DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the application filed on October 27, 2025. Claims 13-24 are pending and are examined.
Response to Amendment
The amendments made to original claims 13-24 have been fully considered.
Response to Argument
Applicant's arguments and amendments received October 27, 2025 have been fully considered.
With regard to 35 U.S.C. § 103, Applicant argues that Sun discloses rescaling motion information of the current block, where the motion vector being resized originates from the current block of the current frame and fails to disclose obtaining a co-located motion vector candidate from the co-located reference picture at the rescaled position and rescaling the co-located motion vector candidate. In other words, Sun fails to disclose sourcing a motion vector candidate from the reference picture and rescaling the sourced motion vector candidate. This language corresponds to the newly amended language of claims 13, 15, 17, and 19.
As such, these have been considered but they are directed to newly amended language, which is addressed below. See the rejection below for how new prior art reads on the newly amended language as well as the examiner's interpretation of the cited art in view of the presented claim set.
Claim Interpretation
Claims 13, 15, 17, and 19 recite “rescaling a position of the current block based on a scaling ratio…”. Applicant’s specification does not describe rescaling the physical location of the current block itself based on a scaling ratio. It describes 1) rescaling the physical location of the current block based on POC differences (see Applicant’s specification at 18:25-28) and 2) it describes rescaling the physical location/map of the reference block associated with (the co-located or temporal block associated with) the current block based on the scaling ratio (see Applicant’s specification at 13:26-30, 18:6-8 – Examiner notes that 18:6-8 states “the position in the map may be re-scaled accordingly” – in this sentence 2 maps are described “the map associated with the reference picture” and “current picture map”. It appears, based on sentence structure and based on the description in 13:26-30 that the map referred to by “the map” is “the map associated with the reference picture”). Accordingly, in order to comply with 35 U.S.C. 112(a) written description and enablement requirements, the phrase “rescaling a position of the current block based on a scaling ratio…” is interpreted to refer to rescaling a position of the current block (namely the reference/tpmv/co-located block position associated with that current block) based on a scaling ratio.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13, 15, 17, 19, 21, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. 2022/0060712 (“Zhang”), which corresponds to priority applications filed in May of 2019 and 2020, in view of the level of skill in the art.
With respect to claim 17, Zhang discloses the invention substantially as claimed, including
An apparatus comprising a decoder for decoding picture data (see Figs. 12 and 25-26, ¶¶19, 167, 487-491, describing a video decoding apparatus for decoding picture data), the decoder being configured to, for a current block of a current picture:
obtain, from a decoded pictures buffer comprising decoded pictures, a decoded picture comprising one or more reconstructed samples, one or more motion vectors, and a co-located reference picture having a size different than a size of the current picture (see Figs. 12, 23, item “Decoded picture buffer”, ¶167, showing and describing a system allowing for use of ARC with ATMVP and that the decoder obtains, from a DPB comprising previously decoded pictures, a previously decoded picture containing previously decoded/reconstructed samples, motion vectors, and a reference picture of a different size than the current picture);
rescale a position of the current block based on a scaling ratio corresponding to a ratio between the size of the current picture and the size of the co-located reference picture (see claim construction above and Fig. 23, ¶¶252-253, 324, 428-435, showing and describing that when ARC and ATMVP are used together and the size of the current picture and size/resolution of the co-located reference picture are different, the position, e.g., the top-left position, of the collocated/corresponding block associated with the current block may be rescaled based on a scaling ratio between the width/height/size of the current picture and the width/height/size of the reference picture);
obtain a co-located motion vector candidate from the co-located reference picture at the rescaled position (see citations and arguments with respect to element above and ¶¶437, 451, describing that this rescaled position (e.g., (x’, y’)) is determined to be the co-located/collocated TMVP/ATMVP/temporal motion vector candidate block, and a motion vector therefrom, i.e., from the co-located reference picture);
rescale the co-located motion vector candidate based on the scaling ratio (see citations and arguments with respect to elements above and ¶¶243, 254, 444-451, describing that the co-located/temporal MV may be rescaled based on the scaling ratio); and
perform co-located motion-compensated prediction for the current block based on the rescaled motion vector candidate and one or more samples of the co-located reference picture (see citations and arguments with respect to elements above, including ¶¶167, 254, 324, and ¶43, Heading before ¶423, describing that the decoder may combine ATMVP and ARC to use the above described rescaled motion vector candidate and samples of the co-located reference picture to perform motion compensation prediction for the current block); and
decode picture data of the current block (see citations and arguments with respect to preamble above, describing decoding picture data of the current block).
Zhang does not specifically describe the co-located motion vector as a “candidate”. However, it does detail a system that fetches/stores and may one of multiple mvs/sets of motion information (see ¶¶14, 167, 323 and heading prior, 437, 542). In other words, although Zhang does not use this term, to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention, the determined co-located motion vectors would have been one of multiple potential motion vectors for use, i.e., they would have been understood to be “candidates”. Accordingly, Zhang in view of the level of skill in the art discloses each and every element of independent claim 17.
With respect to claim 18, Zhang discloses the invention substantially as claimed. As detailed above, Zhang in view of the level of skill in the art discloses each and every element of independent claim 17. Zhang additionally discloses:
the decoder being further configured to rescale the co-located motion vector candidate according to a scaling value, wherein the scaling value is based on a difference between a picture order count of the current picture and a picture order count of the reference picture (see citations and arguments with respect to claim 17 above, describing that that when ARC and TMVP/ATMVP are combined, the co-located motion vector is a candidate, and ¶167, describing that in ARC the motion vector candidates may be scaled based on picture order count difference).
The reasons for combining the cited prior art with respect to claim 17 also apply to claim 18.
With respect to claim 19, Zhang discloses the invention substantially as claimed. As described above, Zhang in view of the level of skill in the art discloses all the elements of independent claim 17. Zhang additionally discloses:
An apparatus comprising an encoder for encoding picture data (see Figs. 11 and 25-26, ¶¶167, 487-491, describing a video decoding apparatus for decoding picture data), the encoder being configured to, for a current block of a current picture:
obtain, from a decoded pictures buffer comprising decoded pictures, a decoded picture comprising one or more reconstructed samples, one or more motion vectors, and a co-located reference picture having a size different than a size of the current picture (see citations and arguments with respect to claim 17 above and preamble above, describing that the motion prediction embodiments described may be performed in either the encoder or the decoder);
rescale a position of the current block based on a scaling ratio corresponding to a ratio between the size of the current picture and the size of the co-located reference picture (see citations and arguments with respect to claim 17 above and preamble above, describing that the motion prediction embodiments described may be performed in either the encoder or the decoder);
obtain a co-located motion vector candidate from the co-located reference picture at the rescaled position (see citations and arguments with respect to claim 17 above and preamble above, describing that the motion prediction embodiments described may be performed in either the encoder or the decoder);
rescale the co-located motion vector candidate based on the scaling ratio (see citations and arguments with respect to claim 17 above and preamble above, describing that the motion prediction embodiments described may be performed in either the encoder or the decoder); and
perform co-located motion-compensated prediction for the current block based on the rescaled motion vector candidate and one or more samples of the co-located reference picture (see citations and arguments with respect to claim 17 above and preamble above, describing that the motion prediction embodiments described may be performed in either the encoder or the decoder); and
encode picture data of the current block (see preamble above, describing that the embodiments may be used by an encoder to encode picture data of the current block).
The reasons for combining the cited prior art with respect to claim 17 also apply to claim 19.
With respect to claim 20, Zhang discloses the invention substantially as claimed. As described above, Zhang in view of the level of skill in the art discloses all the elements of independent claim 19. Zhang additionally discloses:
the encoder being further configured to rescale the co-located motion vector candidate according to a scaling value, wherein the scaling value is based on a difference between a picture order count of the current picture and a picture order count of the reference picture (see citations and arguments with respect to claims 18 and 19 above).
The reasons for combining the cited prior art with respect to claim 17 also apply to claim 20.
With respect to claim 13, claim 13 recites the elements of claim 17 in method form rather than apparatus form. Accordingly, the disclosure cited with respect to claim 17 also applies to claim 13.
With respect to claim 14, claim 14 recites the elements of claim 18 in method form rather than apparatus form. Accordingly, the disclosure cited with respect to claim 18 also applies to claim 14.
With respect to claim 15, claim 15 recites the elements of claim 19 in method form rather than apparatus form. Accordingly, the disclosure cited with respect to claim 19 also applies to claim 15.
With respect to claim 16, claim 16 recites the elements of claim 20 in method form rather than apparatus form. Accordingly, the disclosure cited with respect to claim 20 also applies to claim 16.
With respect to claim 21, claim 21 recites the method of claim 13 as performed by a processor and a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having stored instructions that cause the processor to perform the method. Zhang discloses such a processor and storage medium storing software/instructions to perform the method (see ¶¶595-598). Accordingly, the disclosure cited with respect to claim 13/17 also apply to claim 21.
With respect to claim 22, claim 22 recites the method of claim 14 as performed by a processor and a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having stored instructions that cause the processor to perform the method. Zhang discloses such a processor and storage medium storing instructions to perform the method (see ¶¶595-598). Accordingly, the disclosure cited with respect to claim 14/18 also apply to claim 22.
With respect to claim 23, claim 23 recites the method of claim 15 as performed by a processor and a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having stored instructions that cause the processor to perform the method. Zhang discloses such a processor and storage medium storing instructions to perform the method (see ¶¶595-598). Accordingly, the disclosure cited with respect to claims 15/19 also apply to claim 23.
With respect to claim 24, claim 24 recites the method of claim 16 as performed by a processor and a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having stored instructions that cause the processor to perform the method. Zhang discloses such a processor and storage medium storing instructions to perform the method (see ¶¶595-598). Accordingly, the disclosure cited with respect to claim 16/20 also apply to claim 24.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
LINDSAY J UHL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2481
/LINDSAY J UHL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2481