DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The rejection of claims 12-21 under 35 USC § 103 over CN’787 in view of WO’454 is withdrawn by the examiner in view of the amendment filed on 7/1/2026.
Since a new Non-Final Office is follows, applicants’ arguments will not be addressed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 12, the phrase "such that" on line 3 of the claim renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12-16 and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over CN 106669787 A (“CN ’787”) in view of Simmons et al. (US 2009/0293359 A1) and WO 2016/151454 A1 (“WO ’454”).
CN ’787 teaches a hydrocracking catalyst grading system in which the reactor is divided along the material-flow direction into 2–8 reaction zones, preferably 3–5, containing different hydrocracking catalysts, with catalyst characteristics intentionally varied along the flow direction to satisfy the differing reaction requirements of the zones (¶¶[0005]–[0008], [0030]–[0032]). CN ’787 further employs Group VIII Ni and/or Co and Group VIB Mo and/or W, and expressly characterizes surface Ni(Co)/Al and Mo(W)/Al atomic ratios by XPS (¶¶[0019]–[0020], [0026]–[0029]; Tables 1–3).
CN ’787 does not expressly disclose grading the catalysts according to the presently claimed R, i.e., the ratio of Group VIII surface molar content to bulk Group VIII oxide content.
Simmons teaches that a “graded catalyst” may have a varying concentration or surface area of catalytically active metal, expressly including an arrangement wherein active-metal concentration is relatively low at the entrance and increases toward the exit; the catalyst may vary gradually in composition, loading, active sites, and may have eggshell distributions of active metal (¶[0052]). Simmons expressly applies this teaching to hydrocracking catalysts comprising Pt, Pd, Ni, Co, Mo and/or W, including Group VIII hydrogenation components, and states that different catalysts may occupy multiple reaction zones and “the catalyst may be a graded catalyst” (¶¶[0196]–[0197]).
WO ’454 teaches Group VIII Pt/Pd catalysts whose surface metal concentration is determined by XPS and compared with bulk metal content, defining a surface-enrichment value,
SEV=(XPS wt.%−bulk wt.%)/(bulk wt.%), and explains that XPS characterizes the outer surface whereas bulk analysis determines total catalyst metal content (WO ’454, p. 4, ll. 19–30; p. 5, ll. 1–27). WO ’454 therefore teaches quantitatively characterizing the known surface-to-bulk Group VIII-metal relationship. Table 1 further reports numerous catalysts having different degrees of surface enrichment.
It would have been obvious to apply Simmons' expressly taught active-metal grading to the sequential hydrocracking catalyst system of CN ’787 and to characterize/select that grading according to the surface-to-bulk Group VIII-metal relationship taught by WO ’454. CN ’787 already recognizes XPS-measured Group VIII surface distribution as a relevant catalyst characteristic; Simmons expressly teaches increasing catalytically active metal concentration/surface availability toward the downstream end; and WO ’454 teaches quantitative characterization of that surface enrichment relative to bulk metal. The combination therefore provides a reason—not merely the capability—to arrange the catalysts so that downstream catalysts have nondecreasing surface-to-bulk Group VIII-metal ratios, with at least one downstream catalyst having a greater ratio. Accordingly, claim 12 would have been obvious. The fact that WO ’454 exemplifies Pt/Pd catalysts does not require substitution of its fine-chemical catalyst or operating conditions into CN ’787; WO ’454 is relied upon for its teaching concerning the known surface/bulk distribution characteristic of Group VIII metals, while CN ’787 and Simmons supply the hydrocracking/hydrogenation catalyst environment and directional grading.
Regarding claim 13, CN ’787 expressly prefers 3–5 reaction zones, thereby teaching M≥3 (¶[0007]).
Regarding claim 14, Simmons teaches progressively varying active-metal concentration along the flow direction, while WO ’454 demonstrates numerous controllable degrees of Group VIII surface enrichment. For example, WO ’454 Table 1 includes SEV values of about 2.5 and 2.6; because surface/bulk = 1+SEV, these correspond to surface/bulk relationships of approximately 3.5 and 3.6, differing by about 2.9%, within the claimed 1-20% increment. Thus, selection of adjacent catalysts differing within the claimed increment would have been an obvious selection from the known controllable surface-enrichment variable.
Regarding claims 15 and 16, WO ’454 teaches that surface enrichment of Group VIII metal is intentionally controlled over a broad range and that different catalyst-preparation conditions produce different surface/bulk relationships (WO ’454, pp. 3–5; Table 1). Because CN ’787 and Simmons teach varying precisely this active-metal surface availability as a catalyst-grading variable, determining the useful degree of normalized surface enrichment—including the claimed 3–150% and 10–50% ranges—would have constituted routine optimization of a recognized result-effective catalyst variable rather than discovery of a previously unknown variable.
Regarding claim 20, CN ’787 expressly teaches hydrocracking/hydrogenation catalysts comprising a support, a Group VIB active metal and a Group VIII active metal (¶¶[0019]–[0020], [0026]).
Regarding claim 21, CN ’787 teaches Ni and/or Co as Group VIII metals and Mo and/or W as Group VIB metals; conventional hydrofining catalysts contain Group VIB metal oxide at 8-28 wt.% and Group VIII metal oxide at 2-15 wt.%, overlapping the claimed 9-50 wt.% and 1-15 wt.% ranges, and teaches alumina/silica-containing alumina supports (¶¶[0019]–[0020], [0026]).
Claims 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over the references applied to claim 12 above, further in view of Alhooshani et al. (US 2018/0100107 A1).
The references applied to claim 12 do not expressly teach the claimed reduction-temperature relationship determined by H₂-TPR.
Alhooshani teaches NiMo hydrodesulfurization catalysts characterized by H₂-TPR and demonstrates that the reduction temperature of the active metals varies predictably with catalyst preparation method and calcination temperature (¶¶[0128]-[0130]; Table 3). Table 3 discloses reduction-peak temperatures including 471.47°C, 516°C, 571°C, 590°C, 608°C, and 640.57°C. It would have been obvious to select and arrange known hydrogenation catalysts having different reducibilities in the graded catalyst system of claim 12 so that the upstream catalyst has a reduction temperature not lower than that of the downstream catalyst, thereby progressively providing catalysts that are more readily reducible along the material-flow direction. Alhooshani's 471.47°C and 516°C values fall within claim 17's 350-550°C range, and pairs such as 571°C/516°C and 608°C/590°C provide differences of 55°C and 18°C, respectively, within claim 18's 5-150°C range.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over references as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of CN 103059983 A (“CN ’983”).
The references applied to claim 12 are as discussed above but do not expressly specify the claimed adjacent-catalyst volume ratio of 1:20-20:1.
CN ’983 teaches a diesel hydrotreating catalyst grading system containing four sequential reaction zones and expressly assigns catalyst volume fractions of generally 5-15 vol.%, 15-30 vol.%, 40-70 vol.%, and 10-40 vol.% to the respective zones (¶[0013]); its examples employ, for example, 10/20/40/30, 10/10/50/30, and 10/15/45/30 vol.% distributions. Those disclosed adjacent catalyst volumes necessarily provide volume ratios falling within 1:20-20:1. It would have been obvious to employ such conventional relative bed volumes in the graded catalyst system of claim 12 to allocate catalyst according to the processing duty of the respective zones.
Conclusion
/TAM M NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771