DETAILED ACTION
Summary
This is the initial Office action based on application 18704642 filed 4/25/24.
Claims 18-34 are pending and have been fully considered.
Information Disclosure Statement
IDS filed on 5/6/24 have been considered by the examiner and copies of the Form PTO/SB/08 are attached to the office action.
Drawings
The Drawings filed on 4/25/24 are acknowledged and accepted by the examiner.
Specification
The Specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification. MPEP § 608.01
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 18-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ADAM ET AL. (WO2021204819A1; 10/14/2021) in their entirety. Hereby referred to as ADAM.
Regarding claims 18-34:
ADAM teaches a description of FIG. 1 which describes a simplified overview of a possible process. The pyrolysis plastic oil (one or more halogenated organic compounds and one or more organic compounds comprising conjugated double bonds) is firstly distilled in an optional separation unit in order to treat selectively the relevant cut. Then the removal the impurities is performed. In this step, all type of impurities are removed including salts like NaCl, silicon, phosphorous, metals and/or halogenates. Water is then removed in a dewatering unit. A final optional guard bed is present as a finishing bed to remove the last traces of impurities. The stream is then treated in a low temperature hydrotreatment to remove mainly the diene. Silicon may still be present in the stream and they are partially removed in a silicon trap before the high temperature hydrotreatment. The remaining metals can also be trapped before the high temperature hydrotreatment. In the high temperature hydrotreatment, the olefins are hydrogenated, and this step remove the remaining impurities. Chlorine compounds are also converted into HCI and easily removed after the high temperature hydrotreatment. Possible dilution of the stream before hydrotreatment can be done using a second hydrocarbon streams, like naphtha, iso paraffinic solvent or the purified hydrocarbon obtained at the end of the purification process.(pg 18 ln 20-35)
ADAM teaches a description of FIG. 2 which describes another possible process very similar to the process of the FIG. 1. This process also differs from the FIG. 1 in that the purified hydrocarbon obtained at the end of the process is directly sent to a steam cracker with an optional dilution with a naphtha.(pg 18 ln 36 – pg 19 ln 4)
ADAM teaches with regards to the hydrocarbon stream; it can contain a first diluent. In that case, said hydrocarbon stream at least 10 wt% of pyrolysis plastic oil. The hydrocarbon stream presents a bromine number of at most 150 g Br2/ 100g as measured according to ASTM D1159. The hydrocarbon stream can contain at least 25 wt% of pyrolysis plastic of pyrolysis plastic oil. It is also possible to use pure pyrolysis plastic oil. In this latter case, the hydrocarbon stream is only pyrolysis plastic oil. The other component of said hydrocarbon stream (if any) may include any diluent able to limit the temperature increase at the first and/or second hydrotreating step. The diluent used for the first hydrotreating step (first diluent) can be the same or different as the diluent used for the second hydrotreating step. In other words, a diluent shall contain low amount, acceptable by a steam cracker or neither any olefins nor any diene. For instance, part of the purified hydrocarbon stream may be recycled and used as diluent. A naphtha can also be used as diluent. The use of naphtha as diluent is particularly advantaging. Indeed, the purified hydrocarbon stream is further sent to a steam cracker mixed together with a naphtha. The use of naphtha as diluent avoids further step of separation of the diluent. The effluent obtained at the end of the inventive process can then preferably be directly sent to the steam cracker. In a preferred embodiment, the pyrolysis plastic oil is diluted into naphtha having a boiling range from 15 to 250°C, as measured with method ASTM D2887 to form the hydrocarbon stream at a concentration of 50 wt%, preferably 75 wt% of pyrolysis plastic oil is diluted in naphtha, even more preferably 90 wt% of pyrolysis plastic oil is diluted in the naphtha. (pg 19 ln 14-30)
ADAM teaches that the plastic being pyrolyzed can be of any type. For instance, the plastic being pyrolyzed can be polyethylene, polypropylene, polystyrene, polyesters, polyamides, polycarbonates etc. These pyrolysis plastic oils contain paraffins, i-paraffins (iso-paraffins), dienes, alkynes, olefins, naphthenes, and aromatic components. Pyrolysis plastic oil may also contain impurities such as organic chlorides, organic silicon compounds, metals, salts, sulfur and nitrogen compounds, etc. The origin of the plastic lead to pyrolysis plastic oil is the waste plastic without limitation on the origin or on the nature of the plastic. The composition of the pyrolysis plastic oil is dependent on the type of plastic pyrolyzed. It is however mainly constituted of hydrocarbons having from 1 to 50 carbon atoms and impurities. (pg 17 ln 2-11)
ADAM teaches that the pyrolysis unit may be any suitable vessel configured to convert waste plastics into gas phase and liquid phase products (e.g., simultaneously). The vessel may be configured for gas phase, liquid phase, vapor-liquid phase, gas-solid phase, liquid-solid phase, or slurry phase operation. The vessel may contain one or more beds of inert material or pyrolysis catalyst comprising sand, zeolite, alumina, a catalytic cracking catalyst, or combinations thereof. Generally, the pyrolysis catalyst is capable of transferring heat to the components subjected to the pyrolysis process in the pyrolysis unit. Alternatively, the pyrolysis unit can be operated without any catalyst (e.g., pure thermal pyrolysis). The pyrolysis unit may be operated adiabatically, isothermally, nonadiabatically, non-isothermally, or combinations thereof. The pyrolysis reactions of this disclosure may be carried out in a single stage or in multiple stage. For example, the pyrolysis unit can be two reactor vessels fluidly connected in series. (pg 25 ln 25-36)
ADAM teaches waste plastic pyrolyzer, mixed plastics (e.g., waste plastics) are placed in pyrolysis unit or pyrolyzer. In the pyrolysis unit, the waste plastic is converted via pyrolysis to a pyrolysis product, wherein the pyrolysis product comprises a gas phase (e.g., pyrolysis gases, such as C1 to C4 gases, hydrogen (H2 ), carbon monoxide (CO), carbon dioxide (CO2) mainly) and a liquid phase being pyrolysis plastic oil. (pg 25 ln 16-20)
ADAM teaches the second hydrotreating step, it consists in a step at a temperature higher than 200°C, in presence of hydrogen with well-known catalysts to hydrogenate the olefins and to convert sulfur, nitrogen components into respectively H2S and NH3. Depending on the composition of the stream entering this second hydrotreating step, it is either performed in gas phase or the reactor operates in trickle bed mode. This step can have also a metal trap function, a cracking function, a de-aromatization function depending of the characteristic of the catalyst and the used operating condition. This step can be performed in one reactor with different layers of catalysts or several reactors in series depending of the function sought. The second hydrotreating step is performed over at least one catalyst that presents both (i) an hydrotreating function, and (ii) a trap function. In that case, the preferred operating conditions advantageously be the following: the preferred inlet temperature is of at least 200°C and at most 500°C; the preferred LHSV is between 1 to 10h-1, preferably 2 to 4h-1; the preferred pressure ranges from 10 to 90 barg in presence of H2; the ratio H2/hydrocarbon ranges from 200 N LIL to 900 N LIL, preferably in the presence of at least 0.005 wt %, preferably 0.05 wt % even more preferably 0.5 wt% of sulphur, being H2S or organic sulfur compounds, in the stream. The use of such catalyst is particularly advantaging because it allows to simultaneously perform the hydrotreating reaction and to trap impurities like silicon that may still be present in the stream. (pg 24 ln 31 – pg 25 ln 13)
ADAM teaches in EXAMPLE 5 – chlorine content ranging from 44 – 200 ppm. (See pg 35 ln 4; pg 37 ln 11-12).
From the teachings of the references it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
In addition, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the process by varying the claimed ranges; however, no patentable distinction is seen to exist between the reference and the claimed invention absent evidence to the contrary. Especially, in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Furthermore, the claimed changes in the sequence of performing steps is considered to be prima facie obvious because the time at which a particular step is performed is simply a matter of operator preference, especially since the same result is obtained regardless of when the step occurs. See Ex parte RUBIN, 128 USPQ 440 (Bd. App. 1959). See also In re Burhans, 154 F.2d 690, 69 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1946) (selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results). With regard to any differences in the claimed conversion amounts, the skilled artisan would have found it obvious to modify the process conditions in order to obtain the desired conversions. Moreover, it is well-established that merely selecting proportions and ranges is not patentable absent a showing of criticality. In re Becket, 33 USPQ 33 (CCPA 1937). In re Russel, 439 F.2d 1228, 169 USPQ 426 (CCPA 1971)
Still, a claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987)
Additionally, “Expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof during an intended operation are of no significance in determining patentability of the apparatus claim.” Ex parte Thibault, 164 USPQ 666, 667 (Bd. App. 1969). Furthermore, “[i]nclusion of material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims.” In re Young, 75 F.2d 996, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935) (as restated in In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963)). In In re Young, a claim to a machine for making concrete beams included a limitation to the concrete reinforced members made by the machine as well as the structural elements of the machine itself. The court held that the inclusion of the article formed within the body of the claim did not, without more, make the claim patentable
In conclusion, an intended result of a process being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims when the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art. Furthermore, it has been held that obviousness is not rebutted by merely recognizing additional advantages or latent properties present in the prior art process and composition. Further, the fact that applicant has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd.Pat. App. & Inter. 1985).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art to have selected appropriate conditions, as guided by the prior art, in order to obtain the desired products. It is not seen where such selections would result in any new or unexpected results. Please see MPEP 2144.05, II: noting obviousness within prior art conditions or through routine experimentation.
Therefore, no non-obviousness is seen in any of the processes differences because ADAM provides the skilled artisan with the knowledge to use said process and system.
Conclusion
/CHANTEL L GRAHAM/
Examiner, Art Unit 1771
/ELLEN M MCAVOY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771