5–40%, preferably 10–30%), which overlaps the claimed 1–20% range. Thus, selecting a 1–20% increase is an optimization within a known range.
Claim 15 (R = 3–150%)
WO ’454 demonstrates that surface-to-bulk metal ratios vary depending on catalyst preparation. The claimed range represents optimization of a known property (surface enrichment).
Claim 16 (R = 10–50%)
A sub-range of claim 15; selection of a narrower range is routine optimization.
Claim 17 (reduction temperature relationship)
CN ’787 teaches catalysts with different compositions, metal distributions, and surface properties across zones, which inherently result in different reducibility and reduction temperatures, since reduction behavior depends on metal dispersion and composition.
Claim 18 (temperature difference 5–150°C)
The magnitude of reduction temperature differences is a result-effective variable depending on catalyst properties; selecting a range of 5–150°C would have been routine.
Claim 19 (volume ratio 1:20–20:1)
CN ’787 teaches adjustable relative catalyst quantities between adjacent zones (1:8–2:1), which overlaps the claimed range.
Claim 20 (Group VIB + Group VIII metals)
CN ’787 explicitly teaches catalysts comprising Group VIII metals (Ni, Co) and Group VIB metals (Mo, W).
Claim 21 (specific metals and supports)
CN ’787 teaches Ni and/or Co (Group VIII), Mo and/or W (Group VIB), and supports including alumina and silica-alumina
Conclusion
/TAM M NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771